Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "Fair play to Armagh.. after all the knocks and bad luck over the past 10 years, they got payback in spades yesterday. Although delighted for Armagh, at the end of the game you can't help but feel disappointed that we never reached an All-Ireland final in our so called "golden" period. Hopefully our day will come.
I believe in the next 2 years, its anyones championship.. Dublin and Kerry are well back into the pack now, Mayo are rebuilding, Tyrone are rebuilding, Galway are at the standard and Donegal and Derry will be serious contenders next year. Armagh will probably see some retirements of their old guard now and will have a hangover for a year or two.
Knowing Monaghan's luck, we'll have built a good team again in 2-3 years only for the likes of Tyrone to be All-Ireland contenders again, who we can never get past in Croke Park.
Anyway.. looking forward to 2025 already."
Fully agree. Armagh must been the unluckiest team in ireland the last few years and yesterday was payback. They showed huge resilence and mental toughness to keep coming back and capture the big one. As for us thought it revealing kieran hughes comments on armagh pre kerry game that theyd be happy with a 2 pt defeat and their year making a semi final. Our collective mindset in our peak years wasnt ambitous enough too many pats on the back over celebrating staying in div 1 and the runs in ulster. Armagh played div 2 this year showing league means v little whether in div 1 or 2.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1841 - 29/07/2024 13:54:11    2562626

The lack of ambition to go stellar and build on what Malachy O'Rourke started, looks very stark today.
A lot of wasted years.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1109 - 29/07/2024 14:56:58    2562668

We had chances but unfortunately butchered them. There is never much between armagh and monaghan but Mc geeney has built a seriously good squad. We don't have that.

222 (UK) - Posts: 770 - 29/07/2024 15:24:52    2562684

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "The lack of ambition to go stellar and build on what Malachy O'Rourke started, looks very stark today.
A lot of wasted years."
It took McGeeny 10 years to rebuild. Vinny is only 2 years in the job.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 316 - 29/07/2024 20:51:11    2562763

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "It took McGeeny 10 years to rebuild. Vinny is only 2 years in the job."
Vinnie won't be taking any all irleland back to monaghan

222 (UK) - Posts: 770 - 29/07/2024 21:08:06    2562770

Replying To 222:  "Vinnie won't be taking any all irleland back to monaghan"
Just what you all said about McGeeny. Rebuilding takes time.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 316 - 30/07/2024 01:16:22    2562828

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Just what you all said about McGeeny. Rebuilding takes time."
You obviously haven't seen the current state of club football in Monaghan atm across the 3 divisions…worst standard in 20 odd years so I dont envy vinnys job… It will be a long time before the Anglo Celt cup is back in Monaghan never mind sam maguire….

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 480 - 30/07/2024 08:29:57    2562840

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "It took McGeeny 10 years to rebuild. Vinny is only 2 years in the job."
Also was pointed out how poor Armagh's underage record was over the last 10/15 years, definitely not as strong as Monaghan over that time so makes McGeeney's job even more impressive. To work away as hard as he did under plenty of criticism is admirable.

sporto (Monaghan) - Posts: 171 - 30/07/2024 09:46:08    2562860

Replying To seanie08:  "Fully agree. Armagh must been the unluckiest team in ireland the last few years and yesterday was payback. They showed huge resilence and mental toughness to keep coming back and capture the big one. As for us thought it revealing kieran hughes comments on armagh pre kerry game that theyd be happy with a 2 pt defeat and their year making a semi final. Our collective mindset in our peak years wasnt ambitous enough too many pats on the back over celebrating staying in div 1 and the runs in ulster. Armagh played div 2 this year showing league means v little whether in div 1 or 2."
I have to say I did find kieran Hughes comments bizarre.

222 (UK) - Posts: 770 - 30/07/2024 10:08:20    2562876

Replying To mick2007:  "You obviously haven't seen the current state of club football in Monaghan atm across the 3 divisions…worst standard in 20 odd years so I dont envy vinnys job… It will be a long time before the Anglo Celt cup is back in Monaghan never mind sam maguire…."
Have you been to any club football in Armagh in the past 10 years? I thought not.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 316 - 30/07/2024 12:56:37    2562964

Replying To sporto:  "Also was pointed out how poor Armagh's underage record was over the last 10/15 years, definitely not as strong as Monaghan over that time so makes McGeeney's job even more impressive. To work away as hard as he did under plenty of criticism is admirable."
The success of underage teams is irrelevant. You take a player from each year … does not matter how good the team where, that's why Armagh did

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 528 - 30/07/2024 13:22:49    2562981

Replying To seanie08:  "Fully agree. Armagh must been the unluckiest team in ireland the last few years and yesterday was payback. They showed huge resilence and mental toughness to keep coming back and capture the big one. As for us thought it revealing kieran hughes comments on armagh pre kerry game that theyd be happy with a 2 pt defeat and their year making a semi final. Our collective mindset in our peak years wasnt ambitous enough too many pats on the back over celebrating staying in div 1 and the runs in ulster. Armagh played div 2 this year showing league means v little whether in div 1 or 2."
God I think you's are being hard on yourselves. Monaghan are a top table team and will continue to be so.

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 856 - 30/07/2024 13:24:28    2562983

Replying To 222:  "I have to say I did find kieran Hughes comments bizarre."
What exactly did Kieran Hughes say?

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 654 - 30/07/2024 13:33:56    2562986

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Just what you all said about McGeeny. Rebuilding takes time."
Is it a rebuild or a demolition job?The depths we sunk to in 23/24 were not good. Hoping the county board are putting a stellar backroom team together

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 34 - 30/07/2024 14:11:03    2563000

Replying To Blackcardnot:  "Is it a rebuild or a demolition job?The depths we sunk to in 23/24 were not good. Hoping the county board are putting a stellar backroom team together"
Yes, Banty and Gallagher, pays for itself...

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 30/07/2024 14:24:12    2563005

Replying To MuineachanAbu:  "What exactly did Kieran Hughes say?"
It's outlined in the post quoted by the post you quoted, just scroll up a little.

Essentially said Armagh should be happy to lose to Kerry by a couple of points. Reveals a possible mindset that might have been holding Monaghan back over the past number of years.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 205 - 30/07/2024 14:26:37    2563006

Replying To MuineachanAbu:  "What exactly did Kieran Hughes say?"
That Armaghs mind set would be a two point defeat against kerry. In other words armagh would be happy to keep it and close loose and close.

222 (UK) - Posts: 770 - 30/07/2024 14:34:39    2563013

Replying To Blackcardnot:  "Is it a rebuild or a demolition job?The depths we sunk to in 23/24 were not good. Hoping the county board are putting a stellar backroom team together"
Why would the co board be doing that ? It ain't their job

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 528 - 30/07/2024 15:10:14    2563032

in some defence of Vinnie though, we were severely hampered this year in terms of Injuries and some players walking way. He never got his best 15 on the pitch at any time during the year.
Injuries to Dessie Ward, Stephen O'Hanlon, Darren Hughes, Ryan McAnespie, Karl O'Connell, Micheal Bannigan at different stages of league and championship.
Karl Gallagher, Kieran Hughes, Conor Boyle departing the panel.
So that's 9 players that played a part in Semi final against Dublin last year.
Uncertainty around Beggan wasn't good for squad either throughout the league. I believe we would have beaten Tyrone if he had played.
Even with all that, we were still only a kick of the ball away from beating Galway in Salthill at business end of the championship when we had some of our injured players back, even though not fully fit, and we had 8 players play a part in that game who did not play any part in the semi final last year. you have to take some positives from that.
They were:
Jason Irwin
Michael Hamill
Barry McBennett
Ciaran McNulty
Thomas McPhilips
Joel Wilson
Micheal McCarville
Andrew Woods
I'm feeling quite confident for Monaghan in 2025. Hopefully new players will push on and we can finish in the top half of Division 2, while continuing to build and lads will get a bit more confidence playing in Div 2 too.
Apart from adding Stephen Mooney and hopefully Aaron Mulligan to the panel in 2025, what other good young prospects are there ? I believe Kearns won't be back from Oz until 2026 ?

Compare Armagh panel on All Ireland final day to Armagh v Monaghan in Quarter final 2023, only difference in panel are:
Blaine Hughes (Due to Rafferty injury)
Conor O'Neill - Sub
Shea Magill - Sub
Justin Kieran - Sub

So Monaghan were certainly rebuilding this year (some would say were forced to rebuild), Armagh just pushed on with pretty much same team as Monaghan played in 2023 and got the holy grail.!!

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 30/07/2024 15:27:47    2563042

Nonsense. The width of a crossbar was what stood between losing or knocking Galway out of the Championship. McGeeny and Armagh have been to lower bottoms than we are at. Sunshine supporters need to cop on. Our retiring stars were never going to be replaced in one year. Oh by the way it is not in the Co. Boards's remit to put backroom personal in place. Then again how could one expect a sunshine supporter to know that.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 316 - 30/07/2024 15:32:27    2563043