Donegal GAA thread

I would expect dublin v Galway at 4 on Sunday as standout game , donegal v Louth at 2, other games on Saturday

Best draw donegal could have got, at this stage of season it's big boys football and you are either good enough or not

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 958 - 24/06/2024 11:15:05    2554332

Louth will be very compact, and will be very disciplined. We will need to be patient. I'd say it will be a low scoring game in the context of some of the big scorelines we have put up in other games. Of course we won't fear Louth, but we will respect them.

I think we will need a different key to unlock their defence. That could be Jason dropping (if fit) into the full forward line at times, to open up channels for Ryan, Mogan and Ban. We used to do well it with Big Neil. Remember too that their goalkeeper is very small.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 622 - 24/06/2024 11:35:44    2554351

Replying To totalrecall:  "I would expect dublin v Galway at 4 on Sunday as standout game , donegal v Louth at 2, other games on Saturday

Best draw donegal could have got, at this stage of season it's big boys football and you are either good enough or not"
Louth will be tough to beat, I don't care what the bookies or pundits say, I rem the game in Ballyshannon well, it's going to be an early start on Sunday if the games on at 2, no way I'm paying what they are asking to stay in Dublin.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2870 - 24/06/2024 12:18:06    2554372

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Louth will be tough to beat, I don't care what the bookies or pundits say, I rem the game in Ballyshannon well, it's going to be an early start on Sunday if the games on at 2, no way I'm paying what they are asking to stay in Dublin."
Best draw we could get. Forget about this won't be easy crack. We'll win this pulling up. I'm very confident, Louth will try and contain us and Brennan will have them well organised but it's donegal by 7 plus for me.. can't see any surprises elsewhere the 4 teams who were idle this weekend will win although Roscommon will put it up to Armagh.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2488 - 24/06/2024 12:38:14    2554383

No point playing the poor mouth, it is the best draw Donegal could have got.

The main thing is nobody in the camp will be taking Louth for granted. They are well set up and very dogged and have some very good players who would get into most county teams. We struggled to shake them off in Ballyshannon until the goal.

It will be attritional but Donegal can play that type of game and come out the right side of it against better opposition so need to be just getting the job done at the weekend. We should be looking forward to croke park and seeing our lads on that turf given their running game and pace.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1073 - 24/06/2024 12:50:54    2554385

I suppose no matter when it's on it might be worth giving the m1 and n2 a miss and maybe consider n3 as Louth have to come m1 or n2. They brought a big crowd to the leinster final last year and it was well backed out at Whitehall.
It's not much lead time so hopefully fans can get organised for the trip. With covid and donegal not doing great the last few years it's a good while since we played a championship match in croke park. I'm sure there is a lot of youngsters who have never been and are really looking forward to it.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 735 - 24/06/2024 13:05:31    2554392

Replying To Samsforthehills:  "No point playing the poor mouth, it is the best draw Donegal could have got.

The main thing is nobody in the camp will be taking Louth for granted. They are well set up and very dogged and have some very good players who would get into most county teams. We struggled to shake them off in Ballyshannon until the goal.

It will be attritional but Donegal can play that type of game and come out the right side of it against better opposition so need to be just getting the job done at the weekend. We should be looking forward to croke park and seeing our lads on that turf given their running game and pace."
Best draw we could have hoped for I agree but the same wee complacent thoughts were in the back of fellas heads going to Cork and look how that turned out.
Louth will relish this game and they will not be easy beaten, (there'll be no winning by 7 points pulling up like declansboy thinks imo)
If things go well on the day then yes of course we have the shooters to take them out but games aren't played on paper, these Louth men will be well up for this game and full of confidence.
They just beat Cork remember the team that beat us a few weeks ago, bit of perspective needed.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2870 - 24/06/2024 13:32:09    2554398

Louth was the best draw we could have hoped for, no disrespect to them.

BUT they won't make it easy for us. Against Cork yesterday, they negated Cork's counter attacking style by getting everybody back and being ultra compact, conceding kick outs etc. One thing that Cork don't have that we do though is good long range shooters and this will be key for us to get over them. Pick them off from outside their blanket.

If you told us at the start of the year a victory over Louth would guarantee us a first semi final in ten years we'd have taken it.

Time to go for it now.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 871 - 24/06/2024 13:45:49    2554407

2 pm Sunday it is. Derry and Kerry at 4

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 508 - 24/06/2024 13:57:17    2554415

got the times wrong in my last post... Looks like its Donegal/Louth at 1:15 and Kerry/Derry at 3:15

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 508 - 24/06/2024 14:00:04    2554416

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Best draw we could have hoped for I agree but the same wee complacent thoughts were in the back of fellas heads going to Cork and look how that turned out.
Louth will relish this game and they will not be easy beaten, (there'll be no winning by 7 points pulling up like declansboy thinks imo)
If things go well on the day then yes of course we have the shooters to take them out but games aren't played on paper, these Louth men will be well up for this game and full of confidence.
They just beat Cork remember the team that beat us a few weeks ago, bit of perspective needed."
To have any chance of going forward we should be winning this well. What score did Kerry and Dublin beat Louth by. Rorysboys seldom wrong as you know well. Too many glass half empty people about. Are you leaving the couch behind you this weekend lad. See yous all there.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2488 - 24/06/2024 14:09:50    2554420

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "I suppose no matter when it's on it might be worth giving the m1 and n2 a miss and maybe consider n3 as Louth have to come m1 or n2. They brought a big crowd to the leinster final last year and it was well backed out at Whitehall.
It's not much lead time so hopefully fans can get organised for the trip. With covid and donegal not doing great the last few years it's a good while since we played a championship match in croke park. I'm sure there is a lot of youngsters who have never been and are really looking forward to it."
Itis a good job Armagh are not on the same day as that road would be serious.I wonder what criteria they use for fixing these games.Louth were always going to be on on Sunday having only played yesterday.I suppose Dublin-Galway and Derry-Kerry would be the top bills so they went for one each day.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1083 - 24/06/2024 14:51:54    2554431

Replying To gunman:  "Itis a good job Armagh are not on the same day as that road would be serious.I wonder what criteria they use for fixing these games.Louth were always going to be on on Sunday having only played yesterday.I suppose Dublin-Galway and Derry-Kerry would be the top bills so they went for one each day."
And our game is on so early because it's hard to get Kerry fans to travel without having their game on early - whether they have the prime RTE slot or not.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 253 - 24/06/2024 15:31:59    2554461

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Louth will be tough to beat, I don't care what the bookies or pundits say, I rem the game in Ballyshannon well, it's going to be an early start on Sunday if the games on at 2, no way I'm paying what they are asking to stay in Dublin."
It doesn't matter who we are playing, it's knockout football now and it's about showing whether we are good enough or not. It's not about taking anything or anyone for granted, it's about showing up and trying to push on now. Looks like we will finally have an almost fully fit squad to choose from, it's time to get off the pot!

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 958 - 24/06/2024 15:38:26    2554465

Louth are the draw we all wanted. Let's be honest about it. That's not being disrespectful, that's a fact. With a fit squad and an extra week to prepare, Donegal are massive favourites for the game.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 508 - 24/06/2024 17:07:36    2554497

Replying To greenfan:  "Louth are the draw we all wanted. Let's be honest about it. That's not being disrespectful, that's a fact. With a fit squad and an extra week to prepare, Donegal are massive favourites for the game."
Yeah cannot look too far ahead. We all remember Cavan in 2020 and even Armagh in 2014 nearly caught us out before our epic Dublin win.

Can't help thinking though with Jim getting Clare and now Louth, we are having our best chance to plot for a potential showdown with Dublin around the corner. The standards required are nothing like Ulster and first two group games. I doubt he will be radiating it to the panel, but surely its in the back of his mind that his next great ambush could be just around the corner.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 24/06/2024 17:22:28    2554501

Replying To rorysboys:  "To have any chance of going forward we should be winning this well. What score did Kerry and Dublin beat Louth by. Rorysboys seldom wrong as you know well. Too many glass half empty people about. Are you leaving the couch behind you this weekend lad. See yous all there."
It's a 45min walk from the George to Croker so make sure you're on time, no matter which fella is tugging on your coat-tail. Great to have a bit of diversity in our fan base. All are welcome!

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 126 - 24/06/2024 18:16:36    2554514

Was just thinking the same thing today, reminds me of before the Ulster Final in 2020, everyone was thinking about playing Dublin in the semi final, the one small problem was Cavan hadn't read that script,
rumour was Bonner had us doing heavy training in preparation for a game against Dublin that never came,
we have been kind of lost ever since until Jim came back in and resurrected the ship and got us back to being Ulster Champions and favs going into an All Ireland quarter final, amazing stuff.
That's some change from were we were this time last year, we had declansboy on here for years saying the players weren't good enough, it wasn't the mangers fault that we had no defenders blah blah blah.
McGuinness has shown again that we do have the talent in Donegal, all they needed was a top manager to bring out the best in them.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2870 - 24/06/2024 19:15:02    2554531

Not getting ahead of myself here just a general question for all teams.
can teams that played each other be drawn against each other in the semi final? This was what I read but listening to the GAA hour they seem to think winners of Donegal and Louth will play the winners or Armagh and Roscommon.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 485 - 24/06/2024 20:30:04    2554543

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Was just thinking the same thing today, reminds me of before the Ulster Final in 2020, everyone was thinking about playing Dublin in the semi final, the one small problem was Cavan hadn't read that script,
rumour was Bonner had us doing heavy training in preparation for a game against Dublin that never came,
we have been kind of lost ever since until Jim came back in and resurrected the ship and got us back to being Ulster Champions and favs going into an All Ireland quarter final, amazing stuff.
That's some change from were we were this time last year, we had declansboy on here for years saying the players weren't good enough, it wasn't the mangers fault that we had no defenders blah blah blah.
McGuinness has shown again that we do have the talent in Donegal, all they needed was a top manager to bring out the best in them."
The good thing with Jim is that he won't get ahead of himself like a few posters on here. Getting carried away is a dangerous thing as we found out in Cork a few weeks. We are strong favourites for sure but that won't make a blind bit of difference when the ball is thrown in on Sunday.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 345 - 24/06/2024 21:24:38    2554557