Galway Football thread

Replying To ahsure.:  "They've trained as a group since December, I think the extended panel deserves the trip if they have been in and around the squad since then."
Ye, there unlikely to get a team holiday later in the year so why not let them go now.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 17 - 04/04/2025 23:57:52    2600605

Replying To Sligonian:  "It was never a penalty and sending off looked harsh but we had about 4 other goal chances missed, one cleared off line and hit post. Strange game as we cameback strong. I don't think I rate any of the Connacht teams this year at minor."
Well there is certainly a big difference between Roscommon and Sligo at minor this year:

Roscommon 6 Points + 24
Sligo 0 Points - 14

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 708 - 05/04/2025 09:57:30    2600618

Replying To JimB1991:  "Ye, there unlikely to get a team holiday later in the year so why not let them go now."
Mayo had a trip to Belmullet this year Clare

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 213 - 05/04/2025 10:26:30    2600622

Replying To Sligonian:  "It was never a penalty and sending off looked harsh but we had about 4 other goal chances missed, one cleared off line and hit post. Strange game as we cameback strong. I don't think I rate any of the Connacht teams this year at minor."
Roscommon look to be stand out team gave your Sligo a trimming in round 1 and by all accounts Mayo lucky they were only beat by 9 last night. Galway next best, competitive against the rossies and simply let the handbrake off in the final quarter last night something they'll learn from. Aim to reach the last 8 now and I'd fancy Galway more than Mayo,Sligo.

As for the All Ireland probably another Ulster winner they are ruling the roost at the moment.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 349 - 05/04/2025 10:54:53    2600628

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Go after what? You can't force people to play a game they don't want or have no history in. The same problem with Sylane servicing half of North Galway. If they don't want to play it, why should they?"
Things move on. New people start family's in areas and in places like Craughwell they do want to play.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 485 - 05/04/2025 11:21:12    2600631

Replying To smallfrank:  "Things move on. New people start family's in areas and in places like Craughwell they do want to play."
Nothing stopping them from setting up a separate club then.. if they feel that unwelcome. Like what Loughrea have done.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 273 - 05/04/2025 22:17:51    2600702

Id TanCanRan could split off the portion south of the rail line he would id imagine. Call yourselves the oyster county maybe. The rest of Galway can remain Galway

People move around far more now and a child's chosen game nowadays has more to do with their parents preference rather than the location they live in. Cillian McDaid and his father from Kerry is a prime example. Potential hurlers in north and west Galway and footballers in the south should be catered for as much as possible

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 261 - 06/04/2025 10:52:45    2600728

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Nothing stopping them from setting up a separate club then.. if they feel that unwelcome. Like what Loughrea have done."
Not entering football teams into underage competitions despite having a team would make you feel a small bit unwelcome especially if you were a footballer

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 485 - 06/04/2025 14:05:37    2600758

Best of luck against New York.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2350 - 06/04/2025 14:53:07    2600761

A nice bit of maroon and white knocking around Manhattan this morning. Heading out to Gaelic Park now. The buzz is building and the craic shall be had! A couple of great nights for Galway GAA on Fri and last night, with a very professionally run and successful Dancing with the Stars event in the huge Hammerstein Ballroom - it was great craic, well done to all involved in organising. The Championship journey starts here, and there's no doubt about it, the boys have unfinished business this year…the journey begins. Gaillimh Abú!!!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1034 - 06/04/2025 16:12:07    2600769

Replying To PressureKick:  "Id TanCanRan could split off the portion south of the rail line he would id imagine. Call yourselves the oyster county maybe. The rest of Galway can remain Galway

People move around far more now and a child's chosen game nowadays has more to do with their parents preference rather than the location they live in. Cillian McDaid and his father from Kerry is a prime example. Potential hurlers in north and west Galway and footballers in the south should be catered for as much as possible"
Well it's practically split in a GAA sense already, so don't really get your point. There's a reason you had to emigrate I suppose.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 273 - 06/04/2025 18:36:22    2600801

Replying To smallfrank:  "Not entering football teams into underage competitions despite having a team would make you feel a small bit unwelcome especially if you were a footballer"
Then start a club like Loughrea and don't give them the power. It's very simple. Again, look at Loughrea. If there is such a demand for it, it should be no problem.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 273 - 06/04/2025 18:37:14    2600802

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Nothing stopping them from setting up a separate club then.. if they feel that unwelcome. Like what Loughrea have done."
It's actually sad that attitudes like this still exist.My kids love both hurling and football and play both.Thank God we have lads running our clubs that accommodate the lads and girls that want to play both and don't pressure them to pick one way or other til they are older.They also welcome players back to either code if they want to come back.They work together the majority of the time so the workload on the lads is balanced.Guess we are lucky.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 06/04/2025 18:48:36    2600806

Finnerty looking jet lagged so far.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4047 - 06/04/2025 20:24:34    2600826

Fully understand it's a holiday basically for the team. But I'd be very worried about us going forward. That first half performance was a complete embarrassment. Simple as

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 76 - 06/04/2025 20:42:13    2600830

A lot of lads playing themselves off the 26 for later on. Some brutal defending to concede 0-12 in a half to a team like that. Finnerty surely cannot be starting the Connacht semi final. He's in no sort of form.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 850 - 06/04/2025 20:43:21    2600831

Too much of experimental line up, fine for league football but not for the championship. Would still expect Galway to kick on and win comfortably

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 349 - 06/04/2025 20:48:47    2600832

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Too much of experimental line up, fine for league football but not for the championship. Would still expect Galway to kick on and win comfortably"
I think it is great to see the new lads . Mannion and in particular Thompson both showing well.

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 418 - 06/04/2025 21:02:12    2600838

Replying To Trucker1:  "I think it is great to see the new lads . Mannion and in particular Thompson both showing well."
Mannion? You must be from Tuam. He got pulled off he hardly got a kick of it.

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 76 - 06/04/2025 21:11:28    2600840

Replying To Flemenstar200:  "Mannion? You must be from Tuam. He got pulled off he hardly got a kick of it."
Not from Tuam :) thought he showed pretty well and what he got he used well. Thompson doing much better but more of a half forward. Plenty of established lads(O Laoi, Finnerty etc) didn't do a lot more and kicked a lot more away. I'm just hoping someone like Mannion comes through as we need inside forwards. I'm glad Egan is in now also

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 418 - 06/04/2025 21:32:06    2600843