Galway Football thread

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Just giving my opinion. Dublin massively underperformed against Galway, if they had made their dominance count in the first half the game would have been over at half time.
Galway have made the most of there run of luck so far, fair play to them."
Just like Donegal managing yo beat Armagh in penalty shootout.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 329 - 27/07/2024 12:57:36    2561914

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "When you lose. you underperform. When you win all your championship games, you win Sam. Sounds like we agree."
Ye if you win all your championship games you win Sam. Galway haven't won all there championship games though, no team has this year, so you can also win it that way, with a large slice of luck thrown in.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 27/07/2024 14:08:43    2561926

Replying To Knocknadrough:  "This is the like of talk I like to hear because you know what, There's only one f**ng answer to that"
If Galway win tomorrow I'll still have the same opinion. None of the All Ireland winners (or even runners up for that matter) of the last 10 years would have needed a last minute goal to get over Sligo. Its been a poor year for football, everyone would agree with that. Galway could capitalise on it and sneak in for an All Ireland. Fair play to them if they do.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 27/07/2024 14:15:58    2561928

Interesting thing about the Dublin match for me was people saying Shane isnt going well this year when he kept us in the game as the great Dublin team attempted to overwhelm a team as they have done to many teams in the past. Walsh stood up in that first half to keep Galway in it and provided the platform for the second half. Here is hoping Shane takes it to Armagh tomorrow.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 27/07/2024 14:37:01    2561931

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "If Galway win tomorrow I'll still have the same opinion. None of the All Ireland winners (or even runners up for that matter) of the last 10 years would have needed a last minute goal to get over Sligo. Its been a poor year for football, everyone would agree with that. Galway could capitalise on it and sneak in for an All Ireland. Fair play to them if they do."
Fair play is right boy.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 27/07/2024 15:16:25    2561942

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Fair play is right boy."
How do you think the game will go?

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 27/07/2024 16:24:55    2561955

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "If Galway win tomorrow I'll still have the same opinion. None of the All Ireland winners (or even runners up for that matter) of the last 10 years would have needed a last minute goal to get over Sligo. Its been a poor year for football, everyone would agree with that. Galway could capitalise on it and sneak in for an All Ireland. Fair play to them if they do."
This is pointless. There won't be an asterisk over 2024 saying Donegal or whoever were the best team but unfairly beaten. Nobody will care, nobody's going to remember how close Sligo/mayo/Dublin/Donegal might have been. Ye all lost. Ye can comfort yourselves all winter with how it might have gone, might keep ye warm.

Even if we had lost against Sligo - we still would have been here in the end. It shows the strength of group 1 that the 1st & 2nd place both made final and 3rd place was unlucky not to make semi. Compare with donegals group - 2nd & 3rd place didn't even make QTR finals.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 95 - 27/07/2024 16:49:43    2561962

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "How do you think the game will go?"
Galway to win by 3pts

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2420 - 27/07/2024 17:03:11    2561966

Probably best if Bdonegal1991 is ignored, a WUM and and a bad one at that.

Good luck to our lads tomorrow, bring it home!

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 27/07/2024 17:10:02    2561967

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "How do you think the game will go?"
Galway 0-15 Armagh 0-14.

Scorers Galway S Walsh 0-5 3fs, R Finnerty 0-3 2fs,P Conroy 0-1, Dylan McHugh 0-1 Liam Silke 0-1. M Tierney 0-1,D Comer 0-1,C McDaid 0-1,J Heaney 0-1

Armagh C Turbitt 0-4 2fs, R O'Neill 0-3 1f and 1 45, S Campbell 0-2,R Grugan 0-2 2fs, Barry McCambridge 0-1,A Foker 0-1,
Niall Grimley 0-1.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3456 - 27/07/2024 18:28:17    2561983

Replying To systematic:  "This is pointless. There won't be an asterisk over 2024 saying Donegal or whoever were the best team but unfairly beaten. Nobody will care, nobody's going to remember how close Sligo/mayo/Dublin/Donegal might have been. Ye all lost. Ye can comfort yourselves all winter with how it might have gone, might keep ye warm.

Even if we had lost against Sligo - we still would have been here in the end. It shows the strength of group 1 that the 1st & 2nd place both made final and 3rd place was unlucky not to make semi. Compare with donegals group - 2nd & 3rd place didn't even make QTR finals."
I didn't say Donegal or anyone else were the best team, I said its been a poor year for football.
Galway being in the All Ireland is the probably best evidence of that.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 27/07/2024 18:31:58    2561985

Replying To katser:  "Galway to win by 3pts"
I feel it will all boil down to Comer. If he takes the field with the right mind-set he will win it for Galway.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 760 - 27/07/2024 19:18:30    2561992

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "I feel it will all boil down to Comer. If he takes the field with the right mind-set he will win it for Galway."
Armagh are solid but think they are not as good as Galway.
In the SF Kerry had a great chance of a goal which would have put them 1-10 v 0-06 up which would have finished that game

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2420 - 27/07/2024 19:29:21    2561997

Very best of luck to players and management tomorrow. And all supporters, I hope ye have a cracking day! Enjoy it all and hopefully Sam will be back in the west Monday evening!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 209 - 27/07/2024 22:10:14    2562025

Beat of luck tomorrow neighbours. It would be great to see both trophy's held on the Western seaboard

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2672 - 27/07/2024 23:29:38    2562045

Replying To katser:  "Armagh are solid but think they are not as good as Galway.
In the SF Kerry had a great chance of a goal which would have put them 1-10 v 0-06 up which would have finished that game"
Hadn't Con a chance to put the Dubs 6 clear of us in the 2nd half of the quarter? I wouldn't read too much into what ifs, Armagh pulled through and so did Galway. It'll be a titanic struggle tomorrow, nothing between the teams and the last few encounters have shown that.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 27/07/2024 23:52:29    2562050

Galway are favourites no doubt but Armagh have steely footballers who will give everything and a great fanbase who will roar them on.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9775 - 28/07/2024 02:28:26    2562057

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "I feel it will all boil down to Comer. If he takes the field with the right mind-set he will win it for Galway."
Comer Imv always takes the field with the right mindset,sometimes his body let's him down, it's just he's been beset with Injuries, that lad would die for Galway

Knocknadrough (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 28/07/2024 10:18:33    2562082

These are the days you live for, good buzz up on the train and nice buildup now until 3:30. Gaillimh abú

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 28/07/2024 10:56:12    2562090

Best of luck to Galway today it's been far too long since Sam came west , hopefully today is the day.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 216 - 28/07/2024 11:00:39    2562091