Galway Football thread

McHugh off with an injury now. Just one of those games. Get home without picking up any more.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2348 - 15/03/2025 20:33:19    2596591

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Ffs u were loving it up till now these have slight effect but should help galway you have bad night in front goal yet blaming kerry dublin for lack wins in agkway cop on.

Suppose u prefer old rules or wer listening to poacher.

Sorry but it's galway shooting issue not rules quit moaning as bsd as mayo when they lost all the All irelands"
I didn't abuse you so don't abuse me.I said the tweaks that have been made suit Dublin and yes they have the space is not there to go for the 2 pointers that Galway have been scoring freely.I didn't say a thing about the new rules I was speaking about the tweaks.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 395 - 15/03/2025 20:49:49    2596597

Could O'Curraoin, O'Conghaile and Thompson please work a hell of a lot more on their shooting. It is random, poor technique, panicked lumping of the ball and it's a killer to a team that's worked the ball up the field to see such awful, non county standard shooting.
By the way, 6 years in it would appear to all that we still have no kickout strategy. Wow! We have lumped it all damn night on to men that simply can't get in the air for some strange reason.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1026 - 15/03/2025 21:00:59    2596603

Galway with 12 wides to Dublin's 4. Tells its own story. Galway also missed 3 goal chances. Finnerty, Tierney and O'Flaherty was unlucky to hit the post with a great shot.

Actually did ok with Walsh, Conroy, McHugh and Finnerty off the pitch. Just too many bad wides from the younger players after Comer got it back to 2 points.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2348 - 15/03/2025 21:04:28    2596606

Comer looked really sharp anyway. The rest pretty off colour. We had a grand bit of momentum going until we won a free in the back line and Gleeson decided to do a garryowen up and under into the midfield and we lost possession and conceded straight away. Under 10s stuff.

Tomo is badly needed back from injury to start in the forward line. Finnerty looks great when he is on form but it is criminal that he is still so one footed and he hasn't had a good league at all. We should be past the stage of O'Conghaile coming off the bench as a scoring option.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 830 - 15/03/2025 21:08:45    2596608

Replying To togoutlads:  "Our full back line are being devoured at times. Miles off the pace and off their markers. Dublin forwards have loads of space. Midfield are out of it. Conroy possibly needs a forwards berth, looks like he's just not young enough for the engine room anymore - unfortunately. We still can't get off the deck. Darcy can't get up off the ground. Are we actually working on our verticals? Our box jumps etc? Is that happening, I wonder. Other teams do it. We still can't bloody jump! Everyone can outfield us, even if the ball is landed down on top of us. It's an ongoing serious problem in gaining possession and needs huge improvement.
Walsh gone now. Finnerty gone. A hugely disappointing night so far. This is a good Dublin team out tonight but not one of the great ones, and we still can't put it up to them. Hoping for a serious turn around in the second half."
Even for you this is some tripe working on box jumps??

Have you watched McGrath tonight been outstanding defending good ball going in

First thing Darcy did v Tyrone was win a kickout towering over Tyrone midfield.

Oflaherty has led charge but is not a corner back man marker.

We may go with Kelly at 3 and DOF at 7.

John Daly may come into play with Damo back.

Positive Damo is back and we already seem to have an attacking mark option. Thompson looks ready physically and ability wise.

Downsides few injuries picked up mcdaid has had a difficult league seems to be over doing it.

Just seemed to start forcing it as well on top I'm first ten minutes.

Kelly as a wing back needs to be able to take a point with the boot on run and not have to rely on fist.

LO'C and C'OC don't look ready at this level. Cluxton was all at sea in first half but could go short in 2nd as they couldn't stop defence coming out.

Don't mind them missing everyone radar was off tonight

We may have to go square pegs in round holes as lacking in inside forwards.

Onto Kerry if mchugh is injured I'd like to see Hernon at 5 think it's his best spot.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1392 - 15/03/2025 21:13:25    2596609

Replying To galway19:  "Comer looked really sharp anyway. The rest pretty off colour. We had a grand bit of momentum going until we won a free in the back line and Gleeson decided to do a garryowen up and under into the midfield and we lost possession and conceded straight away. Under 10s stuff.

Tomo is badly needed back from injury to start in the forward line. Finnerty looks great when he is on form but it is criminal that he is still so one footed and he hasn't had a good league at all. We should be past the stage of O'Conghaile coming off the bench as a scoring option."
That was a real momentum turner, couldn't believe it, what was he thinking!
We had a huge amount of chances and butchered them but there was still plenty of positives

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 15/03/2025 21:14:11    2596610

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "I didn't abuse you so don't abuse me.I said the tweaks that have been made suit Dublin and yes they have the space is not there to go for the 2 pointers that Galway have been scoring freely.I didn't say a thing about the new rules I was speaking about the tweaks."
Embarrassing post rules to suit Kerry and Dublin stop.

We actually had plenty of of 2 pt openings just missed 3 out of 4

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1392 - 15/03/2025 21:16:20    2596612

In terms of general play, I'd say we actually shaded it. We created some amount of chances, but we were incredibly wasteful. Post , crossbar, open goal missed and aroind 15 wides. There were a number of shots we took on from needlessly difficult angles, when a much easier score was on with a simple pass.
After Comer's brilliant goal got us back to two points, we kicked an aimless sideline down the middle which led to a Dublin score, then did the same with a free out straight after which resulted in another Dublin point. Then from that kickout, belted it to a bunch with more Dubs and another quick point came from it. The goal was wiped out and that was basically all she wrote.
It certainly wasn't all negative though. We broke forward well, won a lot of ball back and I thought Johnny McGrath was brilliant.
Need to sharpen up massively though. This passive forward play won't cut it against the best.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2254 - 15/03/2025 21:20:24    2596614

It's our first defeat in the league and I know for a fact they have had some heavy training over the last two weeks...
That said some of our wides tonight were terrible, PJ gave game time to a good few more tonight but we need to tighten up defence big time..
D'Arcy still going missing too much for me...
We may get through Connacht but we'll be found out against the better teams..

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 196 - 15/03/2025 21:20:49    2596615

Not sure what to make of that match as it was like a challenge with little or no defending going on. Galway could easily have scored 5,6 goals and conceded the same.

Joyce very cautious with hooking off any player with any niggle at all and can't blame him with the points on the table already and championship around the corner.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 324 - 15/03/2025 21:21:19    2596616

Replying To galway19:  "Comer looked really sharp anyway. The rest pretty off colour. We had a grand bit of momentum going until we won a free in the back line and Gleeson decided to do a garryowen up and under into the midfield and we lost possession and conceded straight away. Under 10s stuff.

Tomo is badly needed back from injury to start in the forward line. Finnerty looks great when he is on form but it is criminal that he is still so one footed and he hasn't had a good league at all. We should be past the stage of O'Conghaile coming off the bench as a scoring option."
True the garryowen was madness.

What story with Heaney left on bench he actually looked really sharp in the inter pros testing the rules but barely been seen.

Just a bad night at office.

I wouldn't be criticising technique of young lads when we had all stars missing easy chances also

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1392 - 15/03/2025 21:24:31    2596617

Galway are an ageing team with too many players who were exceptional now well into their 30s. They are exposed in particular in Croker the game tempo is so high, re Conroy tonight. Also as teams evolve to a kicking game like Dublin and Kerry did today the Galway backs are not quite up to it. Flaherty did great winning ball and took a good score but was roasted when it came to man on man defending. I still expect them to win Connacht but can't see SAM going anywhere outside of Dublin or Donegal.

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 112 - 15/03/2025 21:35:55    2596622

If Galway had brought their shooting boots, it would have been a close game. Was an odd game in a way, it was like both teams ignored the fact that the game has changed.
It was good old one on one for the most part.
End to end.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8708 - 15/03/2025 21:40:46    2596624

Replying To jm25:  "Even for you this is some tripe working on box jumps??

Have you watched McGrath tonight been outstanding defending good ball going in

First thing Darcy did v Tyrone was win a kickout towering over Tyrone midfield.

Oflaherty has led charge but is not a corner back man marker.

We may go with Kelly at 3 and DOF at 7.

John Daly may come into play with Damo back.

Positive Damo is back and we already seem to have an attacking mark option. Thompson looks ready physically and ability wise.

Downsides few injuries picked up mcdaid has had a difficult league seems to be over doing it.

Just seemed to start forcing it as well on top I'm first ten minutes.

Kelly as a wing back needs to be able to take a point with the boot on run and not have to rely on fist.

LO'C and C'OC don't look ready at this level. Cluxton was all at sea in first half but could go short in 2nd as they couldn't stop defence coming out.

Don't mind them missing everyone radar was off tonight

We may have to go square pegs in round holes as lacking in inside forwards.

Onto Kerry if mchugh is injured I'd like to see Hernon at 5 think it's his best spot."
Tripe is it? What percentage of the aerial battle did we win tonight? I'll simplify further for you. When Gleeson continually kicks the ball long, ok, how many of those did we catch? Maybe play it back and count them if you want. We were absolutely cleaned in the air. And D'Arcy caught one good one against Tyrone and was beaten under a good dozen or more over previous games, which is disappointing for such a big, strong man. We need to be able to catch the damn ball over other teams if we have AI ambitions. We have to work on it. You can fetch away in training matches against your squad mates but we're off the standard of the top fielding teams. You'll see S&C specifics applied for athletes in many codes, using various drills and techniques in training to increase their 'verticals', and if you had a clue about this kind of thing, plyometrics like box jumps are key to gains in getting off the ground in multiple codes.
And McGrath was far from outstanding tonight. I'm a big fan of his but our fullback line was exposed a lot and we were lucky enough not to cough up another 2 goals or more.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1026 - 15/03/2025 21:41:13    2596625

Replying To realdub:  "If Galway had brought their shooting boots, it would have been a close game. Was an odd game in a way, it was like both teams ignored the fact that the game has changed.
It was good old one on one for the most part.
End to end."
Are you ignoring the fact that Dublin shooting especially on goals chances (2 scored from 8) was way off also. Little or no defending in that game and any decent game needs a balance between good forward play and defending the latter has got little focus with the new rules.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3548 - 15/03/2025 21:49:18    2596627

Replying To togoutlads:  "Tripe is it? What percentage of the aerial battle did we win tonight? I'll simplify further for you. When Gleeson continually kicks the ball long, ok, how many of those did we catch? Maybe play it back and count them if you want. We were absolutely cleaned in the air. And D'Arcy caught one good one against Tyrone and was beaten under a good dozen or more over previous games, which is disappointing for such a big, strong man. We need to be able to catch the damn ball over other teams if we have AI ambitions. We have to work on it. You can fetch away in training matches against your squad mates but we're off the standard of the top fielding teams. You'll see S&C specifics applied for athletes in many codes, using various drills and techniques in training to increase their 'verticals', and if you had a clue about this kind of thing, plyometrics like box jumps are key to gains in getting off the ground in multiple codes.
And McGrath was far from outstanding tonight. I'm a big fan of his but our fullback line was exposed a lot and we were lucky enough not to cough up another 2 goals or more."
I'm well aware of what box jumps are.

What makes you think all other counties are doing them and we are not.

We destroyed mayo around midfield maybe we did box jumps that week.

Didnt see final stats but first half our kickout stats were one of the few things we were winning.

McGrath was putting out fires everywhere and when quality of ball is going in corner back on hiding to nothing.

Oflaherty was a little naive with his defensive work on con but was probably our best player and is wasted back there.

We probably actually need a break winner rather then another midfielder out around 8-12 region

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1392 - 15/03/2025 21:51:49    2596628

O'Flaherty is a serious weapon but is not a natural marker. I can see why they are trying him back in the corner. They want to fit him in while leaving Kelly and McHugh as wing backs. So they can have all three on the field together. But O'Flaherty is probably more suited to wing back as well.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2348 - 15/03/2025 22:05:22    2596631

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Are you ignoring the fact that Dublin shooting especially on goals chances (2 scored from 8) was way off also. Little or no defending in that game and any decent game needs a balance between good forward play and defending the latter has got little focus with the new rules."
I'm not a fan of the new rules. It was an enjoyable game, it was only a league match, nothing at stake.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8708 - 15/03/2025 22:08:48    2596635