Galway Football thread

Replying To festinog:  "Connacht football looking strong with ourselves and the Rossies still in it. Perhaps it's the fact the Euros are currently being played but I can't help but shake the feeling that Mayo, with their history of losing on the big day and now out on penos, are beginning to remind me of someone…."
Bookies not impressed have pushed us out to 6th favourites for SAM which is about right with Shane having picked what looks like a serious injury. As we can't draw Armagh and Ross can't draw the Dubs it looks likely we will draw the Dubs.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1243 - 22/06/2024 22:09:05    2553813

Replying To giveitlong:  "Bookies not impressed have pushed us out to 6th favourites for SAM which is about right with Shane having picked what looks like a serious injury. As we can't draw Armagh and Ross can't draw the Dubs it looks likely we will draw the Dubs."
Those odds will get shorter if Cork beat Louth tomorrow as that increases our chances of not getting Dublin. Nothing to lose anyway next week. On Walsh, I don't think Joyce was too impressed, said afterwards he has an ankle injury that they don't know the severity of but "he wasn't giving us much anyway". Interview is up on GBFM.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 728 - 22/06/2024 22:13:10    2553818

Replying To giveitlong:  "Bookies not impressed have pushed us out to 6th favourites for SAM which is about right with Shane having picked what looks like a serious injury. As we can't draw Armagh and Ross can't draw the Dubs it looks likely we will draw the Dubs."
No less than we deserve to be fair. The team just isn't clicking, and is plagued by injuries. We haven't lived up to our potential at all this year and our style of play won't win anything. Ponderous attack, and disorganized defense. It'll be curious to see how we preform against a more attack-minded team.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3115 - 22/06/2024 22:24:05    2553826

Replying To festinog:  "You were saying?"
What you mean you were saying? Galway won by 3. If I backed Galway in the betting shop would I be collecting? Yes
Monaghan couldn't beat Galway when Galway were terrible, they'd a strong breeze behind them in the second half and lost the half by 2 points. You were saying, some boy

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 50 - 22/06/2024 23:00:14    2553851

Replying To festinog:  "No less than we deserve to be fair. The team just isn't clicking, and is plagued by injuries. We haven't lived up to our potential at all this year and our style of play won't win anything. Ponderous attack, and disorganized defense. It'll be curious to see how we preform against a more attack-minded team."
I wouldn't say the defence is disorganised at all. We've conceded very low tallies in this year's championship. Only the one goal which came from a poor kick out. I haven't checked the totals, but I'd say our defensive record is among the best of the 8 teams left.
We've been extremely organised at the back and have kept numbers back at all times. It's part of the reason we've struggled to put up bigger scores, as we're not committing as many forward as other teams.
I think we're actually fairly well set up to play against teams who will commit more players forward.
The lads got the job done in tough circumstances today and we're in the draw on Monday. We'll need a big improvement next weekend, but we're capable of it.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2096 - 22/06/2024 23:09:27    2553857

Replying To Flemenstar200:  "What you mean you were saying? Galway won by 3. If I backed Galway in the betting shop would I be collecting? Yes
Monaghan couldn't beat Galway when Galway were terrible, they'd a strong breeze behind them in the second half and lost the half by 2 points. You were saying, some boy"
Fair play ladeen. Monaghan score that goal and we'd be having a very different conversation on this page tonight. But you go on believing we were pre-ordained to beat them. God bless the youth.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3115 - 23/06/2024 05:09:13    2553885

worrying performance at times but winning is the name of the game. conroy stood up when the chips were down. credit to him playing serious football. mcdaid Mcg rath majer were all better in second half

pj did not hold back on shaneys performance

finnerty put the shooting boots on in second half

would anyone make any changes next week

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 194 - 23/06/2024 08:45:08    2553907

Management are too slow to make changes. Darcy was limping for about 5 minutes in Markievich Park before it was spotted and there were at least 3 other players carrying an injury who were left on until they had to leave the field. Same yesterday, enforced substitutions and two brought on with less than 3 minutes to go. It makes no sense to me.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 28 - 23/06/2024 09:18:59    2553924

I agree that the defence was organised and has looked disciplined and miserly all year. Only 6000 at the game was very disappointing show from Galway folk. We are 3in a row Connacht champions, into last 8...we need to get behind this team and travel in numbers. Liam O looked energetic and lively when he came on. Trust the panel now PJ and bring on fresh legs a tad earlier! We could all see McDaid was wrecked 5 mins before change was made.

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 23/06/2024 09:35:20    2553932

Replying To cavan.galway:  "worrying performance at times but winning is the name of the game. conroy stood up when the chips were down. credit to him playing serious football. mcdaid Mcg rath majer were all better in second half

pj did not hold back on shaneys performance

finnerty put the shooting boots on in second half

would anyone make any changes next week"
Darcy out sweeney Heaney in.

He is a good kick out option but a lot of scores are from him getting burnt by the wing back he's tracking

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1185 - 23/06/2024 10:17:57    2553939

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I wouldn't say the defence is disorganised at all. We've conceded very low tallies in this year's championship. Only the one goal which came from a poor kick out. I haven't checked the totals, but I'd say our defensive record is among the best of the 8 teams left.
We've been extremely organised at the back and have kept numbers back at all times. It's part of the reason we've struggled to put up bigger scores, as we're not committing as many forward as other teams.
I think we're actually fairly well set up to play against teams who will commit more players forward.
The lads got the job done in tough circumstances today and we're in the draw on Monday. We'll need a big improvement next weekend, but we're capable of it."
I would agree with you but I do think we need to be more positive in going forward next week if we are to win.

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 344 - 23/06/2024 10:41:33    2553950

Replying To jm25:  "Darcy out sweeney Heaney in.

He is a good kick out option but a lot of scores are from him getting burnt by the wing back he's tracking"
100% - playing on the wing means he gets exposed by pacey wing backs. McCarthy burnt him several times yesterday.
Croke Park is even more unforgiving in terms of pace.
Re John Daly - people seem to think he has been dropped. My understanding is that he has a knee problem & that's why he didn't feature yesterday although he was named on the bench.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1255 - 23/06/2024 10:53:53    2553957

I cant believe all the negative posts after we won. I taught we were excellent considering what happened last week. Monaghan had 15 behind the ball for most of the match. A wet and windy Pearse Stadium is never easy to play in. Bring on the Dubs. Terribly sad to see Ryan O Donoghue miss a penalty in their shootout.

Galway2001 (Galway) - Posts: 13 - 23/06/2024 11:05:13    2553963

Replying To festinog:  "Fair play ladeen. Monaghan score that goal and we'd be having a very different conversation on this page tonight. But you go on believing we were pre-ordained to beat them. God bless the youth."
Stop that goal should have been a free out for a horrible challenge on Maher. Mulkerrins did everything right and then we get punished for Maher getting taken out with the ball in the air? Without that they had no sniff of goal, and anyway we still won by 3. Worst case scenario we run through a legless Monaghan team during extra time.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 77 - 23/06/2024 11:16:49    2553965

Replying To Jellybaby:  "I would agree with you but I do think we need to be more positive in going forward next week if we are to win."
Difficult to see us upping the offensive gears for Croker. We play the way we play, and that's how we've been for two seasons at least. Hard to imagine us being more positive going forward with just a week's prep, especially with Walsh, Comer and Kelly looking somewhat gimped. Daly and Heaney fading off the team isn't necessarily a thorough improvement either.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3620 - 23/06/2024 11:22:12    2553967

good win yesterday..
once again very impressed with our defence..
easy to see why daly not playing as mulkerrins was again outstanding and is really finding form along with
mcdaid maher and conroy is just a class act and a real leader..
great too see comer back and pls god we can get 40 mins out of him next week..

cant for the life of me understand why walsh started...he was clearly struggling in the warm up and then joyce
makes a comment afterwards saying we didnt get much out of him...HA HELLO.....he was injured.
why does this management team play injured players....looks like shane wont be available next week....

for next week darcy cant start next week..he is simply not a wing forward...
ive nothing against him he is a whole hearted player but he is a midfielder throw and throw..
for me id start mcdaid at 12 next week and bring in a natural corner forward..

looking forward to going to dublin next week to support the lads..

on a side no pearse stadium needs a kick up the ass big time..
toilets once again not working yesterday like the derry game and its simply not good enough..

i was talking to a member of the minor hurling management team and he said pearse stadium mis falling apart and not fit for purpose..

when you compare the gaelic grounds dressing room to pearse stadiums its way off so pearse stadium officals
needs to cop on and things right..

amount of kids yesterday queing for the toilet and in discomfort was appalling and a total disregard for people safety.
absolute disgrace...

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 23/06/2024 12:11:56    2553988

He's the manager so glad he doesn't have blind spots when it comes to certain player but I don't think an interview is a time to criticise Shane's individual performance. He's his manager so for me that's a conversation that has to be had but behind close doors

Defensively I think we are really well setup. Our defenders are usually some of our better performers.

It wasn't a pretty sight but we got the job done in poor conditions.

Hopefully Comer has a full game in him . Would like Heaney back in the starting squad.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1683 - 23/06/2024 12:26:13    2553994

Job done yesterday and the margin about right in the end but always felt Galway had more gears to move up if required.

Next weekend a whole different challenge. No getting away from the nonsense schedule of 3 matches in 14 days and up against a rested Donegal, Dublin or Kerry.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 148 - 23/06/2024 12:30:01    2553995

Yesterday was a tricky assignment, congrats to the lads. Tomo needed some game time yesterday because we need him ready for quarterfinals. The reality is that our big dogs will not be playing on the pitch at the same time. Would love a crack at the Dubs at HQ. Gaillimh Abu.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1694 - 23/06/2024 13:13:21    2554005

Replying To gbay:  "good win yesterday..
once again very impressed with our defence..
easy to see why daly not playing as mulkerrins was again outstanding and is really finding form along with
mcdaid maher and conroy is just a class act and a real leader..
great too see comer back and pls god we can get 40 mins out of him next week..

cant for the life of me understand why walsh started...he was clearly struggling in the warm up and then joyce
makes a comment afterwards saying we didnt get much out of him...HA HELLO.....he was injured.
why does this management team play injured players....looks like shane wont be available next week....

for next week darcy cant start next week..he is simply not a wing forward...
ive nothing against him he is a whole hearted player but he is a midfielder throw and throw..
for me id start mcdaid at 12 next week and bring in a natural corner forward..

looking forward to going to dublin next week to support the lads..

on a side no pearse stadium needs a kick up the ass big time..
toilets once again not working yesterday like the derry game and its simply not good enough..

i was talking to a member of the minor hurling management team and he said pearse stadium mis falling apart and not fit for purpose..

when you compare the gaelic grounds dressing room to pearse stadiums its way off so pearse stadium officals
needs to cop on and things right..

amount of kids yesterday queing for the toilet and in discomfort was appalling and a total disregard for people safety.
absolute disgrace..."
The stadium is starting to show its age, even aside from the toilet situation which is shameful the whole place needs a facelift. Seats faded in the stand, dirt and muck on the terrace, walkways filled with ruts and puddles on a wet day. GAA stadiums in general aren't at a great standard but Pearse is low on the list when you look at others of the same size.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 23/06/2024 14:02:46    2554016