Galway Hurling thread

we are eliminated from the league playoffs because 14 man Limerick were allowed to back pass to Quaid.
Are we scratching our heads lads? We should have kept the extra man on Quaid
deja vu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 16/03/2024 15:57:17    2531395

Replying To tommy k:  "Agree Galway were poor and still got a draw so what does that day about "the greatest team of all time"?! lol"
Means we're still unbeaten. Chalk a draw at home against 14 men as a moral victory if it helps though.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 16/03/2024 16:06:23    2531398

Replying To skillet:  "Means we're still unbeaten. Chalk a draw at home against 14 men as a moral victory if it helps though."
Yes but celebrating a draw must be a nod of respect to a Galway team who played poorly in the second half for "the greatest team of all time"! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 16/03/2024 16:53:22    2531413

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I've no Idea how ye managed to draw that"
Do you mean Galway should have won it? Yes I agree but then again Galway were playing "the greatest team of all time"!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 16/03/2024 16:57:24    2531417

Replying To tommy k:  "Agree Galway were poor and still got a draw so what does that day about "the greatest team of all time"?! lol"
Wow.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 16/03/2024 16:57:25    2531418

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes but celebrating a draw must be a nod of respect to a Galway team who played poorly in the second half for "the greatest team of all time"! lol"
You're very excitable pal.. Calm down. No one disrespects Galway. You're coming across a bit needy.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 16/03/2024 17:21:27    2531426

Replying To skillet:  "You're very excitable pal.. Calm down. No one disrespects Galway. You're coming across a bit needy."
You keep replying "pal" trying to get the last word in so I would think you are the one being "very excitable"! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 16/03/2024 17:23:59    2531428

Replying To tommy k:  "Do you mean Galway should have won it? Yes I agree but then again Galway were playing "the greatest team of all time"!"
I thought Galway were much better for the majority of the game.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2662 - 16/03/2024 17:28:20    2531430

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I've no Idea how ye managed to draw that"
Welcome to the Galway world of mystery!! At half time I would have expected us to drive on and comfortably win by atleast 10pts.
Giving away soft frees for "that lad" to bang over the bar is our own malfunction and the wides from our forwards was terrible! There is some difference between C Mannion striking a ball in comparison to T Monaghan!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 16/03/2024 17:33:22    2531433

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I thought Galway were much better for the majority of the game."
Not sure you could say that. It was no more than 50/50 IMHO - yes it is disappointing to draw a home game but probably a bit better than a defeat. Saying that Galway were poor in the second half no doubt. Limerick survived mainly on English points from play in the first half and Byrnes long range frees in the second half. Again Galway's main weakness was not winning any possession e.g. aerial ball in the half forward line especially when the game was there to be won. If that could be improved in any serious way, then Galway would have a good chance of winning in most games.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 16/03/2024 17:44:34    2531437

Replying To tommy k:  "Not sure you could say that. It was no more than 50/50 IMHO - yes it is disappointing to draw a home game but probably a bit better than a defeat. Saying that Galway were poor in the second half no doubt. Limerick survived mainly on English points from play in the first half and Byrnes long range frees in the second half. Again Galway's main weakness was not winning any possession e.g. aerial ball in the half forward line especially when the game was there to be won. If that could be improved in any serious way, then Galway would have a good chance of winning in most games."
What did Galway survive on?

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 16/03/2024 18:36:01    2531463

Replying To tommy k:  "Not sure you could say that. It was no more than 50/50 IMHO - yes it is disappointing to draw a home game but probably a bit better than a defeat. Saying that Galway were poor in the second half no doubt. Limerick survived mainly on English points from play in the first half and Byrnes long range frees in the second half. Again Galway's main weakness was not winning any possession e.g. aerial ball in the half forward line especially when the game was there to be won. If that could be improved in any serious way, then Galway would have a good chance of winning in most games."
Not only in the half forward line but especially in the full forward line, evident that kevin cooney a massive loss for his ball winning. When C Mannion went out the field i cant recall Niland or Conor Cooney winning any ball thought the two of them were poor. The quicker Brian Concannon gets to match fitness the better. Suprised Jason Flynn wasn't introduced

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 20 - 16/03/2024 18:46:44    2531473

Replying To daveboy:  "What did Galway survive on?"
Heart, character and no little skill!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 16/03/2024 18:49:11    2531476

Replying To Galway456:  "Not only in the half forward line but especially in the full forward line, evident that kevin cooney a massive loss for his ball winning. When C Mannion went out the field i cant recall Niland or Conor Cooney winning any ball thought the two of them were poor. The quicker Brian Concannon gets to match fitness the better. Suprised Jason Flynn wasn't introduced"
True I think Flynn may have been introduced as he is normally a better impact sub than when he starts and he has a bit of pace when he does get the ball.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 16/03/2024 18:53:53    2531478

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I thought Galway were much better for the majority of the game."
If you really think that Doylerwex why did you post the following on the Limerick page in response to daveboy?

Replying To daveboy: "Very encouraging to see that second half performance. Psychologically another blow to Galway after one against tipp last weekend both of whom I expect to see in latter stages of championship. Once byrnes wod hego came in the game completely changed. Galway came with an over the edge performance today and Limerick only got better the worse the tackles got"

That was a formidable Limerick performance.
Everything went against you and still managed to not lose
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2567 - 16/03/2024 15:52:36 2531

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 16/03/2024 19:01:47    2531482

Replying To tommy k:  "If you really think that Doylerwex why did you post the following on the Limerick page in response to daveboy?

Replying To daveboy: "Very encouraging to see that second half performance. Psychologically another blow to Galway after one against tipp last weekend both of whom I expect to see in latter stages of championship. Once byrnes wod hego came in the game completely changed. Galway came with an over the edge performance today and Limerick only got better the worse the tackles got"

That was a formidable Limerick performance.
Everything went against you and still managed to not lose
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2567 - 16/03/2024 15:52:36 2531"
Both of those statements are true. I thought Galway were the better side for most of the game but for some poor shooting in the second half.

From the Limerick side they must be delighted. They didn't play well but still clawed a result out of it in a game they should have lost.

A mark of a great team is getting a result when you haven't performed.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2662 - 16/03/2024 20:31:40    2531513

Replying To daveboy:  "What did Galway survive on?"
Fresh air and sunshine, what else daveboy!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1804 - 16/03/2024 20:49:34    2531522

Replying To baire:  "Fresh air and sunshine, what else daveboy!"
Not much sunshine there today. I'm a huge fan of Galway hurling. But there's a couple of right yokes on here. The incredible sportsmanship I witnessed in 2018 from the Galway fans will live long in my memory. Anytime we play its the same. Mutual respect. I strongly feel outside managers just don't work. Galway Need a Galway man. Waterford same. Dublin same. There aren't many Limerick hurling fans who don't have enormous respect for Galway hurling and their supporters.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 16/03/2024 21:16:28    2531532

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Both of those statements are true. I thought Galway were the better side for most of the game but for some poor shooting in the second half.

From the Limerick side they must be delighted. They didn't play well but still clawed a result out of it in a game they should have lost.

A mark of a great team is getting a result when you haven't performed."
This Limerick team has won 5 all-irelands, so it would be rather surprising if they're in need of affirmation, or taking 'delight', from NHL results, especially while starting only about half of their regulars.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 16/03/2024 21:20:37    2531536

Good tough manly man. Just watched it back! It will do both teams a power of good for the championship!

Limk without key men, but so were Galway, especially Whenlan when it came to finishing. Good to see Hannon back, seemed to be getting stronger as the game went on.

People are saying that this result won't be good for Galway psychologically. But you must remember that Limk are one of the most battle hardened teams ever! Anyway, these days players take it game from game.

I'm sure this isn't the only installment of these two fine rivals going at it hell for leather than we'll see this year. Well I hope not anyway! And if so, the next day it'll be a totally new game in totally different circumstances! A game really worth winning!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1912 - 16/03/2024 21:26:30    2531542