Galway Football thread

Replying To jm25:  "The change in rules happy with removes point bringing up goalie unless rafferty or Morgan

No point for us to keep a mchugh or Kelly back to let either of our goalie go forward.

It prob cements gleeson as number 1"
Really??The rule changes were suiting Galway or didn't you notice.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 391 - 07/03/2025 16:13:16    2595275

Replying To TanCanRan:  "He want to take a look at Connemara and the "towns" out that direction. Tuam is cosmopolitan in comparison."
Clifden is one of the prettiest towns in Ireland. What's your problem with Connemara? Most of the gaels in Connemara came originally from east of the Corrib, Maigh Seola, near Tuaim but unfortunately were driven west by the Normans and the English.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 92 - 07/03/2025 16:35:59    2595278

Replying To Cumann1:  "
Replying To TanCanRan:  "[quote=Cumann1:  "[quote=TanCanRan:  "[quote=Mfs:  "[quote=streaker:  "[quote=ahsure.:  "[quote=MTS:  "New York - New York!

Most I spoke to are staying close to Time Square.

Where are the best meeting places?
Jake's Saloon & Connolly's Pub over the weekend
The Galway GAA gig is on in the Hammerstein Ballroom on Saturday 6:30 pm..
McLean Ave on match day.

This is looking like Galway's last trip to New York. Love to hear what others have planed."
Once we all don't gather in time square like the cringe festival that our neighbours put on a couple of years back we will be grand"
We wouldn't be that desperate for attention, surely??"]Its called having a bit of crack. Be careful in case ye enjoy the trip. Judging by how few travelled to London last year I cannot see to many travelling to New York."]Plenty travelled last year, we don't make a constant song and dance about how great our support is. Even though we are the best supported dual county and the home to other sporting organisations like Connacht Rugby (ye love a bandwagon in that too it seems) and Galway United.

What ye call craic, others would be embarrassed by. Not a lot of shame and self-reflection in Mayo though - hard to tell if it's a genuine strength or weakness. Ye love a bandwagon and more power to ye. League attendances down yer neck of the woods haven't been exactly hectic this year considering ye have nothing else."]Once again galway people bringing Mayo into the conversation.
Mayo league attendances are down a little this year but still higher than galways, last Sunday being a case in point.
You obviously know little about rugby if you think Connacht rugby is galway rugby. Is Munster rugby Limerick rugby?"]Mayo person coming on a Galway thread brings themselves in the conversation.

Are they higher than the hurlers and footballers combined? We are a dual county with essentially 50/50 split in both codes. You can add in your hurlers attendance if you like...might reveal a lot about your self-professed great supporters.

The home of Connacht rugby is Galway. Are you actually disputing that? You can see the fact back up by the number of junior clubs in Galway in comparison to the rest of the province. The overwhelming majority of those in the Dexcom are from Galway also. Another undeniable fact.

We simply have more going on up here, hence why you all can't wait to move here for college and work."]A Mayoman coming on responding to nonsense about Mayo. Why do ye always feel the need to include us?
Re attendance: you seem to forget galways population is more than twice that of Mayo.
Thankfully Connacht rugby don't have the same parochial opinion as you in thinking only galway people should attend Dexcom.
You should broaden your horizons a little, you'll find there are a lot of galway people living in Mayo"]Mayo person saying broaden your horizons. That's a good one.

Yes we have a bigger population because we actually have inward migration here. The likes of yourselves, the Polish and other wonderful foreigners come to Galway to learn, work and live. It's not like Mayo where everyone is a "Mayo4Sam" cabbage - we're quite diverse.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 264 - 07/03/2025 16:45:58    2595279

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Really??The rule changes were suiting Galway or didn't you notice."
Our goalies arnt as good on the ball as other div 1 teams are hadnt you noticed we got little input from gleeson compared to Morgan rafferty or even reape

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1383 - 07/03/2025 16:46:03    2595280

Replying To jm25:  "Our goalies arnt as good on the ball as other div 1 teams are hadnt you noticed we got little input from gleeson compared to Morgan rafferty or even reape"
How in the name of God can you make a judgement on a young lad who has only played one game this season.Raftery and Morgan were not great when they started either.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 391 - 07/03/2025 17:40:39    2595293

Replying To jm25:  "Our goalies arnt as good on the ball as other div 1 teams are hadnt you noticed we got little input from gleeson compared to Morgan rafferty or even reape"
You haven't seen enough of Conor Flaherty to pass any judgement

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 391 - 07/03/2025 17:41:57    2595295

Replying To TanCanRan:  "
Replying To Cumann1:  "[quote=TanCanRan:  "[quote=Cumann1:  "[quote=TanCanRan:  "[quote=Mfs:  "[quote=streaker:  "[quote=ahsure.:  "[quote=MTS:  "New York - New York!

Most I spoke to are staying close to Time Square.

Where are the best meeting places?
Jake's Saloon & Connolly's Pub over the weekend
The Galway GAA gig is on in the Hammerstein Ballroom on Saturday 6:30 pm..
McLean Ave on match day.

This is looking like Galway's last trip to New York. Love to hear what others have planed."
Once we all don't gather in time square like the cringe festival that our neighbours put on a couple of years back we will be grand"
We wouldn't be that desperate for attention, surely??"]Its called having a bit of crack. Be careful in case ye enjoy the trip. Judging by how few travelled to London last year I cannot see to many travelling to New York."]Plenty travelled last year, we don't make a constant song and dance about how great our support is. Even though we are the best supported dual county and the home to other sporting organisations like Connacht Rugby (ye love a bandwagon in that too it seems) and Galway United.

What ye call craic, others would be embarrassed by. Not a lot of shame and self-reflection in Mayo though - hard to tell if it's a genuine strength or weakness. Ye love a bandwagon and more power to ye. League attendances down yer neck of the woods haven't been exactly hectic this year considering ye have nothing else."]Once again galway people bringing Mayo into the conversation.
Mayo league attendances are down a little this year but still higher than galways, last Sunday being a case in point.
You obviously know little about rugby if you think Connacht rugby is galway rugby. Is Munster rugby Limerick rugby?"]Mayo person coming on a Galway thread brings themselves in the conversation.

Are they higher than the hurlers and footballers combined? We are a dual county with essentially 50/50 split in both codes. You can add in your hurlers attendance if you like...might reveal a lot about your self-professed great supporters.

The home of Connacht rugby is Galway. Are you actually disputing that? You can see the fact back up by the number of junior clubs in Galway in comparison to the rest of the province. The overwhelming majority of those in the Dexcom are from Galway also. Another undeniable fact.

We simply have more going on up here, hence why you all can't wait to move here for college and work."]A Mayoman coming on responding to nonsense about Mayo. Why do ye always feel the need to include us?
Re attendance: you seem to forget galways population is more than twice that of Mayo.
Thankfully Connacht rugby don't have the same parochial opinion as you in thinking only galway people should attend Dexcom.
You should broaden your horizons a little, you'll find there are a lot of galway people living in Mayo"]Mayo person saying broaden your horizons. That's a good one.

Yes we have a bigger population because we actually have inward migration here. The likes of yourselves, the Polish and other wonderful foreigners come to Galway to learn, work and live. It's not like Mayo where everyone is a "Mayo4Sam" cabbage - we're quite diverse."]Haha, surely you're not that backward that you think there's no inward migration in Mayo?
Recent article in Irish Times showed Ballyhaunis to be the most diverse town in Ireland

Cumann1 (Mayo) - Posts: 10 - 07/03/2025 17:54:42    2595298

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "You haven't seen enough of Conor Flaherty to pass any judgement"
Easily triggered I've seen him play enough, 10plus times in goal and 5/6 times in flesh as a 14. Fair to say he's not as good as rafferty or Morgan right now hardly controversial, there is plenty IC outfielders not as good on ball as them two

We are clunky using 12/11 and he got caught out badly Sunday running back with ball over top think it was Glynn who saved his bacon.

Hopefully he will improve but will do well to be Galway no1 this yr let alone put him in same league as best keepers

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1383 - 07/03/2025 20:01:20    2595317

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "You haven't seen enough of Conor Flaherty to pass any judgement"
You're always very sensitive when Claregalway are mentioned.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 101 - 07/03/2025 21:52:33    2595330

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "You're always very sensitive when Claregalway are mentioned."
As you are when corofin are mentioned

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 391 - 08/03/2025 10:04:47    2595353

Replying To jm25:  "Easily triggered I've seen him play enough, 10plus times in goal and 5/6 times in flesh as a 14. Fair to say he's not as good as rafferty or Morgan right now hardly controversial, there is plenty IC outfielders not as good on ball as them two

We are clunky using 12/11 and he got caught out badly Sunday running back with ball over top think it was Glynn who saved his bacon.

Hopefully he will improve but will do well to be Galway no1 this yr let alone put him in same league as best keepers"
This is typical of any critique of goalkeepers.You see the one time they are maybe caught as I may say so has Ethan Rafferty but not the 100 things they do right.This is just not Conor Flaherty it is all keepers.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 391 - 08/03/2025 10:07:30    2595354

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "This is typical of any critique of goalkeepers.You see the one time they are maybe caught as I may say so has Ethan Rafferty but not the 100 things they do right.This is just not Conor Flaherty it is all keepers."
Your losing the run of yourself they are better goalies then we have currently out the field

Also I was mainly focusing on gleeson as he seems to be no1 but you've got in a twist defending Flaherty

Reducing the impact of goalies will affect Armagh Tyrone Monaghan more than us as their goalies are more influential outfielders than ours currently simple really

Cluxton the best keeper ever also will be suited by this as not as influential outfielder either it's not criticism of Flaherty specifically

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1383 - 08/03/2025 19:02:51    2595425

The league returns this week, any predictions on promotions, relegations, winners etc,. for 2025?

DIV 1
Claregalway
Milltown
Oughterard
Corofin
St. Michael's
Tuam Stars
Mountbellew/Moylough
Salthill-Knocknacarra

DIV 2
Killannin
Barna