Carlow GAA thread

Replying To JohnnyDaggss81:  "Disappointing nobody on here recognised the Carlow u15 football team beating Longford in the Humphrey Kelliher millstreet cup on Saturday morning, but very quick to knock the system a couple of days ago....."
The underage system that we brought into Carlow quite a number of years ago was lauded at the time as revolutionary and being ahead of its time and was heralded as a means of providing players for our county teams that would rival other counties and improve the county teams fortunes.
Unfortunately despite the serious hard work and energy of many coaches parents and players this system has not worked especially in football.
The results prove that..
Other counties have proven more successful especially in football.
So while a win in any competition is welcome -it is no guarantee of success in the future

I salute the effort and sacrifices that are.made.and I congratulations the entire panel and mentors involved.
Perhaps there is another means through which we can improve the chances of better success at county level.
The current model has had almost no success.

E

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1837 - 04/09/2024 15:23:06    2568428

Replying To JohnnyDaggss81:  "Disappointing nobody on here recognised the Carlow u15 football team beating Longford in the Humphrey Kelliher millstreet cup on Saturday morning, but very quick to knock the system a couple of days ago....."
Fair play to that group, any win in any competition is of course welcome, however doesn't mean that the current system doesn't have its flaws and shouldn't be pointed out, hopefully that group continue to have success and with it coming early for them it'll encourage them to push on and have further success down the line

CRTW (Carlow) - Posts: 7 - 04/09/2024 17:36:03    2568458

Are the underage not including a new internal competition after the club championship this year, regionalising around the county? There is meant to be a launch this week to promote it. be interesting to see what type of format that will have going into the winter

more4me (Carlow) - Posts: 101 - 04/09/2024 18:02:10    2568465

It was a good win. Could you tell us a little about the path to it. What tier is it. I know at 16s they were at tier 3 I think. I know a couple of the coaches with the 15s good lads very dedicated.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1637 - 04/09/2024 22:34:22    2568496

Replying To more4me:  "Are the underage not including a new internal competition after the club championship this year, regionalising around the county? There is meant to be a launch this week to promote it. be interesting to see what type of format that will have going into the winter"
Heard something about that I know I've mentioned it here several times over the last couple of years

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1637 - 05/09/2024 10:36:08    2568536

Replying To carlowman:  "The underage system that we brought into Carlow quite a number of years ago was lauded at the time as revolutionary and being ahead of its time and was heralded as a means of providing players for our county teams that would rival other counties and improve the county teams fortunes.
Unfortunately despite the serious hard work and energy of many coaches parents and players this system has not worked especially in football.
The results prove that..
Other counties have proven more successful especially in football.
So while a win in any competition is welcome -it is no guarantee of success in the future

I salute the effort and sacrifices that are.made.and I congratulations the entire panel and mentors involved.
Perhaps there is another means through which we can improve the chances of better success at county level.
The current model has had almost no success.

E"
Do you know why it is not working ? I wouldn't have the greatest knowledge of the system itself ?

JohnnyDaggss81 (Wicklow) - Posts: 6 - 05/09/2024 16:41:34    2568612

Replying To Barrowsider:  "It was a good win. Could you tell us a little about the path to it. What tier is it. I know at 16s they were at tier 3 I think. I know a couple of the coaches with the 15s good lads very dedicated."
I know they beat a cork team and a Galway team, but they might of been regions in the county rather than an A or B team

JohnnyDaggss81 (Wicklow) - Posts: 6 - 05/09/2024 16:44:08    2568613

Replying To JohnnyDaggss81:  "Do you know why it is not working ? I wouldn't have the greatest knowledge of the system itself ?"
I'd say there's a multitude of reasons why it's not working but it probably really comes down to money unfortunately, I'd be slow to land the blame on the coaches involved as there's no doubt they put in a massive amount of time and effort with the little resources they have, personally I feel that Carlow isn't fairly compensated by the GAA as it's one of the few legitimate dual counties, (generally speaking they do give both codes a fair chance), other counties completely neglect one code and are rewarded for achieving in the other. I've always felt that "talent" academies in the GAA are more for show than anything, kids want to play competitive games and minor is the only real competition for them at county level. Hopefully an underage regional tournament will get the buy in from clubs and above all else, is competitive.

CRTW (Carlow) - Posts: 7 - 05/09/2024 17:39:21    2568621

Replying To CRTW:  "I'd say there's a multitude of reasons why it's not working but it probably really comes down to money unfortunately, I'd be slow to land the blame on the coaches involved as there's no doubt they put in a massive amount of time and effort with the little resources they have, personally I feel that Carlow isn't fairly compensated by the GAA as it's one of the few legitimate dual counties, (generally speaking they do give both codes a fair chance), other counties completely neglect one code and are rewarded for achieving in the other. I've always felt that "talent" academies in the GAA are more for show than anything, kids want to play competitive games and minor is the only real competition for them at county level. Hopefully an underage regional tournament will get the buy in from clubs and above all else, is competitive."
Money is the issue lads. Was awhile there where colts teams had no buses due to lack of funding parents had to drive players to games….says it all

benchtoaster (Carlow) - Posts: 31 - 05/09/2024 18:43:11    2568627

Replying To benchtoaster:  "Money is the issue lads. Was awhile there where colts teams had no buses due to lack of funding parents had to drive players to games….says it all"
Carlow with no senior success it is hard to attract serious sponsorship. I'd say they have mined most of what is available from the commercial sector, it is easy on both sides of the ledger to attract and provide money when all is going well. Lot harder to flog CB raffle tickets when there is little to no success.

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 553 - 05/09/2024 20:42:38    2568639

Replying To benchtoaster:  "Money is the issue lads. Was awhile there where colts teams had no buses due to lack of funding parents had to drive players to games….says it all"
Buses or lack of buses has been an issue of late but I think its only this year that parents have brought lads to games.
The colts etc system has siphoned off kids for squads early in their lives and as far as I can see its then hard to break in to the squads after that age.
The very fact that you have squads getting additional coaching In theory should improve these players and it does but those who have not been taken in are then not incentivised to work on their game.
Players who outside of the squads work on their game need family backing and are reliant on decent club activity.
As far as I know clubs have to play some competitions WITHOUT co squad players as well.

I honestly believe that its a numbers game.

Coaches at co level have a small pick from all the clubs. If anybody has ever gone to juvenile club games you can see the numbers if players in the county.
Coaching is an issue at club level.
Despite course after course the problem is inconsistent coaching where clubs have small numbers compared to other counties.
Hard then for players to improve when small numbers are at club coaching.

Primary schools have very few games and bar one or two there is little or no coaching being done in primary schools. Primary schools-.Once the powerhouse of GAA is no longer that at all. Schools are just putting out teams with almost in all cases NO preparation or coaching. How many games would a lad in 5th or 6th class play ??? And how many coaching sessions would he have ? Compare that to other counties and then you will see how far behind our primary set up is.

People talk about money but its not really about that. Money does not grow numbers and does not improve players.
If you want to judge whether the system has been working - when was the last minor hurling or football win in championship ?
I think the minor hurlers won one game in the last 2 years and the footballers did not win any game this year as far as I remember and no game last year. But I am not certain about that.
Those teams have prepared very well but have found it very difficult to get results.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1837 - 05/09/2024 21:31:34    2568645

Replying To JohnnyDaggss81:  "I know they beat a cork team and a Galway team, but they might of been regions in the county rather than an A or B team"
Yes at 15 it's regional for many counties. Wexford go north south for example. Still a good win. Winning games no matter who it's against is very important.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1637 - 05/09/2024 22:08:36    2568648

There's a regional competition for U16's beginning in October. From word on the ground, the players aren't overly keen on it. I would imagine this is due to timing, with other sports back up and running by then. I see this as a major stumbling block, as is playing a competition that late in the year when the weather and pitches will be poor.

The aims of this competition is to improve the minor county team. However, I feel that playing this will prolong the club season and reduce the county minor manager's access to the players, and we are already behind on basic skills and tactics! I don't think 4 or 5 games in Winter will improve the minor team. I feel this is a long way from the answer.

CW88 (Carlow) - Posts: 26 - 06/09/2024 07:09:54    2568658

Replying To carlowman:  "Buses or lack of buses has been an issue of late but I think its only this year that parents have brought lads to games.
The colts etc system has siphoned off kids for squads early in their lives and as far as I can see its then hard to break in to the squads after that age.
The very fact that you have squads getting additional coaching In theory should improve these players and it does but those who have not been taken in are then not incentivised to work on their game.
Players who outside of the squads work on their game need family backing and are reliant on decent club activity.
As far as I know clubs have to play some competitions WITHOUT co squad players as well.

I honestly believe that its a numbers game.

Coaches at co level have a small pick from all the clubs. If anybody has ever gone to juvenile club games you can see the numbers if players in the county.
Coaching is an issue at club level.
Despite course after course the problem is inconsistent coaching where clubs have small numbers compared to other counties.
Hard then for players to improve when small numbers are at club coaching.

Primary schools have very few games and bar one or two there is little or no coaching being done in primary schools. Primary schools-.Once the powerhouse of GAA is no longer that at all. Schools are just putting out teams with almost in all cases NO preparation or coaching. How many games would a lad in 5th or 6th class play ??? And how many coaching sessions would he have ? Compare that to other counties and then you will see how far behind our primary set up is.

People talk about money but its not really about that. Money does not grow numbers and does not improve players.
If you want to judge whether the system has been working - when was the last minor hurling or football win in championship ?
I think the minor hurlers won one game in the last 2 years and the footballers did not win any game this year as far as I remember and no game last year. But I am not certain about that.
Those teams have prepared very well but have found it very difficult to get results.
."
I'd have to agree with you regards the schools, I believe that parents have something to answer for here though as teachers are volunteering on top of their jobs and I've heard of cases where parents have caused lots of problems in regards bringing the whole "why wasn't my son/daughter playing?". Easier for teachers to just keep it all to a minimum if it causes problems for them for a role they might have just been landed with rather than actually have wanted. I would be extremely worried about the state secondary school football is in though in the county, seems to be no appetite for it, would love to know how many kids in secondary school have either a) played GAA at some point but have given it up and b) simply never played at all. A county like Carlow can't afford to let players slip through the cracks, you look at counties like Monaghan with a similar sized population, they're football mad, every child will have played at some point and must stick at it, albeit no hurling to really split their playing population which brings me back to my point above that Carlow isn't given enough recognition for being such a small county that is also genuinely dual.

CRTW (Carlow) - Posts: 7 - 06/09/2024 07:16:11    2568659

Replying To CW88:  "There's a regional competition for U16's beginning in October. From word on the ground, the players aren't overly keen on it. I would imagine this is due to timing, with other sports back up and running by then. I see this as a major stumbling block, as is playing a competition that late in the year when the weather and pitches will be poor.

The aims of this competition is to improve the minor county team. However, I feel that playing this will prolong the club season and reduce the county minor manager's access to the players, and we are already behind on basic skills and tactics! I don't think 4 or 5 games in Winter will improve the minor team. I feel this is a long way from the answer."
Was it not announced at the county board meeting this week that the minor management team have stood down?

Puts added pressure on someone coming in as it is late in the day to get someone involved especially when the 16s are at the finishing stages of their championship. This is where management should be seeing players who are used to systems in their club and feel comfortable to express themselves not at some miss mash competition that usually play players out of position

more4me (Carlow) - Posts: 101 - 06/09/2024 09:20:09    2568665

Weekend Predictions

Tinryland vs MLR
Eire Og vs Rathvilly
Old Leighlin vs Bagenalstown

Redzer99 (Waterford) - Posts: 74 - 06/09/2024 11:56:59    2568692

Replying To more4me:  "Was it not announced at the county board meeting this week that the minor management team have stood down?

Puts added pressure on someone coming in as it is late in the day to get someone involved especially when the 16s are at the finishing stages of their championship. This is where management should be seeing players who are used to systems in their club and feel comfortable to express themselves not at some miss mash competition that usually play players out of position"
Any Rumours as to who might replace them? hopefully someone with knowledge of that age grade.

JohnnyDaggss81 (Wicklow) - Posts: 6 - 06/09/2024 15:28:58    2568729

Replying To more4me:  "Was it not announced at the county board meeting this week that the minor management team have stood down?

Puts added pressure on someone coming in as it is late in the day to get someone involved especially when the 16s are at the finishing stages of their championship. This is where management should be seeing players who are used to systems in their club and feel comfortable to express themselves not at some miss mash competition that usually play players out of position"
Would imagine the current 16s coaches would just move up with them, that's how it should be anyway

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1637 - 06/09/2024 17:05:32    2568749

Group stages are now complete in the championships.
Rathvilly eire og and old leighlin and palatine are probably a bit ahead of the rest and we should get two good semi finals from them.
Clonmore and tinryland in the relagation final, would have to fancy clonmore to win that.

Intermediate is shaping up nicely now too. Hard one to call but you would imagine kildavin grange and fenagh and tullow are the front runners.

Junior is tight enough too, leighlin ballon and kilbride look to be a bit ahead of the rest but once you get to knockout anything can happen.

I'll go with rathvilly for senior
Fenagh for Intermediate
Kilbride for junior

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1637 - 09/09/2024 10:07:51    2569032

Replying To Barrowsider:  "Group stages are now complete in the championships.
Rathvilly eire og and old leighlin and palatine are probably a bit ahead of the rest and we should get two good semi finals from them.
Clonmore and tinryland in the relagation final, would have to fancy clonmore to win that.

Intermediate is shaping up nicely now too. Hard one to call but you would imagine kildavin grange and fenagh and tullow are the front runners.

Junior is tight enough too, leighlin ballon and kilbride look to be a bit ahead of the rest but once you get to knockout anything can happen.

I'll go with rathvilly for senior
Fenagh for Intermediate
Kilbride for junior"
Pal for Senior
Grange for Intermediate
Leighlinbridge for Junior

Carlowrising (Carlow) - Posts: 140 - 09/09/2024 11:54:02    2569053