Galway Football thread

Who were the 4 "additional panel or stand by" members on Sat v Derry?

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 03/06/2025 22:14:13    2614681

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "I'm still waiting on your answer. Who is your top 3 or 4 teams?"
I answered already, you missed it.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 65 - 03/06/2025 22:58:23    2614699

Replying To GDL:  "
Replying To Kew:  "[quote=GDL:  "[quote=tirawleybaron:  "I posted this after the Dublin Game - just replace Derry instead of Dublin, Armagh instead of Meath, Glass for Kilkenny and Rodgers instead of O Callaghan.

A few simple points
Dubs were well up for this and have sorted out their kickout strategy that failed against Meath. Having been written off, Kilkenny, O Callaghan et al were always going to come back with a big statement.

Galway have had such success at midfield this season, they weren't ready for what Dublin gave them - they will learn from that.

Galway persist in playing an unfit Shane Walsh (or Comer). They would be better served planning without him and brining him on as an impact player.

Dublin did what Mayo should have done - put a man marker on a 35yr old midfielder and take away the 6 points per match he usually brings. Everyone will see that as a tactic from here - Conroy will likely need to be a sub as he is most needed for 2 pointers in the last 20mins.

Galway dont have enough of a kicking game to get through a match when they dont dominate in midfield. Getting John Daly back to centre back and putting Kelly to wing back would fix that.

Conroy hasn't the legs anymore and a half fit Walsh has no business starting matches - ye need them for the last 20 so should plan that way. Starting without Darcy was a terrible idea also - especially against a team as good in the air as Derry."
Would you post your email and mobile, PJ can give you a call. Thanks"
Too be fair PJ hasn't won anything yet and played too many injured players in the all Ireland final. He has a great group of players but played lads carrying injuries season after season. Lots of mismanagement over the last few years."]When did we stop counting Connacht titles?"]hes not there for Connacht titles he said that himself

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 185 - 03/06/2025 23:05:01    2614700

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I posted this after the Dublin Game - just replace Derry instead of Dublin, Armagh instead of Meath, Glass for Kilkenny and Rodgers instead of O Callaghan.

A few simple points
Dubs were well up for this and have sorted out their kickout strategy that failed against Meath. Having been written off, Kilkenny, O Callaghan et al were always going to come back with a big statement.

Galway have had such success at midfield this season, they weren't ready for what Dublin gave them - they will learn from that.

Galway persist in playing an unfit Shane Walsh (or Comer). They would be better served planning without him and brining him on as an impact player.

Dublin did what Mayo should have done - put a man marker on a 35yr old midfielder and take away the 6 points per match he usually brings. Everyone will see that as a tactic from here - Conroy will likely need to be a sub as he is most needed for 2 pointers in the last 20mins.

Galway dont have enough of a kicking game to get through a match when they dont dominate in midfield. Getting John Daly back to centre back and putting Kelly to wing back would fix that.

Conroy hasn't the legs anymore and a half fit Walsh has no business starting matches - ye need them for the last 20 so should plan that way. Starting without Darcy was a terrible idea also - especially against a team as good in the air as Derry."
If Conroy hasn't the legs anymore then why did he win man of the match versus Mayo? Had ye no legs to test him?

He's had two bad game after about 15 superb ones. Id be willing to give him the benefit of doubt

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 285 - 03/06/2025 23:37:40    2614709

Replying To GDL:  "
Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I posted this after the Dublin Game - just replace Derry instead of Dublin, Armagh instead of Meath, Glass for Kilkenny and Rodgers instead of O Callaghan.

A few simple points

Would you post your email and mobile, PJ can give you a call. Thanks"
No point. Much of Mayo still doesn't have Internet for email and telephone is sketchy since they've phased out landline

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 285 - 03/06/2025 23:39:57    2614711

If Galway players can't get up for it after being called 'soft' by Darran O Sullivan and Colm Boyle they may as well pack it in. I would be pinning that to the wall in Cavan dressing room

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 90 - 04/06/2025 06:49:26    2614721

Hard to say how this 1 will go, if mc geeney wants us out he will go all out and make sure we don't come back to haunt him later in season. Galway need to meet what ever is in front of them head on, can't see many changes as pj and co have gone with who they trust so far, not goin to change now. Think some players aren't happy wity management, o neill being taken off the last day after scoring a point and was doin ok compared to others was hard on the lad, pj and co probably thinking that darcy played well and they sud b clapped for making the substitution, fair enough he did play well but it's the same management that thought darcy shouldn't start the game.

jj19 (Galway) - Posts: 451 - 04/06/2025 09:32:22    2614739

Replying To jj19:  "Hard to say how this 1 will go, if mc geeney wants us out he will go all out and make sure we don't come back to haunt him later in season. Galway need to meet what ever is in front of them head on, can't see many changes as pj and co have gone with who they trust so far, not goin to change now. Think some players aren't happy wity management, o neill being taken off the last day after scoring a point and was doin ok compared to others was hard on the lad, pj and co probably thinking that darcy played well and they sud b clapped for making the substitution, fair enough he did play well but it's the same management that thought darcy shouldn't start the game."
Sam did score a point but was too inexperienced for the level of rough and tumble that was in the game. All changes made seemed to benefit the team. I do agree that it is very hard to call this game though. To have any hope at all we need to play as well as we did v Dublin last year. We seem miles away from that level now. Armagh seem to have improved an awful lot since 2024, and I expect, though I hope I am wrong, that they will have too much pace for our backs.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1283 - 04/06/2025 11:29:26    2614772

Replying To Flemenstar200:  "If Galway players can't get up for it after being called 'soft' by Darran O Sullivan and Colm Boyle they may as well pack it in. I would be pinning that to the wall in Cavan dressing room"
To be fair to Boyle it was O'Sullivan who called them soft. `Which seemed a strange phrase to use in a game where they were 8 points down away from home and came back in the last 10 minutes to get a draw out of the game. Plenty to criticise them over but being soft the last day wasn't one of them.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2393 - 04/06/2025 11:30:50    2614773

Replying To jj19:  "Hard to say how this 1 will go, if mc geeney wants us out he will go all out and make sure we don't come back to haunt him later in season. Galway need to meet what ever is in front of them head on, can't see many changes as pj and co have gone with who they trust so far, not goin to change now. Think some players aren't happy wity management, o neill being taken off the last day after scoring a point and was doin ok compared to others was hard on the lad, pj and co probably thinking that darcy played well and they sud b clapped for making the substitution, fair enough he did play well but it's the same management that thought darcy shouldn't start the game."
Armagh definitely won't pick a reserve side anyway. McGeeney will want to keep the momentum up. They might rotate out 3 or 4 at most. If some are carrying little knocks they won't risk them. Otherwise they will have a strong side out. Thing is they don't have to win the game so when that's the case players often start minding themselves a little.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2393 - 04/06/2025 11:35:02    2614776

Replying To togoutlads:  "No, there's been a selection issue too for some time, irrespective of any injury."
He got dropped this time last year before Armagh game and rightly so he was not going well and silke at 6 worked very well for rest of season

He did get injured I think before Tyrone league game this year and missed a fair bit of time

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1565 - 04/06/2025 12:38:06    2614800

Replying To JimB1991:  "I answered already, you missed it."
I did now let's see what you said

"Kerry, Donegal and Armagh top 3.
Dublin and Tyrone, best of the rest and capable of winning All Ireland if they get momentum at the right time"

Donegal among the top three even though were beaten by Galway last year. You well know there is nothing but fine margins separate Armagh and Galway.

Kerry are going to be under cooked for the All-Ireland series, issues in defence handful of important players out injured.

As for the best of the rest should they meet this summer In knock out All-Ireland series match Galway will beat Dublin and Tyrone IMO.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3640 - 04/06/2025 14:45:01    2614867

Reading Peter Canaan comments that Galway have hit flat spot but are well capable of having big say this year ,, if management don't pick right players and in there best position it not matter who Galway are playing as I've said before Galway last 3 games in league v top teams Tyrone ; Kerry ;Dublin won none they have being flat alit this year 2 much messing with team 3 different full backs so far Fitz did well v mayo dropped next match Mulkerrins poor v mayo gave away last 2 points he gets moved to full back bring Sweeney on taken off again start o Neill last day take. Off after doing. Nothing wrong Hernon has played in full back centre back wing back midfield and wing forward Sean Kelly best position full back not played there in 2 years so unless management stop messing with players they won't beat many teams the players are there it's time management start doing right thing ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1085 - 04/06/2025 17:32:46    2614919

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "I did now let's see what you said

"Kerry, Donegal and Armagh top 3.
Dublin and Tyrone, best of the rest and capable of winning All Ireland if they get momentum at the right time"

Donegal among the top three even though were beaten by Galway last year. You well know there is nothing but fine margins separate Armagh and Galway.

Kerry are going to be under cooked for the All-Ireland series, issues in defence handful of important players out injured.

As for the best of the rest should they meet this summer In knock out All-Ireland series match Galway will beat Dublin and Tyrone IMO."
There is fine enough margins between all those teams to be fair but look at form in the championship.

At this point I can't see how you could argue thats not the top 3.
Kerry - only unbeaten team, maybe undercooked but you can't judge them on whats not happend yet.
Donegal - beat the all Ireland champs, won by far the toughest province, slipped up against Tyrone but bounced back impressively
Armagh - All Ireland Champs, sailed through the toughest group, set up perfectly for knock out stage.

Tyrone and Dublin are hit and miss but there best performances so far have been ahead of the performances of any other team. Tyrone also likely to win their group and get the advantage of the break (I hope I'm wrong on that one).

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 65 - 04/06/2025 22:12:52    2614959

Replying To Kickitout:  "Reading Peter Canaan comments that Galway have hit flat spot but are well capable of having big say this year ,, if management don't pick right players and in there best position it not matter who Galway are playing as I've said before Galway last 3 games in league v top teams Tyrone ; Kerry ;Dublin won none they have being flat alit this year 2 much messing with team 3 different full backs so far Fitz did well v mayo dropped next match Mulkerrins poor v mayo gave away last 2 points he gets moved to full back bring Sweeney on taken off again start o Neill last day take. Off after doing. Nothing wrong Hernon has played in full back centre back wing back midfield and wing forward Sean Kelly best position full back not played there in 2 years so unless management stop messing with players they won't beat many teams the players are there it's time management start doing right thing ,,"
Main thing I disagree with there is that O Neill was hit for 2 kickouts and lost both of them before being taken off. Was well out of game by that time.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 184 - 05/06/2025 08:08:06    2614986

Replying To JimB1991:  "There is fine enough margins between all those teams to be fair but look at form in the championship.

At this point I can't see how you could argue thats not the top 3.
Kerry - only unbeaten team, maybe undercooked but you can't judge them on whats not happend yet.
Donegal - beat the all Ireland champs, won by far the toughest province, slipped up against Tyrone but bounced back impressively
Armagh - All Ireland Champs, sailed through the toughest group, set up perfectly for knock out stage.

Tyrone and Dublin are hit and miss but there best performances so far have been ahead of the performances of any other team. Tyrone also likely to win their group and get the advantage of the break (I hope I'm wrong on that one)."
Not disagreeing with you by any means but what if any of the top 3 hit a 'flat spot' as Peter Canavan noted in the context of us. Donegal one could argue got some of the 'dirty diesel' out of their system against Tyrone. As for the other two chance it could go south and it wouldn't surprise if one out of your top 3 win it for a finish.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1977 - 05/06/2025 09:00:29    2614992

On a side note, I saw somewhere that Matthew Tierney is the first player in a decade to hit 6 goals in a Championship season, and only the fourth player to do it so far this century. And the season ain't over yet!
Fair play to Mattie. I hope he drives on now and smashes the record. He got 2 v New York and for anyone who was there, he was getting a fair lot of 'treatment' from the NY defenders off the ball and he got really riled up for a while by it, there was nothing soft in his 2 goals there. Then one each v Rossies and v Mayo and 2 truly vital goals v Derry. When we absolutely, definitely need clutch majors, Mattie is showing that he's the man to hit the onion bag!
As much as he's delivering, I think there's even more in him. He has the height, power, fielding ability, a baller with it, pace, a great footballing brain to be in the right place at the right time. Hard to see where the ceiling is for this lad when he's on it. Massive ability and he needs to stay constantly involved and seeking ball. He still has a tendency to drift out of the game a little at times. He has a few work ons like this (2 pointer frees for one!!) but then everyone has. This is a guy that is of FOTY quality if he drives on. Give him the chance to play and be on the end of fast direct ball. Great work so far and hopefully some blistering performances to come from him yet. We're alive and now we need to show we're angry and we're seriously dangerous! If we can bring a massive performance in Breffni, the whole job opens up again for us.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 05/06/2025 10:40:15    2615018

Does anyone know who the 4 additional panel members v Derry were cant seem to find anywhere?

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 05/06/2025 10:47:52    2615019

Replying To togoutlads:  "On a side note, I saw somewhere that Matthew Tierney is the first player in a decade to hit 6 goals in a Championship season, and only the fourth player to do it so far this century. And the season ain't over yet!
Fair play to Mattie. I hope he drives on now and smashes the record. He got 2 v New York and for anyone who was there, he was getting a fair lot of 'treatment' from the NY defenders off the ball and he got really riled up for a while by it, there was nothing soft in his 2 goals there. Then one each v Rossies and v Mayo and 2 truly vital goals v Derry. When we absolutely, definitely need clutch majors, Mattie is showing that he's the man to hit the onion bag!
As much as he's delivering, I think there's even more in him. He has the height, power, fielding ability, a baller with it, pace, a great footballing brain to be in the right place at the right time. Hard to see where the ceiling is for this lad when he's on it. Massive ability and he needs to stay constantly involved and seeking ball. He still has a tendency to drift out of the game a little at times. He has a few work ons like this (2 pointer frees for one!!) but then everyone has. This is a guy that is of FOTY quality if he drives on. Give him the chance to play and be on the end of fast direct ball. Great work so far and hopefully some blistering performances to come from him yet. We're alive and now we need to show we're angry and we're seriously dangerous! If we can bring a massive performance in Breffni, the whole job opens up again for us."
He made the biggest impact in the Derry game, he's the most underrated Galway player in years. Unbelievable. The mindset to get two goals in the final 8 minutes not to mind everything else. He didn't even make team of the week.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 152 - 05/06/2025 12:18:14    2615046

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "He made the biggest impact in the Derry game, he's the most underrated Galway player in years. Unbelievable. The mindset to get two goals in the final 8 minutes not to mind everything else. He didn't even make team of the week."
I do agree he does drift out of games. He does need to become front and centre

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1565 - 05/06/2025 12:56:23    2615058