Dublin GAA thread

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Fionn.
I cannot see Dublin apponting an outsider to manage the footballers. You d have Kevin Heffernan turning in his grave.
Although I know things seem gloomy after a loss but the Dubs when the embrace the new rules will still be very strong.
Declan Darcy might be in the mix and who knows who will come to the fore.
Also the batteries will be recharged next year and maybe Fenton might get the appetite back. He is still a yoing man.Regardless best of luck going forward."
Probably not but if they do Austin is the one for me.

Personally I would go for Pat again if it is to be a Dub, but I think Darcy will probably get it.
I had tipped Ger but after seeing how Louth faded this year, I am not so sure he is ready yet tbh.

One thing in Dessie's interview - he informed the DCB at the start of the season that he would be finishing up this year.
So the DCB have had months to prepare for this.
Based on this, one would expect a swift appointment.
If not, they are asleep at the wheel - which wouldn't be the first time....

I am not going to go hard on Dessie as he has given so much to Dublin GAA both as a player and a manager, and a lovely guy to boot. BUT - I, like many others, feel the Dubs were under prepared for the new rules this year.
Years of being coached one way and having to change this year - BUT these are multi All Ireland and All Star winners...
If lower rated counties can do it, then there is NO excuse for us not being ready to adapt to them.
I was shocked to hear his interview after the game yesterday when he said we do not have 2 point scoring players....!!!
Really...???? I am still in shock with that comment. All the players playing in Dublin and he couldn't find a single 2 point shooting player.

Anyway, fresh start now.... we will lose another 3 now probably but I hear 1 or 2 might be returning.

But on to next Sunday and another day out on the Hill shouting the Dubs on...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4387 - 29/06/2025 21:44:53    2622352

I might get shot down for this, however I believe the Dublin squad this year, on paper, is as good as any other squad out there, a good mix of youth and experience. They should have beaten both Armagh and Tyrone not saying the shoulda won the AI but they shoulda got closer than they did!

However! For some reason there has been a total systems breakdown because of the new rules! To me Dublin we're trying to play this season like it was still the 2nd half of the twenty teens!

I've huge time for Dessie on a personal level but I just feel it's been the perfect storm of old school manager not adapting to new rules! (God! I hope he doesn't look at this forum!)

And maybe I'm just completely wrong talking sh1te! Maybe if Paul Mannion had of hung around! Now there was a man that coulda kicked 2 pointers!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 329 - 29/06/2025 21:52:18    2622358

Replying To Fionn:  "Really....????

Meath are clearly a better team than Louth.
Meath have shown their true ability since the Leinster final, as have Louth imo.

I rate this Meath team highly and of course with Robbie at the helm - well he has added a lot to them also."
Agreed Fionn, was going to reply saying same!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 329 - 29/06/2025 21:58:47    2622364

Replying To Onion_Sack:  "I might get shot down for this, however I believe the Dublin squad this year, on paper, is as good as any other squad out there, a good mix of youth and experience. They should have beaten both Armagh and Tyrone not saying the shoulda won the AI but they shoulda got closer than they did!

However! For some reason there has been a total systems breakdown because of the new rules! To me Dublin we're trying to play this season like it was still the 2nd half of the twenty teens!

I've huge time for Dessie on a personal level but I just feel it's been the perfect storm of old school manager not adapting to new rules! (God! I hope he doesn't look at this forum!)

And maybe I'm just completely wrong talking sh1te! Maybe if Paul Mannion had of hung around! Now there was a man that coulda kicked 2 pointers!"
Put it this way, Robbie would have got more out of this Dublin squad this year imo.
Look at how he has transformed this Meath squad from last season.....
Only saying...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4387 - 29/06/2025 22:51:08    2622395

Replying To Onion_Sack:  "And fair play Ciarraimick, your one of the classiest posters on this forum I'm delighted for you today!"
Thank you Onion Sack.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3996 - 30/06/2025 00:45:23    2622439

Now that the dust has settled after Saturday I have to say I have never been more at peace with a defeat like I am now. 2021 & 2022 in particular were very very hard to stomach as we were more than good enough to win both of those All Irelands. However watching us on Saturday it just cemented the thinking that we're just not good enough at the moment. There's no point ripping into the performance levels v Tyrone, it's obvious we were just not at the pitch of things from the get go. Could we have won? Absolutely, but the systemic failures in the way we play and have played for a long time now mean we're asking guys like Kilkenny, Howard, Con etc to effectively play with one arm tied behind their backs. I know us as fans don't like watching the style of football we have been dished up lately and as players they surely don't like this slow build up approach, lack of kick passing and taking your man on and taking shots when the opportunity is there especially from distance. We are so predictable and laborious in our approach to games that other simply bring more energy and that half the battle. Sure we had great wins in Salthill and Newry but ultimately you're judged on big knockout games in Croke Park and we've fallen to a team who didn't really need to get near top gear to put us away.

A word on Dessie - an unbelievable servant to Dublin for almost 4 decades so I have massive respect for the man. I have been vocal on here before and gave out plenty about him but my reasoning is that since he took over from Jim Gavin the drop off in performance levels of some of our main men has been pretty stark. Even Fento before he retired was nowhere near the swashbuckling midfielder we had become accustomed to seeing. Paul Mannion was inexplicably dropped for Paddy Small at one point and got the hump before coming back in 2023. I actually think he'd have been close to an ever present under a different manager. A lot of ifs and buts I know but I think I'll always have a little bit of regret that the team from 2020 to present didn't win another two All Irelands at least.

What next? We need to get a manager in place who can get back to basics and re-introduce the key skills of the game and have Dublin known for playing good front foot, attacking football. We might not be good enough to compete in the latter stages for quite a while but given the success we've had since 2011 I'm fine with that once the signs are there that we are building something again for the future. Adapt to the new rules, get lads playing football that is enjoyable to play. I think Cluxton will surely hang the gloves up now and most likely Small will retire properly this time. Add Davy Byrne perhaps to that but otherwise I'd be keen to keep Kilkenny of course and hope that neither Howard or Con decide to opt out for a year.

Whoever the new man coming in is will have some interesting conversations with these guys I'm sure. I'd actually be getting on the phone to Mannion and Fenton also to see if there's any hope of a return (both just turned 32) as honestly if we circled the wagons and got things right tactically under new management we are not far off anyone else this year. Without them its hard to see where the star quality comes from but if there's no dice with both of them then maybe its better that a proper clear out happens and we all just move on from the glory days. We will hear all of the usual names - Ger Brennan, Paul Curran, Declan Darcy, Jayo, Mick Bohan however Gilroy should be the first phone call made. If he doesn't want it himself then he should 100% be involved in the selection process. Ger is probably the next on the list but not sure he would take it just yet given the gig he has in Louth.

Lastly the lack of talent coming through is a worry and even looking at the subs coming on the last day (Con aside) we really don't have many options or any real depth. Since Con broke through in 2016 we haven't produced another forward anywhere near his level and we're almost 10 years on. There should be hard questions asked over the winter now and the whole underage thing needs to be addressed as the 20s, minors and below can't continue to be regularly beaten by the Kildares, Louths and Meaths of this world.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 290 - 30/06/2025 09:45:15    2622498

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Now that the dust has settled after Saturday I have to say I have never been more at peace with a defeat like I am now. 2021 & 2022 in particular were very very hard to stomach as we were more than good enough to win both of those All Irelands. However watching us on Saturday it just cemented the thinking that we're just not good enough at the moment. There's no point ripping into the performance levels v Tyrone, it's obvious we were just not at the pitch of things from the get go. Could we have won? Absolutely, but the systemic failures in the way we play and have played for a long time now mean we're asking guys like Kilkenny, Howard, Con etc to effectively play with one arm tied behind their backs. I know us as fans don't like watching the style of football we have been dished up lately and as players they surely don't like this slow build up approach, lack of kick passing and taking your man on and taking shots when the opportunity is there especially from distance. We are so predictable and laborious in our approach to games that other simply bring more energy and that half the battle. Sure we had great wins in Salthill and Newry but ultimately you're judged on big knockout games in Croke Park and we've fallen to a team who didn't really need to get near top gear to put us away.

A word on Dessie - an unbelievable servant to Dublin for almost 4 decades so I have massive respect for the man. I have been vocal on here before and gave out plenty about him but my reasoning is that since he took over from Jim Gavin the drop off in performance levels of some of our main men has been pretty stark. Even Fento before he retired was nowhere near the swashbuckling midfielder we had become accustomed to seeing. Paul Mannion was inexplicably dropped for Paddy Small at one point and got the hump before coming back in 2023. I actually think he'd have been close to an ever present under a different manager. A lot of ifs and buts I know but I think I'll always have a little bit of regret that the team from 2020 to present didn't win another two All Irelands at least.

What next? We need to get a manager in place who can get back to basics and re-introduce the key skills of the game and have Dublin known for playing good front foot, attacking football. We might not be good enough to compete in the latter stages for quite a while but given the success we've had since 2011 I'm fine with that once the signs are there that we are building something again for the future. Adapt to the new rules, get lads playing football that is enjoyable to play. I think Cluxton will surely hang the gloves up now and most likely Small will retire properly this time. Add Davy Byrne perhaps to that but otherwise I'd be keen to keep Kilkenny of course and hope that neither Howard or Con decide to opt out for a year.

Whoever the new man coming in is will have some interesting conversations with these guys I'm sure. I'd actually be getting on the phone to Mannion and Fenton also to see if there's any hope of a return (both just turned 32) as honestly if we circled the wagons and got things right tactically under new management we are not far off anyone else this year. Without them its hard to see where the star quality comes from but if there's no dice with both of them then maybe its better that a proper clear out happens and we all just move on from the glory days. We will hear all of the usual names - Ger Brennan, Paul Curran, Declan Darcy, Jayo, Mick Bohan however Gilroy should be the first phone call made. If he doesn't want it himself then he should 100% be involved in the selection process. Ger is probably the next on the list but not sure he would take it just yet given the gig he has in Louth.

Lastly the lack of talent coming through is a worry and even looking at the subs coming on the last day (Con aside) we really don't have many options or any real depth. Since Con broke through in 2016 we haven't produced another forward anywhere near his level and we're almost 10 years on. There should be hard questions asked over the winter now and the whole underage thing needs to be addressed as the 20s, minors and below can't continue to be regularly beaten by the Kildares, Louths and Meaths of this world."
I couldnt have put it better myself.
Snap.

Few points:
- Not sure what the hell is going on at underage....
- Pat has to be involved in one way or another.
- I also think we have under achieved since 2020. But 2023 was special.
- Stephen, John and another will call it a day now.
Could be more - depends on the next manager imo.
- And another curve ball, will Con throw himself in with the Hurlers now.???
I reckon Eoghan will head back to them.
- Conveyor belt - what conveyor belt...????????????????????????????????????????????
- Some pundits and ex players looking fairly silly now... ;o)
- I flagged it way back that we might not even Leinster this year or even regularly. I am not far off that looking at how Meath have progressed. They had the vast majority of those players last year. Amazing what a change of management can do. And dont forget, they are missing 3 starters also, through injury.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4387 - 30/06/2025 10:01:13    2622508

Replying To Fionn:  "I couldnt have put it better myself.
Snap.

Few points:
- Conveyor belt - what conveyor belt...????????????????????????????????????????????
- I flagged it way back that we might not even Leinster this year or even regularly. I am not far off that looking at how Meath have progressed. They had the vast majority of those players last year. Amazing what a change of management can do. And dont forget, they are missing 3 starters also, through injury."
I think we have been asleep at the wheel underage for quite a while now. Shocko might be asked a few hard questions over the next few months also in that regard. Curiously as far as I know we don't have too many ex players involved right up through the ages. A good few of the 2011 team were involved but not sure if any are left tbh.

I can't see Con going hurling but you just wouldn't know. He has given so much to the footballers that it will likely come down to whoever the new man is having a fairly open conversation with him and seeing what's what then. Eoghan is probably a cert to go back to them alright. He's one I just don't get or how he was an option during the league but then barely featured at all in championship.

And yes it is amazing what a new management team can do. If we get the right man in with a new coaching team (have heard very mixed reviews of the current coaches) you just wouldn't know how quickly they might turn things around. It's the younger lads now that will need to bring the energy to the whole thing too.

I wonder will Cluxton be involved in any set up in future. Would be a good man to have for sure, just wouldn't think he has the personality to be the main man. I've already heard rumours that Berno is eyeing it up although he has zero experience so really couldn't see that happening!

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 290 - 30/06/2025 10:49:08    2622537

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Fionn.
I cannot see Dublin apponting an outsider to manage the footballers. You d have Kevin Heffernan turning in his grave.
Although I know things seem gloomy after a loss but the Dubs when the embrace the new rules will still be very strong.
Declan Darcy might be in the mix and who knows who will come to the fore.
Also the batteries will be recharged next year and maybe Fenton might get the appetite back. He is still a yoing man.Regardless best of luck going forward."
Again I agree with you CiarraiMick. Dublin have plenty of potential managers within the county. Ger Brennan being one who is building a rep. I think that managers other than Dessie haven't fully got their heads around these new rules and the importance of 2 pointers yet. In my opinion, our manager Oisin being one. Too much of the old possession game still. Or possibly we don't have the players to break tackles, but Dublin do - and Meath certainly do. Yesterdays grit and determination reminded of the Meath spirit of old.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1713 - 30/06/2025 10:49:23    2622538

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "
Replying To Fionn:  "I couldnt have put it better myself.
Snap.

Few points:
- I flagged it way back that we might not even Leinster this year or even regularly. I am not far off that looking at how Meath have progressed. They had the vast majority of those players last year. Amazing what a change of management can do. And dont forget, they are missing 3 starters also, through injury."
I think we have been asleep at the wheel underage for quite a while now. Shocko might be asked a few hard questions over the next few months also in that regard. Curiously as far as I know we don't have too many ex players involved right up through the ages. A good few of the 2011 team were involved but not sure if any are left tbh.

I can't see Con going hurling but you just wouldn't know. He has given so much to the footballers that it will likely come down to whoever the new man is having a fairly open conversation with him and seeing what's what then. Eoghan is probably a cert to go back to them alright. He's one I just don't get or how he was an option during the league but then barely featured at all in championship.

And yes it is amazing what a new management team can do. If we get the right man in with a new coaching team (have heard very mixed reviews of the current coaches) you just wouldn't know how quickly they might turn things around. It's the younger lads now that will need to bring the energy to the whole thing too.

I wonder will Cluxton be involved in any set up in future. Would be a good man to have for sure, just wouldn't think he has the personality to be the main man. I've already heard rumours that Berno is eyeing it up although he has zero experience so really couldn't see that happening!"
I would have Pat involved for sure.

Need fresh thinking...

Beginning to have reservations about Ger though tbh.
Just think he might be overawed by it all and the weight of expectation.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4387 - 30/06/2025 10:58:40    2622547

Tyrone v Dublin - 2 good-to-average teams. Kerry would beat the pick of both of them. Sorry

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 301 - 30/06/2025 11:02:17    2622550

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "Tyrone v Dublin - 2 good-to-average teams. Kerry would beat the pick of both of them. Sorry"
I agree.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4387 - 30/06/2025 12:26:31    2622590