Donegal GAA thread

Great result! One thing we need to improve though is to be more clinical when we get on top. We seem to panic a bit when we have that momentum, goals made the difference today, fair play to the lads

Hand_Solo (Donegal) - Posts: 2 - 20/04/2024 20:08:14    2539322

Fantastic performance and result. Mcguinness was tactically suberb again today, identifying the weakness in the Derry team and hammering home on it.

Ryan McHugh absolutley fantastic, ran himself into the ground. So many great performances that's in a shame to name but a few. McGee, Daire and Mccole were outstanding and I thought Shane O Donnell and Moore put in a great shift as well.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 228 - 20/04/2024 20:30:46    2539331

That was magnificent. I hope Patton is OK but Gavin was solid when he came in. Can anyone clarify why McKeague didn't get a black card under the new rules. He prevented a clear goal scoring opportunity and why did Niall get one? Nobody beside saw anything. If we get Ban back we've a big chance to in Ulster. I'm buzzing.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 78 - 20/04/2024 20:32:14    2539332

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "That was magnificent. I hope Patton is OK but Gavin was solid when he came in. Can anyone clarify why McKeague didn't get a black card under the new rules. He prevented a clear goal scoring opportunity and why did Niall get one? Nobody beside saw anything. If we get Ban back we've a big chance to in Ulster. I'm buzzing."
Favourites for Ulster and rightly so , That result proves National league is 1 thing, Cship is a whole different ball game

germac (Down) - Posts: 535 - 20/04/2024 20:45:08    2539333

Replying To germac:  "Favourites for Ulster and rightly so , That result proves National league is 1 thing, Cship is a whole different ball game"
Mighty win, hopefully teams will curb the wandering goalies. Great game overall.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1225 - 20/04/2024 20:46:49    2539334

Replying To giveitlong:  "Mighty win, hopefully teams will curb the wandering goalies. Great game overall."
That type of game has been coming a long time, surprised it took this long for a team to truly punish the sweeper keeper tactic.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 20/04/2024 20:54:30    2539339

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "That was magnificent. I hope Patton is OK but Gavin was solid when he came in. Can anyone clarify why McKeague didn't get a black card under the new rules. He prevented a clear goal scoring opportunity and why did Niall get one? Nobody beside saw anything. If we get Ban back we've a big chance to in Ulster. I'm buzzing."
I think he felt mckaigue's foul wasn't a deliberate pull down. Strange not to give a black card, the foul was outside the penalty area, but it was deemed a penalty because he denied a goal scoring opportunity. Surely that's a cynical foul and should be a black! O'Donnell got the black card for verbal abuse of the ref.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 474 - 20/04/2024 20:57:39    2539342

Great win lads, ye looked really busy today. Are Derry regretting putting in so much to win a league final?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 20/04/2024 20:58:01    2539343

Replying To germac:  "Favourites for Ulster and rightly so , That result proves National league is 1 thing, Cship is a whole different ball game"
Down v Donegal Ulster final would be a great day if it happened. Although 1991 was a bad day for us, it made us in1992. The 2012 Ulster final was my second favourite one, but our first win in 1972 remains the best one.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 78 - 20/04/2024 20:59:45    2539346

Derry got what they deserved today. Thought they just had to turn up, complacent, cocky, whatever you want to call it, disrespectful to Donegal. Biggest problem we will have next day is the short turnaround. Bodies will be sore , will Patton be fit? Hopefully tomorrow's game between Tyrone and Cavan is really intense also .

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 474 - 20/04/2024 21:01:33    2539348

Replying To NPadraigAbu:  "One of our best championship performances in years, McGee, McCole, McHugh, Patton/Mulreany and O'Baoill among others immense."
Best since Dublin in 2014.

Another ambush scripted by the Master himself. He reminds me of the Professor in the TV show Money Heist.

We are privileged to have him again.

Congrats to the players also, that was a gut busting 70+ minutes. Hopefully they'll get the bodies freshened up to go at it again on Sunday week.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 806 - 20/04/2024 21:09:31    2539356

Absolutely buzzing after that. I cannot say I'm overly surprised apart from the winning margin. Remember it's not that long ago since Paddy swung over that point in Ballybofey. Yes Murphy is gone from that team but that game really was the springboard for Derry. The media had really hyped Derry up much like ourselves a few years ago before the Cavan debacle. However alot of our lads have Ulster medals plus our minor and under 21 sides around 14-17 were well used to playing and beating alot of the same Derry players. The Jim template was there for all to see. Tactically on point, strong defense especially on forcing turnovers and attacking in numbers and at pace. A few bluffers here were telling us we don't have the defenders etc but anyone who has played sport at a decent level knows the difference that good coaching where everyone buys in can make. He'll also improve players and you seen that but it's only one game. Especially excited to see how Langan and Jason can grow and improve with Jim there.....then lads have massive untapped potential. Also who would have predicted that Caolan McGonigle the player he is becoming. He's turning himself quietly into one of the best footballers in the country driving with ball in hand. Plus Moore is some find. Hat tip to those of you here who predicted the exploitation of Odhran Lynch..... excellent stuff. Hard to believe we'll be out again next weekend, a loud of nonsense if you ask me. However I'm already excited to see what happens.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 20/04/2024 21:11:24    2539358

Replying To greenfan:  "I think he felt mckaigue's foul wasn't a deliberate pull down. Strange not to give a black card, the foul was outside the penalty area, but it was deemed a penalty because he denied a goal scoring opportunity. Surely that's a cynical foul and should be a black! O'Donnell got the black card for verbal abuse of the ref."
I'm a fan of that ref but felt he was very picky on Donegal whereas Derry got off a bit but fair play it didn't stop yee. Tougher tests to come so stay grounded and here's hoping jimmy gets yee the Ulster this year, weary of Tyrone they always get up for yee boys assuming the get over Cavan.

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 20/04/2024 21:21:06    2539367

Replying To greenfan:  "Derry got what they deserved today. Thought they just had to turn up, complacent, cocky, whatever you want to call it, disrespectful to Donegal. Biggest problem we will have next day is the short turnaround. Bodies will be sore , will Patton be fit? Hopefully tomorrow's game between Tyrone and Cavan is really intense also ."
Yea fantastic result. Pattons injury the biggest downer. Felt it was a winnable game all along.. lynch was always going to be exposed someday. No better day to happen. I can't really see the point of it especially coming so far out for kick outs. Be interesting will Micky Harte put a stop to it..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 20/04/2024 21:25:40    2539371

Replying To greenfan:  "I think he felt mckaigue's foul wasn't a deliberate pull down. Strange not to give a black card, the foul was outside the penalty area, but it was deemed a penalty because he denied a goal scoring opportunity. Surely that's a cynical foul and should be a black! O'Donnell got the black card for verbal abuse of the ref."
I just checked and The Denial of a goal scoring opportunity for a foul has the following sanction
The motion passed at Congress which
made permanent the awarding of a
penalty (and issuing of a Black Card)
for the denial of a clear goal-scoring
opportunity will only apply at Senior
Inter-County level in 2024.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 78 - 20/04/2024 21:25:40    2539372

Replying To panamasam:  "Absolutely buzzing after that. I cannot say I'm overly surprised apart from the winning margin. Remember it's not that long ago since Paddy swung over that point in Ballybofey. Yes Murphy is gone from that team but that game really was the springboard for Derry. The media had really hyped Derry up much like ourselves a few years ago before the Cavan debacle. However alot of our lads have Ulster medals plus our minor and under 21 sides around 14-17 were well used to playing and beating alot of the same Derry players. The Jim template was there for all to see. Tactically on point, strong defense especially on forcing turnovers and attacking in numbers and at pace. A few bluffers here were telling us we don't have the defenders etc but anyone who has played sport at a decent level knows the difference that good coaching where everyone buys in can make. He'll also improve players and you seen that but it's only one game. Especially excited to see how Langan and Jason can grow and improve with Jim there.....then lads have massive untapped potential. Also who would have predicted that Caolan McGonigle the player he is becoming. He's turning himself quietly into one of the best footballers in the country driving with ball in hand. Plus Moore is some find. Hat tip to those of you here who predicted the exploitation of Odhran Lynch..... excellent stuff. Hard to believe we'll be out again next weekend, a loud of nonsense if you ask me. However I'm already excited to see what happens."
Don't be calling anyone bluffers. If you followed Donegal as long as I did you would know that Donegal are always capable of beating most teams. But we have to follow it up. One good defensive performance means nothing there's bigger tests ahead.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 20/04/2024 21:46:27    2539391

Donegal didn't become a bad team when they went to Division 2. They were always going to be a handful for any team and Jimmy has brought that winning mentality back. Well done and hopefully a Tyrone v Donegal semi.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 20/04/2024 21:48:31    2539392

Replying To rorysboys:  "Don't be calling anyone bluffers. If you followed Donegal as long as I did you would know that Donegal are always capable of beating most teams. But we have to follow it up. One good defensive performance means nothing there's bigger tests ahead."
Shows the difference having a top manager makes, you were bluffing on here for years that the players weren't good enough, biggest problem was the management, as has been clearly shown now.
Fantastic stuff, nearly died with the laughing at Lynch getting caught out so often, fly goalies my ar**,
my voice and and my heart took a battering and only a week till we go again,
I think think way the are disrespecting the provincials by running them off like a blitz is a disgrace, Ulster Championship has kicked into life bigtime, I hope Cavan give Tyrone a good rattle tomorrow.
Mickey Harte has his eyes on Sam, he's a wiley oul fox too and though he didn't expect to get hammered today he won't be too down after it, they have a month or more to get ready for All Ireland group stage now.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 20/04/2024 22:42:07    2539398

Replying To panamasam:  "Absolutely buzzing after that. I cannot say I'm overly surprised apart from the winning margin. Remember it's not that long ago since Paddy swung over that point in Ballybofey. Yes Murphy is gone from that team but that game really was the springboard for Derry. The media had really hyped Derry up much like ourselves a few years ago before the Cavan debacle. However alot of our lads have Ulster medals plus our minor and under 21 sides around 14-17 were well used to playing and beating alot of the same Derry players. The Jim template was there for all to see. Tactically on point, strong defense especially on forcing turnovers and attacking in numbers and at pace. A few bluffers here were telling us we don't have the defenders etc but anyone who has played sport at a decent level knows the difference that good coaching where everyone buys in can make. He'll also improve players and you seen that but it's only one game. Especially excited to see how Langan and Jason can grow and improve with Jim there.....then lads have massive untapped potential. Also who would have predicted that Caolan McGonigle the player he is becoming. He's turning himself quietly into one of the best footballers in the country driving with ball in hand. Plus Moore is some find. Hat tip to those of you here who predicted the exploitation of Odhran Lynch..... excellent stuff. Hard to believe we'll be out again next weekend, a loud of nonsense if you ask me. However I'm already excited to see what happens."
Fantastic performance and well deserved victory. Gameplan worked to perfection. Will be interesting how the quick turnaround next weekend is managed. Totally agree with you, a lot of posters said we hadn't good defenders. We have plenty of great footballers including great defenders. It takes a great Manager and his backroom team to first of all spot them and then integrate them in to a proper game plan. Of course we need to follow it up but I have a feeling the belief is back in our Team again and we will get a few more answers next week how far the belief can take us.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 290 - 20/04/2024 22:43:12    2539399

Replying To rorysboys:  "Don't be calling anyone bluffers. If you followed Donegal as long as I did you would know that Donegal are always capable of beating most teams. But we have to follow it up. One good defensive performance means nothing there's bigger tests ahead."
I guess that's the frustrating part is the over the last number of years, we knew we had the players and knew we were capable of beating most teams but we never did when it came to the big guns. Can't remember the last time we beat one of the bigger teams when we weren't expected to win in a meaningful game. Jim gives us that belief that we can beat the top teams because he follows through on it. Beating one of the top 3 today is very impressive this early in his tenure.

Keeping a Derry side who scored 16 goals against the best teams in the country goalless is mighty impressive. You could see the intensity in he tackle was there today and can see than improving even more yet.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 228 - 20/04/2024 22:52:52    2539405