Galway Hurling thread

Replying To galway19:  "Johnny Glynn back on senior panel."
It'll be interesting to see how he is used. Will he be a spark off of the bench or will he compete for a spot? Not sure what kind of game shape he's in.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 06/03/2024 22:28:42    2530144

Johnny Glynn supposedly back with the Galway senior panel. Massive addition if true he offers a big physical presence which is vital against the big teams. A potential half forward line of Glynn, Joseph Cooney and Conor Cooney would be interesting

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 20 - 06/03/2024 23:21:37    2530147

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Are you saying they're not winning at u20/u21 because they're not special? But we can make them special with development? Or are we stuck with inherently 'unspecial' senior produce, if they don't look special at u20/u21, or dare I say if they don't look like winners at u20/u21 level?

It will be a first for Galway in the 'modern'/post '75 era, if we win a senior all-ireland title without a single player who has won an all-ireland at u20/u21 level."
Not what I'm saying. I'm saying the best route to success is getting u20 lads up to speed with both the playstyle and conditioning of senior level hurling. Unless you have a golden generation you're ideally trying to promote 3 or 4 lads a year directly into the senior panel

Winning it all is of course a good thing but if they win it's more important they do it in the right way in my opinion

On the last point, there will come a time where plenty of teams will win AIs without u21 winners including Galway down to the new rules. The Limerick u21 team you mentioned had Cian Lynch playing u21 in 2017, he was a 3 year veteran of the senior team at that point!!

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 128 - 07/03/2024 08:50:53    2530155

Replying To Kinvara:  "Not what I'm saying. I'm saying the best route to success is getting u20 lads up to speed with both the playstyle and conditioning of senior level hurling. Unless you have a golden generation you're ideally trying to promote 3 or 4 lads a year directly into the senior panel

Winning it all is of course a good thing but if they win it's more important they do it in the right way in my opinion

On the last point, there will come a time where plenty of teams will win AIs without u21 winners including Galway down to the new rules. The Limerick u21 team you mentioned had Cian Lynch playing u21 in 2017, he was a 3 year veteran of the senior team at that point!!"
Expecting 3 or 4 20 year olds to step up every year is maybe optimistic given the size and intensity of Senior intercounty players these days

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 07/03/2024 10:19:59    2530165

Replying To Trump2020:  "It'll be interesting to see how he is used. Will he be a spark off of the bench or will he compete for a spot? Not sure what kind of game shape he's in."
He always kept himself in good shape when playing with Ardrahan and the New York footballers. They have done well to keep it quiet up to now as seemingly he has been training away with them for a while. Will be a good addition even if only for 20 minutes in a game

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 07/03/2024 10:37:25    2530169

Replying To katser:  "Your correct reference Gort.... I completely forgot "them"!
Our Lady's Collage Gort and Gort V.S are along time amalgamated now as Gort CC.
Just the one Collage in that town.
That's the way it is with Raphaels and Brigids........it difficult to see them both have equally strong teams like when they were the Kingpins of Galway schools hurling."
What is this "collage" you are referring to katser - some sort of mural? lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 07/03/2024 10:41:01    2530170

Replying To Viking66:  "Expecting 3 or 4 20 year olds to step up every year is maybe optimistic given the size and intensity of Senior intercounty players these days"
This is true, definitely won't be starting but you'd want that in the league at the very least

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 128 - 07/03/2024 11:10:10    2530174

Replying To Viking66:  "Expecting 3 or 4 20 year olds to step up every year is maybe optimistic given the size and intensity of Senior intercounty players these days"
Bit of an understatement there. Look at the state Cork are in still after winning three of the last 4 U20 All Irelands

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 833 - 07/03/2024 11:53:50    2530178

Replying To Kinvara:  "Not what I'm saying. I'm saying the best route to success is getting u20 lads up to speed with both the playstyle and conditioning of senior level hurling. Unless you have a golden generation you're ideally trying to promote 3 or 4 lads a year directly into the senior panel

On the last point, there will come a time where plenty of teams will win AIs without u21 winners including Galway down to the new rules. The Limerick u21 team you mentioned had Cian Lynch playing u21 in 2017, he was a 3 year veteran of the senior team at that point!!"
One thing I'll say is there has yet to be an all Ireland Senior winner without it being made up of a big number of underage all Ireland winners, always have lads with no underage medals on these teams too, even Limerick have those lads too but so many of their team have 2 u21 all Ireland's. Wexford in 96 maybe but a lot of those lads had played in all Ireland finals at underage. Offaly 1981 are probably the only ones to win an all Ireland without any underage success at either all Ireland or provincal and then their senior success later on was made up of the minor teams that won 3 minor in 4 years in the late 80s. While underage all Ireland's are no guarantee, counties still don't seem to win any senior all Ireland's with minor/u20/21 success either. As someone in a county without any all Ireland success at underage, it definitely helps having all Ireland winners coming through.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 07/03/2024 12:35:24    2530184

Replying To tommy k:  "What is this "collage" you are referring to katser - some sort of mural? lol"
Oh it was in reference to Brigids..... We won, sorry Brigids won numerous All Ireland Schools titles under the name St Brigids "V.S Loughrea but now it's known as St. Brigids "Collage " Loughrea.
Hadn't enough fingers to count the amount of All Ireland's won!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 07/03/2024 13:13:00    2530189

Replying To Galway456:  "Johnny Glynn supposedly back with the Galway senior panel. Massive addition if true he offers a big physical presence which is vital against the big teams. A potential half forward line of Glynn, Joseph Cooney and Conor Cooney would be interesting"
Jason Flynn is not a small man either!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 07/03/2024 13:44:57    2530191

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "One thing I'll say is there has yet to be an all Ireland Senior winner without it being made up of a big number of underage all Ireland winners, always have lads with no underage medals on these teams too, even Limerick have those lads too but so many of their team have 2 u21 all Ireland's. Wexford in 96 maybe but a lot of those lads had played in all Ireland finals at underage. Offaly 1981 are probably the only ones to win an all Ireland without any underage success at either all Ireland or provincal and then their senior success later on was made up of the minor teams that won 3 minor in 4 years in the late 80s. While underage all Ireland's are no guarantee, counties still don't seem to win any senior all Ireland's with minor/u20/21 success either. As someone in a county without any all Ireland success at underage, it definitely helps having all Ireland winners coming through."
I agree that's the case but I see it the other way

They are winning u21s because of a great group of players, they're not great players from winning u21. As I said under the old rules you had lads like Cian Lynch, Kyle Hayes and Conor Whelan playing u21 despite being key senior players. That's why they win

Most years you're looking for lads to supplement your great players in the senior team, easiest way to do that is develop them physically and get them playing the same style.

Galway rightly are looking for more games at u20 level rather than less games and a much bigger chance of winning it

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 128 - 07/03/2024 13:46:25    2530192

Replying To Kinvara:  "This is true, definitely won't be starting but you'd want that in the league at the very least"
Agree the best u20s should be brought into the Senior panel every year so they get a good look at the level they need to get to.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 07/03/2024 14:23:07    2530196

Replying To galway19:  "He always kept himself in good shape when playing with Ardrahan and the New York footballers. They have done well to keep it quiet up to now as seemingly he has been training away with them for a while. Will be a good addition even if only for 20 minutes in a game"
Agreed. He's a great option to have. Size, strength, experience, etc.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 07/03/2024 14:44:59    2530199

Replying To tommy k:  "Jason Flynn is not a small man either!"
Depends what your definition of small is Tom.....under 4 foot? Your right Jason is a big Tommy Larkins man!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 07/03/2024 16:04:28    2530207

Replying To katser:  "Depends what your definition of small is Tom.....under 4 foot? Your right Jason is a big Tommy Larkins man!"
I think you will need to get your good ruler or measuring tape out again katser - Jason is officially 6 feet 4 inches! Cathal Mannion is another big man that can play in the half forwards at 6 foot 2 inches.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 07/03/2024 19:29:30    2530225

Replying To galway19:  "He always kept himself in good shape when playing with Ardrahan and the New York footballers. They have done well to keep it quiet up to now as seemingly he has been training away with them for a while. Will be a good addition even if only for 20 minutes in a game"
He'll be in the starting 15 no prob. Nothing better than him for the half-forward line.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1912 - 07/03/2024 23:04:21    2530241

Replying To foreveryoung:  "He'll be in the starting 15 no prob. Nothing better than him for the half-forward line."
I'd put him at 14, those aimless long balls we have been hitting in over the past few years will suddenly have a very different outcome. Concannon, Glynn, Whelan with any one of them rotating out the pitch should cause havoc.

1: Darach Fahy
2: Morrissey/Grealish
3: Fintan Burke
4: Mannion
5: Cianan Fahy
6: Daithi
7: Joe Cooney
8: Sean Linnane with Glennon to come in
9: David Burke
10: Cathal Mannion
11: Conor Cooney/Monaghan
12: Niland
13: Brian Concannon
14: Glynn
15: C Whelan

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 08/03/2024 09:20:22    2530265

Replying To foreveryoung:  "He'll be in the starting 15 no prob. Nothing better than him for the half-forward line."
No way he can start in half forward line. Would be grand for puck outs but you need runners in that line to track running half backs up the field and that isn't his game. If he starts his job is to stay around the 21.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 08/03/2024 09:31:04    2530271

Replying To Trucker1:  "I'd put him at 14, those aimless long balls we have been hitting in over the past few years will suddenly have a very different outcome. Concannon, Glynn, Whelan with any one of them rotating out the pitch should cause havoc.

1: Darach Fahy
2: Morrissey/Grealish
3: Fintan Burke
4: Mannion
5: Cianan Fahy
6: Daithi
7: Joe Cooney
8: Sean Linnane with Glennon to come in
9: David Burke
10: Cathal Mannion
11: Conor Cooney/Monaghan
12: Niland
13: Brian Concannon
14: Glynn
15: C Whelan"
That half forward line you picked will not win much possession Trucker and that has been Galway's main problem over the years apart from perhaps 2015 - 2018 when they had no player under 6 feet in that line.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 08/03/2024 09:40:19    2530272