Donegal GAA thread

Replying To totalrecall:  "Heard a rumour, niall o'donnell isn't fit yet, the science of deduction my friend..."
You are backtracking now, that's not what you said before you totalrecalled.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2948 - 28/01/2024 08:43:18    2522562

Replying To rorysboys:  "Agree with some of your points but not all. Of course people can't get to or afford to go to some games. But when people come on here saying they won't go to games because of a manager or style of play then that's what I call fair weather supporters. These people still think there great Donegal supporters. Rant over get out in your droves tomorrow rain never killed anyone."
Listen you couldn't blame anyone for not paying in to see that borefest lateral backwards stuff of recent years, by going you were only encouraging them to play more of the same.
some great results for Ulster teams yesterday, hope Jim gets us off to a winning start today, should be another cracker.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2948 - 28/01/2024 09:03:07    2522568

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "You are backtracking now, that's not what you said before you totalrecalled."
Heard a rumour 2 players were dropped, not backtracking, we know Hugh mcfadden is injured and niall o donnell and caolan mccolgan, I am merely asking looking given that neither mcgee or langan featured against derry and are not named today isn't them?? BTW I hope that this is completely unfounded rumour as we need both men.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 983 - 28/01/2024 09:20:56    2522571

Replying To totalrecall:  "Heard a rumour 2 players were dropped, not backtracking, we know Hugh mcfadden is injured and niall o donnell and caolan mccolgan, I am merely asking looking given that neither mcgee or langan featured against derry and are not named today isn't them?? BTW I hope that this is completely unfounded rumour as we need both men."
Not true. Jason hasn't been playing for ATU the past few games, a knock to the hip, and Micheal Langan picked up a knock to the knee but should be back in 2-3 weeks.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1187 - 28/01/2024 09:54:01    2522583

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Not true. Jason hasn't been playing for ATU the past few games, a knock to the hip, and Micheal Langan picked up a knock to the knee but should be back in 2-3 weeks."
Delighted that it's not true then, as I said two vital players in the year ahead

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 983 - 28/01/2024 11:06:29    2522597

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Listen you couldn't blame anyone for not paying in to see that borefest lateral backwards stuff of recent years, by going you were only encouraging them to play more of the same.
some great results for Ulster teams yesterday, hope Jim gets us off to a winning start today, should be another cracker."
Stop making excuses sick listening to the weather, it's cold and the style of football played. Today is a big day win and it's upwards lose and with Cavan up next will add a bit of pressure.. I'm pretty confident but.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2538 - 28/01/2024 11:21:33    2522604

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Not true. Jason hasn't been playing for ATU the past few games, a knock to the hip, and Micheal Langan picked up a knock to the knee but should be back in 2-3 weeks."
Both after leaving the wee coffee shop outside McCumhaill Park, so 100% not dropped.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 681 - 28/01/2024 12:41:54    2522624

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Both after leaving the wee coffee shop outside McCumhaill Park, so 100% not dropped."
Great to hear, glad no truth, good performance from donegal, very much a team effort, and plenty of room for improvement too. I thought Cork were a meek enough outfit but you can only beat what's in front of you.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 983 - 28/01/2024 16:19:11    2522700

Just back in the door. Very encouraging signs. Urgency about most aspects of the play. Great spread of scores. Ryan McHugh looks 5 years fresher all of a sudden. Mogan electric. McGonagle is a real leader. Doherty, O'Donnell, Moore all look promising players. 3/4 turnovers ala 2012 in the second half. Great to see. Urgency in attack when things looked like becoming lateral and slow. God, how refreshing after the past 4/5 seasons. Teething problems, a few, both goals disappointing but for January, I'm very pleased.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1379 - 28/01/2024 17:04:39    2522731

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Just back in the door. Very encouraging signs. Urgency about most aspects of the play. Great spread of scores. Ryan McHugh looks 5 years fresher all of a sudden. Mogan electric. McGonagle is a real leader. Doherty, O'Donnell, Moore all look promising players. 3/4 turnovers ala 2012 in the second half. Great to see. Urgency in attack when things looked like becoming lateral and slow. God, how refreshing after the past 4/5 seasons. Teething problems, a few, both goals disappointing but for January, I'm very pleased."
Cork would want to be ashamed if that all they can offer for 70 mins.. don't be getting too carried away

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 541 - 28/01/2024 17:22:08    2522740

Replying To veterngaa:  "Cork would want to be ashamed if that all they can offer for 70 mins.. don't be getting too carried away"
Yeah, I was at the game so just calling what I saw. Nobody getting carried away, no danger.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1379 - 28/01/2024 18:08:51    2522767

Replying To veterngaa:  "Cork would want to be ashamed if that all they can offer for 70 mins.. don't be getting too carried away"
Were you ashamed of the Monaghan performance against us a fortnight ago? Considering that game was over after 15 minutes.

Don't worry about us, we're not getting excited by a league win in January pal. You'd be better to go back to the Monaghan Forum and share your wisdom there.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 681 - 28/01/2024 18:17:00    2522770

A very encouraging performance and a great result against an admittedly poor Cork outfit. There were some excellent scores with the aid of the breeze in the first half. In the second half I thought we contained them well and punished their sloppiness ruthlessly.

Some areas of concern were how Cork opened us up a wee bit too easily on a couple of occasions, and the fly goalkeeper experiment which every county seems to be trying, inevitably leads to a few heart stopping moments.

All in all though, a very good day's work when you consider that the likes of Gallen, Langan, Niall & Conor O'Donnell, Jason McGee were missing.

Onwards & upwards.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9458 - 28/01/2024 18:42:08    2522783

John Cleary thinks we will be a match for anyone this year, he pointed out that no one has beaten his team by 4+ in the last 12 months. He was a great player himself, and was magnanimous in defeat today

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 983 - 28/01/2024 19:07:23    2522803

Very good performance and we handled the conditions well but we are used to that weather up here, the Cork fellas looked like they'd rather be somewhere else.
Enjoyed that goal from Paddy, things are looking great all round, the hunger and drive is back, early days but I think we are in for a decent year when every man is back available come Championship time.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2948 - 28/01/2024 19:54:04    2522822

Great win today's lad..Donegal going the right direction anyway..Can any of the Gweedore lads on here know anything about how Odhran McFadden Ferry is getting on with his recovery.?

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 184 - 29/01/2024 01:12:57    2522886

Replying To totalrecall:  "John Cleary thinks we will be a match for anyone this year, he pointed out that no one has beaten his team by 4+ in the last 12 months. He was a great player himself, and was magnanimous in defeat today"
Cork never really got off the ground to be fair, they never really got settled. Good result, very good score aside from conceding 2 goals. Overall I wouldn't read too much into this result, its the first league game in late January and on another day Cork would be a very different beast.

Donegal's work rate was impressive, spread of 12 scorers was impressive, and we did it without Oisin Gallen, Niall O'Donnell, Conor O'Donnell, Michael Langan, Jason McGee, Hugh McFadden, Caolan McColgan and Stephen McMenamin.

One concern on the back of the McKenna Cup is probably the lack of scores from play from Paddy McBrearty and Jamie Brennan combined, Brennan scored 0-01 from play, while McBrearty scored 1-00 from play. However McBrearty's movement/pace is definitely improving, so maybe that will further improve in the coming weeks. Also felt there was a lot of sloppy passes, which isn't totally strange at this time of year.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 29/01/2024 08:39:25    2522898

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Were you ashamed of the Monaghan performance against us a fortnight ago? Considering that game was over after 15 minutes.

Don't worry about us, we're not getting excited by a league win in January pal. You'd be better to go back to the Monaghan Forum and share your wisdom there."
In the McKenna Cup? It's a challenge match …so no! It's about finding what works and what does not.. what players can stand up! Although 9 starters from that game started against Dublin ..

League football is important. I'm just saying if I was a cork fan I'd be embarrassed

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 541 - 29/01/2024 09:59:53    2522914

I was in West Donegal for the weekend and was at the game. Cork were very poor but Donegal were also excellent in many aspects and look a new team from last year. It's only January but that half back line looked excellent and Ryan McHugh looks fresh. Really impressed with that Moore lad as well, super athlete. And one thing that really stood out was the way that they broke in 3's and 4's when they got a turnover and more often than not it ended up with a shot. This is exactly what Jim Mc brought in his first term. Love to see that gamble and breaking in numbers.

Still 3 or 4 first teamers to come back in so they have plenty of positives. My main concern is their full back line. I think it is average enough to be honest. Better teams will punish them unless they are really able to seal that scoring zone. A work in progress but exciting times for Donegal supporters. And lastly, while he finished as top scorer it looks like they are carrying McBrearty. Interested to hear what you lads think?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8068 - 29/01/2024 10:05:29    2522918

I thought that was an excellent performance yesterday, full of energy and always playing on the front foot. We are very good to watch and thankfully have moved away from the slow and lateral build up play. Cork played in fits and starts, showed some good stuff in the first half but fell away badly in the second half. I'd say we have more work done pre-season than Cork and it showed. I think Cork will be good this year. The league isn't really a barometer for how the championship will pan out so we can't get carried away, likewise Cork won't be too worried about their display.

Ryan McHugh was excellent yesterday, what a player when fully fit. Caolan McGonagle seems to have found his position, he was immense. Daire O'Baoil & Peadar Mogan were superb and some signs that Paddy is getting his mojo back. Another poster was mentioning that Paddy and Jamie are not getting a lot of scores from play, I'd agree that this is a concern, they aren't getting many chances. Is this due to the way the modern game is played? The outfield players get more scoring chances. We hit an impressive score considering Oisin Gallen was missing. Midfield coped really well yesterday, I must admit I was worried when Langan and McGee were ruled out. Ciaran Moore and Donal McGiolla Bride are a great finds, look very comfortable at this level.

Worryingly we have a lot of injuries to some of out best players. We need everybody fit and available. One other negative is that we open at times yesterday at the back. I thought Mark Curran and McCole played really well but runners not being tracked caused us issues. Will be a little more defensive come championship time?

Overall a great start to the McGuinness reign. Before the season started I was hoping for a change in our style of play mostly and we have got that. It's great to be going to games with a positive feeling again.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1903 - 29/01/2024 10:34:46    2522930