I don't see why Niall O'Donnell would not come back, I believe he will get more League game time this year to impress, he seemed to be injured for a lot of the league this year. It's a shame his other brother does not commit also, a solid defender. Ultan Doherty is another defender that I am surprised has not been drafted in. We need everyone and these type of defenders are stronger physically and it's hard to beat more strength. I agree as regards bringing in a number two, someone that knows the game and will add to the tactical side of things during the game. Although can you really fault the lads that were there this year. The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 714 - 03/08/2025 07:37:48 2629862 Link 0 |
Kerry won breaking ball possessions 9 to 2 in the first half, this is where Donegal lost the game It was the same against Tyrone in Ballybofey where Tyrone won 90% of the breaking ball. It's an obvious weakness in Donegals game but 1 of the areas that's easier to fix and at worst break even on that stat during big matches. Tirchonailabu56 (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 03/08/2025 10:08:08 2629867 Link 0 |
Thoughts on his brother being dropped from the 26 last week?
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1304 - 03/08/2025 10:28:45 2629870 Link 0 |
On the 2 point rule didn't see the need for it with 3 up and 3 back as there is now space for forwards to get room, I think it should have been 2 point rule or 3 up and 3 back, I don't think we needed both. Incidentally was at an underage game this year and referee unable to police 3 up back, breaches all over the place.
totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1152 - 03/08/2025 10:31:35 2629871 Link 0 |
Another weakness in Donegal football at both club and county is our lack of players with the kicking skills to ping or whipp 30 to 40m accurate fast kick passes from outside the 45 into the 13m line to a inside forward, its another weakness Jim and his coaches need to address, perhaps take a few players aside like Dara, Niall O Donnel, Aaron Doherty and get them to specialise in whipped kick passes into the 13m line for Marks and Goal Threats. With the likelihood of 4 points for a goal rule coming into effect next year this skill will become even more important in 2026. We also need to find another left footed 2 point kicker, perhaps Odhran Doherty might step up but with Thompson, COD, McBreaty as our left footed ooptions and usually only 1 or 2 of them is on the pitch at a time, we need another left footed player who can hit 2 pointers on the pitch. Tirchonailabu56 (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 03/08/2025 10:59:33 2629873 Link 0 |
Starting to hear of county men who won't be playing for their clubs next weekend. This isn't a post to blame them, but it's just another example of how club football is suffering and dying on the vine. This means that some of these county players will only play 1 match in their home ground. If you'd said to me that this would be the case WITH the split season, I'd have said what was the point of the split season. ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 85 - 03/08/2025 11:45:31 2629881 Link 1 |
You're 100% correct. It was a spur of the moment to break away at that exact point of the parade. Yawn
CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 571 - 03/08/2025 12:58:33 2629889 Link 1 |
Not what our Donegal links in Monaghan are saying. And we have a few.
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 330 - 03/08/2025 14:12:50 2629907 Link 0 |
We are not far away in terms of tactics and players. I don't think we need to change our approach and suddenly start going man to man instead of zonal in defence. However it would be great to have that option and maybe have short periods where we press high and go man to man and try to get some proper tackles in. That was one of the very dissapointing things against kerry - we got so little contact on their forwards. Of course that's because kerry were avoiding contact but I felt in previous games we managed to apply more pressure and get contact with opposition forwards rather than just marking space. High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 89 - 03/08/2025 14:42:46 2629912 Link 0 |
One more thing, getting possession in midfield at kickouts has become the most important thing in the new rules. Of course we need McGee and Langan fit next year and maybe a new midfielder in there. McFadden had a great year. High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 89 - 03/08/2025 14:49:09 2629915 Link 0 |
The CCC are the ones that decide the fixtures and when it's due to start, everybody knew this would happen. Can't for the life of me understand why they wouldn't put the championship back a week or two. Unbelievable decision making.
donegalgael-12 (Donegal) - Posts: 25 - 03/08/2025 15:43:33 2629917 Link 1 |
Men need to play ball should have started this weekend tbh
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 330 - 03/08/2025 17:55:17 2629924 Link 0 |
Yeah I posted about this during the week of players who aren't going to play. And I agree with someone else's post about the short term gain and long term pain in regards to players. I'd imagine players are told to take the break now until November esp players playing for the lesser clubs.
Whyme923 (Donegal) - Posts: 57 - 03/08/2025 18:45:13 2629932 Link 0 |
What are yiz up to there lad, Monaghan still haven't started their Championship despite the fact it could've been started a month ago.
SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 863 - 03/08/2025 18:45:34 2629933 Link 0 |
Because a master fixture plan has been set in stone with dates and I'd imagine club players have looked at it and booked holidays themselves for after the championship final etc… should we accommodate 30 players in regards to 1500 players ?
Whyme923 (Donegal) - Posts: 57 - 03/08/2025 18:47:49 2629934 Link 2 |
You've correctly identified the root of the problem - the master fixture. Two weeks was never going to be enough between an all Ireland final, which was always a possibility, and the start of the club championships. Hopefully the CCC have the foresight to fix that next year.
donegalgael-12 (Donegal) - Posts: 25 - 03/08/2025 19:40:13 2629944 Link 1 |
Yea. Men need to kick ball should have started a month ago tbh
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 330 - 03/08/2025 19:53:09 2629946 Link 0 |
So do club players play final in November/December?
Whyme923 (Donegal) - Posts: 57 - 03/08/2025 20:18:26 2629950 Link 0 |
Don't be daft, move it a week or two, play it in October and you still have a week or two before Ulster Club.
donegalgael-12 (Donegal) - Posts: 25 - 03/08/2025 21:09:40 2629958 Link 1 |
Great to hear more of our club championship games will be streamed, that's a good improvement from the co board. Fair play, looking forward to championships this weekend. Northwest90 (Donegal) - Posts: 6 - 04/08/2025 12:17:25 2630013 Link 0 |