Galway Football thread

Replying To Dunmore10:  "I see on the mayo blog they are still building themselves up to be big challengers to dublin and derry are going to hammer us,such rubbish but a good laugh all the same!"
You're good at propaganda. I had a look, the vast majority are giving out about mayo management and tactics. Saying we aren't all Ireland contenders anymore which I agree with. That said you beat us by a point, there was not much between the teams. You always have to have hope as a da base. Personally I think a quarter final is the height or our ambitions for now.

Good luck to Galway going forward but stop the bull **** will you.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11249 - 10/05/2024 10:15:05    2543941

Replying To yew_tree:  "You're good at propaganda. I had a look, the vast majority are giving out about mayo management and tactics. Saying we aren't all Ireland contenders anymore which I agree with. That said you beat us by a point, there was not much between the teams. You always have to have hope as a da base. Personally I think a quarter final is the height or our ambitions for now.

Good luck to Galway going forward but stop the bull **** will you."
You might want to have another read of it good man,majority on there think the referee was the fault for ye losing.and there is a few on there saying derry will hammer us.to b fair I have always found you to be fair with your analysis.we will get stronger with all big players back .anyways enjoy the sun for weekend and we can both look forward to next weekend

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 10/05/2024 10:53:45    2543948

Now I know its been asked a good few times but anyone know whether Patrick Kelly will be available soon?

Paul Conroy is some man, winning his 6th Connacht Final 16 years after winning his first and did so by playing the full game at midfield. What a brilliant ambassador for the county.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 265 - 10/05/2024 11:37:10    2543957

Replying To yew_tree:  "You're good at propaganda. I had a look, the vast majority are giving out about mayo management and tactics. Saying we aren't all Ireland contenders anymore which I agree with. That said you beat us by a point, there was not much between the teams. You always have to have hope as a da base. Personally I think a quarter final is the height or our ambitions for now.

yew_tree, what did you make of the Martin Carney assertion that the departure of AOS, which was followed by three unanswered points for Galway, and that the loss of his leadership impacted the team. To me he did look tired leaving the field. Also I thought Cillian should have caried and tried to draw a free, but then again he has kicked similar scores in the past....https://www.tiktok.com/@gsmusic64/video/7366891749882547488

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 98 - 10/05/2024 12:06:05    2543961

Replying To Keephimthere:  "yew_tree, what did you make of the Martin Carney assertion that the departure of AOS, which was followed by three unanswered points for Galway, and that the loss of his leadership impacted the team. To me he did look tired leaving the field. Also I thought Cillian should have caried and tried to draw a free, but then again he has kicked similar scores in the past....https://www.tiktok.com/@gsmusic64/video/7366891749882547488"
I think Cillian O'Connor's worry was that the ref was about to blow if Mayo didn't get a shot away quickly, which was probably the case. They had already passed it around a bit without making much headway and the time had well over the indicated amount.
As for Aidan O'Shea, I think he was out of steam and wasn't really in the game in the 2nd half prior to being taking off.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2067 - 10/05/2024 13:08:11    2543971

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I think Cillian O'Connor's worry was that the ref was about to blow if Mayo didn't get a shot away quickly, which was probably the case. They had already passed it around a bit without making much headway and the time had well over the indicated amount.
As for Aidan O'Shea, I think he was out of steam and wasn't really in the game in the 2nd half prior to being taking off."
Aidan has been a great warrior for Mayo but there isn't 70 plus minutes in him anymore at this level. He had a simple chances to take a point in the first half but instead passed it off to a colleague who if memory serves me correct, actually had his back to the goals. He took a snap shot and hit the post and the ball was cleared. He was a spent force when he was called ashore. I believe the winning of the game was the decision not to start Shane Walsh. PJ knew there wasn't a full game in him so he gambled on having him for the second half when the game opened up and he was proved correct as Walsh finished very strongly

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1690 - 10/05/2024 14:07:47    2543981

Why are you getting upset over it? He's not talking about you or the posters on here, he's referring to a completely different site

The comments there are the same as they always are. A portion are reasonable and fair minded, a portion are a bit biased and a portion are absolutely deranged. It follows a similar pattern to most forums on the internet only the latter segment is much more prevalent than the norm on there

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 216 - 10/05/2024 14:20:04    2543982

Replying To WanPintWin:  "That's the point he's making though. Having that many players at underage might not be the best thing, even for Claregalway themselves.
It can lead to disillusionment with a lot of young lads and a very high drop out rate as they go up the age groups. The later developers could be lost to the game.
With such a disparity of pick, winning underage will come a lot easier for them and it could also stifle their development a bit. They won't be challenged as much in games and may not learn as a result.
While Corofin have a good pick, it's nothing close to what Claregalway have. Corofin have built their club through excellent coaching and bringing players all the way through to adult level, improving them as footballers.
I've no doubt Claregalway are trying to do the same and have some great coaches, but it might actually be harder for them, given the numbers.
I think we might see something similar with Oranmore. They have massive numbers underage too and are fielding a lot of teams at different age groups."
Agree 100%. Oranmore were well beaten two weeks ago by Corofin second team .Corofin were missing a number of Galway u20's .Not sure how many Oranmore were missing but got the impression from them very few.
The point was made at the game that Oranmore thrashed Corofin in an u16 final approx. 4 or 5 years ago . Corofin have 7/8 of that team playing Senior/Intermediate compared to one from Oranmore.
Saw it last two nights in Div 3 of Feile where Headford are thrashing teams scoring 16/18 points and obviously told not to go for goals. I think they would beat most Division 2 teams and they have a few players that would make Oranmore/Corofin/Monivea/Caherlistrane "A" teams. Was told its not their fault and they had no say in what division they play in (decided by Coiste)but they are learning absolutely nothing . Should go on to win it unless similar mis matches in other groups.

fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 417 - 10/05/2024 14:32:07    2543985

Replying To WanPintWin:  "That's the point he's making though. Having that many players at underage might not be the best thing, even for Claregalway themselves.
It can lead to disillusionment with a lot of young lads and a very high drop out rate as they go up the age groups. The later developers could be lost to the game.
With such a disparity of pick, winning underage will come a lot easier for them and it could also stifle their development a bit. They won't be challenged as much in games and may not learn as a result.
While Corofin have a good pick, it's nothing close to what Claregalway have. Corofin have built their club through excellent coaching and bringing players all the way through to adult level, improving them as footballers.
I've no doubt Claregalway are trying to do the same and have some great coaches, but it might actually be harder for them, given the numbers.
I think we might see something similar with Oranmore. They have massive numbers underage too and are fielding a lot of teams at different age groups."
Exactly that. Oranmore and Maree will split in time too. You're just going to have too many people in those areas to be served by a single club. E.g. Brigid's and Castleknock in Dublin.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 82 - 10/05/2024 14:39:40    2543987

Replying To eoinog:  "Aidan has been a great warrior for Mayo but there isn't 70 plus minutes in him anymore at this level. He had a simple chances to take a point in the first half but instead passed it off to a colleague who if memory serves me correct, actually had his back to the goals. He took a snap shot and hit the post and the ball was cleared. He was a spent force when he was called ashore. I believe the winning of the game was the decision not to start Shane Walsh. PJ knew there wasn't a full game in him so he gambled on having him for the second half when the game opened up and he was proved correct as Walsh finished very strongly"
I think Aido doesn't pace himself in a game like he should. Spends a lot of time needlessly wandering back to the backline where he's usually not needed and then tires too early in games. I can't understand why sideline don't keep at him to stay between 45 and goal or take him off earlier when he's tired? It's a testament to the man that's he stuck at it and fought for his place after being dropped a few years. A good guy who seems to ignore some abuse that was directed at him for years. Need to have more than Plan A to sub Cillian for him though. Their experience together could be needed in some games if we're to push for a quarter final.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7394 - 10/05/2024 15:32:47    2543994

Replying To Keephimthere:  "yew_tree, what did you make of the Martin Carney assertion that the departure of AOS, which was followed by three unanswered points for Galway, and that the loss of his leadership impacted the team. To me he did look tired leaving the field. Also I thought Cillian should have caried and tried to draw a free, but then again he has kicked similar scores in the past....https://www.tiktok.com/@gsmusic64/video/7366891749882547488"
Most management teams nowadays go by the GPS tracker which is on the back of players jerseys. Once they start beeping lads are hooked off. Aidan O'Shea would likely be better used as impact sub.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 116 - 10/05/2024 16:19:57    2543999

Replying To TheBishop:  "Now I know its been asked a good few times but anyone know whether Patrick Kelly will be available soon?

Paul Conroy is some man, winning his 6th Connacht Final 16 years after winning his first and did so by playing the full game at midfield. What a brilliant ambassador for the county."
well said the bishop. some of his foot passing kicking into damien last sunday was a delight. fantastic chemistry between the two guys

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 288 - 10/05/2024 18:16:22    2544004

I'd agree with it but AOS does not have the legs anymore for a full game and that's probably been the case for a few years. The fact that he drifts in and out exerts energy and no management team has been able find a place for him. Personally I'd have him midfield and take him off however long he lasts. Having him on the edge of the square is grand if we kicked the ball into him but we don't do that for some reason.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11249 - 10/05/2024 18:28:33    2544006

Replying To PressureKick:  "Why are you getting upset over it? He's not talking about you or the posters on here, he's referring to a completely different site

The comments there are the same as they always are. A portion are reasonable and fair minded, a portion are a bit biased and a portion are absolutely deranged. It follows a similar pattern to most forums on the internet only the latter segment is much more prevalent than the norm on there"
Not upset mate…just making an observation. Someone here said look at the Mayo blog. I watched the game in a Mayo pub and everyone was saying after we had nobody to blame but ourselves. I wouldn't be using some comments on internet forums to gauge the view of a counties support base.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11249 - 10/05/2024 18:30:22    2544007

Replying To TheBishop:  "Now I know its been asked a good few times but anyone know whether Patrick Kelly will be available soon?

Paul Conroy is some man, winning his 6th Connacht Final 16 years after winning his first and did so by playing the full game at midfield. What a brilliant ambassador for the county."
Seemingly Kelly has a bad back injury and we won't be seeing him this year.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1248 - 10/05/2024 21:31:59    2544014

Replying To yew_tree:  "Not upset mate…just making an observation. Someone here said look at the Mayo blog. I watched the game in a Mayo pub and everyone was saying after we had nobody to blame but ourselves. I wouldn't be using some comments on internet forums to gauge the view of a counties support base."
But nobody is going to use MayoGaaBlog as an accurate representation of Mayo fans, how could they? I assume a fair portion of the content on there is parody. You gauge opinion by talking to real people. If the likes of 'Clare' or 'Sean Burke' on there are actually real people then id worry for society

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 216 - 11/05/2024 10:30:26    2544033

Replying To PressureKick:  "But nobody is going to use MayoGaaBlog as an accurate representation of Mayo fans, how could they? I assume a fair portion of the content on there is parody. You gauge opinion by talking to real people. If the likes of 'Clare' or 'Sean Burke' on there are actually real people then id worry for society"
Pathetic that you worry about other comments on another county's blog cause they don't wear a I heart Galway top.... Same on every other forum /blog your not going to like some of what you see Most on the blog are fair if you don't like it don't read it!

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 48 - 11/05/2024 11:41:43    2544040

Replying To S1234:  "Pathetic that you worry about other comments on another county's blog cause they don't wear a I heart Galway top.... Same on every other forum /blog your not going to like some of what you see Most on the blog are fair if you don't like it don't read it!"
Clare, wander back over there to the deluded blog. Sure you didn't even go to the game last week. Ha!

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 729 - 11/05/2024 14:30:28    2544062

Good to see London and Sligo win today. Up Connacht. Be good for Connacht football if Sligo could win it out

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 376 - 11/05/2024 19:02:47    2544149

Replying To S1234:  "Pathetic that you worry about other comments on another county's blog cause they don't wear a I heart Galway top.... Same on every other forum /blog your not going to like some of what you see Most on the blog are fair if you don't like it don't read it!"
Who mentioned anything about I heart Galway? I said people read some comments on the site and assume they're parody

To simplify that down for you Clare: Ppl do read wha u rite and tink your deranged, ha ha

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 216 - 12/05/2024 11:37:17    2544233