Donegal GAA thread

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Safe travels to all making the game

Absolutely thrilled to have landed tickets for my son and his 2 sons - proud day coming.

Excitement is bubbling nicely as as usual not a peak from the camp - it's wonderful.

Can't see Jimmy loosing back to back finals v Kerry - I have a strong feeling we will put it tight.

Very best of luck to the glenties/fintown messiah and the rest of the parish in the backroom team along with the extended panel of players and officials - you've got this and we are all fully united behind you.

Get in early lads and make as much noise as possible for our lads.

Donegal Abu.."
Jesus Eunans4ever your getting soft in your old age. Ha
Ah no seriously it's going to be a great occasion. Let's hope your Club man Shaun has the game of his life. Kick outs will be so vital in the match.
I think if we go toe to toe with Kerry early on especially the first half we have a big chance. The men coming off the bench were very good the last day.
Enjoy the match

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 716 - 25/07/2025 23:16:13    2628030

Best of luck on Sunday lads. Ye have a great team full of players that I admire, and I have great time for Jim.

I see the game as a genuine 50/50 and I'd be surprised if there is much in it either way. With the new rules we are guaranteed a decent game in any case. Hope everyone on here got a ticket.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2114 - 26/07/2025 00:27:47    2628035

Safe travels to everyone going down for the game.
Will be cheering them on across the Atlantic.
Likely Murphy's last game for the county so I hope he's lifting the trophy come Sunday evening!

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 202 - 26/07/2025 05:26:53    2628037

Replying To sligo joe:  "1.65 million tourists visited one site( Guinness hop store) in Dublin city last year, 330,000 visitors in total for all of Donegal?"
You don't compare a capital city to a county for God's sake, cop on! Compared to other EU capitals it's fairly shabby tbh.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 261 - 26/07/2025 07:12:34    2628039

Replying To peiledoir20:  "If we had the transport infrastructure of the Capital we might get a few more.

How many did Sligo get?"
What's Sligo got to do with it, the poster I was replying to said no one goes to Dublin except to the Airport and Croke park. Guinness hop store has the highest number of visitors of any tourist site in Ireland 1.65m. So I was just pointing out his error!

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 993 - 26/07/2025 07:51:48    2628042

Replying To sligo joe:  "1.65 million tourists visited one site( Guinness hop store) in Dublin city last year, 330,000 visitors in total for all of Donegal?"
Top visitor attraction in the country, fair play to Guinness. Donegal is a beautiful place to visit and Sligo too. I'll recommend Austie's in Rosses Point for the grub and a great pint. I still think the GAA are missing a trick by not encouraging and incentivising more tourists to watch our national games.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8186 - 26/07/2025 10:14:28    2628058

Replying To Dothesimplethingswell:  "As a neutral I think it's nothing short of facinating to see how Donegal are in an All Ireland final just 2 yrs after been in a very undesirable place not to mention been in a semi final just 12 months after that a game yee should have won!! McGuinness didnt make new footballers so its clear things were always strong up there but just needed leadership. I think the new rules have (and rightly so) allowed football and talented footballers to flourish and that's one of the reasons Donegal are in the final.
This final for me is way more exciting than the "Kerry v Dublin" finals where the media and pundits constantly hark back to the 70's and the past, and the games themselves constantly disappointed in terms of a spectacle. Forget the 70's...Sunday will see 2 of the greatest to have ever played the game. Its just facinating to see what Michael Murphy is doing and the role he leads. I wish yee the very best and if Donegal win it will be beacuse of spread of scorers."
I think Kerry only played 3 games to win 'sam' in 1975. Sligo might have been connaught champs that year?

Expertinall (UK) - Posts: 10 - 26/07/2025 10:38:44    2628061

Replying To Expertinall:  "I think Kerry only played 3 games to win 'sam' in 1975. Sligo might have been connaught champs that year?"
Yes Sligo won Connacht in 1975. Beat Mayo in a replay in Castlebar in the provincial Final. Sligo were heavily beaten by Kerry in the All Ireland semi final. Incidentally, Paidi O'Se's Mother was a Sligo woman.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2553 - 26/07/2025 10:59:29    2628062

The best of luck to Donegal tomorrow.
It will be a great day for the county .
Hopefully you will be bringing Sam back to the hills.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2184 - 26/07/2025 11:15:58    2628065

Replying To endgame:  "Yes Sligo won Connacht in 1975. Beat Mayo in a replay in Castlebar in the provincial Final. Sligo were heavily beaten by Kerry in the All Ireland semi final. Incidentally, Paidi O'Se's Mother was a Sligo woman."
Kerry played 4 championship games in 1975.

Mickey Kearins was recently interviewed for the 50th anniversary of that win. I knew he was a class footballer but never knew he held the league scoring record for so long.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8186 - 26/07/2025 13:09:57    2628081

Replying To panamasam:  "Welcome back. I was actually wondering about what happened to you in recent days. You always knew the potential was there but we weren't reaching our full potential post gym. Hopefully we'll be celebrating and feeling vindicated next week."
I rarely be on anymore, too much other stuff going on.

I think this current Donegal team are in many ways stronger than the 2012 team, more footballers in it and more athletic ability. When you drew with Kerry in 2019 Super 8's, I was sure this team would go on to win All Ireland's in the years that followed, but they just couldn't break through to All Ireland Quarters in Croker.

The final is difficult to predict, because the new rules mean that a team could pull ahead with two pointers and open up a massive lead, even if a lot of other things go well. But based on how both have performed in key Championship games, I think Donegal might just edge it.

Prediction: Donegal 1-22 v Kerry 2-18

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 26/07/2025 13:35:18    2628084

Replying To peiledoir20:  "If we had the transport infrastructure of the Capital we might get a few more.

How many did Sligo get?"
Says more about the mindset of the tourist than it does about Donegal. Best of luck Sunday. I actually travelling over to Donegal for the weekend to soak up the atmosphere. Hoping to be in Donegal on Monday night to enviously see Sam coming home.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 736 - 26/07/2025 14:27:40    2628094

I'm sitting on some rocks looking out at the Wild Atlantic Way as I write this, my last post before the big game tomorrow. The views are absolutely stunning. The coast, the islands & the mountains providing a stunning vista that us, na muintir Thír Chonaill are so rightly proud of.

We're also very proud of our team of course. They represent us so brilliantly. Hard working, honest & bucket loads of skill and talent to go with it. They've taken a long road to get where they need to, kind of like so many Donegal people who have travelled the world.

I wish them nothing but the best tomorrow. We will be down to the capital in force to support them. It will not be easy, but by God we will not be found wanting when it comes to voice, effort and commitment.

In a very close, emotionally draining encounter, I predict us to come out on top.

Donegal 1-24 - 1-21 Kerry

Sage travels to all. Mind yourselves!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9924 - 26/07/2025 15:58:41    2628120

Replying To Expertinall:  "I think Kerry only played 3 games to win 'sam' in 1975. Sligo might have been connaught champs that year?"
Kerry defeated Tipperary, Cork, Sligo and Dublin in 1975.
Heard Mickey Kearins say recently that he himself was way past his best by '75 and could make no impression against a mobile Kerry team.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 632 - 26/07/2025 16:01:11    2628121

Replying To endgame:  "Yes Sligo won Connacht in 1975. Beat Mayo in a replay in Castlebar in the provincial Final. Sligo were heavily beaten by Kerry in the All Ireland semi final. Incidentally, Paidi O'Se's Mother was a Sligo woman."
Pretty good quality colour footage of replay on YouTube , commentary by the late Liam Campbell. Look out for Mayo's Willie McGee punching Mayo's third point and the Sligo centre half back running up behind him and kicking him clean off his feet with an almighty kick. Red card all day in the modern game, wasn't even booked.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 632 - 26/07/2025 16:13:37    2628123

Replying To Curlew66:  "Pretty good quality colour footage of replay on YouTube , commentary by the late Liam Campbell. Look out for Mayo's Willie McGee punching Mayo's third point and the Sligo centre half back running up behind him and kicking him clean off his feet with an almighty kick. Red card all day in the modern game, wasn't even booked."
Sligo in black and white colours. Think they adopted the all black in 2002 when they had a good championship run. I like the black and white strip.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2553 - 26/07/2025 17:52:27    2628136

Replying To Curlew66:  "Pretty good quality colour footage of replay on YouTube , commentary by the late Liam Campbell. Look out for Mayo's Willie McGee punching Mayo's third point and the Sligo centre half back running up behind him and kicking him clean off his feet with an almighty kick. Red card all day in the modern game, wasn't even booked."
Brian mceniff helped out with Sligo in 75. There was some nice interviews with some of the players involved on ocean fm recently. Well worth a listen.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 915 - 26/07/2025 18:38:12    2628139