Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To The_analyser:  "Davy Burke and county board agreed on 3 year term which carries him into the end of the 2025 season and won't be any sit down discussions with the county board other than adding or shaking up Burkes management team for the year ahead."
Could we remotely tempt Buckley from the sinking ship to the West of us?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1652 - 01/07/2024 18:20:24    2556356

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Could we remotely tempt Buckley from the sinking ship to the West of us?"
The sinking ship lol.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7950 - 01/07/2024 20:46:39    2556375

Going to post in mainly positives with this latest post as enough negative views spoken about already on here and elsewhere.

Firstly we reached the last eight of the championship for the first time since 2019 and did so by beating a Div 1 team we had a terrible record against and beat them in their home venue. That's progress from not reaching the last 8 with defeats to Clare and Cork in 2022,2023 who weren't good enough to get out of Div 2. I also feel that win in Tyrone tells me would have avoided relegation from Div 1 by having a stronger hand to choose from for the opening rounds against Tyrone,Galway. (Games we lost by 1 score and drew)

Seven players was given their championship debuts and one of them Niall Higgins played every minute of the championship, got a harsh lesson when turned over for the 2nd goal on Saturday but it was a solid debut championship year for him. Shane Cunnane,Robbie Dolan, Ruaidhrí Fallon brigids trio really held their own with the opportunities given to them. Adam McDermott got his first few championship minutes and first score I'm looking forward to see how that talented 21 year old develops in the years ahead.

Conor Cox had arguably his best year since his first year with us in 2019 and he ended up scoring in all competitions 1-41. Diarmuid Murtagh had one of his best years in a Roscommon jersey scoring 1-54, during the league he moved into 2nd place in the all time top scorers for Roscommon the late great Dermot Earley is 1st.

Daire Cregg in his 2nd season at senior level has established himself at this level and I don't expect us to lose him to the AFL. Conor Carroll another in his 2nd championship season and probably the most consistent keeper we have had since Gay Sheerin. McCormack a little while longer around has to be one of most consistent performers and what more can be said about Brian Stack outstanding footballer and leader hopefully we have someone else to play at full back next year to allow him play further up the field more often and where he can influence the game more. Stack,Murtagh I would expect to be nominated for All Stars but will be none won this year.

Plenty of good young players still waiting for their chance and try to become established seniors in Sean Lambe,Paddy Gavin,Declan Kenny,Caelim Keogh,Luke Glennon,Shane McGinley etc so we are in decent place. 2025 is the last year of Davy Burkes agreed term and if it happens to be his final year with us before moving on to something else and leaves us in Div 1 and we reach the last 8 of the championship for the 2nd year in a row it will be a job well done.

Finally I want to offer my thanks to the players for the huge commitment and effort have given since the winter and our first challenge in mid December against Donegal. Already looking forward to seeing all players in action for their clubs in next months championship and it should be good quality and competitive club championship another positive point that a lot counties don't have.

P.S @Seanfanbocht I'd certainly wouldn't say no to that but doubtful if he'll leave them yet.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3827 - 01/07/2024 21:41:07    2556395

Replying To dave1988:  "Rossy15 I'm giving out because we haven't had anything to be positive about for god's sake. I'm not having a go at players but il definitely question county board and management if I have to. You are saying we haven't professional under any management and I agree so what makes you think sticking with Davy and the backroom team will improve next year. It's all about getting the right people involved and of course that will cost money but the lads Davy brought in this year to replace McHugh and McGowan was very disappointing. If Davy stays on he has to go get 2 class coaches and county board will have to find a way in backing that but he also has to be more open with them and take on there advice. Look at the shambles Donegal were last year and all it took was a top class manager and coaches to turn them into a top team. Their fitness and conditioning is through the roof and I just can't understand how we can't get to that level of fitness and conditioning."
So enlighten me who are the right people ?
Mark mchugh was there last year when we imploded against Kildare and cork I think u need to get over that tbh
There's a lot
Of talk about philosophies and ways of playing we In Roscommon get frustrated after a couple of years and bring someone new in - sure how can we have a defined way of playing when we keep changing managers
The two games We won this year got us to a qtr final which we hadn't achieved In 7 years and first the first time n a long time put us in a position to get to a semi final wud I prefer to be winning more games absolutely but look where that got Mayo for example didn't even get to qtrs
As for Jim mcguiness We'll see how he and Donegal get
On against Galway in two weeks -

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 626 - 01/07/2024 21:47:19    2556396

Replying To TheFlaker:  "He might want to leave himself. Also review meetings take place every year. They might not be on the same page."
He's already said he's staying. Armagh and McGeeney have done 10 years what's with chopping and changing of managers? it's not like Roscommon having been doing that for years when stability could be the better option.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 159 - 01/07/2024 21:57:12    2556397

Replying To The_analyser:  "Going to post in mainly positives with this latest post as enough negative views spoken about already on here and elsewhere.

Firstly we reached the last eight of the championship for the first time since 2019 and did so by beating a Div 1 team we had a terrible record against and beat them in their home venue. That's progress from not reaching the last 8 with defeats to Clare and Cork in 2022,2023 who weren't good enough to get out of Div 2. I also feel that win in Tyrone tells me would have avoided relegation from Div 1 by having a stronger hand to choose from for the opening rounds against Tyrone,Galway. (Games we lost by 1 score and drew)

Seven players was given their championship debuts and one of them Niall Higgins played every minute of the championship, got a harsh lesson when turned over for the 2nd goal on Saturday but it was a solid debut championship year for him. Shane Cunnane,Robbie Dolan, Ruaidhrí Fallon brigids trio really held their own with the opportunities given to them. Adam McDermott got his first few championship minutes and first score I'm looking forward to see how that talented 21 year old develops in the years ahead.

Conor Cox had arguably his best year since his first year with us in 2019 and he ended up scoring in all competitions 1-41. Diarmuid Murtagh had one of his best years in a Roscommon jersey scoring 1-54, during the league he moved into 2nd place in the all time top scorers for Roscommon the late great Dermot Earley is 1st.

Daire Cregg in his 2nd season at senior level has established himself at this level and I don't expect us to lose him to the AFL. Conor Carroll another in his 2nd championship season and probably the most consistent keeper we have had since Gay Sheerin. McCormack a little while longer around has to be one of most consistent performers and what more can be said about Brian Stack outstanding footballer and leader hopefully we have someone else to play at full back next year to allow him play further up the field more often and where he can influence the game more. Stack,Murtagh I would expect to be nominated for All Stars but will be none won this year.

Plenty of good young players still waiting for their chance and try to become established seniors in Sean Lambe,Paddy Gavin,Declan Kenny,Caelim Keogh,Luke Glennon,Shane McGinley etc so we are in decent place. 2025 is the last year of Davy Burkes agreed term and if it happens to be his final year with us before moving on to something else and leaves us in Div 1 and we reach the last 8 of the championship for the 2nd year in a row it will be a job well done.

Finally I want to offer my thanks to the players for the huge commitment and effort have given since the winter and our first challenge in mid December against Donegal. Already looking forward to seeing all players in action for their clubs in next months championship and it should be good quality and competitive club championship another positive point that a lot counties don't have.

P.S @Seanfanbocht I'd certainly wouldn't say no to that but doubtful if he'll leave them yet."
This has been Davy Burke's second season in charge of Roscommon so he knows the players, the setup etc.
Roscommon were relegated in the League and were beaten 4 times in the championship. Beaten twice at home by a Mayo team that didn't even make a quarter final and beaten by 12 points by a Dublin team that didn't make a semi final( first time for the Dubs in 15 years). If all of that is deemed a successful season for Roscommon, then the bar of expectation is very low in our county. Yes we have talented players in Roscommon and we have good young players coming through and in Brigid's we have what must be one of the best clubs in the country, but we're codding ourselves here if we're saying that 2024 was a successful season for the Roscommon senior football team.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2244 - 02/07/2024 04:26:24    2556418

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "He's already said he's staying. Armagh and McGeeney have done 10 years what's with chopping and changing of managers? it's not like Roscommon having been doing that for years when stability could be the better option."
I would completely go down the stability route, particularly if the players like him and are on board with him.

It will be the exact same cycle if we get a new manager in next year.

We need to give the man a chance. How can progress ever be made if we are changing managers every 2/3 years?

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 02/07/2024 09:02:57    2556427

Replying To rossy15:  "So enlighten me who are the right people ?
Mark mchugh was there last year when we imploded against Kildare and cork I think u need to get over that tbh
There's a lot
Of talk about philosophies and ways of playing we In Roscommon get frustrated after a couple of years and bring someone new in - sure how can we have a defined way of playing when we keep changing managers
The two games We won this year got us to a qtr final which we hadn't achieved In 7 years and first the first time n a long time put us in a position to get to a semi final wud I prefer to be winning more games absolutely but look where that got Mayo for example didn't even get to qtrs
As for Jim mcguiness We'll see how he and Donegal get
On against Galway in two weeks -"
Do you think the lads that replaced McHugh and McGowan are good enough to get us to the next level??

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1114 - 02/07/2024 10:03:32    2556443

Replying To endgame:  "This has been Davy Burke's second season in charge of Roscommon so he knows the players, the setup etc.
Roscommon were relegated in the League and were beaten 4 times in the championship. Beaten twice at home by a Mayo team that didn't even make a quarter final and beaten by 12 points by a Dublin team that didn't make a semi final( first time for the Dubs in 15 years). If all of that is deemed a successful season for Roscommon, then the bar of expectation is very low in our county. Yes we have talented players in Roscommon and we have good young players coming through and in Brigid's we have what must be one of the best clubs in the country, but we're codding ourselves here if we're saying that 2024 was a successful season for the Roscommon senior football team."
Did you notice we did reach a Quarter Final ?
First time since 2019 .
If we knew where the posts were we could well be preparing for an AI semi now.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1652 - 02/07/2024 11:37:12    2556457

Replying To The_analyser:  "Going to post in mainly positives with this latest post as enough negative views spoken about already on here and elsewhere.

P.S @Seanfanbocht I'd certainly wouldn't say no to that but doubtful if he'll leave them yet."
Thanks for the positive post, Analyser. There's only ever one happy county after all is said and done each year, the rest of us must size up what's working and what's not, and move on. But as you pointed out there is a brand new frame of team emerging before our eyes with really solid players, and Davy Burke has a lot to do with bringing them on, even if other aspects of his coaching are clearly not working. But do we really want another winter in no man's land desperately searching for a new manager? Let Davy finish his agreed upon term is maybe the best option, and put all the energy and cash into surrounding him with decent coaches.

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 31 - 02/07/2024 12:14:39    2556478

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Did you notice we did reach a Quarter Final ?
First time since 2019 .
If we knew where the posts were we could well be preparing for an AI semi now."
I noticed. And if my Aunt had and all that. Think it's 2017 since Roscommon were last in a quarter final.Roscommon were poor all of this season bar against a Tyrone team that took them for granted in Omagh. If you're happy with Roscommon's season just finished , best of luck. I can't agree with you. I agree with posters that it's hard to see who'll replace Burke if he goes. That said, I don't think Davy is getting the best out of the players. He needs his players to do the talking on the pitch and maybe give less interviews himself.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2244 - 02/07/2024 13:26:15    2556506

Replying To endgame:  "I noticed. And if my Aunt had and all that. Think it's 2017 since Roscommon were last in a quarter final.Roscommon were poor all of this season bar against a Tyrone team that took them for granted in Omagh. If you're happy with Roscommon's season just finished , best of luck. I can't agree with you. I agree with posters that it's hard to see who'll replace Burke if he goes. That said, I don't think Davy is getting the best out of the players. He needs his players to do the talking on the pitch and maybe give less interviews himself."
We qualified for the "Quarter Final series" in 2018 and 2019.
We need experienced defence and attack coaches and Davy to listen to them .
We had 9 or 10 lads on Saturday playing in their first big Senior latter stages knock out match.
That game will have brought them on in leaps and bounds despite the result and poor shooting.
Carroll, Higgins, Dolan, McCormack, Fallon, Cunnane, Cregg, Ruane, McDermott and Heneghan.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1652 - 02/07/2024 13:45:31    2556516

@Endgame where did I mention they word success or successful in my post you quoted?

The first line is easy to follow, ""Going to post in mainly positives with this latest post as enough negative views spoken about already on here and elsewhere."

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3827 - 02/07/2024 14:00:22    2556524

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "We qualified for the "Quarter Final series" in 2018 and 2019.
We need experienced defence and attack coaches and Davy to listen to them .
We had 9 or 10 lads on Saturday playing in their first big Senior latter stages knock out match.
That game will have brought them on in leaps and bounds despite the result and poor shooting.
Carroll, Higgins, Dolan, McCormack, Fallon, Cunnane, Cregg, Ruane, McDermott and Heneghan."
That's a good point on that many players playing in their first last eight knock out tie in Croke Park. Armagh in comparison was playing in the 3rd Quarter final in three years.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3420 - 02/07/2024 15:09:51    2556543

There is no issue people voicing their opinion on the manager or the set up and there is merit in both sides of the argument. I think making the quarter final argument is a bit of a moot point as we were beaten 3 times to get to it. If that happened in previous years we'd have been knocked out after the 2nd defeat and it highlights the flaws of the current system that ourselves and Derry were still standing despite suffering 3 defeats.

I don't think there is too many who view this season as progress as we have clearly regressed so that has to be an issue for the manager and the coaches. Yes we have blooded some new players but a lot of them were out of their depth for a lot of matches and interestingly enough we didnt use some of the players in the league much, yet they were deemed up to it for championship. I think there is good merit in the case of Niall Higgins who had a decent season amd a decemt match saturday bar the turnover for goal. The question on that and its not Davy Burkes fault l, is why did it take so long for Niall to come through.. This was a point Shane Curran made on Newstalk in the build up to the Dublin league match along..

I would argue that the likes of James Fitzpatrick who showed promise in league should have been used more and one critism that is levied against this management is that they're too loyal to some of the old guard and I think that proved evident on Saturday last and the week before v Tyrone. Players being picked on history rather than form.

The Cavan/Tyrone matches masked a lot of cracks as some of the players who played well in these games never got a kick v Mayo/Dublin or last Sautrday yet some are saying they had good seasons.

It was also very interesting to hear Matin McHugh on Newstalk at weekend saying that Ross had more talent than most counties in forward line yet lacked belief and commitment. He also referenced his son been involved with Roscomon previously.

Unless we get one of the top managers who will be ruthless like a Gavin, McGuiness, Jack O Connor, Joyce etc we will never make a semi final or a final never mind win it. The chances of getting one of those are slim.and none as it costs mega bucks for the whole package and supports that go with it. The continued development of the Hyde and the COE are far more important at this stage.

One would hope that Pearse Frost comes in next season not like this year when he asked for more recovery time after Brids run to final..we need a full back to allow Brian Stack to move to 6. Midfield continues to be an issue as we can't win primary possession. 11 is sorted to some degree with Murtagh/Creegg or McKeon. We still need a target man inside and we are one of very few counties now without a focal point. Conor Cox isn't the answer for that role nor is Diarmuid Murtagh or Ben O Carroll. Someone with a physical presence like a fit Enda or a fit Ultan Harney but they lack a burst of speed and mobility over a short distance.

We have an awful.lot of players of similar size and pace which can be easily snuffed out. We tend to pick smaller nippy players for development squads amd I understand it is hard to leave a good footballer behind but we need to start picking bigger lads who are not as good as footballers and work with them over a period of time. Galway have developed Maher and D'Arcy into fine player who do a tough job..

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 279 - 02/07/2024 16:43:34    2556566

@SmokieRoss

Did you post on here when Roscommon beat Cavan and Tyrone to reach the last 8? going on your posting history on here I'll guess not and now posting to belittle having reached the last 8. I recall you doing the same last year for finishing 3rd in Div 1 and beating Mayo in championship and drawing with Dublin. A strange style of posting but each to their own and all

It's not a moot point as the same system was in place last year with a similar amount of defeats in the championship and the system/format is all about getting out of the group regardless of how you get there. The main difference for Roscommon was the last 12 game. One was defeat to a Div 2 Cork team who weren't good enough to get out of that division and this year a win against Division 1 Tyrone in Omagh in a match Roscommon was expected to lose as they have done in every previous championship meeting against them.

Roscommon's objectives should looking to bounce straight back to Div 1 and reaching the last eight on a regular basic instead of having another 5 year wait or longer to get to that stage.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3420 - 02/07/2024 17:46:29    2556575

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "@SmokieRoss

Did you post on here when Roscommon beat Cavan and Tyrone to reach the last 8? going on your posting history on here I'll guess not and now posting to belittle having reached the last 8. I recall you doing the same last year for finishing 3rd in Div 1 and beating Mayo in championship and drawing with Dublin. A strange style of posting but each to their own and all

It's not a moot point as the same system was in place last year with a similar amount of defeats in the championship and the system/format is all about getting out of the group regardless of how you get there. The main difference for Roscommon was the last 12 game. One was defeat to a Div 2 Cork team who weren't good enough to get out of that division and this year a win against Division 1 Tyrone in Omagh in a match Roscommon was expected to lose as they have done in every previous championship meeting against them.

Roscommon's objectives should looking to bounce straight back to Div 1 and reaching the last eight on a regular basic instead of having another 5 year wait or longer to get to that stage."
It's the usual from him. For the record of the forwards I said had good seasons D Murtagh 0-12 C Cox 1-9, D Cregg 0-8 is what that trio scored in games against Mayo and Dublin which is decent return and goes to show what a bit of research can do than throwing out lazy remarks that they never got a kick against Dublin and Mayo.

Last Saturday just one point from D Murtagh, D Cregg didn't score and Donie Smith after scoring 0-4 from play against Tyrone also didn't score. Play that Armagh v Roscommon game another ten times and not a hope would you get that lack of scoring from those three good forwards.

We messed up not reaching the All Ireland Quarter in 2022,2023 so It's a clear positive that we did reach it this year and did so by beating Tyrone in Omagh a better team and tougher match than Cork and Clare. As our local newspaper said today the third year will determine how the Burke era will be remembered.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3827 - 02/07/2024 18:39:30    2556587

I know the Super 8s were a quarter final stage but they were not knock out QFs. They really were wasted years as we didn't get that knock out type scenario in Croker like we did in 17 which may have brought us on. We need to get back to a QF next year for the team to progress. It is very likely that there will be a change to the format with only the top 2 teams going through. Three of the 4 semi finalists won their province and apart from Galway, the remaining teams all won their groups. If only two progressing from the group next year maybe winning the group will be less important.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 946 - 02/07/2024 19:39:39    2556597

Looks like all attention in Roscommon now turns to the Club Championship 2024:

Going by the league, it really looks like Brigit's are extremely likely to retain their County title. Whether they will ever admit it or not, the county title should be a formality and they will realistically have their eyes on a Connaught title considering the panel they have. One loss in the league without Dolan, Cunnane, O'Carroll, Stack, Fallon, Eddie Nolan is outrageous going. And talk of Conor Carroll joining their ranks (not sure how true this is).

The chasing pack will include Padraig Pearses, Roscommon Gaels, Clan na Gael, Oran, Boyle and St. Faithleachs going by the draw. I dont feel any of these teams will have enough to dethrone Brigits. Also I see Paul Carey, Eoin Colleran and Ciarain Murtagh are playing GAA in Boston - this would mean they will miss the 1st group game potentially.

The groups look fairly even across the board where I think all teams will fancy winning one of their games minimum. The change to the Championship meaning 3rd placed teams play each other with another 3rd placed team playing the divisional team is the right call - feel this is only fair.

Prediction: St. Brigits
Dark Horse: Roscommon Gaels
Relegated: Western Gaels
Surprise Package: St. Faithleach's

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 36 - 03/07/2024 09:40:42    2556665

On the way to the match Davy should bring the lads into a pub and buy them a pint.
It would relax their nerves and loosen their inhibitions.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 351 - 03/07/2024 11:03:32    2556685