Donegal GAA thread

Hard Luck to Jim and the boys yesterday, better team won on the day, Dublin had a huge amount of wides also.
Shea Malone, Max Campbell got great experience this year which will stand to them. Ciaran Thompson will be fully recovered for next year. Jason McGee had an injury free season and showed his class.

We will be back stronger next season. I hope the team enjoys the break .

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 307 - 22/06/2026 09:17:05    2681116

Donegal are an excellent team - they have always struggled to go week on week as their particular running game and counter attacking takes it out of the legs.

They need to look at the style of play and let the ball do more of the work.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1905 - 22/06/2026 09:36:21    2681123

Replying To marty234:  "I really hope Jim stays on. But he has to make serious changes in his management set up. No real number 2, you look at other counties they have an array of top coaches and ex County managers as a number 2. In some cases 2 ex County managers.

Secondly we need to look at our style of play across the grades this predictable/safe game is redundant in modern game. We are too easy to play against. Shane o donnell proved he can score a 2 pointer but isn't allowed to shoot. A lot to look at but I think if done we can be a serious contender next year again.

To me a big name number 2 from outside county to give training and the whole set up a lift is first and then build a squad for 2027."
Do you reckon McGuiness doesn't really go for big names in his backroom team because he doesn't really want people questioning his decisions/tactics? I've always felt with McGuiness that he's a great motivator, organizer and can bring huge belief into a squad but has always played risk adverse football and doesn't make in-game adjustments when things are going against yous.
Players are all GPS tracked now with distances, minutes played, etc to gauge how much they can be pushed but I think he mentally burns teams out.
All the great mangers in the past were huge motivators and pushed teams to their limits, but I think they also found that right balance of knowing when to pull back and let lads reset and maybe that's something McGuiness struggles with.

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 105 - 22/06/2026 09:41:31    2681125

Replying To LowerHogan:  "Do you reckon McGuiness doesn't really go for big names in his backroom team because he doesn't really want people questioning his decisions/tactics? I've always felt with McGuiness that he's a great motivator, organizer and can bring huge belief into a squad but has always played risk adverse football and doesn't make in-game adjustments when things are going against yous.
Players are all GPS tracked now with distances, minutes played, etc to gauge how much they can be pushed but I think he mentally burns teams out.
All the great mangers in the past were huge motivators and pushed teams to their limits, but I think they also found that right balance of knowing when to pull back and let lads reset and maybe that's something McGuiness struggles with."
Well he could bury the hatchet with Rory Gallagher and have his deputy for 2012. The whole country already seems to hate us so throwing Rory in will only give them more ammo.

Obviously I jest. He would never do it but you're right. He needs help and take the pressure off. He looks burnt out too. Originally he signed for three years. Maybe that's enough.

It's too early though I think for Mark McHugh or Karl Lacey.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 494 - 22/06/2026 09:54:58    2681133

Replying To greenfan:  "Kieran Gallagher was the best midfield ball winner in the Donegal championship last year and taken into the county panel after that. Spent the whole game today being sent out to warm up. When we needed to win kick outs in extra time, Hugh McFadden , who was absolutely banjaxed, is taken back on. Same with Jamie Brennan, out warming up all game and not used at all. Instead we take back on Malone and Campbell. Inexperience cost us in extra time , trying to force goals instead of taking a few handy chances for points when we were only 2 or 3 behind."
Same in Ballybofey, Gallagher warmed up all day in front of us!

Samforthehills26 (Donegal) - Posts: 12 - 22/06/2026 10:00:15    2681136

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Well posts like that dont help ."never knew Kerry fans would put on a dublin jersey and boo his every touch."⁶
Now Im a Kerryman and while I despised his nasty belts on Dylan Casey in league final ,I tried to park it but alot of Donegal posters then claiming it was retaliation for Thompsons cruciate when he had nothing whatsoever to do with it.It was an accidental challenge and it was nt even by Casey.

However it is what it is and yes the online abuse is wrong and sad tbf.M.Murphy has been a brilliant footballer and Jim has been a brilliant manager.Sad to see people revelling in their bad days."
I think I seen one Donegal poster bring up the Thompson injury, not sure were you seen 'a lot'.

Murphy, like all big men, takes a lot of abuse and is well able to dish it out, hes no angel in that regard but also no different to the vast majority of players in his position. The abuse he is getting is OTT. McGuinness can't seem to open his mouth but the media and then social media on the back of that jump down his throat, yes he whines and moans at times but again no different to a lot of managers, McGeeney has a whinge after every match but thats treated in a very different way, the media love him.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 212 - 22/06/2026 10:04:27    2681139

Replying To LowerHogan:  "Do you reckon McGuiness doesn't really go for big names in his backroom team because he doesn't really want people questioning his decisions/tactics? I've always felt with McGuiness that he's a great motivator, organizer and can bring huge belief into a squad but has always played risk adverse football and doesn't make in-game adjustments when things are going against yous.
All the great mangers in the past were huge motivators and pushed teams to their limits, but I think they also found that right balance of knowing when to pull back and let lads reset and maybe that's something McGuiness struggles with."
You could be right, but in his time as Donegal manager over 7 full seasons now he has won 5 ulster titles, 1 All Ireland, 2 Division 2 titles and 1 Division 1 title. Also got us 2 2 more All Ireland finals, all when taking Donegal on as manager when we were not at our best.

While Donegal always produce teams that compete, we do not have the tradition of a Kerry/Dublin when it comes to the All Ireland's, but all counties are along way back from their tradition.

I will stick with Jim, Unless you tell me Jim Gavin/Jack O'Connor are interested in the job then I will have a hard think ;-)

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 307 - 22/06/2026 10:24:12    2681146

Great point, I think Jim doesn't like to be challenged.

I would rarely if ever shout for Dublin but did yesterday. That's down to jim and his behaviour - towards cassidy, declan bogue, tommy rooney, post match excuses and and unwillingness to countenance that he might have made a mistake eg after last year's all ireland final where he sort threw the players under the bus. In short I think he could be a bit more humble.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 641 - 22/06/2026 10:34:17    2681150

Replying To ulsterrules:  "You could be right, but in his time as Donegal manager over 7 full seasons now he has won 5 ulster titles, 1 All Ireland, 2 Division 2 titles and 1 Division 1 title. Also got us 2 2 more All Ireland finals, all when taking Donegal on as manager when we were not at our best.

While Donegal always produce teams that compete, we do not have the tradition of a Kerry/Dublin when it comes to the All Ireland's, but all counties are along way back from their tradition.

I will stick with Jim, Unless you tell me Jim Gavin/Jack O'Connor are interested in the job then I will have a hard think ;-)"
His success with Donegal is undeniable and any team in the country would be delighted to see him take the reins, but I think his missing link is that calm, composed yet strong willed personality (like a Malachy O'Rourke type) along side him which would lead to longer tenures and more success.
It's not easy to find those kind of second in commands of course and that kind of rapport takes time to build up but because he is the personality he is, I don't think it's something he's really considered and it would not only benefit the team in the long run but him aswell.

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 105 - 22/06/2026 11:09:23    2681166

Replying To JimB1991:  "I think I seen one Donegal poster bring up the Thompson injury, not sure were you seen 'a lot'.

Murphy, like all big men, takes a lot of abuse and is well able to dish it out, hes no angel in that regard but also no different to the vast majority of players in his position. The abuse he is getting is OTT. McGuinness can't seem to open his mouth but the media and then social media on the back of that jump down his throat, yes he whines and moans at times but again no different to a lot of managers, McGeeney has a whinge after every match but thats treated in a very different way, the media love him."
It was more than one poster Jim claiming Casey did Thompson and he had nothing whatsoever to do with it.
Now I agree Murphy has taken alot of abuse over the years and yes he has been a brilliant footballer.A player I have admired for years.I do not agree with the abuse of Murphy or Jim MG and was disgusted at some Kerry fans booing Murphy in Killarney.

In fact if you read the Kerry gaa forum you would see most posters were appalled at the booing.On this subject I just replied to a poster claiming Kerry fans donned Dublin jerseys yesterday to. Boo Doegal.A bit o.t.t.

Anyway while defeat is hard to take,Donegal did win the league which is a great competition so it ws nt all bad.
It is sad when people seem to get more kicks out of another county losig than their own county winning.Ive been used to that too when Kerry lose.

Anyway best of luck going forward and regardless of what they decide,history will be kind to both Michael Murphy and Jim McGuinness and rightly so.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4190 - 22/06/2026 11:30:01    2681171

Will Michael Murphy come back next year? We will make a deal, if he comes back next year, we will take back mc manus, oh wait, we have moved on.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 504 - 22/06/2026 12:04:08    2681183

Very disappointing result yesterday. It felt similar to last week against Cork were our legs were gone and we were lacking rhythm in our play. Even when we got the goal and a few points and went 5 up, we didn't build on it. Something similar happened last week were we went ahead by 7 against Cork but didn't build on it too. Something just didn't feel right but the lads tried their hardest and it took a lot to even pull it back level at full time. Dublin were deserving of their win at the end and it will be interesting to see them against Galway next week. I think we looked like a team that was training really hard but it was similar vibe this year to 2013 as many have mentioned. Hopefully we can bounce back next year.

What really shocked me yesterday and for the last while is the hatred for Donegal and particularly Murphy and McGuinness. Murphy was booed again and nearly as bad as Killarney. This I feel has no place in the game. I spoke to a Dublin supporter after the game and they said he was fully deserving of it after the League final. I said to them, do you think Michael Burns will be booed by Donegal and opposition fans once he serves his suspension? Similarly Kelly for Armagh wasn't subjected to anything like this after serving a suspension for a very serious incident. Also some of the stuff on Twitter was shocking and people calling him some horrible remarks which is way over the top. The GAA made a tribute post to him for his 200th appearance and it was littered with disgusting comments. I have watched Murphy since his debut at 17 and he has been a pleasure to watch. He plays with an edge but he does not have this dirty streak to his game that people are saying that he is been at for years supposedly. This year i do feel he has been more aggressive and did it take it too far in the league final but again it is literally the only significant incident in his career that people can cite. He has been a legend of the game and is contributed so much to Donegal and it turns my stomach to see the abuse he is receiving. Furthermore, everyone in the county or anyone knows him on a personal level are aware of the incredible person he is and let's hope he has another year in the Donegal jersey. Also I hope this new soccer culture coming into the GAA and social media abuse doesn't creep more into the game..

User93 (Donegal) - Posts: 1 - 22/06/2026 12:04:20    2681184

Congrats to Dublin on a well deserved win yesterday. The game should never have gone to extra time but looking at the body language of our players when they returned to the pitch there was only going to be one winner. Added to the two black cards especially McGee who was probably our best player on the day. I could not fault their effort on the day but it just wasn't there in the second half. Of course getting murdered on the kick outs didn't help. I felt in the build up we could really have an advantage in this regard with our men around the middle and going after Comerford but I couldn't have been more wrong. Comerford was excellent and pulled off a great one handed save in extra time. I'm guessing Patton must've aggravated something as playing him last week and not this was a strange call. I actually thought he might have got subbed at half time last weekend when Mulreaney was warming up. I liked that Jim pulled back Farrah and Ryan to have something to come off the bench but the timing of bringing them on at half time didn't make sense to me especially as Campbell and Shea had done quite well. Shea actually scored the goal and played a significant part in the second......an odd call. Murphy taking a point when a goal looked a certainty just after the first goal was another strange call.

We've been on some journey the last 3 years since Jim has come back. I'd like to thank him and everyone of the players for the excitement and pride they've brought. I really hope he stays on and I'm hopeful he will. His record speaks for itself and we've had some fun days including this year after the league. Maybe that masked over some of the disappointment of last year's All Ireland. It's very hard to figure out what's gone wrong since but anyone at the Cork would not have been surprised by yesterday's result. Some players just haven't produced the form they've consistently shown. Lots of time for post mortems but I hope the players enjoy a good rest their bodies deserve.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2960 - 22/06/2026 12:37:02    2681194