Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "We're obsessed with individual scoring totals in Galway hurling. It's no wonder the intercounty forward line lacks teamwork, cohesion, and ball winning play makers. Every man looking to score for himself, to get the usual scoring total 'acclaim'. It's no wonder Whelan hasn't passed a ball to a colleague in about 2 seasons, and got an all-star for one of them."
How do you know Niland's totals weren't mainly made up of frees, earned by him and others? Would you rather players keep passing the ball around ad infinitum like the footballers and turn down the chance for a score?

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 150 - 24/08/2024 21:25:11    2566616

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Castlegar are the masters of the "false dawns". Nearly every year we hear they've the potential to go deep into the championship. I hope you're right. I'd like to see them do well. But at his age Ger Farragher surely wont be their main man if they do. About time a few younger ones stepped up to drive on the team."
Nine points off Sarfields is definitely false dawn territory, as usual.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3829 - 24/08/2024 21:35:47    2566617

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Nine points off Sarfields is definitely false dawn territory, as usual."
They beat sarsfields last year and topped the group

basillarkin (Galway) - Posts: 65 - 24/08/2024 22:21:01    2566625

Replying To katser:  "Gort and Moycullen in the relegation play off now"
I'll take Gort in that match.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2217 - 25/08/2024 03:41:42    2566641

Replying To Triffic:  "How do you know Niland's totals weren't mainly made up of frees, earned by him and others? Would you rather players keep passing the ball around ad infinitum like the footballers and turn down the chance for a score?"
I didn't say how many frees he got? Probably the usual 'mix'? Posting those totals up here for players who can't win enough ball at senior intercounty level is what it is too.

I'd love to see to see the hurlers having the control, ball winning capacity, and the game management nous to 'keep passing the ball around ad infinitum'. They'd be a much better side than they actually are, if they were capable of that.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3829 - 25/08/2024 08:35:07    2566647

Replying To Kinvara:  "Kinvara win by 32 point after beating Killimor the first day

Not bad for a "one man team" as our u20 manager said on a recent podcast. No wonder we got beat by Dublin!"
How the mighty have fallen, county senior finalists not so long ago boasting about hammering two clubs decimated by rural depopulation. Have some shame.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 190 - 25/08/2024 10:02:36    2566654

Sarsfields very impressive but they weren't up against much. Kevin Cooney gradually getting back to form and Joseph still to come back. They will be hard knocked out. I think there is clear separation between the top five teams and everyone else. Thomas', Turloughmore, Clarinbridge, Sarsfields and Loughrea are well ahead of the rest and if we get four of those in the semi finals then we are in for a real treat.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 762 - 25/08/2024 13:06:34    2566665

Kinvara win by 32 point after beating Killimor the first day

Not bad for a "one man team" as our u20 manager said on a recent podcast. No wonder we got beat by Dublin!

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 169 - 25/08/2024 13:24:11    2566666

Replying To TanCanRan:  "How the mighty have fallen, county senior finalists not so long ago boasting about hammering two clubs decimated by rural depopulation. Have some shame."
Who was boasting? Kiltormer are a fantastic club, I live out near them myself and we all know they have struggled with emigration

Kinvara though have 14 lads who are constantly disrespected because of a great player on the team . They have shown they're good hurlers in their own right

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 169 - 25/08/2024 13:25:54    2566667

Great win for Larkins. Hurled the all ireland champions off the field. Could have won by more than 8 in the end.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 762 - 25/08/2024 18:32:20    2566712

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I didn't say how many frees he got? Probably the usual 'mix'? Posting those totals up here for players who can't win enough ball at senior intercounty level is what it is too.

I'd love to see to see the hurlers having the control, ball winning capacity, and the game management nous to 'keep passing the ball around ad infinitum'. They'd be a much better side than they actually are, if they were capable of that."
Yes indeed. To hell with scoring, who needs it?

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 150 - 25/08/2024 19:39:51    2566728

Replying To galway19:  "Great win for Larkins. Hurled the all ireland champions off the field. Could have won by more than 8 in the end."
That score shocked me. Mighty achievement for Larkins. Congratulations.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2217 - 26/08/2024 00:23:45    2566802

Replying To Trump2020:  "That score shocked me. Mighty achievement for Larkins. Congratulations."
They should have won even easier. I don't think there was any point 1v1 matchup on the field that you could say a Thomas' player won. The Larkins forwards (Duggan, Flynn, Slattery) gave them a torrid time and Colm Flynn and Ronan Murphy completely dominated midfield against David Burke and Regan.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 762 - 26/08/2024 09:22:39    2566838

Senior B Relegation Final already sorted even with 1 more round of group games Ahasragh-Fohenagh v Beagh!
Intermediate Champions Ballindeeren (my tip for promotion to Senior A) safely through to Senior B Semi Final!!
Senior A Relegation play offs Gort, Moycullen, Mullagh and one of Castlegar/Ardrahan/Oranmore.
Now if Gort beat St.Thomas' (not a chance) then St Thomas' are in the Relegation play off!!
Mullagh have to beat Cappataggle by 6pts or more to be safe!!
Moycullen have to beat Craughwell to be safe!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2426 - 26/08/2024 15:36:30    2566973

Replying To katser:  "Senior B Relegation Final already sorted even with 1 more round of group games Ahasragh-Fohenagh v Beagh!
Intermediate Champions Ballindeeren (my tip for promotion to Senior A) safely through to Senior B Semi Final!!
Senior A Relegation play offs Gort, Moycullen, Mullagh and one of Castlegar/Ardrahan/Oranmore.
Now if Gort beat St.Thomas' (not a chance) then St Thomas' are in the Relegation play off!!
Mullagh have to beat Cappataggle by 6pts or more to be safe!!
Moycullen have to beat Craughwell to be safe!"
Sounds very interesting...!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2068 - 27/08/2024 00:13:22    2567056

Mullagh will go down id say. And we will never see there likes in Senior (a) again. another Far East Galway club gone. The hurling heartland is Juggernauting towards the South western side of the county every year, its final destination.

I think someone said it earlier, all those clubs should amalgamate really, kilimor, eyrecourt, mullagh, kiltormer, I think Portumna and TAD are sound to stay on there own. They have enough history and pedigree anyway.

Also fair play to Tommy Larkins, some weekend for them. I Was at it super win.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 436 - 27/08/2024 11:00:35    2567088

Replying To Triffic:  "Yes indeed. To hell with scoring, who needs it?"
Hurling isn't at all like football in that context, so your point doesn't make much impact imo, in the context of what we're talking about. The scoring range is so much larger in hurling, that if you monopoliize possession, you'll almost invariably score at will, and win games. There is no blanket defence model in hurling that has changed the face of the game in the way that the Donegal '12 template changed the face of football so fundamentally.

Hurling has it's own problems too of course, especially around the lack of rule enforcement with overcarrying and throwing, while the ping ping possession thru the lines 'hurling' can look more like lacrosse than hurling most of the time, and visually is hardly the traditionalists cup of tea.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3829 - 27/08/2024 11:09:38    2567090

Replying To galway19:  "They should have won even easier. I don't think there was any point 1v1 matchup on the field that you could say a Thomas' player won. The Larkins forwards (Duggan, Flynn, Slattery) gave them a torrid time and Colm Flynn and Ronan Murphy completely dominated midfield against David Burke and Regan."
Very surprising. Was it an off day for Thomas's or are Larkins that good?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2217 - 28/08/2024 17:42:48    2567422

Replying To Trump2020:  "Very surprising. Was it an off day for Thomas's or are Larkins that good?"
May not be an "either or" situation. Thomas's are often very sluggish and at their most vulnerable in the early group stages. Have been a different animal when they get to the knock out stages. Of course there's a possibility that they are slipping back a bit after their phenomenal success and prolonged period of dominance but one thing I'd be fairly sure of is that Larkins aren't "that good" to hammer a Thomas's team close to their peak!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 29/08/2024 12:01:31    2567516

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Hurling isn't at all like football in that context, so your point doesn't make much impact imo, in the context of what we're talking about. The scoring range is so much larger in hurling, that if you monopoliize possession, you'll almost invariably score at will, and win games. There is no blanket defence model in hurling that has changed the face of the game in the way that the Donegal '12 template changed the face of football so fundamentally.

Hurling has it's own problems too of course, especially around the lack of rule enforcement with overcarrying and throwing, while the ping ping possession thru the lines 'hurling' can look more like lacrosse than hurling most of the time, and visually is hardly the traditionalists cup of tea."
Have to agree with you on throwing the ball when is a throw not a throw maybe when the player throws a fastball pitch into the forward line. True overcarrying and swarm defense are not pretty but hurling is still a fantastic watch, high scoring, physical and skillful it takes talent to play hurling where any superbly fit athlete can fist the ball around the football field. The only change I would possibly make is to increase the value of a goal to 4 or 5 points to encourage more shot taking. Some teams are happy enough to rack up the points as the risk of going for goal is not worth it.

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 129 - 29/08/2024 22:22:04    2567601