Donegal GAA thread

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Back down to reality for this team. Murphy and Langan only reason we had a chance. Will be difficult to make a quarter final now."
Winning Ulster championships is irrelevant now. Just a token competition… big boy stuff now

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 760 - 25/05/2025 03:53:17    2612268

Replying To veterngaa:  "Winning Ulster championships is irrelevant now. Just a token competition… big boy stuff now"
You had a successful night out by the looks of it.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1205 - 25/05/2025 10:39:02    2612286

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Thought we had turned the screw when McBrearty scored his two pointer. I thought we slowed the game down prematurely (and ultimately handed the initiative back to Tyrone after an umpteenth fumble).
I think we'd have been better served going for Tyrone's throat at that stage. The crowd was egging us on, and another score or two could have sunk Tyrone.

Anyone else think McNally was poor enough on a couple of decisions? In particular for Canavan's equalising free?

Next weekend is absolutely massive now. Simply have to beat Cavan."
Lockjaw, if the free you are talking about was in the 64th minute, no. Free all day long and he didn't try to buy it he was still on his feet about to shoot when referee blew the whistle. I said before, Armagh beat an out of sorts Tyrone team by a single point (with people drooling over Armagh) so this was always going to happen.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2305 - 25/05/2025 10:45:55    2612291

Replying To totalrecall:  "The price of winning ulster is a high one and given the ridiculous condensed season it is of no benefit. Given the players we have missing and the players that appear to be playing with knocks I believe we will do well to win in breffni next week.

We won't challenge for the all Ireland and are victims of our own success. Tyrone had 4 weeks rest at it showed, even when we went 2 up in the last 10 it never felt like we would see the game out. Can't fault our team, hate the condensed season and the GAA are flogging the players."
This fake accusation that the GAA is flogging the players keeps getting repeated. The GAA resisted the condensed season for as long as possible until the GPA and CPA demanded it be brought in threatening the ultimate ultimatum of refusing to play.
When Jarlath Burns came in as president one of his first statements was his wish to extend the season during his term. He was immediately told "no way" by the players, GPA, and he has never mentioned it since.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 912 - 25/05/2025 10:50:04    2612293

Replying To Saynothing:  "Lockjaw, if the free you are talking about was in the 64th minute, no. Free all day long and he didn't try to buy it he was still on his feet about to shoot when referee blew the whistle. I said before, Armagh beat an out of sorts Tyrone team by a single point (with people drooling over Armagh) so this was always going to happen."
From where I was sat it looked like Roarty stood him up and he over carried, but my bias is likely showing!

Was no surprise to me that Tyrone won, that was always a 50/50 game in my view. Fairly opens up for yous now, a good route to a semi final is there

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 185 - 25/05/2025 11:04:43    2612297

Replying To veterngaa:  "Winning Ulster championships is irrelevant now. Just a token competition… big boy stuff now"
You're certainly not big boys!

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 116 - 25/05/2025 11:06:03    2612299

Replying To Saynothing:  "Lockjaw, if the free you are talking about was in the 64th minute, no. Free all day long and he didn't try to buy it he was still on his feet about to shoot when referee blew the whistle. I said before, Armagh beat an out of sorts Tyrone team by a single point (with people drooling over Armagh) so this was always going to happen."
You're probably right. I haven't seen it back yet. Just from my vantage point on the terrace it looked soft enough. But here, free or not, Tyrone deserved their win no complaints.

A really bad night at the office for us. Aside from the fumbles, which were an inevitability given the conditions, we kicked some very poor wides as well. Like others have mentioned, I think we'd need the full deck if we're to entertain any thoughts of going deep in the competition.

Signs are not good though. Patton, McGonagle, Mogan, McGee obviously aren't 100% going by yesterday.

Was surprised Niall O'Donnell didn't feature yesterday. His type of composure would have been useful in those closing stages after we had edged ahead?

Also, is Caolan McColgan not 100% either? He hasn't featured much at all.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9779 - 25/05/2025 11:10:59    2612302

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Thought we had turned the screw when McBrearty scored his two pointer. I thought we slowed the game down prematurely (and ultimately handed the initiative back to Tyrone after an umpteenth fumble).
I think we'd have been better served going for Tyrone's throat at that stage. The crowd was egging us on, and another score or two could have sunk Tyrone.

Anyone else think McNally was poor enough on a couple of decisions? In particular for Canavan's equalising free?

I thought the ref done well. The two decisions that I thought were dodgy were the two accidental collisions which both went Donegal's way, especially the second one where a Donegal player went over the top of a stationary Tyrone player, and Donegal worked a score from that.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 912 - 25/05/2025 11:17:25    2612304

Replying To CCFabu:  "A lot of doom and gloom anseo. Realistically if you are just a few % off it the top teams will punish you. Look at Armagh Derry when Armagh took the foot off the gas a bit. These teams are too good to let up or to hand things to them. We had the game and the momentum and coughed up possession. Tyrone were absolutely clinical from then on (a soft free against Roarty notwithstanding!). I don't think we got our hands on it again.

I don't like criticising individuals but needless to say the majority were a bit off today. McCole excellent again, and Roarty, what a player this kid is my god, so good in the tackle. Langan and Murphy led the fight. Other than that we weren't good enough. Sloppy in attack giving up easy ball, not really through tigerish Tyrone tackling, just a bad hop on a slippy surface or a poor pass etc. And defensively I thought we were a bit too passive at times. The less said about the first goal the better.

My biggest concern is just about bodies now. I still think we are good enough to go far. But we need a clear run - and we need the squad to step up big time next week. I would be worried if we're talking next weekend about Michael Murphy carrying the attack."
Agree, there is no need for all the doom and gloom. It was going to be incredibly difficult to go through Ulster and the group stages unbeaten. Nobody is writing off Armagh or Galway after losses so Donegal shouldn't be written off either.
Need everyone to step up the next few weeks and there more than capable.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 60 - 25/05/2025 11:20:22    2612305

No not really it's just that donegal though because they were at home and shouting and roaring that the free wouldn't be given it was a free all day long and mcnally should have given a free to Stefan Campbell as well in the ulster final as his right leg was swiped from under him

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 82 - 25/05/2025 11:28:17    2612308

Never seen us miss as many under Jim
Never seen us cough up turnovers like that under Jim
Never seen us concede as many frees in scoring zone under Jim

The gap between top 7 is razor thin so its a miracle Langan, Thompson and Murphy kept us as close as we were to them.

Whatever happens next week, we will have to beat a Mayo side fighting for their lives in final match and then a probable horror route to get back to An Ireland Semi-final

The week break to Cavan really puts us on the backfoot now.
I wonder should we cheer on Mayo next week?

If Mayo could fluke a win and we won well, we could put destiny in our own hands again.
Winning Uster from preliminary round is so tough but winning All Ireland from preliminary quarter finals is far tougher.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 341 - 25/05/2025 11:53:22    2612318

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Cavan essentially threw the Ulster championship. The Ulster championship is done, sadly. Zero advantage winning it"
I don't really agree with this either. If winning the all irealnd is your goal then as you say winning ulster gives zero advantage. Cavan though are not going to win the all ireland and I'd much rather have silverware and the feeling of having won ulster than maybe getting out of your group and maybe a quarter final. For the next generation winning the ulster this year will have left a real positive memory and will inspire them.

There would be few things they should have done but it's too late as it will change next year. If the gaa can't manufacture a minimum of two weeks between games then make every team play the first round robin match over this current weekend. It's not equitable for have cavan two weeks and donegal one week. More generally I'd have no issue giving extra weight to say the leading provincial championships. Say guarantee them the quarter final position or give them some kind of extra chance. Or give them a buy through the first round next year. And base the strongest provincials it on the average league position of the teams involved.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 833 - 25/05/2025 11:54:52    2612319

I doubt anyone in Donegal would hand their Ulster silverware back in exchange for fresher players for the next round. They have two more fixtures, both very winnable if they are focused.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2574 - 25/05/2025 11:55:06    2612320

It was a tired performance from Donegal, we never matched the intensity shown by Tyrone who were deserving winners. The first goal was awful but the conditions played a big part.

The big turning point for me was when Paddy kicked the two pointer, we won the next kickout but instead of powering on and trying to get a score, we slowed up the game and eventually lost possession. Not sure we saw the ball afterwards.

Langan was amazing and Murphy and McCole were good. Roarty was very good again, showed the intensity that was sadly lacking from others. Patton was a huge miss.

Cavan will be a tough game now but still think we will win. We need to up the intensity levels next week or it will be a long day. Hopefully we get a big support out, the team needs the supporters now more than ever.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1907 - 25/05/2025 11:59:03    2612322

Poor decision not to bring in Jamie Brennan and Niall O'Donnell .Maybe NOD has an injury but Brennan was warming up all along.He always plays well against Tyrone and was man of the match against them in Letterkenny.They also brought in an injured player which was surprising given that their policy all along was not to risk players.Gallen didn't perform yesterday at all but was left on this time.Management have questioned the teams performance but maybe they might want to look at themselves as well.Daire always seems to be the first man hooked.He lost a few balls ok but that is because he is always trying to penetrate and make things happen not taking the easy option.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1155 - 25/05/2025 12:07:36    2612325

Poor performance overall, losing Patton was critical, we are relying too much on Michael again, too many passengers there last night, winning the Ulster Championship has cost us, Tyrone were well rested and ready.
Ref done us no favours but we lost that game through our own mistakes and performance levels.
We had them when we went 2 points up and the crowd were lifted but from that on we lost our way, felt sorry for the lads walking off they put so much into it and they know themselves they didn't play like they can, Murphy Langan and a few others carried us.
Tyrone didn't even play that well either I thought but did enough to get the win, there's more in them too, they have a good chance of topping the group now.
The conditions like I said before had a big influence on the quality of game but they were the same for both teams.
The hot air being blown at Donegal will stop now, back down to earth and a tough trip to Breffni carrying injuries and heavy legs, it will be no easy task to get the win, Cavan's tails are up after beating Mayo, time to get behind the boys now and pray Patton is fit to play.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3209 - 25/05/2025 12:08:14    2612326

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Cavan essentially threw the Ulster championship. The Ulster championship is done, sadly. Zero advantage winning it"
Absolute nonsense. Cavan players would give their right arms for an ulster medal.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 641 - 25/05/2025 12:13:38    2612329

Replying To Farneyblueandwhite:  "No not really it's just that donegal though because they were at home and shouting and roaring that the free wouldn't be given it was a free all day long and mcnally should have given a free to Stefan Campbell as well in the ulster final as his right leg was swiped from under him"
That was a free out for Donegal as when Campbell tried to jump through a three man block his forearm made nice contact with Roartys face. That's why it was a free out.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 116 - 25/05/2025 12:15:38    2612330

Replying To rorysboys:  "Our season is totally dependent on how bad an injury patton has. He didn't look great before the game, he signalled a few times in the ulster final that he wasn't right. Hopefully he didn't cause more damage by playing on."
Posters on here are always on to you when you mention calibre of players and sometimes you don't help yourself but it's an absolute fact that teams don't function near as well without their best players. Patton is a massive loss. Mcguinness mentioned he don't know if patton will play next week and no doubt that's a sincere comment. But my guess he won't and if he's not fit he shouldn't play. They'll get one proper session this week and kick outs will be a priority with mulreanny and his outfield.

It's very unlikely Mcgonagle will be fit either. He was carrying his leg for a long time before they took him off. It shows how much they value him even when including the few mistakes. Farrah is foreverer stretching himself off the ball so doubt he's fully fit. I think niall o'donnell must be not be fully fit either. Brennan and aaron doc are frozen out after ulster final. They were taking a chance bringing mogan on as well when he was carrying a nick.

And as much as it's hard to be optimistic the players still do have the chance to turn it around. There are plenty players last night that won't be happy with their performance and well next week is your chance.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 833 - 25/05/2025 12:19:17    2612332

As already mentioned the non appearance of Jamie brennan and niall o donnell is baffling. Brennan always plays well against tyrone and niall o donnell for his cameo role against armagh deserved minutes. If your named in the 26 it should mean your fit to play. Anyway big game in cavan next week hopefully we'll travel in big numbers. It's a must win game.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2618 - 25/05/2025 12:23:49    2612334