Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Oddball:  "Brilliant win today. Have nothing to fear about with Galway. I very much believe we will win it iby 5 or 6 points. Up the Rossies"
Important to cool the jets a little bit and not lose the run of ourselves. Remember after a couple of early wins in the league, we were expected to beat Dublin in the Hyde. The reality was that before we scored, Dublin had already scored 1-13. Galway are the bookies faviourite for the Connacht final and have big men around midfield and a better defence than Mayo.
Mark Down, his management team and the experienced players (Diarmuid, Enda, Dylan etc) certainly won't allow over confidence to take over.

Having said that, the confidence gained by the players from yesterday's win will be huge and I give them a great chance to spring another surprise if they really go for it. However we will have to start much better than we did yesterday in the first half as we cannot expect our kicking returns (very high %) to be as good as yesterday, where nearly everything went over.

I thought that many disappointed Mayo supporters were fair and reflective yesterday after the match which can also be seen by their comments on this forum.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 884 - 27/04/2026 11:48:29    2669149

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Important to cool the jets a little bit and not lose the run of ourselves. Remember after a couple of early wins in the league, we were expected to beat Dublin in the Hyde. The reality was that before we scored, Dublin had already scored 1-13. Galway are the bookies faviourite for the Connacht final and have big men around midfield and a better defence than Mayo.
Mark Down, his management team and the experienced players (Diarmuid, Enda, Dylan etc) certainly won't allow over confidence to take over.

Having said that, the confidence gained by the players from yesterday's win will be huge and I give them a great chance to spring another surprise if they really go for it. However we will have to start much better than we did yesterday in the first half as we cannot expect our kicking returns (very high %) to be as good as yesterday, where nearly everything went over.

I thought that many disappointed Mayo supporters were fair and reflective yesterday after the match which can also be seen by their comments on this forum."
Ah come off it.
That performance in Castlebar was always in us, it was no fluke.
And did you not see Galway against Leitrim??
We would have beaten Leitrim by 20 points!
I know a lot of fellow county men are like you and don't want to be getting ahead of yourselves....but in all seriousness, I believe we are the best team in Connacht.
And we will prove it in a few weeks time.
Apart from Kerry, Donegal and probably Armagh, we are the next best thing in Ireland after those.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 1031 - 27/04/2026 12:38:15    2669173

Replying To Oddball:  "Ah come off it.
I know a lot of fellow county men are like you and don't want to be getting ahead of yourselves....but in all seriousness, I believe we are the best team in Connacht.
Apart from Kerry, Donegal and probably Armagh, we are the next best thing in Ireland after those."
Was asking not to lose the run of yourself and you have done the opposite.

Margin of win against Leitrim even though I was expecting a 15 point win doesn't matter as semi-finals are for winning. Galway should have lost to Sligo in a semi-final and then went on to reach the All-Ireland final.

Galway when they click are among the best teams in the country something you shouldn't underestimate after your good win in MacHale Park yesterday.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 803 - 27/04/2026 13:19:10    2669203

I haven't lost the run of myself.
I'm just a confident person who tells it as it is.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 1031 - 27/04/2026 13:24:23    2669205

A mc daid inspired Galway handed us a hammering last year in connacht.
They are a team to be respectful to but not feared.
Hopefully it's another sunny day and our runners wear them down

Michaelbeag (Roscommon) - Posts: 58 - 27/04/2026 13:25:13    2669206

Apart from Kerry, Donegal and probably Armagh, we are the next best thing in Ireland after those."
There are shades of 2016 off that message. Galway
When they click are a serious outfit and we will need a much better performance and in my opinion stack off the bench to beat them.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 638 - 27/04/2026 13:31:34    2669212

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Was asking not to lose the run of yourself and you have done the opposite.

Margin of win against Leitrim even though I was expecting a 15 point win doesn't matter as semi-finals are for winning. Galway should have lost to Sligo in a semi-final and then went on to reach the All-Ireland final.

Galway when they click are among the best teams in the country something you shouldn't underestimate after your good win in MacHale Park yesterday."
Roscommon won't underestimate Galway. Galway are going for 5 in a row in Connacht. Only a team with quality players is in that position. I see three Roscommon players on the team of the week. I don't know much about Eoin Ward of Fuerty. Did he play underage for Roscommon I wonder.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2643 - 27/04/2026 13:34:47    2669213

If you read my previous posts I gave us a good chance against the match favourites Mayo and have positive posts about the team and management. (Roscommon were 100/30 on Sunday).
Galway are favourites again for the Connacht final, that is a fact. I have full faith in Mark Dowd and his management team and the panel of players that he has. I do happen to think that Roscommon if they PLAY WELL, will beat Galway. Consistency is very important and this team are heading in the right direction. Going by your post you nearly have us in the All Ireland semi-final along with Kerry, Donegal and Armagh.
One match at a time as Mark and captain Diarmuid Murtagh have continued to stress, and they are right.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 884 - 27/04/2026 13:41:30    2669215

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "If you read my previous posts I gave us a good chance against the match favourites Mayo and have positive posts about the team and management. (Roscommon were 100/30 on Sunday).
Galway are favourites again for the Connacht final, that is a fact. I have full faith in Mark Dowd and his management team and the panel of players that he has. I do happen to think that Roscommon if they PLAY WELL, will beat Galway. Consistency is very important and this team are heading in the right direction. Going by your post you nearly have us in the All Ireland semi-final along with Kerry, Donegal and Armagh.
One match at a time as Mark and captain Diarmuid Murtagh have continued to stress, and they are right."
Lets be serious here for one minute.
Who in Leinster would beat us at this point in time?
Who in Connacht would beat us at this point in time?
Who in Munster, apart from Kerry, would beat us at this point in time?
Who in Ulster, apart from Armagh and Donegal, would beat us at this point in time?
I rest my case!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 1031 - 27/04/2026 13:53:53    2669221

Replying To Ros2013:  "There are shades of 2016 off that message. Galway
When they click are a serious outfit and we will need a much better performance and in my opinion stack off the bench to beat them."
Shades of WUM, I'd say. Mayo folded like a cheap suit yesterday. Mayo have a lot of average players imo, playing average stuff, and couple that with a manager who's excusing himself with 'year1 of 3' notions, and you get second half displays like we saw yesterday. Galway slow bicycled their way through the Carrick tie, nudging themselves clear any time they needed to. It should be a 'win/win' Connacht Final now, either the excitement of a 5 in a row, or the excitement of a first Ros win over Galway at Hyde Park in 36 years.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4685 - 27/04/2026 14:28:31    2669244

Roscommon have some of the best forwards in the country but i think they have a lot to be desired at midfield and halfback line. This is where Galway will look to get at them I suspect. John Daly at 6 will control this game for galway he always does a great job on smith. He'll be my pick for man of the match and a galway win.........

Galwayman67420 (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 27/04/2026 14:35:41    2669249

Replying To Oddball:  "I haven't lost the run of myself.
I'm just a confident person who tells it as it is."
Spot on. No point in being in it if you're not confident. Ye won't get as much time on the ball and space in the final as ye did yesterday, regardless of personnel. Both teams have adapted well to the new rules. But if Roscommon's hunger and workrate is as good as yesterday Galway will need to be at the top of their game to beat ye.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8536 - 27/04/2026 16:50:24    2669314

Replying To Oddball:  "Lets be serious here for one minute.
Who in Leinster would beat us at this point in time?
Who in Connacht would beat us at this point in time?
Who in Munster, apart from Kerry, would beat us at this point in time?
Who in Ulster, apart from Armagh and Donegal, would beat us at this point in time?
I rest my case!"
Another post where you have lost the run of yourself.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 803 - 27/04/2026 17:52:11    2669327

Replying To endgame:  "Roscommon won't underestimate Galway. Galway are going for 5 in a row in Connacht. Only a team with quality players is in that position. I see three Roscommon players on the team of the week. I don't know much about Eoin Ward of Fuerty. Did he play underage for Roscommon I wonder."
Of course we won't underestimate Galway. Oddball for a Longford man very excitable today.

On Eoin Ward he was a starter on the Roscommon U17 team that won Connacht title in 2020. C. Keogh,C. Neary, O. Cregg,C. Hand,E. Colleran was also on that U17 team

Ward was also part of the 2022,23 U20 Roscommon teams and he won the Sigerson cup with DCU last year

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4347 - 27/04/2026 18:42:15    2669339