Donegal GAA thread

Replying To totalrecall:  "Looking like Galway or Mayo although I believe there is a possibility Louth could upset Cork if there is to be an upset in the preliminary qf.

We have a poor record against mayo and Galway are physically big and have better forwards than mayo.

I do think croke Park will suit us irrespective of the opposition"
Yep, if you were a betting man mayo or Galway are most likely. Louth did beat cork in the league and I don't they can play either Dublin or Kerry. I guess they'll be looking for it to be in inniskeen again.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 730 - 17/06/2024 11:50:56    2552277

Replying To sligo joe:  "As I said b4 all rankings are current and of course after each round revision is needed but no Dublin and Kerry still 1 and 2 and galway still 3 despite blowing a lead."
Oh I totally get that. I'm just wondering what Galway done to be number 3 in the first place?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 341 - 17/06/2024 11:53:33    2552280

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Oh I totally get that. I'm just wondering what Galway done to be number 3 in the first place?"
Galway without comer should not be no 3. But when he's available he adds so much to them an absolutely brilliant player who's very hard to handle. Gleeson is a liability I think we're so lucky to have Patton. Be brilliant if we got cork or Louth in quarter final a game which we should win.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2474 - 17/06/2024 12:59:50    2552322

With Tyrone expected to win v Rossies, Louth v Cork should be the game we hope goes our way. We cannot get Tyrone or Cork so if both them win, its guaranteed to be Mayo, Derry, Galway or Monaghan.

I'll discount Monaghan so any of those three will be tough opposition.

Actually think Mayo would be the worst option, then Galway, then Derry.

Fingers crossed for Louth or a Monaghan fluke. 10 years since we made an All ireland Semi final.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 17/06/2024 13:34:42    2552341

Replying To shaggykev:  "With Tyrone expected to win v Rossies, Louth v Cork should be the game we hope goes our way. We cannot get Tyrone or Cork so if both them win, its guaranteed to be Mayo, Derry, Galway or Monaghan.

I'll discount Monaghan so any of those three will be tough opposition.

Actually think Mayo would be the worst option, then Galway, then Derry.

Fingers crossed for Louth or a Monaghan fluke. 10 years since we made an All ireland Semi final."
Yeah I think we deserve the rub of the green a wee bit with this next draw. If Louth overcome Cork it'd be a great draw to get them. It'd be their third weekend in a row playing and on paper we should have too much. It's great for Jim and the lads to sit back this weekend now and get a good look at what's out there.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9265 - 17/06/2024 14:05:58    2552364

Worst came scenario is Mayo/Derry or Galway. If Derry beat Mayo in Castlebar I wouldn't want to be sticking my hand up to play them anyway. Still a brilliant side and with players returning at the right time, I wouldn't like it. All the pressure would be on us.

We have a terrible record v Mayo and they will bring huge support to Croke Park. We could struggle with their size also but they are missing Durcan. They should have beat Dublin yesterday.

Galway are a class outfit. Were far better than Armagh yesterday. Armagh struggled to break them down, if it wasn't for that fortunate goal, Galway would have won by 4/5 and if Comer returns..

3 extremely tough options.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1154 - 17/06/2024 14:19:21    2552377

It's mad really to think where we're at now compared to this time last year. Obviously I hope and pray we can go and win the whole lot. But these lads and the management deserve huge credit for the way they have flipped our fortunes. Each and every man can only be commended for the work that has gone in. Long may it continue.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9265 - 17/06/2024 15:28:48    2552406

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I didn't say, "I shudder to think what Dublin would do to ye!" That wouldn't be shuddering. That would be earthquaking!

Keep the Dubs out of this conversation please because it concerns at comparison of the supposedly 'futile' Munster football championship versus the 'great' (erstwhile) Ulster championship.

I can see Tyrone draw with Cork in the final round, which will suit both of those sides. Therefore, that deems a straight shootout between Donegal versus Clare in your next game at a neutral venue. I've a tasty hunch that Clare will spring a surprise...Bye, bye, Jim!"
Great shout. Clare sprung a surprise alright.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9265 - 17/06/2024 17:34:33    2552462

Cant read anything into the Clare game, they were poor and im surprised so many in here said they wont be pushovers, well they were! Our Minor team would have beaten them.

You would fancy all the home teams to go through from the prelims, apart from maybe Louth.
Derry are poor and will lose to Mayo imo
Monaghan could provide a shock to Galway, they did the same to Armagh last year and in all honesty, Galway have not been too impressive.
Got over the line luckily against Sligo, got a few dodgy calls in their favour against Mayo, poor against westmeath too and if not for a stupid red card, could have had a different result against Derry

Mayo would be the toughest simply because outside of 2012, we have been really poor against them but this is not the Mayo of old, we are much better suited to playing against them now then we were back in 2013, 2015 and 2019
They will also be fairly tired you would assume...

Not afraid of any of these

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 15 - 17/06/2024 21:03:56    2552515

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Great shout. Clare sprung a surprise alright."
Ah some posters just have blue eyes and haven't got a clue what's going on. That was the probably the worse call of the year.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 341 - 17/06/2024 21:20:09    2552517

Replying To rorysboys:  "Galway without comer should not be no 3. But when he's available he adds so much to them an absolutely brilliant player who's very hard to handle. Gleeson is a liability I think we're so lucky to have Patton. Be brilliant if we got cork or Louth in quarter final a game which we should win."
We can't play Cork in q/f.....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 958 - 17/06/2024 23:37:41    2552555

Replying To totalrecall:  "We can't play Cork in q/f....."
But we can play Louth .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2474 - 18/06/2024 08:14:00    2552570

We're coming to the business end of the season now so I honestly think if this team wins or this team wins it will suit us goes out the window. With this new format you're going to be playing top quality sides at QF stage.

We have to be ready and fear nobody if its Louth to Galway or Mayo. Again we're at the business end of the season and there's no time for the what ifs or the we had a tough game or draws since Ulster.

No matter what team we get in the QF its going to be very tactical and hopefully we come out with a win.

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 79 - 18/06/2024 10:07:59    2552610

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Great shout. Clare sprung a surprise alright."
Bye Bye Jim says he. I hope he doesn't invest in stocks and shares..

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1352 - 18/06/2024 10:19:33    2552619

Replying To tickets:  "We're coming to the business end of the season now so I honestly think if this team wins or this team wins it will suit us goes out the window. With this new format you're going to be playing top quality sides at QF stage.

We have to be ready and fear nobody if its Louth to Galway or Mayo. Again we're at the business end of the season and there's no time for the what ifs or the we had a tough game or draws since Ulster.

No matter what team we get in the QF its going to be very tactical and hopefully we come out with a win."
Agreed, it's likely to be a Galway or Mayo and if Louth, maybe more favourable but anyone in a quarter final has earned their spot there no more or less than we have.

The 2 week break added to the lack of intensity in the Clare fixture should help us hit the quarter final at full throttle. It's knockout, we have to be absolutely on it from minute one against whoever.

This is exciting, hugely exciting times in fact for us as Donegal supporters. A lot of people on here wrote this team off, we didn't have the players, forget about Jim coming back etc, etc. We have the main man now, we have a close to fully fit squad, we have a very talented group. It's one game at a time but there is no ceiling for me on what this group can do. I expect us to hit Croke Park in our thousands, let's roar the team on and enjoy the ride.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1352 - 18/06/2024 11:05:33    2552647

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Bye Bye Jim says he. I hope he doesn't invest in stocks and shares.."
I hope he bet his mortgage on it TBH.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 864 - 18/06/2024 12:06:55    2552671

Replying To tickets:  "We're coming to the business end of the season now so I honestly think if this team wins or this team wins it will suit us goes out the window. With this new format you're going to be playing top quality sides at QF stage.

No matter what team we get in the QF its going to be very tactical and hopefully we come out with a win."
Agree with this post. We have the two weeks now and it doesn't matter who we get. Prepare well and put our best foot forward.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 730 - 18/06/2024 13:34:58    2552719

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Agree with this post. We have the two weeks now and it doesn't matter who we get. Prepare well and put our best foot forward."
Yep. It'll be great to go back to Croke Park for a big Championship game.
I feel like Proximo in Gladiator....

"So Jimmy, we shall go to Rome together and have bloody adventures. And the great whore will suckle us until we are fat and happy and can suckle no more. And then, when enough Dubs have died, perhaps you will have your freedom"

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9265 - 18/06/2024 16:39:53    2552785

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yep. It'll be great to go back to Croke Park for a big Championship game.

"So Jimmy, we shall go to Rome together and have bloody adventures. And the great whore will suckle us until we are fat and happy and can suckle no more. And then, when enough Dubs have died, perhaps you will have your freedom""
By God you're a poet too Lockjaw, lol. listen it's great to be sitting in an All Ireland quarter final and whoever we get we'll give it our best.
Some change from last when it was all doom and gloom on this thread, fair play to all the lads and the management team and the one and only Jim Mc Guinness.
The lift this team has given the people of Donegal is immense, looking forward to being in Croke park again on a big day for Donegal,
Is féidir Linn i Dún na nGall

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2860 - 18/06/2024 18:27:48    2552812

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yep. It'll be great to go back to Croke Park for a big Championship game.

"So Jimmy, we shall go to Rome together and have bloody adventures. And the great whore will suckle us until we are fat and happy and can suckle no more. And then, when enough Dubs have died, perhaps you will have your freedom""
Good stuff. Hope the rest of the county is as excited and there will be a big crowd to support the team in croke park.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 730 - 19/06/2024 11:21:03    2552942