That's rich coming from a Mayo man..
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 721 - 27/07/2025 23:31:27 2628465 Link 0 |
Just landed in the door, not our day at all. Fair play to kerry they were fantastic. We got a lot of things wrong today but listen that can happen. They gave us a great summer of football and excitment. 11 championship games for amateurs is tough going. But kerry well deserving of their victory. Bad accident on the M1 on the way home, puts everything in perspective, i hope everyone is alright gaeltacht81 (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 27/07/2025 23:32:32 2628466 Link 2 |
Kerry were just better but you should at least have made them earn it a bit more. Cliffords first two pointer is wayward kick pass from Donegal coming out of defence. It's a completely unforced error and you can't giving an opportunity like that to Clifford. Another one of scores comes from a blocked hand pass out of defence after a turnover. Then his last two pointer in the first half. 2 minutes to ht and then a poor kickpass into the keepers hand and Kerry work a set play for another Clifford two pointer..7 points and close to game over up when it could have been 4 and even 5 would have not been too bad Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 921 - 28/07/2025 00:24:22 2628473 Link 2 |
There's quite a amount of people out there that love to see jim and donegal fail. Jim has made donegal competitive again and it's a credit to him. Donegal have no minor all irelands, have 2 21s with a last win in 1987. They've won no senior club championship and only 2 ulsters. What mcguinness has done is an absolute credit to himself and the county. Instead of jibes and cheap comments others should be seeing what they can learn from it.
Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 921 - 28/07/2025 01:18:31 2628477 Link 2 |
Ah clare give it a rest
Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 346 - 28/07/2025 07:45:22 2628489 Link 0 |
Amazing to see the old false postwar PR narrative about Kerry playing "different" type of football lol. Away from all the genuflecting, both teams played the exact same pattern of football yesterday - the major difference was not the type of football, but the mindset - Kerry set out to win, while Donegal set out to sit back and counter. Kerry played the typical modern style of football, but did so with energy and great athleticism and positivity and will to win. The major difference was that Kerry attacked the game from the start, while, especially in the first half, Donegal sat back passively, showing not near as much athleticism, and invited them on. Attack best form of defence etc, and defending deep like that will never work against a good team like Kerry. The amount of Kerry scores taken with not a glove being laid on them was shocking. Of course, McHugh and Thompson being targeted for accidentally-on-purpose injuries didn't help - you might have been level had they been on - McHugh always brings energy to link play, and Thompson has decent feet on a day when Donegal had several bad misses - but overall, sitting back in your shell, not marking P Clifford and relying on counters was never going to win.
points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 311 - 28/07/2025 09:16:33 2628499 Link 0 |
Fair play to Kerry, by far the better team. PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 28/07/2025 09:17:41 2628500 Link 0 |
Proud of our boys for the year we've had onwards and upwards. Jimsam12 (Donegal) - Posts: 22 - 28/07/2025 09:28:49 2628503 Link 0 |
Firstly, a massive congratulations to Kerry. They were stronger, faster and smarter in all facets of the game yesterday. It was clear from the get-go that they were determined to set the terms, and that it was going to be a huge ask for Donegal to wrestle back control of the game. There were a couple of occasions when we got it back to a four point deficit, but Kerry were always able to step it up again, and extend there lead out to six, seven points. A ten point defeat was perhaps a wee bit harsh on us, but no complaints, Kerry fully merited their win. Taking my Donegal glasses off, it was mesmerising at times watching the Cliffords at work. Two simply outstanding footballers ably assisted by the likes of White, O'Connor, O'Beaglaoich and O'Shea. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9936 - 28/07/2025 10:02:39 2628513 Link 2 |
As sore as all of today and this week will be, these men have given everything for the county we all love. I would hope that the people of Donegal will not let 70 minutes undue 7 months of valiance which has put pride in our colours once more. papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 84 - 28/07/2025 10:18:58 2628517 Link 0 |
Commiserations - a tough loss to take. Try not to be too down. Ultimately, Kerry are just a class above everyone at the moment. Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 375 - 28/07/2025 10:20:11 2628518 Link 0 |
Fair Play to Kerry they were the best team by a country mile. muckla (UK) - Posts: 372 - 28/07/2025 10:24:42 2628523 Link 0 |
Never got into game yesterday hard to explain was it nerves or over thinking the game. Big questions will McGuinness do another year, who will retire, maybe Mutphy McBrearty Ryan McHugh and McFadden who knows. jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 491 - 28/07/2025 10:24:59 2628524 Link 0 |
First of all Donegal had a great year but did not do themselves justice yesterday. Why did they not win? letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 777 - 28/07/2025 10:30:10 2628525 Link 0 |
We've played in 4 All Ireland Finals and yesterday's haul of 19 points was our highest but I never felt we were in the game. Hopefully McGee can go away and get himself right over the winter because we need him fully firing. ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 28/07/2025 10:33:15 2628526 Link 0 |
Did you fall asleep for the 2nd half? McGee caught about 3/4 clean when he came on.
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1293 - 28/07/2025 10:38:57 2628528 Link 0 |
Congrats to Kerry on as good an AI as they've ever had beating the best of Ulster on route. I was against them all year until after the Armagh game and they proved me very wrong. No complaints from a Donegal perspective. Kerry brought skill and an intensity levels above. This was highlighted by the brilliant Gavin White who was ferocious from the get go running onto the ball to set up the first score. Pretty sure he beat Ryan to another break in the second half they scored from too. The lads actually showed great character to get back into just before HT before a cheap turnover and conceding the two pointer after the hooter without hardly laying a glove. We actually started pretty well and I was thinking this is going to be a humdinger before a really poor turnover resulted in a two pointer which gave David Clifford the platform to roar into the game after a quiet start. Another soon after and it was blatantly obvious we'd need a goal to bring about a momentum shift. Surprised big Hughie didn't start. Yes he can sometimes be exposed but he's brought great intensity all year and we didn't have that in the first half. Joe O'Connor cleaned up and it was only until Hughie came on that we got some kinda parity. I said before the game that the kickouts would be massive and we got murdered on them laying the foundations for Kerry to play the game on their terms much like Tyrone did back in the group stages. Patton was off yesterday. Very hesitant and think we only saw one of his lazer beems with many of his kickouts uncharacteristically hanging in the air. Still in the second half we again clawed it back to 4. Forced an error from Ryan before fumbling yet again after winning the sideline kick in....that really summed up the day. Kerry dictated throughout and talking to some of their supporters they were surprised by how easy it was. We never really went at them which is why the likes of Moore, Roarty, Ban and Peader were so quiet when we were in possession. I thought Jason along with Hughie done really well off the bench. Conor O'Donnell was our best player. He played at the intensity needed throughout. Michael never gave up and had a good game but needed more from those around him. This team has brought us on an amazing journey even if the destination wasn't. For that I'm very grateful and thankful for everything they've done. With Jim around we'll never be too far away. He probably will regret some things possibly the Hughie call and not tagging Paudie more closely which is easier said than done. Hopefully with many of this years under twenties underage next year they can go one better and with it build momentum with another batch to come in. I don't see any retirements but it's a long road back and as pointed out by our Mayo friend this was probably our best chance. Do we need to deviate our attention from placing too much focus on Ulster? It's not in Jim's interest and this year in Clones was magical but 11 games is a difficult route to be taking. panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2891 - 28/07/2025 10:40:00 2628529 Link 0 |
You can't have enough catchers and big men in this new game
Jimsam12 (Donegal) - Posts: 22 - 28/07/2025 10:49:46 2628538 Link 0 |
Hard luck Donegal unfortunately ye just didn't bring yer A game yesterday. Looked flat footed and drained of energy and intensity. The Monday after an all Ireland final loss is rough. All that can be done is to go at it again next year. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11711 - 28/07/2025 10:55:56 2628543 Link 0 |
I wasn't upset at Kerry keeping the ball before half time and not being challenged. We were 5 down and would have the breeze in the 2nd half (though felt like it died a bit). Coming from 9 down it wasn't a bad spot to be in so it was essentially letting Kerry waste their time with the breeze. What happened then was inexcuseable though. McCole got too tight to Clifford, wasn't watching the play and the next line of defence were sleeping too. That was a killer blow and shouldn't have been allowed with a set and rested defense.
benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1440 - 28/07/2025 11:03:03 2628546 Link 0 |