Donegal GAA thread

Replying To CCFabu:  "I don't know what people expect here, the GAA as a whole has a disciplinary problem where even when punishments are handed out, they are appealed and inevitably overturned on technicalities. I guarantee that if any bans were handed out, whether to the Donegal player for goading or for Armagh players for reacting, there would be an appeal and the bans would not be held up. There is a significant culture issue within the GAA with this stuff.

I also don't like seeing comments about how Armagh are always involved. While of course there have been high profile incidents with Armagh involved down through the years, I feel like people focussing in on them makes it an "easy fix", where in reality this nonsense plagues the game up and down the country.

And on the specifics with Armagh, and to a lesser extent Tyrone from the 00's period, I do think there is a significant element of "them nordies" from a lot of the commentary when these things crop up. At the end of the day our boys are no angels and like Lockjaw says you don't win anything with 15 choir boys. There was a war down in Tralee in a league match a few years ago and one of our lads was reported to have done something that was really really nasty to a Kerry player. Does that mean there is something "in" Donegal people causing rows? Not at all, and pretending like this is an Armagh-specific problem just means you have the blinkers on in my view.

Anyway as mentioned by others it's disappointing that people are talking about this rather than the football that was on show. One of the greatest matches I've ever attended. The best Ulster final ever?"
I agree 100% about the game itself, top quality and a nailbiter right to the finish, on Armagh though I think you are wrong, there is a consistent pattern of this behaviour from them now going back years, do you not rem what they done in the Galway match a few years ago?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=G41Pr-lBgb0
I suppose like everything in this country until someone suffers a life changing injury there will be nothing done to put a stop to this thuggery once and for all.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3187 - 13/05/2025 12:02:53    2609163

Replying To themaddog:  "You have made an unsubstantiated allegation which is based on alleged hearsay. That's throwing trash."
I used the word 'possibly' in fairness so no allegation. Hopefully all unsubstantiated and on we go.

sam2024 (Armagh) - Posts: 50 - 13/05/2025 12:26:18    2609174

Replying To CCFabu:  "I don't know what people expect here, the GAA as a whole has a disciplinary problem where even when punishments are handed out, they are appealed and inevitably overturned on technicalities. I guarantee that if any bans were handed out, whether to the Donegal player for goading or for Armagh players for reacting, there would be an appeal and the bans would not be held up. There is a significant culture issue within the GAA with this stuff.

I also don't like seeing comments about how Armagh are always involved. While of course there have been high profile incidents with Armagh involved down through the years, I feel like people focussing in on them makes it an "easy fix", where in reality this nonsense plagues the game up and down the country.

And on the specifics with Armagh, and to a lesser extent Tyrone from the 00's period, I do think there is a significant element of "them nordies" from a lot of the commentary when these things crop up. At the end of the day our boys are no angels and like Lockjaw says you don't win anything with 15 choir boys. There was a war down in Tralee in a league match a few years ago and one of our lads was reported to have done something that was really really nasty to a Kerry player. Does that mean there is something "in" Donegal people causing rows? Not at all, and pretending like this is an Armagh-specific problem just means you have the blinkers on in my view.

Anyway as mentioned by others it's disappointing that people are talking about this rather than the football that was on show. One of the greatest matches I've ever attended. The best Ulster final ever?"
Totally agree. The hype around 2 social media clips doing the rounds is just further support of your post. One in a petrol station and one in the stands of our most precious stadium. One of these has lot more traction than the other.

sam2024 (Armagh) - Posts: 50 - 13/05/2025 12:29:57    2609175

Replying To cds:  "I do think donegal probably have armaghs number. Well maybe jim has mcgeeney number don't think geezer has ever beat him. Tbf the only actual ful blown games between armagh and donegal have been the 2 ulster finals. Yous won by 1 which I feel another day some of our goals go in an different game. But equally doesn't mean we win as we could rest on our laurels like yous done. I just think there isn't anything between the teams. The rest of the games 3 league games an div 2 final was shadow boxing. Just my view..."
I don't think we have Armagh's number, there isn't much between the two teams at the moment and Donegal have just been on the right side of it by the finest of margins. Armagh are reigning All Ireland champions and will be hard to stop this year in the AI series.

Last season I thought Armagh were ahead of Donegal in conditioning etc, like the drawn league match in the Athletics ground was shadow boxing and the Division 2 final also was a bit weird, as the Armagh team were ill before it. I think the Ulster final was the real test and Armagh looked stronger for long periods of that game last season and I think Armagh actually got strong in the games after that.

This year I thought we were slightly stronger in normal time, particularly the first half. But we still allowed Armagh back into it and that was in part due to Armagh making tactical changes during the game.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1342 - 13/05/2025 12:48:32    2609183

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I agree 100% about the game itself, top quality and a nailbiter right to the finish, on Armagh though I think you are wrong, there is a consistent pattern of this behaviour from them now going back years, do you not rem what they done in the Galway match a few years ago?
I suppose like everything in this country until someone suffers a life changing injury there will be nothing done to put a stop to this thuggery once and for all."
That was a terrible incident and actually very uncharacteristic of the player. He served his time and it was the most gutting thing about that day for the vast majority of Armagh gaels.
You do have your blinkers on though - I would be happy to pop on here for the rest of the season to highlight other county's misdemeanors in the interest of balance, but would prefer to focus on the football.
For the record, Armagh supporters don't think it's ok to be involved in brawls or sledging and there's no excuse for anything outside the ethos of our game. Our discipline definitely needed to improve and we won an AI by being exemplary last year. Hopefully we get back to that.
And, for the record, we're all angels compared to what went on the 80's & 90's!!lol

sam2024 (Armagh) - Posts: 50 - 13/05/2025 12:51:28    2609184

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "You're not comparing apples with apples there at all. And it's nothing to do with being the "hard man" I simply said that if a lad is acting that way then he has to deal with whatever comes his way. I also said I don't condone the Armagh reaction but I'm also not surprised by it. I've said emotions are on a knife edge directly after the final whistle. You throw petrol on a flame then you just might get burned."
He took what came his way, but you're making out they had no option. They don't show restraint, it shouldn't be okay. Not wanting the book thrown at them because they're a rival or that, but it's not a good example for young kids.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1413 - 13/05/2025 12:56:37    2609190

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I agree 100% about the game itself, top quality and a nailbiter right to the finish, on Armagh though I think you are wrong, there is a consistent pattern of this behaviour from them now going back years, do you not rem what they done in the Galway match a few years ago?
I suppose like everything in this country until someone suffers a life changing injury there will be nothing done to put a stop to this thuggery once and for all."
course I remember the Galway incident, it was a terrible thing from Tiarnan Kelly and by all accounts he showed a lot of contrition and took his ban without appeal which is a rarity in GAA. All I meant was that this is not an Armagh-only problem, I'm not absolving Armagh of their behaviour.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 175 - 13/05/2025 12:57:58    2609192

Replying To cds:  "I do think donegal probably have armaghs number. Well maybe jim has mcgeeney number don't think geezer has ever beat him. Tbf the only actual ful blown games between armagh and donegal have been the 2 ulster finals. Yous won by 1 which I feel another day some of our goals go in an different game. But equally doesn't mean we win as we could rest on our laurels like yous done. I just think there isn't anything between the teams. The rest of the games 3 league games an div 2 final was shadow boxing. Just my view..."
Listen I totally agree with that. Two fantastic teams and very little if anything between them. Was just replying to the Mayo lad saying Armagh were "much better" and he's gone silent since that stat was thrown his way, that's all it was. Armagh are a brilliant team and anyone I chat to in the county feels exactly the same. Great chat last night between Stephen McDonnell, Kevin Cassidy and Brendan Devenney on the DL debate and the sense of respect was on full display.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1413 - 13/05/2025 13:00:29    2609194

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "You're not comparing apples with apples there at all. And it's nothing to do with being the "hard man" I simply said that if a lad is acting that way then he has to deal with whatever comes his way. I also said I don't condone the Armagh reaction but I'm also not surprised by it. I've said emotions are on a knife edge directly after the final whistle. You throw petrol on a flame then you just might get burned."
I heard he was jumping and gesturing to his friends/club mates in the Gerry Arthur stand at the final whistle and the Armagh squad thought he was gesturing at them and ran out to attack him.

I find it highly unlikely that a Donegal player with no prior history with this Armagh team would immediately try to goad the Armagh bench seconds after the final whistle when everyone else was celebrating an Ulster title,

Any news that is emerging since yesterday is probably damage limitation attempts to help justify why punches were thrown.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1342 - 13/05/2025 13:18:34    2609205

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "He took what came his way, but you're making out they had no option. They don't show restraint, it shouldn't be okay. Not wanting the book thrown at them because they're a rival or that, but it's not a good example for young kids."
Of course there was an option and the reaction as severe as it was was instigated by a Donegal man. His carry on also is not a great example of sportsmanship for kids to be seeing. One wrong by him turned into a bigger wrong by Armagh but don't know what anyone expected to happen. 3 Ulster Finals in a row lost and some clown roaring in your face is a tough situation to show restraint in.

Another poster claiming "whataboutery" from others laying blame at O McFF's door... where else should it lie then?!?! Without him goading the last day there is no reaction, there is no social media furore and the only talk is of the cracking game we saw.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 244 - 13/05/2025 14:00:38    2609218

Replying To sam2024:  "That was a terrible incident and actually very uncharacteristic of the player. He served his time and it was the most gutting thing about that day for the vast majority of Armagh gaels.
You do have your blinkers on though - I would be happy to pop on here for the rest of the season to highlight other county's misdemeanors in the interest of balance, but would prefer to focus on the football.
For the record, Armagh supporters don't think it's ok to be involved in brawls or sledging and there's no excuse for anything outside the ethos of our game. Our discipline definitely needed to improve and we won an AI by being exemplary last year. Hopefully we get back to that.
And, for the record, we're all angels compared to what went on the 80's & 90's!!lol"
Are you serious? It isn't like Kelly was the only one attacking Comer at the time - he was just the one that got the thumb in! There were quite a few players togging and non togging involved, and even worse, an Armagh selector got involved..... That is what makes it a culture thing and not a one off. Nobody thinks these are one off things any more.
No more than forker telling off McGuiness or warning him about getting involved... That is your captain not going to restrain his players but going to get in the opposite managers face. This is the culture that you are showing.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 159 - 13/05/2025 14:01:25    2609219

Replying To Commodore:  "I don't think we have Armagh's number, there isn't much between the two teams at the moment and Donegal have just been on the right side of it by the finest of margins. Armagh are reigning All Ireland champions and will be hard to stop this year in the AI series.

Last season I thought Armagh were ahead of Donegal in conditioning etc, like the drawn league match in the Athletics ground was shadow boxing and the Division 2 final also was a bit weird, as the Armagh team were ill before it. I think the Ulster final was the real test and Armagh looked stronger for long periods of that game last season and I think Armagh actually got strong in the games after that.

This year I thought we were slightly stronger in normal time, particularly the first half. But we still allowed Armagh back into it and that was in part due to Armagh making tactical changes during the game."
1st half i was fearful we were going to get beat well at times yous cut through us like a hot knife through butter. But think 2nd half we really improved. Bar the 2 goals 2nd half and et I think we looked like the team that left it behind them. Particularly like donegal were a beaten team to the 2nd goal. Shot selection and everything. But fair play to them goals wins matches. I think mcgeeney has never beaten mcguisness as kildare or Armagh manager. An we have rarely beat donegal bar maybe 2 seasons ago cant remember any since 2010 in crossmaglen before jim came. I actually think armagh if we can get rian and Particularly Aaron mckay back fast it will be a big bearing on our season. Have to admit I'm not as gutted as losing ulster as I was the last 2 years maybe cos we got the big prize last year. Hopefully the players feel the same or we could be in bother especially if we don't beat derry in the first group game.

cds (Armagh) - Posts: 12 - 13/05/2025 14:41:04    2609239

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Of course there was an option and the reaction as severe as it was was instigated by a Donegal man. His carry on also is not a great example of sportsmanship for kids to be seeing. One wrong by him turned into a bigger wrong by Armagh but don't know what anyone expected to happen. 3 Ulster Finals in a row lost and some clown roaring in your face is a tough situation to show restraint in.

Another poster claiming "whataboutery" from others laying blame at O McFF's door... where else should it lie then?!?! Without him goading the last day there is no reaction, there is no social media furore and the only talk is of the cracking game we saw."
If there was no reaction to whatever was said then nobody would even be aware anything had happened. Armagh are plenty able to get involved in verbals themselves, as evidenced during and after the game. Pearl-clutching now is a bit much.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 440 - 13/05/2025 15:17:00    2609250

Replying To systematic:  "Are you serious? It isn't like Kelly was the only one attacking Comer at the time - he was just the one that got the thumb in! There were quite a few players togging and non togging involved, and even worse, an Armagh selector got involved..... That is what makes it a culture thing and not a one off. Nobody thinks these are one off things any more.
No more than forker telling off McGuiness or warning him about getting involved... That is your captain not going to restrain his players but going to get in the opposite managers face. This is the culture that you are showing."
Or maybe its Forker telling McGuinness what was said and how its out of order and thats why he is pointing and shouting?

ArmaghAndProud (Armagh) - Posts: 45 - 13/05/2025 15:44:57    2609261

Replying To brayballer:  "Donegal have plenty of mouthpieces themselves Lockjaw.Donegal are as innocent as you think"
I've yet to see or hear a country without a mouthpiece.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2295 - 13/05/2025 15:47:12    2609262

Replying To Commodore:  "I heard he was jumping and gesturing to his friends/club mates in the Gerry Arthur stand at the final whistle and the Armagh squad thought he was gesturing at them and ran out to attack him.

I find it highly unlikely that a Donegal player with no prior history with this Armagh team would immediately try to goad the Armagh bench seconds after the final whistle when everyone else was celebrating an Ulster title,

Any news that is emerging since yesterday is probably damage limitation attempts to help justify why punches were thrown."
Except the same player does have history with Armagh for the same behaviour in 2022 which started a row.

ArmaghAndProud (Armagh) - Posts: 45 - 13/05/2025 15:47:39    2609263

Replying To ArmaghAndProud:  "Or maybe its Forker telling McGuinness what was said and how its out of order and thats why he is pointing and shouting?"
Ah he's very good like that in fairness to him. Sure wasn't he only trying to get a fly off Murphy's chest during the league game.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1200 - 13/05/2025 16:06:41    2609272

I have a feeling this rivalry between Donegal and Armagh is or has become the equivalent of Tyrone-Armagh in the 00s. I'm sure many of us can remember the ding dong battles in 03 and the saga in 05.

Plenty of football to be played yet of course, but can you imagine the anticipation if the two teams meet later in the summer in Croke Park?!?

The GAA needs this type of needle I think. Whether it be Dublin - Meath, Galway - Mayo, Tyrone - Kerry etc, we all like to see a bit of physicality. But when it goes overboard, no matter who started it, we need to be careful too.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9765 - 13/05/2025 16:10:38    2609273

Replying To ArmaghAndProud:  "Or maybe its Forker telling McGuinness what was said and how its out of order and thats why he is pointing and shouting?"
Yea poor forker lecturing Jim about discipline the story gets better

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2616 - 13/05/2025 16:23:30    2609282

Replying To greatpoint:  "If there was no reaction to whatever was said then nobody would even be aware anything had happened. Armagh are plenty able to get involved in verbals themselves, as evidenced during and after the game. Pearl-clutching now is a bit much."
Honest to god. The blame couldn't lie with the fella throwing the punch sure. It was all involuntary on his part. The lack of responsibility in some people is amazing.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 263 - 13/05/2025 16:27:11    2609283