Money Grabbing Gareth Brooks

Replying To Square_B:  "You're wasting your breath here. Thank god there's a planning process which cuts through this nonsense. You'd sware some residents around Croke Park owned the place. Everyone is free to move at any time. No one is forced to live around Croke Park."
It's ok for you living in the rushes 100 mile away.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 18/12/2021 17:15:18    2393177

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "
Replying To Pikeman96:  "Barney: "You'll have clubs full of people who don't play watching the Pool and United in August now."

Maybe so. But on the other hand, if you continue the inter-county season into August and September, you'll have clubs full of people who should be playing at that time of year but who can't play.....because about 30 other club players (and maybe not even one of them from their own club!) won't be available for club action since they'll still be with the county team.

Also, if a non-playing club member would prefer to watch soccer on the telly in August instead of going to see their own club play, you'd have to wonder how much of a club person they are anyway."
95% of club players are in no way put out by the final stages of the championships.

It is a totally ridiculous argument to claim that they are. Based on no statistics whatsoever. It's just a slogan. Junior lads complaining that Dublin or Kerry being in an All Ireland final is stopping them playing. Ludicrous. And I've heard all the arguments at meetings.

Indeed the worst offenders in regard to finishing even senior championships late have been counties whose inter county season has ended in June or July!"
I think Barney your missing the point to an extent .Its the not knowing thats the killer .There is no way of predicting who will be in the All Ireland final and who will be on an extended championship run so therefore its very hard for any club player to plan anything.Does he make arrangments for June or September? Dont forget there are also county teams in both codes at other age levels catered for which also influence club fixtures.
On a separate not you make the classic urban mistake of confusing clubs and clubhouses. There will be very few people around here watching Pool or united because a) there would be nowhere to watch it and b) people have more to be doing with their time

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 18/12/2021 17:40:26    2393185

Replying To Saynothing:  "It's ok for you living in the rushes 100 mile away."
I live in Dublin not a million miles from Croke Park but thanks for your concern

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 18/12/2021 18:01:27    2393191

Replying To Square_B:  "I live in Dublin not a million miles from Croke Park but thanks for your concern"
Well you need to take a stroll around Croke Park and educate yourself and you might just note that there is a lot of social housing in the area both flats and houses so in many cases people don't have the option of moving or is the fact that they are social housing mean that these people should be just grateful that they have a home and put up with whatever the GAA decide to inflict on them.

Liffeylad (Dublin) - Posts: 74 - 18/12/2021 18:37:49    2393199

Replying To Liffeylad:  "The fact that the house has been in the family for over 90 years long before Croke Park ever held concerts. Residents don't have issues with the matches they are not nearly as disruptive"
Fair enough

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 18/12/2021 18:55:55    2393200

Replying To Liffeylad:  "Well you need to take a stroll around Croke Park and educate yourself and you might just note that there is a lot of social housing in the area both flats and houses so in many cases people don't have the option of moving or is the fact that they are social housing mean that these people should be just grateful that they have a home and put up with whatever the GAA decide to inflict on them."
Indeed there is lots of social houses and lots of private ones as well.... and lots of happy residents in the locality as well. If your home happens to be social well be grateful that the state is providing a subsidised home, subsidised by taxpayers. The real problem we have in this country is the likes of you and others complaining about nonsense like this ... nothing but NIMBY'S.... thankfully the local council cuts through all that bull. As I've said, move on somewhere else if it causes you so much grief, there will be lots of people who find it perfectly fine.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 18/12/2021 19:55:11    2393210

Replying To Square_B:  "Indeed there is lots of social houses and lots of private ones as well.... and lots of happy residents in the locality as well. If your home happens to be social well be grateful that the state is providing a subsidised home, subsidised by taxpayers. The real problem we have in this country is the likes of you and others complaining about nonsense like this ... nothing but NIMBY'S.... thankfully the local council cuts through all that bull. As I've said, move on somewhere else if it causes you so much grief, there will be lots of people who find it perfectly fine."
This is the same person who calls people xenophobes when they question mass immigration!

The "likes of you" - as you are so fond of throwing around at others like snuff at a wake - have no problem with hibernophobia.

May the old woman should give her house to some asylum seeker fleeing sub Saharan Africa via Hackney or Islington?

If they kicked up you'd support them.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 18/12/2021 20:27:18    2393214

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "This is the same person who calls people xenophobes when they question mass immigration!

The "likes of you" - as you are so fond of throwing around at others like snuff at a wake - have no problem with hibernophobia.

May the old woman should give her house to some asylum seeker fleeing sub Saharan Africa via Hackney or Islington?

If they kicked up you'd support them."
Of course he supports the immigrants sure isn't he one himself in Dublin but with his attitude I'm not surprised. By the way where exactly did you do the poll that told you most of the residents are happy about the concerts surely you have evidence to back up your statements

Liffeylad (Dublin) - Posts: 74 - 18/12/2021 21:08:13    2393220

Replying To Liffeylad:  "Of course he supports the immigrants sure isn't he one himself in Dublin but with his attitude I'm not surprised. By the way where exactly did you do the poll that told you most of the residents are happy about the concerts surely you have evidence to back up your statements"
Looks like you don't know the meaning of 'an immigrant'... scarlet for ya..... What's wrong with immigrants anyhow? I hope you're not another gombeen like Barney?

BTW... Google is your friend .... https://www.q102.ie/news/q102-news/croke-park-residents-lodge-objections-to-brooks-gigs/ - 86 objections received by DCC. You're clearly in the minority. So as I've said... move somewhere else if it pains you and your family. You don't get to hold the area to ransom over nonsence like this.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 18/12/2021 21:33:51    2393223

Replying To Square_B:  "Looks like you don't know the meaning of 'an immigrant'... scarlet for ya..... What's wrong with immigrants anyhow? I hope you're not another gombeen like Barney?

BTW... Google is your friend .... https://www.q102.ie/news/q102-news/croke-park-residents-lodge-objections-to-brooks-gigs/ - 86 objections received by DCC. You're clearly in the minority. So as I've said... move somewhere else if it pains you and your family. You don't get to hold the area to ransom over nonsence like this."
While you are busy advising other people to Google stuff, perhaps you might look up this one:

Cognitive dissonance.

Pretty much sums up the "likes of you" and your ability to simultaneously despise people you are familiar with while at the same time harbouring an uncritical love of those you don't know.

Old Dub woman bad.

Faraway immigrant good.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 19/12/2021 08:54:12    2393231

Replying To Liffeylad:  "The fact that the house has been in the family for over 90 years long before Croke Park ever held concerts. Residents don't have issues with the matches they are not nearly as disruptive"
How many of the houses around Croke Park have been 'in the family for over 90 years'?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 19/12/2021 09:43:23    2393235

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "While you are busy advising other people to Google stuff, perhaps you might look up this one:

Cognitive dissonance.

Pretty much sums up the "likes of you" and your ability to simultaneously despise people you are familiar with while at the same time harbouring an uncritical love of those you don't know.

Old Dub woman bad.

Faraway immigrant good."
Feeling a bit threatened by the immigrants are we Barney?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 19/12/2021 11:33:47    2393242

Replying To Square_B:  "Looks like you don't know the meaning of 'an immigrant'... scarlet for ya..... What's wrong with immigrants anyhow? I hope you're not another gombeen like Barney?

BTW... Google is your friend .... https://www.q102.ie/news/q102-news/croke-park-residents-lodge-objections-to-brooks-gigs/ - 86 objections received by DCC. You're clearly in the minority. So as I've said... move somewhere else if it pains you and your family. You don't get to hold the area to ransom over nonsence like this."
It's very easy to present the facts to suit your agenda. Objections were raised by residents associations which would represent hundreds of people therefore to say there was only 86 objections is a misrepresentation.

If the actions of one of your neighbours was disrupting your life would you simply sell up and move or would you approach them and let them know you weren't happy?

Liffeylad (Dublin) - Posts: 74 - 19/12/2021 12:54:00    2393250

Replying To Square_B:  "Feeling a bit threatened by the immigrants are we Barney?"
It's like arguing with a hedge. Well, they won't be regressing you to any sort of mean :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 19/12/2021 20:22:08    2393286

Replying To Liffeylad:  "It's very easy to present the facts to suit your agenda. Objections were raised by residents associations which would represent hundreds of people therefore to say there was only 86 objections is a misrepresentation.

If the actions of one of your neighbours was disrupting your life would you simply sell up and move or would you approach them and let them know you weren't happy?"
You mean the same residents association that went around getting fake signatures the last time this was an issue? The same resident association that purport to 'represent' the community even though they have no known resentatives bar a Facebook page no one knows who is responsible for? As I've said, you can complain all you like.... bottom line is that 86 objections were received... clearly in the minority. Croke Park is the 'neighbour' of thousands of people. Thankfully you, don't get to dictate who should be offended or not.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 19/12/2021 21:36:22    2393292

Replying To Liffeylad:  "Well you need to take a stroll around Croke Park and educate yourself and you might just note that there is a lot of social housing in the area both flats and houses so in many cases people don't have the option of moving or is the fact that they are social housing mean that these people should be just grateful that they have a home and put up with whatever the GAA decide to inflict on them."
Question for you liffeylad, I don't know if you can answer it or not, but if a house close to crokepark goes up for sale, does crokepark buy them?

I heard they bought clonlife college i think was it 2 years ago now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/12/2021 21:55:28    2393295

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "It's like arguing with a hedge. Well, they won't be regressing you to any sort of mean :-)"
Pathetic.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 20/12/2021 09:30:26    2393302

Replying To Square_B:  "You mean the same residents association that went around getting fake signatures the last time this was an issue? The same resident association that purport to 'represent' the community even though they have no known resentatives bar a Facebook page no one knows who is responsible for? As I've said, you can complain all you like.... bottom line is that 86 objections were received... clearly in the minority. Croke Park is the 'neighbour' of thousands of people. Thankfully you, don't get to dictate who should be offended or not."
If you're not name calling you're altering the facts in an attempt to prove your point. It was alleged there was fake signatures but it was never proven but hey don't let the truth get in the way of you trying to make a point.

I asked you a question - if your neighbours were obstructing you from going about your daily life, would you approach them and object or would you just sell up and move.

Liffeylad (Dublin) - Posts: 74 - 20/12/2021 11:17:25    2393311

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Question for you liffeylad, I don't know if you can answer it or not, but if a house close to crokepark goes up for sale, does crokepark buy them?

I heard they bought clonlife college i think was it 2 years ago now."
They bought clonliffe college a few years back and sold some of that land to a developer
https://www.thejournal.ie/gaa-hotel-clonliffe-road-croke-park-5409769-Apr2021/

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 20/12/2021 11:25:09    2393312

Replying To KillingFields:  "They bought clonliffe college a few years back and sold some of that land to a developer
https://www.thejournal.ie/gaa-hotel-clonliffe-road-croke-park-5409769-Apr2021/"
Sound man, so the gaa aren't trying to buy up the land around Croker.

I thought that's what they'd try and do as it would clear the way for them to do what they want in the stadium.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/12/2021 12:51:55    2393319