Westmeath Football thread

Replying To BigSur:  "Have a day off seriously."
Home truths don't sit well, but it's time for the County Board to get the finger out and capitalise on this momentum, do you not agree? Mark McHugh's team is leading from the front. The County Board needs to show the same urgency. Time to get out of their way and start raising the funds necessary to prepare County teams to the very highest standard. We have the players to compete. At the moment, we can't afford to buy socks and shorts for the U15 development squad.

iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 345 - 31/05/2026 23:33:25    2676902

Replying To ColmFlaherty:  "Fair play to Westmeath on their current run. Brandon Kelly and Senan Baker in unbelievable form would rival Conaty and Turbitt for the form Forwards in the country IMO. Sam McCartan looks like a player who's very used to playing Sam Maguire football."
Brandon Kelly was told by a former Westmeath manager that he was not good enough to be a Westmeath footballer, but then again the said Westmeath manager could not win a Championship game. Delighted for Brandon, he has been excellent.

iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 345 - 31/05/2026 23:42:00    2676904

The best three sides in our section are Donegal, Armagh and Galway, last night people were hoping for Donegal due to McHugh factor but home or away they're prob top side in the country. They're also three very well supported sides so we wouldn't have Cusack Park 90% full of home supporters unlike Saturday. I'd hope for Cork, Louth or Mayo, preferably at home obviously. The winners in a fortnight get another fortnight before the quarter finals which would be huge benefit at this stage, the losers in a fortnight would play three weekends in succession if they reached quarter finals. Injuries would be a factor at that stage and we've already lost Luke L, Danny McC and Conor McC. A winnable match in a fortnight would give us a great chance in a quarter final against an opponent that would have had no proper break. It's great to have these possibilities.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2652 - 01/06/2026 00:26:47    2676915

Will there be repercussions for the Westmeath players that confronted McCabe after the game. From what I could see there was a lot more than pushing and shoving …. Brennan got 12 weeks for a lot less that I could see ……

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 292 - 01/06/2026 01:17:36    2676919

Replying To Greengrass1:  "If we do get Louth and they get home venue then likely to be Newbridge. My gut for what its worth which is feck all says Cork away. Doesn't matter, we'll play anyone anywhere."
You'll be in inniskeen it's lovely ask any Meath fan, Meath were roaring on dublin today naturally vs Louth but mostly so we wouldn't be in hat with Louth and have to play in dreaded inniskeen again

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 956 - 01/06/2026 03:43:34    2676923

Replying To iarmhiabu:  "Brandon Kelly was told by a former Westmeath manager that he was not good enough to be a Westmeath footballer, but then again the said Westmeath manager could not win a Championship game. Delighted for Brandon, he has been excellent."
I'd imagine that was d Dolan .
2 yrs in charge he wasn't at least in the squad.

Joeynyc (Westmeath) - Posts: 15 - 01/06/2026 12:25:48    2676990

Replying To ExiledCuCu:  "Will there be repercussions for the Westmeath players that confronted McCabe after the game. From what I could see there was a lot more than pushing and shoving …. Brennan got 12 weeks for a lot less that I could see ……"
What happened here?
From the tv I seen McCabe and Westmeath players exchanging pleasantries and well wishes. I thought both managers spoke well after the game and were complimentary towards one another and their squads.

TractorTom4 (Australia) - Posts: 17 - 01/06/2026 13:19:45    2677005

Great win on Saturday full of grit, determination and cool headedness by all involved. No drama just the belief to go out and keep going to the end. What struck me was the will to win in the last half of extra time unbelievable want to win. This is a seriously well coached and committed team with everyone buying into it. Winning Leinster has put the belief into these players that they belong at this level. Although if you said that after the Sligo game back in January you'd be laughed out of if.

2maroonjerseys (Galway) - Posts: 148 - 01/06/2026 14:05:54    2677017

Replying To ExiledCuCu:  "Will there be repercussions for the Westmeath players that confronted McCabe after the game. From what I could see there was a lot more than pushing and shoving …. Brennan got 12 weeks for a lot less that I could see ……"
No repercussions from any non story. Lots of insinuation but nothing happened so let's not make news where there is none

Darragh (Westmeath) - Posts: 366 - 01/06/2026 14:28:14    2677025

Replying To iarmhiabu:  "Home truths don't sit well, but it's time for the County Board to get the finger out and capitalise on this momentum, do you not agree? Mark McHugh's team is leading from the front. The County Board needs to show the same urgency. Time to get out of their way and start raising the funds necessary to prepare County teams to the very highest standard. We have the players to compete. At the moment, we can't afford to buy socks and shorts for the U15 development squad."
You were organising an EGM two months ago along with Temple. Not a word about it since. Can you not get a venue that only holds 2-3 people?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2652 - 01/06/2026 15:06:17    2677031

Anybody know how serious the Danny McCartan and Shane Ormsby injuries are?

crispsandwich99 (Westmeath) - Posts: 14 - 01/06/2026 15:31:59    2677034

Replying To iarmhiabu:  "Home truths don't sit well, but it's time for the County Board to get the finger out and capitalise on this momentum, do you not agree? Mark McHugh's team is leading from the front. The County Board needs to show the same urgency. Time to get out of their way and start raising the funds necessary to prepare County teams to the very highest standard. We have the players to compete. At the moment, we can't afford to buy socks and shorts for the U15 development squad."
People overestimate the impact these runs have on support. It can drop as quick as it rises. Im delighted to see ye doing well but we made the same mistake in Galway back at the turn of the millenium when we were flying it. By 03/04 our support was back to pre glory day levels.
Behind the scenes volunteerism and hard work is always more important than a good championship run.

Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 47 - 01/06/2026 16:37:06    2677048

A massive final 10 minutes by the lads when we looked dead and buried to get over the line on Saturday. Winning while not looking overly impressive for long stretches of second half and first 10 in extra time is surely a good sign. Well done to all involved. Kickout did not function as well as usual which as we know is now a huge facet of the game. Will need to get that aspect sorted and operating well for next day out again, although Cavan clearly had homework done in that area. Can look forward to the draw tomorrow morning now with interest and optimism. Another home draw would be great. As a footnote, it was disappointing to hear some sections of the crowd booing and jeering opposition freetakers in last few games. In the main from "fans" that dont attend games regularly I'd imagine. Not a good look imo and Im sure all proper GAA fans would not condone such behaviour. Anyway, on to the next one. Iarmhí Abú.

TheLineKing (Westmeath) - Posts: 34 - 01/06/2026 16:43:42    2677049

Replying To crispsandwich99:  "Anybody know how serious the Danny McCartan and Shane Ormsby injuries are?"
Danny on crutches and in a boot so not good I'd say. Ormsby not too bad I believe and might tog the next day.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1255 - 01/06/2026 17:38:22    2677068

Replying To Darragh:  "No repercussions from any non story. Lots of insinuation but nothing happened so let's not make news where there is none"
Definitely a bit of goading towards McCabe at the final whistle from a couple of players that didnt feature last season. Heat of moment stuff but understandably some of the Cavan players and 1 selector (not McCabe) took exception to. Could have got nasty but enough peace makers intervened.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1255 - 01/06/2026 17:44:05    2677070

Absolute rubbish.

londoner (UK) - Posts: 127 - 01/06/2026 18:09:05    2677084

Replying To Claretandblue:  "You were organising an EGM two months ago along with Temple. Not a word about it since. Can you not get a venue that only holds 2-3 people?"
If Westmeath are winning matches, competing for Leinster titles and making progress in the All Ireland Championship, most supporters will take enormous pride from that regardless of the little visible evidence of progress off the field. Your job is safe for now, I just hope the manager doesn't come looking for more as I am not sure how another €100 per ticket draw would go down. How can the county become financially stronger? How will this momentum be used? Those are fair questions to ask but you take it personally.

iarmhiabu (Westmeath) - Posts: 345 - 01/06/2026 18:41:18    2677086

As an avid Gaa follower from Cavan living in roscommon. Enjoyed the match on Saturday great atmosphere and pleased with the cavan comeback. Go to a lot of games following roscommon and Cavan. Had an issue with which I wasn't gonna to bring up until I saw another poster mention it. Very disappointed with the booing and noise from the very first cavan free kick and throughout the game. haven't come across it at this level before and probably not a good example for the new young fans. Best of luck and we might meet again

Roscavan (Cavan) - Posts: 1 - 01/06/2026 19:26:32    2677109