disappointed for the lads last night they didn't seem to perform to the level they can. not sure Guckian is a midfielder at the is level, Roscommon had their homework done for sure, and they've some serious ballers in fairness, fair play to our lads, they have a great future, disappointed with Cox, silly thing to do, hopefully he learns from it but not sure he will, meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 130 - 18/04/2024 12:45:44 2538834 Link 1 |
I agree with last post. A manager needs to be able understand what's happening on front of him from tactics side, and be able to make appropriate changes with players to at the right time. Don't think manager has that experience.
Leitrim36 (Leitrim) - Posts: 59 - 18/04/2024 15:18:33 2538866 Link 0 |
Andy Moran a forward as player and as a manager he's offensive thinking with little focus on defending. Leitrim finished the group with an average of 20 points conceded per game and that alone probably tells you why Leitrim have missed out on a semi final spot. What the two semi finalist have conceded per game Sligo 14, Galway 13, Roscommon 11.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3496 - 18/04/2024 15:24:23 2538867 Link 0 |
There's not much evidence in the last senior and u20 game he is offensively minded. The ball was going back and forth across the field via handpasses between both 45s whenever we nearly got it.
eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 274 - 18/04/2024 15:53:27 2538874 Link 0 |
I really hope Andy has another year with leitrim and then he gets mayo job. OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1770 - 18/04/2024 16:15:02 2538879 Link 1 |
He should go back to his home county. He might be an improvement on your current boss.
eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 274 - 18/04/2024 16:21:44 2538883 Link 0 |
Which one the manager that battered ye last night or the won that's previously an all ireland winner at u20 level
sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1186 - 18/04/2024 17:34:33 2538895 Link 0 |
I'm sorry, I'm not sure. I don't follow other lower level counties progress too much. But I don't believe that Roscommon have a recent u20 all Ireland victory, but I might be wrong there.
eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 274 - 18/04/2024 18:54:57 2538907 Link 0 |
that would be good for Roscommon alright
Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 171 - 18/04/2024 20:16:14 2538915 Link 0 |
The auld maryland tastes good. Just saying.
moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1108 - 18/04/2024 23:03:59 2538944 Link 0 |
watched the minor game tonight, negative football is the blight thats destroying our game, negative from both teams but especially Sligo, we were very unlucky not to get something out of the game, these managers though need to have a serious look at themselves, they're stunting the development of players in these vital years. meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 130 - 19/04/2024 20:51:03 2539121 Link 0 |
9-8 on a evening where conditions were very favourable. Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 381 - 20/04/2024 00:01:36 2539150 Link 0 |
Agree, from a neutral view it was a shocking game of football. All behind the ball, side to side and then backwards. Seems to be a fear of losing rather than go for it. In fairness Leitrim were very unlucky, got punished for a couple of mistakes/indiscipline in the tackle at the end. Thought the sideline could have made earlier and more changes as some serious talent on the bench. Big game next week, it is a must win. Bingojack (Leitrim) - Posts: 1 - 20/04/2024 12:52:31 2539207 Link 1 |
A modicum of consolation for our main sponsor as their horse Macdermott squeaks home in the Scottish Grand National. The wet Spring hasn't been a total write-off. There won't be a cow milked etc……. Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 715 - 20/04/2024 18:22:49 2539260 Link 0 |
While disappointed with results of Sligo & Rossies games I agree with all the points made with our poster. After years of poor results we are finally producing teams at underage who can compete. Am gutted for our Minors who were by far the better footballing side but fell to soft frees and a deadly accurate Sligo player. Felt particularly sorry for Jack Kelly who had his frees held on the line probably due his youth and strength which can only improve. A measure of our progress is that we can beat Mayo in the U20 B & are still in the Minor Championship.Plenty to be hopeful for.
leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 20/04/2024 23:54:38 2539419 Link 0 |
I hope your current man gets another five years with yourselves ;)
eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 274 - 21/04/2024 18:34:54 2539574 Link 0 |
I'd never come on here and slate any young lads that represent the county they are only kids with lots of learning to do on both the sports fields and in life itself. A lot goes on nowadays compared to when I played and an awful lot of side shows. That been said this evening was poor and had all the bells of whistles from Leitrim underage teams the last 20 years and that's the worry lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 357 - 26/04/2024 23:28:49 2540821 Link 1 |
I agree, I was also disappointed with last nights performance, a 9 point defeat and I think a 13 pt defeat in the U 20''s to Roscommon is not good enough for a county that is supposed to be "making progress"! On a side note I would have to point out I really enjoyed Ballinamore yesterday evening, credit to all in the club for a fantastic facility.
lecture250 (Leitrim) - Posts: 132 - 27/04/2024 07:47:23 2540838 Link 0 |
2 games attended and disappointed twice, I'm not fully sure we have progressed, lacking physically in both U20's and Minors. meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 130 - 27/04/2024 22:31:17 2541068 Link 0 |
Roscommon just a better footballing county across the board unfortunately. Had hoped for a better show v mayo today but figured they'd have had their homework done and not get caught so easily again
gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 569 - 27/04/2024 23:31:30 2541087 Link 0 |