Donegal GAA thread

Replying To S1234:  "Ah will you stop fair play to Cavan . But we were well off it . Worst performance from us I have seen in a good while .

Guessing you were not at the match as from Donegal...... So you could not see how bad mayo were.

We were absolutely brutal.
Kids leaving in tears ex mayo players in the club hous nearly in tears . Our guys looked like they just had rough of McStay and co .

I blame Mcstay & Rochford 100% Cillian obviously saw writing on the walls .
The 3 point lead flattered us maybe but we came back last 10 min again you obviously were nit there being from Donegal and not on tv .

Would not surprise me if we came out and beat Tyrone now after that but Mcstays time is up. Sure look at how Donegal was when Rochford there back and fourth lateral passing . ..but yeah fair play to Cavan on beating the worst mayo performance v them since 1948."
You were well off it as you weren't let be on it. We owned the ball first 15 minutes, and it was nearly 20 mins before you got your first score. Remember, there are always 2 teams in the equation

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2474 - 20/05/2025 09:04:30    2611226

Replying To S1234:  "Ah will you stop fair play to Cavan . But we were well off it . Worst performance from us I have seen in a good while .

Guessing you were not at the match as from Donegal...... So you could not see how bad mayo were.

Kids leaving in tears ex mayo players in the club hous nearly in tears . Our guys looked like they just had rough of McStay and co .

The 3 point lead flattered us maybe but we came back last 10 min again you obviously were nit there being from Donegal and not on tv .

Would not surprise me if we came out and beat Tyrone now after that but Mcstays time is up. Sure look at how Donegal was when Rochford there back and fourth lateral passing . ..but yeah fair play to Cavan on beating the worst mayo performance v them since 1948."
I wasn't at the match. But from the way you were chatting on the other thread, Mayo were going to easily dispose of Cavan. Poor or not, you have to give Cavan some credit. They sensed blood and they went for it, kicking some fantastic scores along the way. A wee bit of humility might be no harm.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9772 - 20/05/2025 09:41:41    2611236

Replying To S1234:  "Guessing you didn't know how poor mayo were?! As 9bviously jot at the match Cavan fair play but my God were shocking."
Cavan deserve all the credit. Mayo were poor because Cavan made them poor. Some of the Cavan scores were majestic, they were on top in every sector of the field. Looks like the famous Mayo supporters have deserted the team also ... awfully small the crowd at the game..

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 639 - 20/05/2025 10:01:05    2611242

Ye haven't a hope of beating Tyrone,mayo are really a division 2 team and would be next year only for donegal went easy on them.its not management's fault ,players aren't good enough.well done cavan

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 164 - 20/05/2025 10:28:29    2611249

Replying To greenfan:  "Cavan deserve all the credit. Mayo were poor because Cavan made them poor. Some of the Cavan scores were majestic, they were on top in every sector of the field. Looks like the famous Mayo supporters have deserted the team also ... awfully small the crowd at the game.."
Some of them more interested in giving out about other team's on these forums than worrying about their own problems. This certain Mayo supporter non stop on our forum and Galway's the last while, must have very little to be at!

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 20/05/2025 11:31:06    2611266

Always funny to me when people use stats like "Cavan's first championship win over Mayo since 1948" as if it's a common matchup that happens every other year. The Sunday game were all over it too as if it had any relevance to anything.

I wonder what the overall championship head-to-head record is? Not bothered looking it up but I'd imagine it's pretty even, and equally irrelevant

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12362 - 20/05/2025 11:47:54    2611270

Replying To Breffni40:  "Always funny to me when people use stats like "Cavan's first championship win over Mayo since 1948" as if it's a common matchup that happens every other year. The Sunday game were all over it too as if it had any relevance to anything.

I wonder what the overall championship head-to-head record is? Not bothered looking it up but I'd imagine it's pretty even, and equally irrelevant"
It's genuinely mad. Think there was no Championship match ups between 1948 and the 2000s. Since then it has been a qualifier in 2007, round robin last year, and now this year. Maybe 4 games since 1948 yet they're spinning it like it's happening every other year with no win for 70+ years? Funny

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2474 - 20/05/2025 13:01:03    2611298

Replying To Dunmore10:  "Ye haven't a hope of beating Tyrone,mayo are really a division 2 team and would be next year only for donegal went easy on them.its not management's fault ,players aren't good enough.well done cavan"
Mayo maybe underestimated a pumped up Cavan team who have a lot of quality players all over their team. Mayo have been guilty during the National league of switching off focus for long periods, I think that happened here too and Cavan exploited it.

Overall I expect Mayo to bounce back, but the group is hard to call at the moment.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1347 - 20/05/2025 13:10:58    2611304

Replying To Dunmore10:  "Ye haven't a hope of beating Tyrone,mayo are really a division 2 team and would be next year only for donegal went easy on them.its not management's fault ,players aren't good enough.well done cavan"
They're not the calibre of players of 8 or 9 years ago but management should still be getting more out of them. Played some great football when McStay took over. Haven't adapted to the new rules like other counties have. The defending is brutal, caught between half defending the arc and getting caught when opposition exploits the space that that creates. They're barely leaving a hand on a man trying to shoot. Not kicking ball into a good target man in Aido. Too reliant on Ryan for scores. Cleaned out on kickouts. Not sure players aren't capable of better but shame on them if they're not playing for management. If there's a dispute let them give their all for the jersey and sort the dispute when their championship finishes.

100% well done to Cavan. More aggressive team, took their chances when they mattered and kicked some lovely scores.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8003 - 20/05/2025 13:18:24    2611309

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "FarneyFail3"
You've gone quiet

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 224 - 20/05/2025 13:37:52    2611317

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "It's genuinely mad. Think there was no Championship match ups between 1948 and the 2000s. Since then it has been a qualifier in 2007, round robin last year, and now this year. Maybe 4 games since 1948 yet they're spinning it like it's happening every other year with no win for 70+ years? Funny"
It'd be like saying since 1947, Cavan have won 50% more All Ireland's than Mayo so this one went according to the formbook, with underdogs Mayo never threatening Cavan in a dominant display by the visitors

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12362 - 20/05/2025 14:22:49    2611327

Replying To Breffni40:  "It'd be like saying since 1947, Cavan have won 50% more All Ireland's than Mayo so this one went according to the formbook, with underdogs Mayo never threatening Cavan in a dominant display by the visitors"
Haha would definitely be one way to spin it alright!

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2474 - 20/05/2025 15:51:24    2611350