Sligo GAA thread

Replying To westvoice:  "Can't see anyone who's currently involved with a club being announced until their season's are finished. Ideally you'd want someone in place by the time the Sligo champ starts so they can get to as many games as possible."
The only coach on the list that's unattached is Kevin Johnson. Having spent a number of years coaching some big clubs, the time could be right for him to step up to an intercounty managerial role. With Galway possibly changing manager later in the year he should be approached as soon as possible. Tourlestrane people were very impressed with his coaching, man management and organisation and we were very dissappointed to see him step down after a year.

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 382 - 18/06/2025 16:57:50    2619065

Replying To Anto:  "The only coach on the list that's unattached is Kevin Johnson. Having spent a number of years coaching some big clubs, the time could be right for him to step up to an intercounty managerial role. With Galway possibly changing manager later in the year he should be approached as soon as possible. Tourlestrane people were very impressed with his coaching, man management and organisation and we were very dissappointed to see him step down after a year."
I doubt if Galway would approach Johnson. He never featured as a manager for any of their underage teams. Mayo would probably be interested in him but they have nothing to offer in my opinion. Most of these managers come with a bus load of a backroom team. It's not just a manager and a few selectors anymore. It's the new chairman's first big job

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2144 - 18/06/2025 20:28:23    2619095

Kevin Johnson. Great club cv, Corofin were probably like managing a county team in essence. Brought through some of their underage. Has plenty of experience managing various ages of development.

Is he still a teacher in Salthill in Galway? That is a fair distance from Sligo Centre of Excellence. He coached Galway gaa academy teams and schools. Coached Galway Minors 2012.

Then coached clubs like Salthill/Knocknacarra and Mountbellew Moylough before managing-

Ballintubber 2018 2019 -2 Mayo Titles lost Connacht final to Corofin in 2019
Tourlestrane 2021 -1 Sligo title - took over after O Hara and McGowan
Corofin - 2022 2024 - 2 Galway titles and lost Connacht final to Brigids in 2023, lost to Padraig Pearse in 2024

I think I got the years right but apologies if any of the above is incorrect.

Before taking Tourlestrane role "Obviously managing your own county is a privilege and an honour for anyone, but the time has to be right and I felt for myself it wasn't probably the time, it's something for the future," he explains

He looks a serious candidate and the Tourlestrane lads would not suffer fools as easily as some on here or accept below par standards so I'd take their word for it. Time seems to be right but I know McGowan will be very keen for the Sligo Job too. Is he not unattached too, Anto? There will be an interview process and backroom team will matter. I'd love to see how he would evaluate the current team, squad and players to step up.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1873 - 18/06/2025 22:47:27    2619113

Replying To Anto:  "The only coach on the list that's unattached is Kevin Johnson. Having spent a number of years coaching some big clubs, the time could be right for him to step up to an intercounty managerial role. With Galway possibly changing manager later in the year he should be approached as soon as possible. Tourlestrane people were very impressed with his coaching, man management and organisation and we were very dissappointed to see him step down after a year."
Galway wouldn't even consider him for an interview so I wouldn't be rushing into it on their timelines. I agree I think he's a very good manager and could do the job well but I don't think Galway will ever take a Sligo born club manager as their manager without haven proven themselves with someone else. He's not in the same league as Kevin Walsh was as far as Galway are concerned so if I were him I'd be throwing my name at it, and looking to the likes of McGowan/Sloyne to join the backroom.

The Sligo Champion reported today that the Co Board hope for a manager to be appointed in time for club championship, at that rate of going it's not going to be a current club manager anywhere as you're not going to reveal you're leaving before club championship starts in most counties so we're looking at non assigned men or other county managers who have stood aside at that rate. That rules out O'Hara and tbh I'm glad, a great servant on the pitch but do we really want a fella stealing the limelight for himself and suspended every second week on the line? To be fair to McEntee when he was on the sideline (before preferring a more aerial view) WW3 could break out around him and he didn't appear to change persona which is a credit to him.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 548 - 19/06/2025 00:04:09    2619124

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Galway wouldn't even consider him for an interview so I wouldn't be rushing into it on their timelines. I agree I think he's a very good manager and could do the job well but I don't think Galway will ever take a Sligo born club manager as their manager without haven proven themselves with someone else. He's not in the same league as Kevin Walsh was as far as Galway are concerned so if I were him I'd be throwing my name at it, and looking to the likes of McGowan/Sloyne to join the backroom.

The Sligo Champion reported today that the Co Board hope for a manager to be appointed in time for club championship, at that rate of going it's not going to be a current club manager anywhere as you're not going to reveal you're leaving before club championship starts in most counties so we're looking at non assigned men or other county managers who have stood aside at that rate. That rules out O'Hara and tbh I'm glad, a great servant on the pitch but do we really want a fella stealing the limelight for himself and suspended every second week on the line? To be fair to McEntee when he was on the sideline (before preferring a more aerial view) WW3 could break out around him and he didn't appear to change persona which is a credit to him."
Are you sure you are a Sligoman? Very disrespectful and false assertion about O Hara. Do you know how many times he has been suspended? Do you really believe he would manage Sligo for the limelight? Ye harp on about commitment of players all the time and not to criticise. Nobody has been more committed to the Sligo cause than O Hara. O Hara fought for Sligo for years and carried us on his shoulders on the field then goes on to win multiple County titles with Tourlestrane, then Sligo u20s, then just to prove he can do it himself 2 titles with Mohill to now with Boyle and you post that. Unnecessary and unfair imo.

Very quick to put down one of your own but very quick to give credit to others.

We all know O Hara is passionate and sometimes gets the best of him but he has proven himself at club level management to be a shrewd operator and deserves respect. He has earned that and fair play to him putting himself out there in a management capacity. He has a lot to offer any team he is involved in imo.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1873 - 19/06/2025 16:36:30    2619296

Replying To Sligonian:  "Are you sure you are a Sligoman? Very disrespectful and false assertion about O Hara. Do you know how many times he has been suspended? Do you really believe he would manage Sligo for the limelight? Ye harp on about commitment of players all the time and not to criticise. Nobody has been more committed to the Sligo cause than O Hara. O Hara fought for Sligo for years and carried us on his shoulders on the field then goes on to win multiple County titles with Tourlestrane, then Sligo u20s, then just to prove he can do it himself 2 titles with Mohill to now with Boyle and you post that. Unnecessary and unfair imo.

We all know O Hara is passionate and sometimes gets the best of him but he has proven himself at club level management to be a shrewd operator and deserves respect. He has earned that and fair play to him putting himself out there in a management capacity. He has a lot to offer any team he is involved in imo."
He still wouldn't pick Kearney though!! So that wouldn't work

onthefortyfive (Sligo) - Posts: 43 - 19/06/2025 22:23:40    2619355

Replying To Sligonian:  "Are you sure you are a Sligoman? Very disrespectful and false assertion about O Hara. Do you know how many times he has been suspended? Do you really believe he would manage Sligo for the limelight? Ye harp on about commitment of players all the time and not to criticise. Nobody has been more committed to the Sligo cause than O Hara. O Hara fought for Sligo for years and carried us on his shoulders on the field then goes on to win multiple County titles with Tourlestrane, then Sligo u20s, then just to prove he can do it himself 2 titles with Mohill to now with Boyle and you post that. Unnecessary and unfair imo.

We all know O Hara is passionate and sometimes gets the best of him but he has proven himself at club level management to be a shrewd operator and deserves respect. He has earned that and fair play to him putting himself out there in a management capacity. He has a lot to offer any team he is involved in imo."
This isn't the place to be disrespectful about anyone and no one can argue with O Hara's credentials. But the fact is he carries baggage, he missed a county final with tourlestrane through suspension. McGinley or Johnson for me personally.

westvoice (Sligo) - Posts: 73 - 20/06/2025 09:05:44    2619388

Sligo this year were overall very poor.

Beating the likes of Carlow, Tipp and Letrim should be expected and although we beat them conceded huge scores.

Pace, aggression and power would be the basis of any good player and we seem to lack this. How many times did I see a fermanagh player run in straight lines and score with no hits going in.

Bigger weights over the winter to improve strength and power and loads more of 300m, 200m and 100m running and sprinting to improve speed. After this we need warriors with a mindset that losing is not an option. I can always tell a great player when you see the aggression and madness in his eyes when he plays.

When this is achieved, let's do tactics

sillymoocow (Sligo) - Posts: 4 - 20/06/2025 13:27:46    2619459

Replying To sillymoocow:  "Sligo this year were overall very poor.

Beating the likes of Carlow, Tipp and Letrim should be expected and although we beat them conceded huge scores.

Pace, aggression and power would be the basis of any good player and we seem to lack this. How many times did I see a fermanagh player run in straight lines and score with no hits going in.

Bigger weights over the winter to improve strength and power and loads more of 300m, 200m and 100m running and sprinting to improve speed. After this we need warriors with a mindset that losing is not an option. I can always tell a great player when you see the aggression and madness in his eyes when he plays.

When this is achieved, let's do tactics"
O sweet Jesus. Another one !!!

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2144 - 20/06/2025 14:50:58    2619484

This is mad! How do you have time for this?

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 92 - 20/06/2025 14:57:06    2619485

I can't believe how obvious you left this.

How many burners do you have?

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 92 - 20/06/2025 14:58:15    2619486

Relax lads, just because your ego's are fragile and paranoid doesn't mean every new poster who you don't agree with is me. You might just accept I only have 1 account and that others have a different opinion to you.

I would not agree that Sligo were very poor, sillymoocow. That's a little strong. You can't ignore we finished the league strong and did well against Mayo and our forward play was good at times but as you say we did concede some big scores. I agree on the physicality and getting hits in but not easy with the extra space this year. Losing is not a option is a good way of putting it. We were lacking that in the bigger games.

I wouldn't be looking back too much though, for me its time to move on and look forward and the new manager appointment with hopefully better days ahead at Senior for all of us.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1873 - 20/06/2025 17:50:46    2619522

Replying To Sligonian:  "Relax lads, just because your ego's are fragile and paranoid doesn't mean every new poster who you don't agree with is me. You might just accept I only have 1 account and that others have a different opinion to you.

I would not agree that Sligo were very poor, sillymoocow. That's a little strong. You can't ignore we finished the league strong and did well against Mayo and our forward play was good at times but as you say we did concede some big scores. I agree on the physicality and getting hits in but not easy with the extra space this year. Losing is not a option is a good way of putting it. We were lacking that in the bigger games.

I wouldn't be looking back too much though, for me its time to move on and look forward and the new manager appointment with hopefully better days ahead at Senior for all of us."
Ah stop Sligonian. This one was too obvious. Admit you were caught

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 92 - 21/06/2025 14:08:21    2619618

Replying To Sligonian:  "Relax lads, just because your ego's are fragile and paranoid doesn't mean every new poster who you don't agree with is me. You might just accept I only have 1 account and that others have a different opinion to you.

I wouldn't be looking back too much though, for me its time to move on and look forward and the new manager appointment with hopefully better days ahead at Senior for all of us."
I must say myself, that it indeed looks a little suspicious.

The point made from you both (lol) on athleticism is a gap that Sligo has closed quite a bit in the past decade or more. I remember going to U21/Minor games against Galway and it was men against boys in every physical department. The work being pushed in regards to S&C has brought success and will hopefully continue to close the gap at the top. I'd agree however that we still have a way to go in our senior team in that regard. We are still lacking the tall, physical, mobile midfielders that the game, now more than ever, demands. Cummins might not be exactly what you want in a centre back, but he does bring that physicality and explosiveness in his attack. Carrabine too, is a real loss of athleticism as well as game smarts. I'd be confident though that some more of our U20s of this and recent years have athleticism and can develop into some of these roles required.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 166 - 23/06/2025 10:56:39    2620173