Carlow GAA thread

Tried hard yesterday but when in front of the posts blazed it instead of placing it. Hence we missed a lot.of goal chances. Our kickouts were not good either and 3 over the sideline gave Longford more.momentum when we needed to push on.
Too many players wete out of the game and never got going at all. Phiri S Murphy and C Doyle worked hard around the muddle and Criwley was the pock of the forwards.
We gave 2 frees away for not being in the zone - one in each half. That really needs to be sorted.
As regards the ref - being from the West he let the physical aspect go a lot.more than our players are used to at club level.
Our goal shooting was very poor.
At keast the players know where improvements can be made

The big question is whether the team as a whole can make them stick for next weekend.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 02/06/2025 11:57:37    2614261

Replying To carlowman:  "Tried hard yesterday but when in front of the posts blazed it instead of placing it. Hence we missed a lot.of goal chances. Our kickouts were not good either and 3 over the sideline gave Longford more.momentum when we needed to push on.
Too many players wete out of the game and never got going at all. Phiri S Murphy and C Doyle worked hard around the muddle and Criwley was the pock of the forwards.
We gave 2 frees away for not being in the zone - one in each half. That really needs to be sorted.
As regards the ref - being from the West he let the physical aspect go a lot.more than our players are used to at club level.

The big question is whether the team as a whole can make them stick for next weekend."
I was very surprised by that result yesterday, I really thought you'd handle Longford comfortably.
Reading some of the posts here, it sounds like you missed some good goal chances. The same happened against us ( Wexford), you really should have been out of sight by half time if you'd taken the goal chances.
The positive.....at least you're creating those chances.
It won't be easy going to Sligo, but there's a great spirit in your team now so hopefully it all comes together next week. It would be great to meet up again later in the competition, that was a cracker of a game in Dr Cullen 2 weeks ago.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 174 - 02/06/2025 14:58:29    2614321

2pm on Sunday in tubbercurry … 3.5 hour drive :( The worst draw we could have got from that perspective.

From football perspective though it was the best draw we could have got. Sligo seem very confident though, but that's great to see and rightly so and fair play to them hopefully that remains the case all week. Hopefully they get a nice draw in the quarters, a few of them are already wondering who they might get.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1594 - 02/06/2025 18:53:42    2614395

Replying To carlowman:  "Tried hard yesterday but when in front of the posts blazed it instead of placing it. Hence we missed a lot.of goal chances. Our kickouts were not good either and 3 over the sideline gave Longford more.momentum when we needed to push on.

The big question is whether the team as a whole can make them stick for next weekend."
Honestly seems a bit like Johnny's kick outs kill us a lot. We struggle to win ball in midfield so the new rule goes against us but his floating balls and going out over the sidelines always put us on the backfoot.

Any idea for the time and location for the match next weekend? It says Tubbercurry on RTE website but hardly there.

CarlowJuniorB (Clare) - Posts: 3 - 02/06/2025 19:36:21    2614413

Replying To Passer_By:  "As a heads up - the 'Score Beo' App often has the teams listed. Worth downloading that. Tap on the team when in"
Thanks for that. Passer.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 365 - 02/06/2025 21:03:48    2614431

I think Joe needs to take the bull by the horns here and play mc Carron in goals.Kicksout are killing us.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 365 - 02/06/2025 21:09:24    2614434

Replying To CarlowJuniorB:  "Honestly seems a bit like Johnny's kick outs kill us a lot. We struggle to win ball in midfield so the new rule goes against us but his floating balls and going out over the sidelines always put us on the backfoot.

Any idea for the time and location for the match next weekend? It says Tubbercurry on RTE website but hardly there."
Game is in Tubbercurry at 2pm on Sunday. Markievicz Park is closed for a year for pitch works. Its a tighter club ground but won't have any issues accommodating what probably will be a modest crowd. Plenty of parking around the town but allow for a 5/10 min walk depending where ya get.

One poster commented on us looking to QFs and that probably is true, Sligo will be raging favourites for this game given it's at home and we've had a decent showing in tougher games with Kildare and Mayo. However ye gave Fermanagh a bit of a schooling on that front too. In my honest opinion I think all four home sides will win this coming weekend which brings into question why not just let the top two teams in the groups qualify as it'll end up that way in the end.

Safe travels to those who will make the journey.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 531 - 02/06/2025 21:46:20    2614441

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Game is in Tubbercurry at 2pm on Sunday. Markievicz Park is closed for a year for pitch works. Its a tighter club ground but won't have any issues accommodating what probably will be a modest crowd. Plenty of parking around the town but allow for a 5/10 min walk depending where ya get.

One poster commented on us looking to QFs and that probably is true, Sligo will be raging favourites for this game given it's at home and we've had a decent showing in tougher games with Kildare and Mayo. However ye gave Fermanagh a bit of a schooling on that front too. In my honest opinion I think all four home sides will win this coming weekend which brings into question why not just let the top two teams in the groups qualify as it'll end up that way in the end.

Safe travels to those who will make the journey."
Congatulations, in advance. Hope the quarter final goes well for you all.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 869 - 04/06/2025 13:23:53    2614824

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Bookmark this.

We'll still be in the football championship when Leix are gone from both. Your footballers will be gone from the Tailteann Cup by first weekend in June and your hurlers will eaten alive by Tipp on the Great Heath of Maryborough the following Saturday."
I'm looking forward to a Joe Mc final now this weekend. We're not worried about what comes after it, as it's only bonus territory. A lot of counties who are knocked out of the Championship, would only love to be in Laois and Kildare's position I'm sure.

Interesting how your bookmark pans out. I'd be confident that we will turn over Westmeath if we can keep Loughlin somewhat quiet. Best of luck against Sligo, I would genuinely give Carlow a fairly decent chance of turning them over if your lot keep their discipline. Sligo are no great shakes at all.

Gonzalez (Laois) - Posts: 15 - 06/06/2025 10:45:19    2615276

Replying To Overthebar53:  "I think Joe needs to take the bull by the horns here and play mc Carron in goals.Kicksout are killing us."
Johnny starting tomorrow. He's a great keeper but how lock outs leave a lot to be desired.

CarlowJuniorB (Clare) - Posts: 3 - 07/06/2025 21:42:20    2615627

Surely McCarron has to start in goal. Also if Morgan is fit enough he would be a great addition at CB. Love to see Aaron Amond back in the side and possibly Liam Brennan for size in midfield. Need the old Foley back tomorrow with a few long range scores and Mikey and Choo Choo to run at pace,Sligo are no better than Fermanagh so hopefully lightning strikes twice! Best of luck to all I know they will give it their best.

Carlowrising (Carlow) - Posts: 173 - 07/06/2025 23:57:11    2615663

Replying To CARPS:  "Congatulations, in advance. Hope the quarter final goes well for you all."
Thank you for your good wishes well in advance of the result. It was a game Carlow never looked like winning tbh despite Barry Cassidy assisting at times with calls in the middle of the field. He must have a different way of counting to 4. Sligo won't be happy with their performance across the 70+ minutes especially when we were cruising at times and let ye back into it.

Ye caused a few problems at times with our full back line which have been exposed in games recently. Thought it strange taking off Sean Murphy I thought he was good in first half. Dunphy a threat too but yer corner back McDonnell by far the best player on the field for ye.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 531 - 08/06/2025 16:11:15    2615775

Replying To Gonzalez:  "I'm looking forward to a Joe Mc final now this weekend. We're not worried about what comes after it, as it's only bonus territory. A lot of counties who are knocked out of the Championship, would only love to be in Laois and Kildare's position I'm sure.

Interesting how your bookmark pans out. I'd be confident that we will turn over Westmeath if we can keep Loughlin somewhat quiet. Best of luck against Sligo, I would genuinely give Carlow a fairly decent chance of turning them over if your lot keep their discipline. Sligo are no great shakes at all."
True we may not be great shakes but we are still in the hunt. How would you describe your own team after the mauling yesterday.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2124 - 08/06/2025 16:27:28    2615778

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Thank you for your good wishes well in advance of the result. It was a game Carlow never looked like winning tbh despite Barry Cassidy assisting at times with calls in the middle of the field. He must have a different way of counting to 4. Sligo won't be happy with their performance across the 70+ minutes especially when we were cruising at times and let ye back into it.

Ye caused a few problems at times with our full back line which have been exposed in games recently. Thought it strange taking off Sean Murphy I thought he was good in first half. Dunphy a threat too but yer corner back McDonnell by far the best player on the field for ye."
If they had to beat Longford last Sunday they would be in QF next week. A campaign which promised so much fell flat in 8 days

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3155 - 08/06/2025 16:50:45    2615785

Replying To Jack L:  "If they had to beat Longford last Sunday they would be in QF next week. A campaign which promised so much fell flat in 8 days"
This is the sickening thing. All we had to do was get a draw against Longford at a min. Not sure if the lads went in lax against Longford but it's a lesson learned.

Pretty sick of gallant losses like this. Dying with our boots on etc etc.

CarlowJuniorB (Clare) - Posts: 3 - 08/06/2025 20:41:17    2615898

Yesterday we played a div 3 team away from home & ran them to 5 points, last week we played a fellow div 4 team in a neutral venue ( a team we hammered in the league under Cake) & also lost by 5 points.
If we had played anywhere near yesterday's performance, we would have beaten Longford & would have topped the group. That was a very flat performance & its the reason our season is now over. The results against Fermanagh & Wexford unfortunately counted for nothing in the end as we blew it last week. A promising campaign ends & leaves a massive feeling of regret. I still believe Joe Murphy will get the best out of our lads & he is only there a very short time. Next year's league is very important & hopefully he will get a few more players aboard

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 270 - 09/06/2025 09:40:32    2615990