Roscommon GAA thread

Savage opportunity to reach last 4 tomorrow. Really looking forward to it. We will need to play our best football In years all over the pitch to win tomorrow. We were good against Tyrone but Armagh are a far better team imo. I'm hopeful we will turn up and leave everything on the pitch and if we do then we have a great chance.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1110 - 28/06/2024 14:39:47    2555403

Essential for both ourselves and Galway not to give up easy scores early on, especially goals, and end up chasing the game from the begining. It wil take a huge effort from the players but they have the ability. Down seem to have been the only team to score goals against Armagh? Is there anything that can be taken from that game. I think we will need a goal in our score line to win. And like-wise not concede any O'Shea-esque goals. Discipline also hugely important. It's an unforgiving place to play with a man down so we need to try and avoid any unnecessary black or red cards. Best of luck to the team and management tomorrow.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 940 - 28/06/2024 15:39:02    2555420

Good luck team
And management tomorrow looking forward to it
We're coming in with momentum and confidence two things we haven't had before for big games outside of Connacht so who knows but we're n with a great shout !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 624 - 28/06/2024 21:37:51    2555466

Best of luck to team and management in Croke Park tomorrow. I don't think Armagh are any better than Tyrone at the end of the day. If the team go out with the right attitude they have the potential to win
They need to put Armagh under pressure from early and not revert to the sideways and backwards passing of earlier weeks. Have faith in your ability and anything can happen

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 90 - 28/06/2024 22:19:31    2555474

D Day has arrived. I cannot wait to get on the road to HQ. Hopefully we fill the roads and bring a big crowd to support the lads as we know Armagh will. Really looking forward to today, what a difference a win makes! It'll be a tough ask but no reason we can't go and win this game. We have the players to cause serious damage, if they get good ball early. Need to match the defensive effort of last week. If we are in this game coming down to last 5 or 10 minutes, hopefully Armaghs scars of previous defeats will play on their minds and we can really test their mental toughness. If we are in it with 10mins to go, I fancy us to come out on top. We can't afford to be chasing it early though as Armaghs physical and athletic strengths could be too much. Best of luck to all the players and management..here's hoping today is a day we talk about for years to come!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 199 - 29/06/2024 08:29:47    2555493

We seek our own history today. Our first Croke Park championship win in 44 years. Our first qualification for an All Ireland semi final in 33 years. Armagh are a good team with a good bench but they've tended to fall short when it mattered over the last few years under McGeeney. Roscommon can win today but we need to defend well and move the ball at pace because we have the forwards to get the scores. A lot of teams don't have that. Best of luck to the Roscommon team at 4 p.m today.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2242 - 29/06/2024 08:53:59    2555497

Good luck to the lads today.
Make us prouder of ye than we are already.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1637 - 29/06/2024 10:08:45    2555506

Best of luck to the team and management today. Really looking forward to the match as it has the potential to be a great and close game that may even go to extra time.
Several parts of our game have improved recently; kickout strategy (Armagh will press), our forwards are on fire, and we have an improved defensive system. The players will really believe that they can win this match if the going gets tough which is critically important. (The Armagh team have lost 4 times recently after extra time & penalties in big matches and also the division 2 league final by a point)

Best of luck to the team and management today and safe driving/travelling to all GAA supporters over the weekend.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 580 - 29/06/2024 11:13:42    2555518

Best of luck to ros today would be great for 2 Connacht victories , but if Galway can't do it, I hope ye do..

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 868 - 29/06/2024 12:55:09    2555539

Best of Luck Today Rossies

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1244 - 29/06/2024 13:01:20    2555541

Good luck to Roscommon, ye can do it.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 29/06/2024 13:24:37    2555550

Have been watching the primrose and blue since the 70's - Mickey Freyne and Dermot Earley were in their pomp. I rem. leaving Dr. Hyde park after a draw and parents feeling Ros had missed their chance. As it turned out, Ros showed the same courage and tenacity in the replay in Galway, and were very deserving winners. Must say, I'm a great admirer. Best of luck.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 602 - 29/06/2024 13:52:39    2555555

No offence to the great county of Roscommon but I can't warm to the your manager Donal Burke. I find him arrogant and up himself.

He's doing a decent job to be fair.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2092 - 29/06/2024 15:55:16    2555577

Replying To The_Fridge:  "No offence to the great county of Roscommon but I can't warm to the your manager Donal Burke. I find him arrogant and up himself.

He's doing a decent job to be fair."
*Davy Burke

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2092 - 29/06/2024 16:29:31    2555580

Before ye all start as you do every year how many points did you get before the red card?

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 176 - 29/06/2024 17:16:47    2555590

Replying To The_Fridge:  "No offence to the great county of Roscommon but I can't warm to the your manager Donal Burke. I find him arrogant and up himself.

The Kildare man?

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 176 - 29/06/2024 17:17:48    2555592

Replying To JahTribe:  "Good luck to Roscommon, ye can do it."
No they can't and bookies knew as much

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 176 - 29/06/2024 17:18:44    2555593

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Best of luck to the team and management today. Really looking forward to the match as it has the potential to be a great and close game that may even go to extra time.
Several parts of our game have improved recently; kickout strategy (Armagh will press), our forwards are on fire, and we have an improved defensive system. The players will really believe that they can win this match if the going gets tough which is critically important. (The Armagh team have lost 4 times recently after extra time & penalties in big matches and also the division 2 league final by a point)

Best of luck to the team and management today and safe driving/travelling to all GAA supporters over the weekend."
Well zero of that was correct. Don't give up rhe day job

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 176 - 29/06/2024 17:19:38    2555594

Replying To D.Hyde:  "D Day has arrived. I cannot wait to get on the road to HQ. Hopefully we fill the roads and bring a big crowd to support the lads as we know Armagh will. Really looking forward to today, what a difference a win makes! It'll be a tough ask but no reason we can't go and win this game. We have the players to cause serious damage, if they get good ball early. Need to match the defensive effort of last week. If we are in this game coming down to last 5 or 10 minutes, hopefully Armaghs scars of previous defeats will play on their minds and we can really test their mental toughness. If we are in it with 10mins to go, I fancy us to come out on top. We can't afford to be chasing it early though as Armaghs physical and athletic strengths could be too much. Best of luck to all the players and management..here's hoping today is a day we talk about for years to come!"
Ha ha ha. Some crowd at it. You nearly outnumbered the seagulls in the first half

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 176 - 29/06/2024 17:21:04    2555595

You actually want to the trouble to posting this, some very sad people about.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 286 - 29/06/2024 17:21:18    2555597