8. Dee
9. Liam Óg
10. Jacko
11. Kevin Foley
12. Connal Flood
13. Rory
14. Mac
15. Chin

Think Devitt deserves another chance in the corner. We need someone else in the full-forward line alongside Mac and Rory; don't think any team would be able to handle those two + Chin. Put Kevin Foley at centre-forward and allow him to drift; he hasn't been in great form but he's a much better hurler than those competing for the last spot on the team right now. Connal Flood would be better in the half-back line but needs must and he does have some scoring power plus should be solid enough defensively at wing-forward.

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 618 - 11/05/2022 20:11:56    2416603

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Here's how I'd pick the team to play Westmeath:

1. Fanning
2. Donohoe
3. Ryan
4. Devitt
5. Paudie
6. Reck
7. MOH
8. Dee
9. Liam Óg
10. Jacko
11. Kevin Foley
12. Connal Flood
13. Rory
14. Mac
15. Chin

Think Devitt deserves another chance in the corner. We need someone else in the full-forward line alongside Mac and Rory; don't think any team would be able to handle those two + Chin. Put Kevin Foley at centre-forward and allow him to drift; he hasn't been in great form but he's a much better hurler than those competing for the last spot on the team right now. Connal Flood would be better in the half-back line but needs must and he does have some scoring power plus should be solid enough defensively at wing-forward."
Would be happy with that team. Possibly with Kevin Foley playing as third midfielder and Chin move out to half forward line? Then we have likes of Dunbar , Morris , O Foley and Hearne to come on

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 12/05/2022 09:49:38    2416619

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Here's how I'd pick the team to play Westmeath:

1. Fanning
2. Donohoe
3. Ryan
4. Devitt
5. Paudie
6. Reck
7. MOH
8. Dee
9. Liam Óg
10. Jacko
11. Kevin Foley
12. Connal Flood
13. Rory
14. Mac
15. Chin

Think Devitt deserves another chance in the corner. We need someone else in the full-forward line alongside Mac and Rory; don't think any team would be able to handle those two + Chin. Put Kevin Foley at centre-forward and allow him to drift; he hasn't been in great form but he's a much better hurler than those competing for the last spot on the team right now. Connal Flood would be better in the half-back line but needs must and he does have some scoring power plus should be solid enough defensively at wing-forward."
Forgot about Kevin. Agree he needs to start see can he play himself back into form. We have a good few options and a good bench at the moment. Hopefully good enough to win our last 2 games.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16782 - 12/05/2022 10:22:43    2416631

My team for Saturday

Fanning
Donohue Ryan Devitt
Paudie D Reck Hanlon
Flood Dee
O Foley Chin Jacko
Pepper Mac Rory

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 12/05/2022 10:52:06    2416635

Replying To Yellow:  "My team for Saturday

Fanning
Donohue Ryan Devitt
Paudie D Reck Hanlon
Flood Dee
O Foley Chin Jacko
Pepper Mac Rory"
Our match is on at 6:30 with Galway's on at 5pm on Saturday.

We will start the match knowing how much we need to score to beat their score difference (we are currently one point behind them at the moment)

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 12/05/2022 12:25:10    2416662

Replying To Yellow:  "Our match is on at 6:30 with Galway's on at 5pm on Saturday.

We will start the match knowing how much we need to score to beat their score difference (we are currently one point behind them at the moment)"
Galway will beat Laois by a big margin so we will need the same.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1923 - 12/05/2022 12:41:35    2416666

Fanning
Donohue Ryan Devitt
Paudie D Reck Hanlon
Flood Dee
O Foley Chin Jacko
Pepper Mac Rory"
Would definitely like to see Pepper get a decent amount of game time

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 12/05/2022 12:42:53    2416668

Replying To Yellow:  "Our match is on at 6:30 with Galway's on at 5pm on Saturday.

We will start the match knowing how much we need to score to beat their score difference (we are currently one point behind them at the moment)"
We need to win our last game and Galway to lose their last game so the 1 point will be at least reversed if we finish level on points and we both win this weekend by the same amount.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16782 - 12/05/2022 12:46:44    2416671

We need to win our last game and Galway to lose their last game so the 1 point will be at least reversed if we finish level on points and we both win this weekend by the same amount. If Dublin Kilkenny is a draw we could finish level with either of these either. We will lose out on head to head to Dublin if only level with them. And if the Dubs draw with Kilkenny then we also draw with Kilkenny points difference will sort out which of us finish 3rd.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16782 - 12/05/2022 13:09:09    2416676

Fanning
Donohue Ryan Devitt
Paudie D Reck Hanlon
Flood Dee
O Foley Chin Jacko
Pepper Mac Rory"
I'd be happy enough with that team, but just a few things to say myself:

1 - Flood in midfield is worth a try, but I think it's still more likely that McGovern will make the team ahead of him.

2 - Might be an opportunity to give Lawlor an appearance in goal, instead of Fanning? Just for championship experience, in case he's needed in future against Kilkenny or anybody else, if Mark gets injured or anything.

3 - Similarly, maybe a chance to start Paul Morris, instead of (presumably) planning to bring him on at some stage? Most likely ones to give way would maybe be Oisín Foley, Jacko, or Oisín Pepper, although I agree I'd like to see Pepper start on account of all that's gone on.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3004 - 12/05/2022 14:30:36    2416697

Replying To Viking66:  "We need to win our last game and Galway to lose their last game so the 1 point will be at least reversed if we finish level on points and we both win this weekend by the same amount. If Dublin Kilkenny is a draw we could finish level with either of these either. We will lose out on head to head to Dublin if only level with them. And if the Dubs draw with Kilkenny then we also draw with Kilkenny points difference will sort out which of us finish 3rd."
On another note entirely, the nostalgia factor and the feelings stirred on another thread now have me absolutely convinced we're going to win in nowlan Park :) :)

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3877 - 12/05/2022 14:50:22    2416702

Replying To hunting:  "Wexford beat tipp recently in a challenge match so there mighn't be as much between limerick/tipp and kk as we think, but in saying that I think limerick will win by 7 or 8 in the final. Corey Dunbar has been disappointing for the under 20 last few games but I heard today the chap was playing with a broken finger and trying to recover for it over the last few weeks, so that explain it. I taught the six backs were excellent last night and the rest of the team played in flashes. We missed to many easy scores and made few silly mistakes in possession but I think the best team lost last night. Fair play to the lads for putting in a huge effort"
It's bad form to put a lad out recovering from a broken finger. Kinsella could and should have started. He can and does score. A big error by the management. Byrne Dunbar was anonymous and with his injury was no help to the team whatsoever.
Kilkenny are hard to beat on any give day but when you shoot yourself in the foot the task becomes so much harder.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 12/05/2022 15:19:20    2416715

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I'd be happy enough with that team, but just a few things to say myself:

1 - Flood in midfield is worth a try, but I think it's still more likely that McGovern will make the team ahead of him.

2 - Might be an opportunity to give Lawlor an appearance in goal, instead of Fanning? Just for championship experience, in case he's needed in future against Kilkenny or anybody else, if Mark gets injured or anything.

3 - Similarly, maybe a chance to start Paul Morris, instead of (presumably) planning to bring him on at some stage? Most likely ones to give way would maybe be Oisín Foley, Jacko, or Oisín Pepper, although I agree I'd like to see Pepper start on account of all that's gone on."
Maybe start Morris wing forward? Definitely good to get him gametime he's missed the whole year so far really.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16782 - 12/05/2022 15:36:31    2416722

Replying To Samson55:  "It's bad form to put a lad out recovering from a broken finger. Kinsella could and should have started. He can and does score. A big error by the management. Byrne Dunbar was anonymous and with his injury was no help to the team whatsoever.
Kilkenny are hard to beat on any give day but when you shoot yourself in the foot the task becomes so much harder."
Posted on this earlier about Tucker. He made a good positive impact every time he came on. O'Hagan, Byrne, Lawlor, and Byrne Dunbar when fit would probably start ahead of him though. And if he started would the lad he replaced make the same impact off the bench?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16782 - 12/05/2022 15:44:28    2416725

Replying To Afinestick:  "Would be happy with that team. Possibly with Kevin Foley playing as third midfielder and Chin move out to half forward line? Then we have likes of Dunbar , Morris , O Foley and Hearne to come on"
Would make sense, don't think Westmeath would have any hurler who would be able to mark Chin if Lee was able to roam all over the place starting from a corner-forward position. The one thing I will say is that Cusack Park is a very small pitch which means that you can shoot from way out the field. Might make some sense to bring Rory and Chin out to the half-forward line but at the same-time, I don't think Westmeath would be able to handle a full-forward line of Rory, Mac, and Chin. If the centre-back wants to drop back to protect the full-back line, then Kevin Foley would have a field day from out the pitch. I don't think McGuckian is the lad to start in a game where shooting from out the pitch will be very important, that's why I think Flood and Kevin Foley starting in the half-forward line makes a lot of sense.

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 618 - 12/05/2022 20:14:18    2416780

Team named

1. Fanning
2. Donohue
3. Jippo.
4. Devitt
5.MOH
6. D.Reck.
7. P. Foley
8. DOK
9. Liam Og
10. Jack.
11. Oisin Foley
12. Chin
13. Morris
14. Mac
15. Rory

Egan seems to be nervous about getting the win and has put no faith in the youth. I would of liked to see Conall Flood and Conor Hearne start.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 975 - 13/05/2022 09:16:54    2416793

Replying To Past hurler:  "Team named

1. Fanning
2. Donohue
3. Jippo.
4. Devitt
5.MOH
6. D.Reck.
7. P. Foley
8. DOK
9. Liam Og
10. Jack.
11. Oisin Foley
12. Chin
13. Morris
14. Mac
15. Rory

Egan seems to be nervous about getting the win and has put no faith in the youth. I would of liked to see Conall Flood and Conor Hearne start."
Yeah you'd wonder if they'll get significant game time at all now. There's no way the younger lads (first year panellists) will be thrown into the white heat of battle in Nowlan Park next week. I'd have liked to see Pepper start here with Morris brought in for a half or so. Morris' return could yet prove to be a huge boost but will be seen more so vs Kilkenny than Westmeath. His usual 2-3 points from play under the radar mightn't matter a huge pile vs Westmeath but could be decisive vs the Cats. I'm hoping anyway.

I'd have Flood as a must-start at this stage too, although maybe he is one of our more impactful options off the bench if Jacko and Chin start.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1503 - 13/05/2022 10:05:42    2416802

Egan has finally got his team right. The physicality of that half forward line makes you wonder what he was thinking fielding Mc Guckin, Dwyer and Kevin Foley . They will be a handful for any half back line - and Chin is the smallest of them in height. Plus the addition of Morris in the corner gives more physicality to our full forward line which suddenly looks very strong.

I hope they all pull through and the same 6 start vs Kilkenny.

If we can pull this one out of the bag and get out of Leinster it will be some achievement - but I must say that line- out gives me hope.

Still a lot of talent on the bench and when you consider Shaun Murphy, Bailey and Shane Reck are all still absent, plus the possible addition of a few of the U20s next year (Aj, Kyle Scallan, Cian Byrne, Richie Lawlor, Cian Molloy) we suddenly have a very strong panel - possibly the strongest I can remember.

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 13/05/2022 10:17:59    2416806

Replying To Past hurler:  "Team named

1. Fanning
2. Donohue
3. Jippo.
4. Devitt
5.MOH
6. D.Reck.
7. P. Foley
8. DOK
9. Liam Og
10. Jack.
11. Oisin Foley
12. Chin
13. Morris
14. Mac
15. Rory

Egan seems to be nervous about getting the win and has put no faith in the youth. I would of liked to see Conall Flood and Conor Hearne start."
I think there'll be loads of changes if we're in a good position at half time.

It's an important game. We have to make sure of it to put ourselves in the position going to the kk

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3877 - 13/05/2022 10:35:40    2416816

Nervous lol we will win by 15-20 points at the weekend. All roads lead to Kilkenny then. Main thing Saturday is avoid needless injuries

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 13/05/2022 10:50:24    2416821