Like I said a few posts back, we have been coughing up a lot of scores, even against so called "weaker" teams. Tomorrow will be a big test, but a great learning curve for this young side. They will see first hand how they measure up against one of the best sides in the country. Somebody has the Dubs at 5th favs for Sam. I'd put them closer than that.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1593 - 12/04/2025 22:32:05 2601645 Link 0 |
Well done to all involved today, great crowd and atmosphere it was great to see a full Aughrim. The team did thier very best today and were far from being embarrassed by Dublin. If we can play with that intensity in the T Cup you would never know how far we can go! stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 128 - 13/04/2025 19:22:32 2601723 Link 0 |
Sligo vs Mayo sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2926 - 13/04/2025 19:41:41 2601726 Link 1 |
Ye showed well today Wicklow, fair play. realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8726 - 13/04/2025 19:58:37 2601728 Link 1 |
I couldn't make it today due to family commitments but covered every snippet I could to keep up. A really good performance, one the lads can be proud of. These young lads will have learned a lot from rubbing shoulders with some of the finest players in the game today. Two things stood out, from what I can glean from reports. The amount of wides we chalk up needs to be addressed, and the lack of goals or goal scoring opportunities. We have some fine goal scoring forwards for their clubs but are we lacking in trying to get quick ball into them ? Does our game plan facilitate this ?
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1593 - 13/04/2025 20:55:03 2601737 Link 0 |
Was at the game as my wife is from Wicklow. Pleasantly surprised with the performance. Actually disappointed it wasn't a lot closer as they dropped a lot of balls into the keeper and a few silly wides. Wicklow had great joy for spells on the Dublin kickout. It never really was in doubt for Dublin but Wicklow gave a spirited account of themselves. Dean Healy was magnificent. Really took the game to Dublin and wouldn't be out of place on most top county teams. If Dublin didn't have Con it would have been closer again. The big thing for Wicklow now will be keeping the intensity levels for the lesser teams. Today should definitely give them a boost anyway. Would love to support ye again in Croker for a Tailteann cup final! thebronze14 (Donegal) - Posts: 48 - 13/04/2025 23:05:51 2601759 Link 1 |
GAA has to go professional or at least semi professional , viewing numbers and attendances are down around the country and no matter what rules are changed Football is struggling. Albundy19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 92 - 14/04/2025 17:12:01 2601890 Link 0 |
The game is in big trouble. Country towns ain't what they used to be. All the changes in the rules/tactics over the last 25 years or so have not helped in my opinion. Dublin winning all those AIs didn't help either. People lost faith. But it's anyone's for the taking now, hopefully this will rekindle some kind of interest.
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8726 - 14/04/2025 19:48:23 2601928 Link 0 |
How would going professional help attendances or viewing numbers?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15368 - 14/04/2025 21:10:37 2601941 Link 0 |
I'm probably going out on a limb here and showing I'm a bit of a dinosaur, but, to me, even with the new rules, the game just isn't one that does anything to attract spectators. Still too much tooing and frooing around the new D. A fear of losing possession still exists and is dragging the game down, imo.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1593 - 14/04/2025 22:28:41 2601952 Link 0 |
I agree
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8726 - 15/04/2025 14:54:58 2602067 Link 0 |
I think the rule change is another example of how detached the GAA hierarchy are from the grassroots. Most counties consist of clubs who are struggling to field teams and a full complement of subs at various grades and who are finding it difficult to attract referees and other officials. Instead of changing the rules, why not just reduce the number per team from 15 to 13. This would allow a club to have more substitutes and it would reduce the cost at intercounty level as panels of players could be reduce accordingly plus a lot of intercounty players could return and play for their clubs plus it would encourage more kicking in the game. I have to commend the Wicklow's players for turning in such a performance against Dublin, seven days after playing extra time in an away win over Longford. I am a bit puzzled by this team, how can they perform so well against a division one outfit like Dublin on Sunday but couldn't beat London in the league? Is it less pressurised playing Dublin? I would envisage it is more pressurised but maybe the thoughts of being embarrassed is enough motivation to play well. It will be interesting to see how we fare in the Tailteann cup and how many supporters who were there to see them playing Dublin will return for the less glamorous games!!!
wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 2090 - 15/04/2025 15:42:23 2602080 Link 1 |
If there was an Olympics for moral victories we would be on the podium every time. sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2926 - 17/04/2025 14:59:42 2602432 Link 0 |
Standing right next to ourselves
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15368 - 17/04/2025 15:17:17 2602437 Link 0 |
I'm not a huge fan of a lot of these new rules, but it is definitely better than it was in recent years (mainly due to the 3-up) and I'd be hopeful it will evolve even more. There's still a huge majority of players playing now that have possession-at-all-costs ingrained in them, it'll take time and player turnover for mentalities to change.
FrankieJoe (Wicklow) - Posts: 94 - 17/04/2025 18:07:09 2602474 Link 0 |
I think there was a fear that we'd be beaten by 20 points. A reflection of our inferiority complex, I suppose. I don't think as a county we believe we deserve to be competing against the likes of Dublin regularly. I know it was a morale victory of sorts on Sunday but in the bigger picture, I think it is great that our young players experienced playing in that atmosphere against a quality team like Dublin even though I think they are a pale shadow of their former selves. Hopefully Sunday will be motivation for our players to try and win the Tailteann cup and experience playing similar calibre teams in the All Ireland series next season. This needs to be the team's aim along with promotion from Division Four. I assume the Tailteann cup groups will be drawn after the provincial finals, once the the sixteen teams in each competition are known.
wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 2090 - 17/04/2025 19:46:50 2602486 Link 0 |
Well ye did batter us.
sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2926 - 17/04/2025 21:32:17 2602499 Link 0 |
well done to wicklow Minors on getting through to next stage i think they play offaly in next match lor12 (Wicklow) - Posts: 250 - 18/04/2025 14:08:21 2602600 Link 0 |