Never agreed with the way the all stars are done. Enda Smith is 100% one of the best forwards in this year's championship. Will do well to pick 6 better than him for an all star from the last few games. But as you said he wont even get a nomination
Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 354 - 01/07/2023 11:22:10 2490964 Link 0 |
Previous years there was some sense in that but this year there's been enough games that he's clearly shown he's desrving of an All-Star. Obviously player of the year is out of the question but I don't think there's anyone else who's so clearly been the best player on the pitch every time they've played. Tiern1 (Limerick) - Posts: 21 - 01/07/2023 11:29:17 2490967 Link 2 |
All Stars are handed out based on performances in the latter stages of championship. At this stage of year, performances in the league is all forgotten. The purpose of league to to seed teams for championship. Inthe championship, Roscommon beat Mayo and lost to Galway in Connacht championship, a competition which really does not count. In the All Ireland series, Roscommon a D1 team, beat a D4 team, drew with and lost to D2 teams (Cork, Dublin and Kildare) These matches did not get much coverage so do not really count in the All Star selection process. Jack L (None) - Posts: 3149 - 01/07/2023 11:59:04 2490974 Link 0 |
Long time listener, first time caller. Lads, all star, poty ffs complaining about how the all stars are awarded????? since your last all star we have sligo I Tipp I Laois III Fermanagh III Wexford I Westmeath IIII Louth I Sligo II Down IIII Kildare IIII Cavan III And you lads think you are better than all these teams never mind thinking you are better than mayo and galway Must really be something wrong with the system if Roscommon dont get 6-7 a year IMO and almost man of the match in a few games does NOT merit an all star. Sure you can have 4 MOTM awards playing 'smaller' teams does that justify an all star or should they be reserved for the actual stars who can push their team on to greater things than a last 16? HarriBowe (Laois) - Posts: 27 - 01/07/2023 12:30:31 2490984 Link 1 |
do well to pick 6 better forward in the quarters than him? I like a challenge but sadly this isnt one
HarriBowe (Laois) - Posts: 27 - 01/07/2023 12:32:33 2490986 Link 0 |
well said chap
HarriBowe (Laois) - Posts: 27 - 01/07/2023 12:55:33 2490991 Link 0 |
2-12 wont get any forward this year an all star HarriBowe (Laois) - Posts: 27 - 01/07/2023 12:59:20 2490993 Link 0 |
cork 11111 HarriBowe (Laois) - Posts: 27 - 01/07/2023 13:07:49 2490996 Link 0 |
How did ye do against Down again....?
Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2275 - 01/07/2023 13:23:31 2491003 Link 0 |
Thought I heard a noise coming from the bottom of the well. Must be hearing things. MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 01/07/2023 13:31:05 2491006 Link 1 |
Great interview. Really looking forward to see how things go over the winter and what he discovers during the club championship. Always great to have clubs doing well in the AI series but did we benefit this year in not having players involved in AI semis? I thought it took it out of the Pearses lads the previous year and look at Shane Walsh this year. MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 01/07/2023 13:34:41 2491008 Link 1 |
I wasn't talking about Roscommon who weren't good enough and are out of the championship having lost to two lower League division teams Kildare and Cork and can have no complaints. I was talking about the performances of one player Enda Smith not in the League but in six championship games including against serious teams still left like Dublin and Mayo and in fairness he has been absolutely outstanding and man of the match or close to it in all games. He won't win an All star but he surely at least deserves to be nominated. There should be some recognition for an outstanding player even if he's on a team who aren't good enough to reach the business end of the championship.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2382 - 01/07/2023 13:37:10 2491011 Link 1 |
You lot conceded 8 goals in a Tailteann cup game - a competition designed to stop hammerings. Not even sure a 3rd tier would be enough for ye to compete in. Anyway best of luck in division 4 next year. No doubt Wexford, Carlow, London will be pushing hard for those promotion spots. Primrose_and_blue (Roscommon) - Posts: 69 - 01/07/2023 13:45:13 2491013 Link 1 |
if you read my post you would know i am from up north and just picked the county on here as the first one my mouse hovered over but nice comeback matey
HarriBowe (Laois) - Posts: 27 - 01/07/2023 14:27:39 2491029 Link 0 |
Enda Smith will get nominated that I have no doubt, All Stars will be mainly handed out to the four semi finalists and perhaps 1 or 2 to the losing Quarter finalist if that team give a good account of themselves this weekend. It is what it is and TBH i'd care more for Enda Smith to deliver a similar year round performances in 2024 and supporting cast producing at least 7 out of 10 performances which would mean a good league followed by last 8 spot in the championship or more.
The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4025 - 01/07/2023 15:03:45 2491049 Link 0 |
You don't know much about team work or game plan.
Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 354 - 01/07/2023 16:40:18 2491067 Link 4 |
Not saying for a moment we would have beaten Monaghan never mind Armagh but that Kildare game is even more painful now when you see what Monaghan have done. A team in transition, new manager and into an AI semi. Fine margins when you are at this level. MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 01/07/2023 21:04:59 2491128 Link 0 |
Yes but Monaghan have just edged two tight games. We lost two tight games. Therein lies the difference. Fair play to Monaghan. They have an All Ireland Minor Final to look forward to as well so heady days for the Farney men.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2382 - 01/07/2023 21:32:21 2491144 Link 1 |
And for old men playing their 3rd game in 15 days they lasted the 100 minutes fairly well.
Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2275 - 01/07/2023 21:49:39 2491158 Link 0 |
They haven't started their transition yet, same warriors around and the problem for Monaghan is when the likes of Conor McCarthy,Beggan,McManus Hughes etc departs, serious boots to fill. They could easily have been sitting at home like us today but managed to get over the line by 1 point with the last attack of the game against Kildare yet they are into the last 4 now. Tough for us to lose two weekends in a row by 1 point in added time (same happened last year v Clare) but i can't even imagine the heartbreak for Armagh with now three penalty shootout defeats in the last 12 months and I think the penalty kick was created by Armagh man? The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4025 - 01/07/2023 22:07:40 2491169 Link 0 |