Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Lockjaw:  "My second attempt to post...

Yesterday we badly missed a natural left-footed forward I thought. With the way the wind was blowing second half, it suited a Paddy McBrearty type run, bombing out on the loop and arcing points over. Obviously Paddy is gone now, and I'm not sure how far away Ciaran Thomspon is.

I could be wrong, but I think the majority of our points second half were left footed efforts, albeit from naturally right footed kickers. That's good. But the problem was we needed about 3 or 4 more. That's not even taking frees into account either.

Speaking of which, Cork were very disciplined in that regard, think they only conceded one scoreable free which Murphy nailed early on?? Fair play to them, they probably have the best free taker in the country in Sherlock, and when they smelt blood they went for it.

Our plan A is very good when it's working. But I thought we lacked a bit of imagination yesterday. There seems to be an obsession with ball retention. It's very rudimentary as a tactic, but the big bombed ball into the square on occasion has its merits. Especially when we have men like Murphy, McGee and Langan who would certainly give a full back line food for thought under a high ball...

Anyways, lets see what the draw brings."
With Thompson injured, Donegal don't have a dependable left footed 2 pointer option

The problem is opponents know they only need maximum heat on Donegal players outside the arc when Donegal are looping left to right for right footed 2 pointer shots, when Donegal is going right to left round the arc there is alot less threat of someone shooting with their left foot, so opponents can risk dropping deep into the arc to prevent incision runs as they know the left foot 2 point threat is unlikely.

Tirchonaillabu2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 9 - 15/06/2026 00:00:43    2679692

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "What do you disagree with or do you just not like Jim's failings being highlighted?

To be clear, I rate McColgan very highly as a wing-half back or as a wing forward. Similarly, I rate McGuinness highly as a coach but once things go wrong on the pitch he really struggles to make positive changes from sideline."
This is Jim's 3rd year. 2013 was his 3rd year too and it was our worst season. He produced a masterclass v Tyrone and then we faltered badly to Monaghan before Mayo put us out of our misery. Maybe the 3rd season on the go is toughest on the players at this intensity.

Also I know hes the messiah to us but maybe the pressure on him is having an effect. He is human and is under incredible scrutiny from press, hated by the country and feels the weight of all our hopes and dreams. He has cooked up a plan for Kerry but unfortunately there's now 14 teams than can beat anyone on their day at the highest level.

If we get Dublin in the draw, it will be Ger's ban v Jim's escape all in the build up.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 480 - 15/06/2026 08:24:03    2679706

Replying To benjyyy:  "The lack of variation is a problem and has been a problem for a long time. Its not about Plan A and Plan B because a good Plan A has variation in it. So many of our problems stem from being too predictable.

When you get a championship ready, organised and disciplined defense we really struggle to get shots off from the areas we want playing the way we do. Teams know we aren't going to kick the ball in so can commit more players to minding the arc and that also hampers our ability to get shots at 2 pointers off.

I just cant understand why we cant try to build in an option to make use of the offensive mark, which is a disproportionately advantageous rule. All you have to do is have a forward make a dash towards the sideline and hit a 25m pass from the 40. If you make the catch its almost certainly a score as you get 2 chances at it.

I'm not suggesting to throw away the gameplan overall but you have to mix it up a little. The way you create mistakes in defenses is by forcing defenders to make decisions. We are so predictable that defenders are on autopilot most of the time, they dont have to think at all"
The predicatability is an issue yes, one stage in 2nd half we had the 3 on 3 inside, Gallen was well in front of his man the exact situation that the new rules allow to be exploited but kicking it in is just not part of any plan.
Also too much predictability in terms of Langan seemingly the only man either given licence to or willing to take on 2 pointers. McHugh, Mogan, Murphy all have the ability to kick a 2 pointer, as another poster pointed out at this stage you shouldn't really be in a county panel playing anywhere from half back up and not have the ability to kick a 2 pointer on occassion. Need to start firing a few shots, even if their wides it'll force teams to think a bit more.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 199 - 15/06/2026 08:29:31    2679708

Will take that draw. Time for our boys to show what they're made of.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 402 - 15/06/2026 08:47:02    2679709

A great dra for ye. Only headache will be venue as Ger is bullish on Parnell with a capacity of 7k. Great result for us also at home to one of the weaker teams left in the champo. Roll on Croke Park in a few weeks, hope yee can join us ;)

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 706 - 15/06/2026 08:52:39    2679714

So Dublin away it is.
I'm actually happy with that draw. It's do-or-die now, and if we can't get up for a knock-out game v the Dubs in Croke Park then we may forget about it.

We're well used to Croke Park at this stage. It could be the game to really ignite things.
Dublin obviously aren't what they used to be. But they'll still be formidable opposition.

Kerry v Armagh is the tie of the round. There will be some atmosphere down in Killarney for that!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10377 - 15/06/2026 09:36:21    2679735

Well done to Cork at the weekend, I was at the game and there was no sense of urgency. Us fans did not get up for the game either, one of the worst atmospheres I seen for a Donegal home game.
Cruising in the first half and Cork had no choice but to look for 2 pointers which they hit. While we did loose I think a bit of perspective, we lost by a point. we went a long time without a score. I was surprised that one of the senior lads did not try to engineer a free just to get a score to settle us down.
Cork/Louth/Monaghan all underdogs but fought hard and won, If you are a neutral supporter you would be singing the praises of this years championship.

The Dubs in Croke Park next weekend, fingers crossed I would say a 50;50 game

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 300 - 15/06/2026 10:08:58    2679751

Replying To Lockjaw:  "So Dublin away it is.
I'm actually happy with that draw. It's do-or-die now, and if we can't get up for a knock-out game v the Dubs in Croke Park then we may forget about it.

We're well used to Croke Park at this stage. It could be the game to really ignite things.
Dublin obviously aren't what they used to be. But they'll still be formidable opposition.

Kerry v Armagh is the tie of the round. There will be some atmosphere down in Killarney for that!"
Dubs are lobbying right now for the game to be in Parnell Park which is woefully too small for a game like this.

If we beat them in Croke Park, that would be four championship defeats in a row at Croke Park.

In fairness Dublin do need to get out of Croker for themselves and fans but Dublin badly need a 25k stadium of their own as soon as possible.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 480 - 15/06/2026 10:15:42    2679756

Replying To Lockjaw:  "So Dublin away it is.

Kerry v Armagh is the tie of the round. There will be some atmosphere down in Killarney for that!"
The draw I was hoping for.
Consensus seems to be it won't be in Croke Park though. Ger Brennan stated he has a preference for Parnell park and there'll be pressure on to back him, particularly after the few months he's had.
Find out soon enough I suppose.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 199 - 15/06/2026 10:17:17    2679759

Oh, I see the game might be in Parnell?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10377 - 15/06/2026 10:22:13    2679765

Players and management won't be too concerned about venue but Croke Park vs Parnell Park makes a big difference to supporters.

Dublin will be bullish about PP and its probably their choice to make as they were draw out at home. PP would mean a crowd of less than 10k when you would probably get over 20k from Donegal alone going to that and of course a very healthy Dublin support. Not really for us to be concerned about I suppose just have to wait and see.

inthru (Donegal) - Posts: 2 - 15/06/2026 10:24:11    2679767

Dublin is the best draw we could have got IMO. They are a shadow of their team from a few years ago and clearly have issues that they are struggling with. If Donegal can't beat them then we have no right to be progressing any further anyway.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 193 - 15/06/2026 10:34:38    2679772

Replying To LKGael:  "Had a look at the Mc Cumhaill park pitch there on social media... definitely looks rough compared to O Donnell park"
Told yez

LKGael (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 15/06/2026 10:36:38    2679774

Replying To JimB1991:  "The predicatability is an issue yes, one stage in 2nd half we had the 3 on 3 inside, Gallen was well in front of his man the exact situation that the new rules allow to be exploited but kicking it in is just not part of any plan.
Also too much predictability in terms of Langan seemingly the only man either given licence to or willing to take on 2 pointers. McHugh, Mogan, Murphy all have the ability to kick a 2 pointer, as another poster pointed out at this stage you shouldn't really be in a county panel playing anywhere from half back up and not have the ability to kick a 2 pointer on occassion. Need to start firing a few shots, even if their wides it'll force teams to think a bit more."
And they have to get their kick out away, wide or a score, that can be pressured to varying degree, depending on the score line.

Expertinall (UK) - Posts: 159 - 15/06/2026 11:27:57    2679798

Toughest draw on paper we could have got. Away to the Dubs. But any of the 3 would have been tough matches. We will need to be at our very best from here on out.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 290 - 15/06/2026 11:34:10    2679801

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Well done to Cork at the weekend, I was at the game and there was no sense of urgency. Us fans did not get up for the game either, one of the worst atmospheres I seen for a Donegal home game.
Cruising in the first half and Cork had no choice but to look for 2 pointers which they hit. While we did loose I think a bit of perspective, we lost by a point. we went a long time without a score. I was surprised that one of the senior lads did not try to engineer a free just to get a score to settle us down.
Cork/Louth/Monaghan all underdogs but fought hard and won, If you are a neutral supporter you would be singing the praises of this years championship.

The Dubs in Croke Park next weekend, fingers crossed I would say a 50;50 game"
If it's croke park??

Expertinall (UK) - Posts: 159 - 15/06/2026 11:45:24    2679812

Replying To shaggykev:  "Dubs are lobbying right now for the game to be in Parnell Park which is woefully too small for a game like this.

If we beat them in Croke Park, that would be four championship defeats in a row at Croke Park.

In fairness Dublin do need to get out of Croker for themselves and fans but Dublin badly need a 25k stadium of their own as soon as possible."
They never wanted to leave Croke park when they thought they had an advantage there, remember the groups, home/away/ neutral. They never insisted Parnell park was used then.

Expertinall (UK) - Posts: 159 - 15/06/2026 11:48:43    2679816

Replying To shaggykev:  "Dubs are lobbying right now for the game to be in Parnell Park which is woefully too small for a game like this.

In fairness Dublin do need to get out of Croker for themselves and fans but Dublin badly need a 25k stadium of their own as soon as possible."
Doesn't matter where it is, Donegal will be in last 8. They don't turn into a bad team on 1 result.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2757 - 15/06/2026 11:53:50    2679822

Replying To LKGael:  "Told yez"
Pitch was perfect on Saturday.

And the view from the terrace is 100% better than O'Donnell park.

dats_rite (Australia) - Posts: 22 - 15/06/2026 12:31:50    2679843