Donegal GAA thread

We really weren't far away lads.

Hard enough day to get through. Fair play to Armagh.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 28/07/2024 17:46:11    2562209

Replying To benjyyy:  "We really weren't far away lads.

Hard enough day to get through. Fair play to Armagh."
I couldn't agree more. Wide open again next year. I felt we were the better team in the semi final for much of it but didn't get a break with a less than favourable ref. We lost Ban at an important stage today then you see Finnerty going off today after ten minutes......those are the breaks. We'll be there or thereabouts next year with an extra year under Jim. We need to build up a stronger 26 and I'm sure this will be a priority for the management. Congrats to Armagh today. Happy for Geezer. We'd have fancied our chances against them today but if you're not in it......

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2806 - 28/07/2024 18:47:22    2562255

That was a missed chance for Donegal this year. You need to ditch the over cautious approach and over thinking in games. Just stop the nonsense and get the ball forward quicker ffs.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9778 - 28/07/2024 18:47:50    2562256

Good luck to Armagh end of....we couldn't get past Galway in the semis so the debate ends there. Kerry, mayo & dublin would all have similar claims of leaving the all Ireland behind. Where do U draw the line? Armagh marginally better than Galway today and worthy champs

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 28/07/2024 19:23:25    2562286

Odds out on PP for next years All Ireland Champions. Kerry 5/2, Dublin 3/1, Galway 11/2, Donegal and Armagh 7/1, Mayo and Derry 12/1.

Fine margins, we were so so so close. I hope we can keep the momentum going, and hopefully this time next year we will be top of the pile.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 680 - 28/07/2024 20:45:14    2562331

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Odds out on PP for next years All Ireland Champions. Kerry 5/2, Dublin 3/1, Galway 11/2, Donegal and Armagh 7/1, Mayo and Derry 12/1.

Fine margins, we were so so so close. I hope we can keep the momentum going, and hopefully this time next year we will be top of the pile."
Kerry on the short side imo. I think they're very beatable under Jack O'Connor. I'd definitely have Dublin shorter. I'd be very surprised if Armagh went back to back but then never seen them winning an AI this year. The 7/1 Donegal is fair. Like I already said we'll not be far away with Jim at the helm. No doubt he'll have being feeling frustrated watching the game today as well as disappointed for his good friend PJ at not getting it over the line.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2806 - 28/07/2024 22:26:28    2562383

Replying To Donegalman:  "Good luck to Armagh end of....we couldn't get past Galway in the semis so the debate ends there. Kerry, mayo & dublin would all have similar claims of leaving the all Ireland behind. Where do U draw the line? Armagh marginally better than Galway today and worthy champs"
Agree completely.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 28/07/2024 22:32:07    2562387

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Can't for the life of me understand how Ultan Doherty never got a call up for the squad this year. A teak tough tight marking defender is something we are crying out for. Has done the job at club level on the top forwards time and time again.

Perhaps the Glenties contingent can shed some light on this?"
I believe he was asked but declined because of exams, but fully expect him to be available next season along with roarty, I agree he is probably one of the best man markers in the county, a paddy McGrath type player, tough as nails and is happy to be given a man markers job.
There is players out there and we have the right manager to develop them, so roll on next year.

Until then, let's hope the club championship keeps us entertained and every player on every club comes out of the end of it healthy and fit
May the best team win

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 707 - 29/07/2024 06:48:33    2562424

I'm delighted for Armagh and Kieran McGeeney, as they have been through it all in recent years, faced heartache and setbacks and they just kept plugging away, its a credit to them.

It was a strange year in Championship, Armagh won the All Ireland, despite being Division 2 runners up and Ulster runners up earlier in the season. Dublin, Kerry, Derry and Mayo failed to make the AI final, with Dublin, Derry and Mayo failing to even make the AI Semi Finals, which I think highlights how little there is between the top 7 or 8 teams at the moment.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 29/07/2024 07:52:29    2562428

Replying To Commodore:  "I'm delighted for Armagh and Kieran McGeeney, as they have been through it all in recent years, faced heartache and setbacks and they just kept plugging away, its a credit to them.

It was a strange year in Championship, Armagh won the All Ireland, despite being Division 2 runners up and Ulster runners up earlier in the season. Dublin, Kerry, Derry and Mayo failed to make the AI final, with Dublin, Derry and Mayo failing to even make the AI Semi Finals, which I think highlights how little there is between the top 7 or 8 teams at the moment."
Yes Division One of the NFL next spring will be very competitive. It will be very interesting to see how teams approach it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 29/07/2024 12:07:32    2562547

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yes Division One of the NFL next spring will be very competitive. It will be very interesting to see how teams approach it."
Well we now have back to back All Ireland champions teams who were just promoted from Division 2, not forgetting Donegal who came so close to clipping Galway and that would have seen the two teams promoted from Division 2 also contesting the All Ireland final. That tells us that there isn't much benefit from Division 1 from a tactical perspective, it is good for developing players though, trying match ups etc, but not to showing your hand tactically.

Division 2 seems to be a better platform for teams to succeed during summer, maybe its less strenuous

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 29/07/2024 13:03:47    2562584

Replying To The keeper:  "I believe he was asked but declined because of exams, but fully expect him to be available next season along with roarty, I agree he is probably one of the best man markers in the county, a paddy McGrath type player, tough as nails and is happy to be given a man markers job.
There is players out there and we have the right manager to develop them, so roll on next year.

Until then, let's hope the club championship keeps us entertained and every player on every club comes out of the end of it healthy and fit
May the best team win"
We could also do with a couple of inside forwards next season, it will be interesting to see if any standout candidates appear during the Club Championship

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 29/07/2024 13:08:39    2562586

Replying To Commodore:  "Well we now have back to back All Ireland champions teams who were just promoted from Division 2, not forgetting Donegal who came so close to clipping Galway and that would have seen the two teams promoted from Division 2 also contesting the All Ireland final. That tells us that there isn't much benefit from Division 1 from a tactical perspective, it is good for developing players though, trying match ups etc, but not to showing your hand tactically.

Division 2 seems to be a better platform for teams to succeed during summer, maybe its less strenuous"
I was going to post something quite similar to this. And you can add Derry from last year getting to a semi as well. Though it was the promoted teams who won.
Beware of the rossies and the farney army next year I suppose.

Both Derry and Mayo suffered from pushing to win division one the last two years. In certain circumstances i would not be that concerned about being relegated. There is a chance to experiment on tactics, work on fitness for championship and build depth and not have to worry about the tailtean cup. In division two that was always a possibility if you were not full focused. Look at Kildare this year. If we were in division 2 last year I think there's a very good chance we would have been like Kildare this year.

As long as Tyrone camp is in good spirits they are a team that could do with a good league. They have to build their team and a good league would help. And when others aren't 100% Kerry and Dublin tend to do well.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 29/07/2024 14:30:41    2562651

Replying To Commodore:  "Well we now have back to back All Ireland champions teams who were just promoted from Division 2, not forgetting Donegal who came so close to clipping Galway and that would have seen the two teams promoted from Division 2 also contesting the All Ireland final. That tells us that there isn't much benefit from Division 1 from a tactical perspective, it is good for developing players though, trying match ups etc, but not to showing your hand tactically.

Division 2 seems to be a better platform for teams to succeed during summer, maybe its less strenuous"
I really don't think you can read much into Div 2 status other than there are around 8 teams now who are at a similar enough level / can beat one another on any given day and are contenders for Sam. It just so happens that 3 of those teams were in Div 2 the last couple of years and were promoted back to Div 1 instantly. It's not as if anyone really thought Dublin were a Div 2 standard team for example.

Armagh and ourselves this year maybe more of a "surprise package" type, but we made similar run in 2011 and 2014 from Div 2. Galway were not a million miles away and will have regrets, but losing the final had very little to do with their Div 1 status.

I think we're likely to see a more open championship for the next couple years and the winner will be decided as much by luck, staying injury free and getting into good form at the right time as much as being a higher quality outfit than the rest. I think if we can find a couple more bodies for the panel and if we can keep everyone fit next summer, we will have a great chance again, but it's hard to take when we know how close we were this year

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 127 - 29/07/2024 15:09:22    2562677

Yeah I think Div1 2025 is more accurately representative of the "Top 8" in the country more so than 2024 was.
My take on it would be that it's better to be playing as high a standard as possible no matter what the competition. But at the same time, we shouldn't be massively over-exerting ourselves in it either. Ideally you'd want to be trying out a few new players and a few tweaks to the tactics, and get to 6 points or so.

It's a long way away yet of course, but I'd be a bit like rorysboys on this occasion, and suggest that we get as big a crowd as possible to our first home match. Show the country that we haven't gone away and that we'll be a force to be reckoned with in 2025.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 29/07/2024 15:58:22    2562702

The top 8 teams are Donegal, Derry, Tyrone, Armagh, Mayo, Galway, Dublin, Kerry. And they are all in Division 1
next year. And Rory G might be back in Derry. Going to be competitive to say the least.

ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 30 - 29/07/2024 20:13:06    2562756

Replying To ThroughTheGap:  "The top 8 teams are Donegal, Derry, Tyrone, Armagh, Mayo, Galway, Dublin, Kerry. And they are all in Division 1
next year. And Rory G might be back in Derry. Going to be competitive to say the least."
What about Louth

thestrapper49 (Louth) - Posts: 335 - 29/07/2024 21:14:31    2562772

Replying To ThroughTheGap:  "The top 8 teams are Donegal, Derry, Tyrone, Armagh, Mayo, Galway, Dublin, Kerry. And they are all in Division 1
next year. And Rory G might be back in Derry. Going to be competitive to say the least."
I heard Rory G been mentioned by Derry supporters I was speaking to in CP after the quarter finals. They were right when they predicted Mickey would be out the door but surely not? It's a PR disaster in waiting. Out of curiosity I looked back at the Armagh Donegal minor teams that played in the Athletic grounds in 2015. It makes interesting reading. Quite a few Celtic cross owners were on display that night.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2806 - 29/07/2024 21:49:45    2562784

Replying To thestrapper49:  "What about Louth"
Good point, that Louth team are a serious outfit, well coaches and have serious talent in their ranks. I fancy them for promotion from Division 2 and to do better in Championship next year, they will have real belief after this season.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 30/07/2024 08:42:52    2562842

Replying To Commodore:  "Good point, that Louth team are a serious outfit, well coaches and have serious talent in their ranks. I fancy them for promotion from Division 2 and to do better in Championship next year, they will have real belief after this season."
Yes Louth are putting a lot of other so called "bigger counties" to shame. They have some really good footballers and it will be very interesting to see how they go in 2025. I don't think there is any team for them to fear too much in Div 2.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 30/07/2024 10:37:12    2562893