Galway Football thread

Replying To hopballref:  "My senior top 4
1) Corofin 2) Moycullan 3) Salthill 4) Tuam Stars

Intermediate top 4
1) Oranmore 2) St Michaels 3) St Brendan's 4) Kilconly"
Would have Salthill ahead of Moycullen. God knows who's fourth, they'd be a long way back anyhow.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 150 - 16/09/2024 15:41:27    2570186

Replying To LottoPlus:  "Did not blame the players they are good players but just too young. I blame the whole structure we have. Remember we won an all ireland feile some 10-12 years ago. Most of them should be 24 to 26 now but where are they. Bringing young lads into the Lions Den like that is unfair on them. Boys against me. A good big team will always beat a good if not better small team anyday."
Too young? 24-26 cmon everyone has been saying they are up & coming for years.

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 280 - 16/09/2024 15:45:22    2570187

Replying To caltra04:  "you havent a clue about iuntermediate football"
No I haven't. Thankfully. But I'd say that you will get the opportunity to learn a good bit about it over the next few years.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 930 - 16/09/2024 15:46:20    2570189

Replying To Eire89:  "Too young? 24-26 cmon everyone has been saying they are up & coming for years."
Who is everyone?Talk to the lads on the team and they know they haven't won anything or even been in a semi final.They know they underperformed yesterday.Stop with the anti Claregalway rubbish.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 339 - 16/09/2024 15:55:17    2570191

Replying To anotheralias:  "No I haven't. Thankfully. But I'd say that you will get the opportunity to learn a good bit about it over the next few years."
I would safely say you never kicked a ball in your life. one of these sunshine supporters from a big club...

caltra04 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 16/09/2024 16:19:18    2570197

Not getting carried away past this year but hypothetically speaking if we go up this year or if it be the year after so be it (but the point is we will be there soon) , then we can definitely challenge for FF considering the charge made by dunmore and teams alike. great crop in caltra atm lets see what the future holds

caltra04 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 16/09/2024 17:01:24    2570216

Replying To caltra04:  "you havent a clue about iuntermediate football"
Awful brave to be coming out of the woodwork after caltra's first good year in 8 years

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 99 - 16/09/2024 17:40:17    2570222

Watched the first half of claregalway match could not get over the difference in heigh very few claregalway tesm over 5:10 I've actually never seen a smaller team height wise in my opinion unless claregalway find taller players thet will struggle big tome obviously I don't know if they exist in the club Oughterard had 6-7 inches on some of them Oughterard looked a good team

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 929 - 16/09/2024 17:44:53    2570223

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Oughterard Can thank ref that they had 15 on pitch.Should have had 2 black cards.Claregalway are a very young team and will get there.They are senior for less than 10 years."
You've come out with this stuff before. Claregalway won an intermediate title in 2002. They beat us in the north hoard last year with a team of hurlers. So they've been in and out of senior for more than 20 years.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 97 - 16/09/2024 18:49:00    2570230

Think the intermediate championship is wide open. You have perennial contenders from recent years like Oileain Arann and Kilconly losing 5 of the 6 games between them while teams that have struggled in recent years like Oranmore Maree, Caltra, St Gabriel's and Clifden, all topped their groups.While the likes of St Micheal's and An Spideal are still in it with a chance. Absolutely wide open for any side that can get a little run going.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2264 - 16/09/2024 19:31:06    2570235

What hurling players do St James, Corofin, Tuam Stars and Kilannin have that the game needs to be played on Thursday night? This is a big disadvantage for the teams who played on Sunday that would've picked up knocks and will do well to be recovered. Watched the games in Pearse Stadium this weekend, Moycullen are only in third gear it seems, they had a low scoring game against St James. Good to see Cooke back. Conroy very good for James again. Leteir Moir had a great win against MM in tough conditions and with a man down. They were impressive at times and never backed down, O Gubain was good between the posts utilising nearly as an extra man out the field. O Ceallaigh in midfield and Mac Donncha at 14 were very good for them. Oughterard looked well structured against a poor claregalway team who struggled to get into the game at all. They were a very physical team with all big men in the middle and they can run the ball well. The Monaghan brothers are great runners with the ball. Number 3 and 4 for Oughterard look to be very tight defenders and didn't leave Grainger or Rohan a ball inside. I can see them causing team's problems as they can mix it both ways. Annaghdown looked good and kept the ship steady even when comer went off. They're midfielder is very athletic and came out with a goal against kilannin. Kilannin clawed their way back into the game even though they also were a man down but couldn't close the gap. Darragh Hegarty and Kilcommins looked good for Annaghdown. Roche looks like an up and coming top midfielder for kilannin.

Galway_1972 (Galway) - Posts: 13 - 16/09/2024 21:33:31    2570254

Replying To caltra04:  "Not getting carried away past this year but hypothetically speaking if we go up this year or if it be the year after so be it (but the point is we will be there soon) , then we can definitely challenge for FF considering the charge made by dunmore and teams alike. great crop in caltra atm lets see what the future holds"
Green for calt....no sorry I'm wrong, green is for innocence. Challenge for FF....FFS.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 930 - 16/09/2024 23:34:21    2570273

Replying To caltra04:  "I would safely say you never kicked a ball in your life. one of these sunshine supporters from a big club..."
What does it matter whether i ever kicked a ball or not. So if someone has never played they are not entitled to an opinion?

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 930 - 16/09/2024 23:39:01    2570274

Replying To caltra04:  "Not getting carried away past this year but hypothetically speaking if we go up this year or if it be the year after so be it (but the point is we will be there soon) , then we can definitely challenge for FF considering the charge made by dunmore and teams alike. great crop in caltra atm lets see what the future holds"
Think ye have a bit to get yet lad. Dunmore were knocking on door for years, Caltra haven't got to a quarter final.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 402 - 17/09/2024 07:59:02    2570284

Great win by Leitir Mor over the weekend, they've got the grit and backbone that you need in clubs, looking forward to their match against Dunmore. Cooke is playing better football than he's ever done, made a big impact, as did Ger Davoren. I can't understand how Sean Kelly made team of the week , he has lost all his pace and danger. He could go from deep and get passed five or six lads a few years back, now he's got the head down and made some stupid passes and turned ball over a few times. Eoghan Kelly had a better game, brilliant defending of Paul Conroy. These Maigh Cuillin lads could well afford to take a few risks and inject a bit of pace but played as safely as they could.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 107 - 17/09/2024 08:38:15    2570286

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "You've come out with this stuff before. Claregalway won an intermediate title in 2002. They beat us in the north hoard last year with a team of hurlers. So they've been in and out of senior for more than 20 years."
This team is very young.And the current team are not in Senior since 2002.As you said yourself they have been up and down since 2002.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 339 - 17/09/2024 08:47:35    2570288

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Who is everyone?Talk to the lads on the team and they know they haven't won anything or even been in a semi final.They know they underperformed yesterday.Stop with the anti Claregalway rubbish."
Anti claregalway rubbish sums up what is wrong with ye. Huge population and pick winning plenty of underage & always saying contendets when realistically they have failed on this and in memory have rarely gotten to a QF. Now go back and get ready for the relegation battle and maybe in Jan 2025 ye can talk about being contenders again

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 280 - 17/09/2024 10:15:32    2570308

The main thing I want out of this championship is to find a few new forwards.

Thompson seems to have been the one most hype.

Dunne seems to be going well for Barna.
Sam O'Neill although a midfielder
Is tomo going well after a poor first game

Anyone in intermediate how are the two O's who were on panel last year going ?

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1255 - 17/09/2024 10:34:01    2570311

Think the intermediate championship is wide open. You have perennial contenders from recent years like Oileain Arann and Kilconly losing 5 of the 6 games between them while teams that have struggled in recent years like Oranmore Maree, Caltra, St Gabriel's and Clifden, all topped their groups.While the likes of St Micheal's and An Spideal are still in it with a chance. Absolutely wide open for any side that can get a little run going.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2264 - 17/09/2024 11:01:59    2570325

Replying To anotheralias:  "Green for calt....no sorry I'm wrong, green is for innocence. Challenge for FF....FFS."
probably the most talented crop around when you compare to neighbouring clubs, only hope for frank to go near that part of north galway anyways. mountbellews time is over and caltras has began

caltra04 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 17/09/2024 11:16:27    2570329