Great detective work Columbo :)
The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2093 - 08/09/2021 12:23:23 2378747 Link 1 |
Beat them in 2008 in Croke park by a point
The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2093 - 08/09/2021 12:26:23 2378748 Link 0 |
No. Tyrone beat Mayo in 2008 Championship. But it's true to say we have usually been beaten by Mayo. tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 08/09/2021 12:38:17 2378754 Link 0 |
Don't get me wrong I think Aidan O Shea has been a fantastic servant for Mayo and carried them on his back many a time. When he went off against Dublin I thought Mayo went up a gear and blew Dublin away. The days of a big full forward causing havoc are rare ( Clifford the exception), if Aidan is played in midfield I think Tyrone will bottle him up and slow the game down which will suit Tyrone. I think his best position from a Mayo point of view might be at centre half back to block the Tyrone runners and contest Morgan's kickoits if Tyrone are forced to go long . Hoping that both teams put on a show . Knowing my luck O 'Shea will probably get " man of the match" lol.
tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 394 - 08/09/2021 12:39:21 2378755 Link 1 |
. No. Read pericles response to my post on page 17 - Instead of wasting your time with the RTE version of events! ;-) timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 08/09/2021 12:45:30 2378758 Link 0 |
Nah, ye beat us in the qualifiers by a point prior to winning the All-Ireland in 2008.
Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/09/2021 12:50:24 2378762 Link 0 |
Tyrone beat Mayo in 2008. havent beaten them since in championship. I believe Mayo haven't lost to ulster opposition since Donegal 2012?
kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 08/09/2021 13:38:14 2378776 Link 0 |
It's an all Ireland final ffs, pressure is never "ALL" on one team,
Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 08/09/2021 14:00:38 2378784 Link 3 |
. timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 08/09/2021 14:02:58 2378785 Link 0 |
Yeah, that sounds right. Think since then we've beaten Donegal, Derry, Armagh, Tyrone, Fermanagh and Down in the championship. Have only played Monaghan and Cavan in the league (think Cavan might have beaten us in the NFL down in McHale Park one year?) I can't ever remember Mayo playing Antrim at senior level. Although we played Kilkenny away in the league at one point in the early 90s! Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/09/2021 14:12:32 2378796 Link 0 |
Think Tyrone win it by a point or 2 aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 668 - 08/09/2021 14:18:06 2378802 Link 0 |
Tyrone have beaten Mayo in 2001 under 21 final and in the minor final of 2008 after reply. Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 08/09/2021 14:46:50 2378808 Link 0 |
2013: Alan Freeman scored a perfectly good goal which was disallowed in favour of giving Mayo a free in (which was missed), so even breaks there.
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 08/09/2021 16:02:54 2378830 Link 0 |
The last time mayo lost in a championship game in crew park to a team other than Dublin was 2012
Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 59 - 08/09/2021 16:14:27 2378832 Link 0 |
If you're referring to Donegal in 2014 Ulsterman, my recollection is that the game unfolded exactly as Donegal wanted and was there for them until the kickout error. That gaff gift wrapped the title for The Kingdom and Kerry even got another bit of luck near the end when a McFadden goal effort hit the post. So Donegal did show up but the Gods of football had Kerry jerseys on that day and that year generally. Speaking of Gods, we're apparently putting our faith in the cast of some Aussie soap... not sure what sort of influence they might have? Time will tell. Tyrone have no one.... no friends, wouldn't fit in with the siege mentality:) Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 08/09/2021 17:26:25 2378847 Link 2 |
Think its anyones game. Cant wait! Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15904 - 08/09/2021 17:55:42 2378855 Link 1 |
Hardly. Nothing controversial about it The ref blew it up before he entered the box, the commentators even said so. Happened in the 24 min. You can see deegan having his arm in the arm to signal the free https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=VPfo27aYL0Q TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 08/09/2021 19:29:39 2378877 Link 1 |
Prediction: Mayo 0-17 Tyrone 0-14 Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1417 - 08/09/2021 20:28:36 2378886 Link 0 |
Delighted one of these will win. Both serial losers the past few years so one of them deserves their day in the Sun. TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 08/09/2021 21:20:08 2378907 Link 0 |
Prediction Tyrone 2-13 v Mayo 0-15. Tyrone have more goal power in McKenna, McCurry, McShane. Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 08/09/2021 21:42:50 2378912 Link 0 |