Galway Football thread

Replying To conordee:  "Can anybody explain why the time clock was stopped at 64 minutes 38 seconds as play went on in the Connacht Final on Sunday? Anyone with the match recorded can check it. It went on for 1 minute and 20 secs. A bit unusual as it gave the chasing team extra time to try and rescue the game."
Dunno. The main scoreboard was glitchy on Sunday. Clock was OK early on but I think it didn't have a score up until it was 2 points each.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7959 - 06/05/2025 12:35:15    2607067

On the topic of our provincial championships- Over 27,000 people enjoyed an absolutely rip roaring Connacht Final in Castlebar on Sunday. Nobody has the right to end our provincial championships. Nobody. There's too much history and rivalry and banter and craic and brilliant games. Munster and Leinster GAA can get their houses in order and change is happening in Leinster at least, with a Louth v Meath final.
Let's leave the brilliant Connacht and Ulster championships right where they are, the others too, thank you very much. We're not the owners of this tradition, we're only its stewards. To see the emotion on that pitch in Castlebar immediately after the match on Sunday, from 5 year olds to 90 year olds, it shows exactly what a provincial title still means. 'To break a tradition is easy; to understand its weight is not.'

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1047 - 06/05/2025 12:39:53    2607071

Any idea when Dublin fixture will be announced? Hoping its the Sat evening slot

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 328 - 06/05/2025 12:59:59    2607080

Replying To togoutlads:  "On the topic of our provincial championships- Over 27,000 people enjoyed an absolutely rip roaring Connacht Final in Castlebar on Sunday. Nobody has the right to end our provincial championships. Nobody. There's too much history and rivalry and banter and craic and brilliant games. Munster and Leinster GAA can get their houses in order and change is happening in Leinster at least, with a Louth v Meath final.
Let's leave the brilliant Connacht and Ulster championships right where they are, the others too, thank you very much. We're not the owners of this tradition, we're only its stewards. To see the emotion on that pitch in Castlebar immediately after the match on Sunday, from 5 year olds to 90 year olds, it shows exactly what a provincial title still means. 'To break a tradition is easy; to understand its weight is not.'"
It was a top quality game on a good day and fair play to Galway.

But neither Mayo or Galway judge themselves on winning the Nestor Cup anymore.
Galway wont consider this a good season if they don't land an All Ireland. Joyce's time as manager will be seen as a failure if all he has to show at the end is a few Nestor cups.

Its only a big Connacht win in Mayo, if we beat Galway in the final - Did Galway really care when they beat Sligo in the final in 2023?

As long as the replacement structure ensured Mayo got a rattle at Galway every year, no one in Mayo would miss the Connacht championship.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1375 - 06/05/2025 13:07:34    2607083

Now that the dust has settled and the immediate joy of a win over the neighbours has passed, it is time for more mature reflection on where we are. I am concerned that Mayo created 3 good goal chances, scoring 1, pointing another when a goal was on, and also pointing the 45 that resulted from Gleeson's save. Enda Hession shot from the penalty spot after being put through by AOS. In fairness to Mayo, they brought levels of legal ferocity. intensity and sheer guts, that i have not seen from them since the days when, under Horan they were able to go toe to toe with the Dubs. I thought a number of our lads were exposed, although it has to be said, we had numerous good calls for frees, that were not given. Ironically, the most vocal critic of the ref, that I have heard, is non other than Colm Boyle during his contributions as assistant commentator with Midwest. Still as PJ alluded to in his post game interview, we gave the ball away far to often. Jack, was the last man to err in this regard giving Mayo the chance to bring it to ET. There can be no doubt now, after watching a full blooded derby championship final game, that the ability to score 2 pointers will be essential for any team with serious ambitions for SAM. In Walsh, Conroy and Tierney, Galway probably have 3 of the top ten players in the country in this regard which is great. We did not however, test the Mayo goalie on Sunday. Unless we were to lose our next 2 fixtures, we will not have a knockout game until the PQF or hopefully the QF itself . So there is ample time to improve a bit more.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1278 - 06/05/2025 14:27:50    2607118

Replying To Eire89:  "Any idea when Dublin fixture will be announced? Hoping its the Sat evening slot"
Nope making it all more nonsense having draw last Wednesday.

Hurlers play at 1.30 Saturday would hardly play as a doubleheader.

Big Munster hurling double header Sunday will prob have it clash with limerick v cork

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1503 - 06/05/2025 14:37:37    2607119

Replying To Eire89:  "Any idea when Dublin fixture will be announced? Hoping its the Sat evening slot"
It would be great to have a double header with the hurling on the Saturday but unlikely I'd say. Will probably be on the Sunday.

fearruanua (Galway) - Posts: 368 - 06/05/2025 15:04:56    2607128

Replying To giveitlong:  "Now that the dust has settled and the immediate joy of a win over the neighbours has passed, it is time for more mature reflection on where we are. I am concerned that Mayo created 3 good goal chances, scoring 1, pointing another when a goal was on, and also pointing the 45 that resulted from Gleeson's save. Enda Hession shot from the penalty spot after being put through by AOS. In fairness to Mayo, they brought levels of legal ferocity. intensity and sheer guts, that i have not seen from them since the days when, under Horan they were able to go toe to toe with the Dubs. I thought a number of our lads were exposed, although it has to be said, we had numerous good calls for frees, that were not given. Ironically, the most vocal critic of the ref, that I have heard, is non other than Colm Boyle during his contributions as assistant commentator with Midwest. Still as PJ alluded to in his post game interview, we gave the ball away far to often. Jack, was the last man to err in this regard giving Mayo the chance to bring it to ET. There can be no doubt now, after watching a full blooded derby championship final game, that the ability to score 2 pointers will be essential for any team with serious ambitions for SAM. In Walsh, Conroy and Tierney, Galway probably have 3 of the top ten players in the country in this regard which is great. We did not however, test the Mayo goalie on Sunday. Unless we were to lose our next 2 fixtures, we will not have a knockout game until the PQF or hopefully the QF itself . So there is ample time to improve a bit more."
Yes we did like hession for mayo Thompson had a shot reape saved out for a 45.

Really liked Thompson confidence to go for goal rather then handy point

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1503 - 06/05/2025 15:33:34    2607138

Replying To togoutlads:  "On the topic of our provincial championships- Over 27,000 people enjoyed an absolutely rip roaring Connacht Final in Castlebar on Sunday. Nobody has the right to end our provincial championships. Nobody. There's too much history and rivalry and banter and craic and brilliant games. Munster and Leinster GAA can get their houses in order and change is happening in Leinster at least, with a Louth v Meath final.
Let's leave the brilliant Connacht and Ulster championships right where they are, the others too, thank you very much. We're not the owners of this tradition, we're only its stewards. To see the emotion on that pitch in Castlebar immediately after the match on Sunday, from 5 year olds to 90 year olds, it shows exactly what a provincial title still means. 'To break a tradition is easy; to understand its weight is not.'"
Couldn't agree more.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 428 - 06/05/2025 15:50:10    2607152

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "It was a top quality game on a good day and fair play to Galway.

But neither Mayo or Galway judge themselves on winning the Nestor Cup anymore.
Galway wont consider this a good season if they don't land an All Ireland. Joyce's time as manager will be seen as a failure if all he has to show at the end is a few Nestor cups.

Its only a big Connacht win in Mayo, if we beat Galway in the final - Did Galway really care when they beat Sligo in the final in 2023?

As long as the replacement structure ensured Mayo got a rattle at Galway every year, no one in Mayo would miss the Connacht championship."
. James Horan was a failure so as well..

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 06/05/2025 16:33:38    2607161

Saturday 5.30 Pearse Stadium
Galway v Dublin is what I am told

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 85 - 06/05/2025 17:45:07    2607183

Replying To Flemenstar200:  "Saturday 5.30 Pearse Stadium
Galway v Dublin is what I am told"
Hurling at 1.30pm, 90min wait for the football?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 882 - 06/05/2025 18:17:22    2607194

Replying To sligo joe:  "Hurling at 1.30pm, 90min wait for the football?"
Hurling is on at 2pm
Galway v Antrim

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 85 - 06/05/2025 20:40:37    2607220

Don't agree at all, the competitive Ulster championship and the odd one or two games like this outside Ulster doesnt justify keeping an outdated system where 70 or 80% of the games are mismatches.
The Galway emotion at the end was because it was Mayo and a tight game, nothing to do with a Connaught title.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 38 - 06/05/2025 21:01:02    2607224

Replying To giveitlong:  "Now that the dust has settled and the immediate joy of a win over the neighbours has passed, it is time for more mature reflection on where we are. I am concerned that Mayo created 3 good goal chances, scoring 1, pointing another when a goal was on, and also pointing the 45 that resulted from Gleeson's save. Enda Hession shot from the penalty spot after being put through by AOS. In fairness to Mayo, they brought levels of legal ferocity. intensity and sheer guts, that i have not seen from them since the days when, under Horan they were able to go toe to toe with the Dubs. I thought a number of our lads were exposed, although it has to be said, we had numerous good calls for frees, that were not given. Ironically, the most vocal critic of the ref, that I have heard, is non other than Colm Boyle during his contributions as assistant commentator with Midwest. Still as PJ alluded to in his post game interview, we gave the ball away far to often. Jack, was the last man to err in this regard giving Mayo the chance to bring it to ET. There can be no doubt now, after watching a full blooded derby championship final game, that the ability to score 2 pointers will be essential for any team with serious ambitions for SAM. In Walsh, Conroy and Tierney, Galway probably have 3 of the top ten players in the country in this regard which is great. We did not however, test the Mayo goalie on Sunday. Unless we were to lose our next 2 fixtures, we will not have a knockout game until the PQF or hopefully the QF itself . So there is ample time to improve a bit more."
Yes, Galway need a big improvement if they are to be contenders this year. Interesting to see if they can lift their game.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 38 - 06/05/2025 21:03:31    2607226

Replying To Flemenstar200:  "Saturday 5.30 Pearse Stadium
Galway v Dublin is what I am told"
Heard the same.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 428 - 06/05/2025 22:54:38    2607246

Replying To JimB1991:  "Don't agree at all, the competitive Ulster championship and the odd one or two games like this outside Ulster doesnt justify keeping an outdated system where 70 or 80% of the games are mismatches.
The Galway emotion at the end was because it was Mayo and a tight game, nothing to do with a Connaught title."
In other words you are a contrarian.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3606 - 06/05/2025 23:50:57    2607252

Replying To JimB1991:  "Yes, Galway need a big improvement if they are to be contenders this year. Interesting to see if they can lift their game."
Mayo peaked yesterday Clare and in reality should be in the Tailteann cup.

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 06/05/2025 23:57:15    2607253

Some delusion in Mayo since Sunday..
Reading on the blog this morning that Mayo threw it away, should have won, blaming management, players, and the referee..
Harping back to Gough admitting he got calls wrong last year ( when in fact he admitted to one call ) looking for any reason as to why Galway won..

When in fact it's as simple as Mayo are really not a good team..
They have not got enough quality forwards.. and they won't change anytime soon.
I'd expect Cavan to beat them..

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 07/05/2025 07:39:59    2607257

Replying To JimB1991:  "Yes, Galway need a big improvement if they are to be contenders this year. Interesting to see if they can lift their game."
Winning a connacht final while missing big players is a good day out.granted mayo aren't great but it's still a good win

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 160 - 07/05/2025 09:07:13    2607267