Donegal GAA thread

Replying To kiloughter:  "Donegal and Galway should both be on next Sunday given they played today as opposed to yesterday. Also as our manager noted after our win today we have had 3 long trips in 4 weeks. If serious on player welfare we have to be on next Sunday."
Guaranteed they will split Kerry/Armagh and Dublin.
My guess it will be Donegal/Monaghan 4pm Saturday followed by Dublin/Meath 6pm, and then on Sunday Tyrone/Galway 2pm with Armagh/Kerry 4pm

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1248 - 22/06/2025 19:16:43    2619967

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "What a second half. My God, Hughie was a machine in the second half, he smashed everything. We looked slick today and the conditioning of the players is unreal. I think Gallen got player of the match but McColgan sorted Ryan Burns in the second half he never got a kick and he was brilliant too. Will the GAA shaft us again and drag us to Dublin on Saturday afternoon and with a 6 day turn around and give Dublin and Kerry 8 days."
Listen, its near time we all stopped the victim mentality about travelling. Jims attempt at siege mentality after Hyde park made us a laughing stock. The reality is that the more journeys the more success we are having and that's the way it should be.

Great win today! Bring on the journeys no matter when and where they are!! We'll play them anywhere.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 163 - 22/06/2025 19:21:10    2619973

Replying To kiloughter:  "Donegal and Galway should both be on next Sunday given they played today as opposed to yesterday. Also as our manager noted after our win today we have had 3 long trips in 4 weeks. If serious on player welfare we have to be on next Sunday."
Your making sense. The GAA normally don't.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 599 - 22/06/2025 19:31:49    2619981

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Guaranteed they will split Kerry/Armagh and Dublin.
My guess it will be Donegal/Monaghan 4pm Saturday followed by Dublin/Meath 6pm, and then on Sunday Tyrone/Galway 2pm with Armagh/Kerry 4pm"
Jimmy wouldn't be happy with only getting 6 days!

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 700 - 22/06/2025 19:38:44    2619987

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "What a second half. My God, Hughie was a machine in the second half, he smashed everything. We looked slick today and the conditioning of the players is unreal. I think Gallen got player of the match but McColgan sorted Ryan Burns in the second half he never got a kick and he was brilliant too. Will the GAA shaft us again and drag us to Dublin on Saturday afternoon and with a 6 day turn around and give Dublin and Kerry 8 days."
Gallen might have been presented the trophy, but Hughie was far and away the man of the match despite only playing 35 mins and I was delighted to see him cap off the performance with the final point.

Himself and Moore are playing at such a high level right now each and every week.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 469 - 22/06/2025 19:42:52    2619989

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Guaranteed they will split Kerry/Armagh and Dublin.
My guess it will be Donegal/Monaghan 4pm Saturday followed by Dublin/Meath 6pm, and then on Sunday Tyrone/Galway 2pm with Armagh/Kerry 4pm"
Don't see why they wouldn't put Armagh and Dublin on Saturday night. They will both bring big crowds. Kerry and done for and their supporters know this so they won't travel.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1242 - 22/06/2025 19:43:13    2619991

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Gallen might have been presented the trophy, but Hughie was far and away the man of the match despite only playing 35 mins and I was delighted to see him cap off the performance with the final point.

Himself and Moore are playing at such a high level right now each and every week."
Finbar was Man of the Match. He was brilliant for 70 minutes and got 2 points as well

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 599 - 22/06/2025 20:02:04    2619995

Replying To winatallcost:  "Jimmy wouldn't be happy with only getting 6 days!"
right he would be, surely Galway and Donegal games will be the Sunday, anything else will be nonsense

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 22/06/2025 20:05:18    2619996

Brilliant result, thought Louth put up a poor enough performance, I thought they'd have more of a kick in them, Gallen played well as did everyone else, great to run the bench, Hughie was brilliant and NOD got on the scoreboard too, we'll need every man ready to go at full tilt when we get to Croker, fantastic to see Jason back, thank God those rumours weren't true, I'm looking forward to seeing Thompsons goal on the SG, he fairly buried it.
So it's all off to Dublin in the green and gold next weekend, brilliant stuff, great buzz around the place now, just see who get in the morning and focus 100% again.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3281 - 22/06/2025 20:07:39    2619998

Agree on the fact Donegal and Galway should be spared to Sunday. There will be a lot of pressure applied by both counties. Based on previous examples Dublin and whomever is pretty much a dead cert for the second match on Saturday though that would put Armagh and Kerry into Saturday at 17.00. While that would be the fairest if they have an interest in player welfare, rte will demand that match or 16.00 on Sunday. So that puts Galway or Donegal into the early slot on Saturday. Not fair but it's going to happen.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 876 - 22/06/2025 20:13:59    2620000

Great 2nd half today, back in croker next week!! This is it, 3 more games to do it. Its a toss of a coin who'll win it. But what a season, so enjoyable. Gallen was limping badly near the end, and at the end of the first half patton was the same, was pouring water on the ankle. Id say a lot of boys are carrying niggles, lets hope there all good to go next wend. Hup Donegal

gaeltacht81 (Donegal) - Posts: 20 - 22/06/2025 20:27:47    2620004

Take a bow Hugh McFadden that was a tour de force in the 2nd half

Has anyone checked Roarty isn't actually 27? What a player

Hopefully we get the extra day and are playing Sunday but regardless it's brilliant to be heading to Croker next weekend

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 213 - 22/06/2025 20:43:27    2620013

A great second half performance once we threw the shackles off.

Hughie was superb when he came in. Great to see & I am delighted for him. He has gotten plenty of stick over the years, but he has stuck at it & is a vital member of the squad.

Young Roarty outstanding again. Getting better & better.

Farrah's display was very encouraging! Coinnigh suas é!

If the niggles are managed right, and we can get McGonagle back we're in with a shout!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9827 - 22/06/2025 21:18:32    2620028

Replying To gaeltacht81:  "Great 2nd half today, back in croker next week!! This is it, 3 more games to do it. Its a toss of a coin who'll win it. But what a season, so enjoyable. Gallen was limping badly near the end, and at the end of the first half patton was the same, was pouring water on the ankle. Id say a lot of boys are carrying niggles, lets hope there all good to go next wend. Hup Donegal"
Yeah, Gallen went up for a Patton kickout and was limping quite heavily after. I would say they'd have taken him off of they had subs left. I didn't notice Patton but mulreanny did a right but of warm up at ht.
Poor aul louth were not not paying much attention to directions from enniskillen to ballybofey. Realistically they should have just came from louth for the match. Maybe that caught up with them in the second half because they were not good in the second half.
Donegal were not great in the first half and I was worried enough. Many of the players looked quite tired and a better team than louth could have had us in trouble. A much improved second half and hopefully we'll have a bid Donegal turnout next week.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 876 - 22/06/2025 21:52:21    2620034

Personally don't care what type of win we manage next weekend, any win will do, by a point even. Third week on the trot is a major ask against Meath or Monaghan who are rested and going very well. If we get past next week, the 2 week gap means we can really go at the semi final and at that stage I would fear nobody. Terrific second half today, the speed of this group of players is frightening, in particular Moore, Mogan, Ban, Roarty, Shane and Conor O'Donnell.. basically half the team. If we can keep Murphy, Langan and Gallen scoring and the lads above chipping in, we are in a good place. Patton's fitness obviously a concern and could prove a major factor. Hugh McFadden a guy I genuinely didn't think could cut it at the very highest level is a man transformed and I put that down to Jim. Well done to Hugh. Subs today looked very hungry. So many positives. The extra day turnaround for a Sunday game could also be a factor so hopefully we get that.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1461 - 22/06/2025 22:59:31    2620045

Was watching the match back there. Gaa plus is grand and all that but they had no camera behind the goals. They need to improve that for big matches like today.
Also gallen was decent and can understand why they picked him as motm. Yes, he missed two clear chances in the first half but he was one of the only players threatening in the first half. He also gave a super pass for the Thompson goal.
Also they continued with some sloppy play at times. That turnover at the end of the first half that led to a louth point and that is a frustration. You'd be better whacking it out if play than turning it over.

Also it interesting how much donegal went to down on the black. Was it 7 points without reply. And conversely it was a credit to them how well they curtailed mayo when mogan got the bc last week.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 876 - 23/06/2025 00:37:32    2620067

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Don't see why they wouldn't put Armagh and Dublin on Saturday night. They will both bring big crowds. Kerry and done for and their supporters know this so they won't travel."
The TV scheduling will take priority unfortunately. I'm fairly sure The 2 games on Saturday are GAA go, so not a hope RTE don't get the Kerry v Armagh game for the 4pm Sunday spot, so you can pretty much pencil that one. With Dublin likely occupying the main Saturday slot because they won't be paired with Kerry Armagh.

Obviously depends on the draw, but I'd say Saturday will be Donegal v Meath/Monaghan and Dublin vs Whoever.

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 32 - 23/06/2025 01:54:30    2620071

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Was watching the match back there. Gaa plus is grand and all that but they had no camera behind the goals. They need to improve that for big matches like today.
Also gallen was decent and can understand why they picked him as motm. Yes, he missed two clear chances in the first half but he was one of the only players threatening in the first half. He also gave a super pass for the Thompson goal.
Also they continued with some sloppy play at times. That turnover at the end of the first half that led to a louth point and that is a frustration. You'd be better whacking it out if play than turning it over.

Also it interesting how much donegal went to down on the black. Was it 7 points without reply. And conversely it was a credit to them how well they curtailed mayo when mogan got the bc last week."
It was Donegal 1-06 to 0-07 Louth at HT, Louth scored the opening point of 2nd half, but then Donegal seemed to take control and hit 1-03 to Louth's 0-01 to leave it 2-11 to 0-09 when the black card happened.
Then Donegal hit another 7 points without reply to leave it 2-18 to 0-09 before Louth got their 10th point.

The black card was definitely a factor in Donegal running out rampant 16 point winners, but I suspect they were on course to run out comfortable winners regardless.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1396 - 23/06/2025 09:54:05    2620130