Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "The thing is that no-one knows which Aidan O Shea will turn up. He could have a stinker on Saturday or ending up getting "man of the match" I think pace is the one big area where he has a weakness . My own view, I hope he starts as I think Tyrone have the tools to handle him."
Aodán Ó Shea has played many a fine game for Mayo. Yes he was poor v Dublin in semi but he was suffering from an injury the week leading up to the game. He has had poor games too especially v Dublin but has been good v Tyrone and Kerry in the past. I think there s a big game in Aidan Saturday evening.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3935 - 07/09/2021 20:09:28    2378624

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Aodán Ó Shea has played many a fine game for Mayo. Yes he was poor v Dublin in semi but he was suffering from an injury the week leading up to the game. He has had poor games too especially v Dublin but has been good v Tyrone and Kerry in the past. I think there s a big game in Aidan Saturday evening."
Agree big performance in O'Shea. think he will be centre field.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 07/09/2021 20:45:09    2378634

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I was in 2 different pubs in Dorset Street and I saw a few more open. I did see alot of Tyrone supporters getting turned away because of no proof of vaccine. They were allowed drink outside Red Parrot though although not many seats.McGraths open aldo and Temple bar pub and findlater all near croke park and Phól Ryan's on ncr Road beside Jones s Road also open. I know the Gardaí closed alot of pubs during hurling final for not complying with covid rules as in people standing."
Thanks for that CiarraiMick much appreciated, I have the vaccine pass so should be OK then..;)
Any live music about anywhere yet?

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 07/09/2021 20:59:55    2378637

Replying To Flyingintraining:  "The build up to this immense, its all anyone can talk about here, and im sure its the same up in Tyrone. My productivity levels in work are non existent at present, certainly stealing a living this week!!!!.

Just cannot call it, think it will be who ever gets a little bit of luck on the day. Fed up of trying to predict how it will go, just sitting back now and savouring the build up. As a Mayo man, i've been spoilt the last 10 years, so many big games and days out, the time of our lives tbh. If we win it so be it, I'll die happy. If we lose I wouldn't begrudge Tyrone one bit, coz they'll have earned it if they beat us. We'll rise again as we always do. Tyrones a County iv'e always had a grá for. Loved the away days in the league, good people up there. As a team iv'e massive respect for them, their technically alot better than they get credit for.

Just one question for Tyrone supporters, and I certainly don't intend to cause offence here. My question is… on average, do the Unionist side of the Tyrone community get behind the team for such a big event as an AIF? Or is their zero interest?"
Great nights were spent in Castlebar going to games. One of them games where it's hard to call, anything and everything will happen, of course I'm confident but then again so should Mayo be. Build up is brilliant , all the talk everywhere you go is football, papers podcasts anything football. On your query about Unionists, one particular one I was talking to a couple of weeks ago brought up the football subject about how brilliant Mayo did against Dublin, he knew all about it and the upcoming Kerry v Tyrone match. Talked about fitness levels and tackles as if he really followed GAA. Couldn't believe it. Good luck anyway come Saturday evening and hope either team doesn't win it on a bad decision somewhere, they're both better than that.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2301 - 07/09/2021 21:38:29    2378642

I want to wish Mayo all the best for Sat,hope they win,they could do with an AI after all they have contributed to the championship for so many years and the terrific football they have played.Being a Limerick fan I know what the pain of defeat and being nearly men is like.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 07/09/2021 22:05:36    2378654

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "The thing is that no-one knows which Aidan O Shea will turn up. He could have a stinker on Saturday or ending up getting "man of the match" I think pace is the one big area where he has a weakness . My own view, I hope he starts as I think Tyrone have the tools to handle him."
Would it be mischievous to ask who these tools are who'll handle Aidan? On his day he's made no lesser defenders than the Donegal McGees look like a man against boys! That's the Aidan enigma... people say he can be handled and though he never played well against Philly and Johnny, on other days he's been completely unmarkable. I'm sure Tyrone will have plans but we all know what happens after the ball gets thrown in.

Fair play to Dooher and Logan btw, they've got the Tyrone team playing proper football and not just a system of football by numbers which Mickey, as great as he was, unfortunately clung to for too long. I won't be happy if Mayo lose on Saturday, but I'm sure whichever team wins will have played decent football to do it. That said I'll gladly take a win on any terms:)

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 07/09/2021 22:36:05    2378661

Replying To Pericles:  "I think if you were to have asked that question a few years ago most Mayo supporters would have said Mayo are better with Aidan playing, no doubt about it. However the fact that he's now 30 having played senior for a dozen years+ you'd expect we could at least all agree by now where his best position is and yet we can't. And it's not because he's so good everywhere that he can be played anywhere and do a good job. He's a big lad, strong, a good fielder, an excellent tackler and with good vision. But he's also one-paced, is not the best foot passer and his score taking is patchy at best. He'll run himself into the ground, so his attitude is superb, but on the pitch he demands and attracts the ball where it might be better going a different way and this slows down Mayo's attacking play. I think with so many pacey players coming into the Mayo team these last two years the trade-off in terms of attacking opportunities lost has become far more obvious. Mayo are all about pace now and Aidan, despite his strengths, brings nothing to promote that way of playing. If he can adapt to being a purely defensive player behind midfield and not try to do it all, he can still contribute enormously. He should look at the likes of Andy Moran, who managed to get better in his thirties by finding ways of playing that compensated for physical limitations brought on by age and some terrible injuries. Aidan is a smart individual and not someone who won't rise to the challenge and this is why I think he'll start next weekend and beyond. Plus he still can do damage at FF if the mood is right, so no problems with seeing him go in there.

I wonder would Tyrone posters feel more optimistic seeing Aidan on the pitch or the bench?"
Definitely a big call here for James Horan, where to play Aidan O'Shea or indeed whether to play him. The apparent invigoration of Mayo (whether coincidental or not) when O'Shea left the park v Dublin begs the question could his presence and style of play stymie a winning performance from Mayo even if individually he is playing well.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 909 - 07/09/2021 22:44:04    2378664

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Cillian O'Connor back in training?? Could be BS but some reports that he is"
2 extra weeks coming up for Mayo?? Cough, sniffle.

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 214 - 07/09/2021 22:54:42    2378669

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "One way to look at the final is to measure both teams against Dublin at their best, 2018/19.

Would this Mayo team have beaten Dublin in those years? Not a hope. Tyrone were beaten easily enough in the final in 2018, but i think they are far better now than then.

On balance, Tyrone's win over Kerry was more impressive than Mayo's win over a Dublin team well past their best, and who still could have won it in the last minutes of normal time.

So, Tyrone for me. No preference either way."
The 2021 All Ireland final could very well be the final of all finals, after some heart breaking defeats especially at the hands of the Dub's and with or without the Back Door Mayo came back against all the odds. In the semi's Dublin was fancied to breeze into the final at the expense of Mayo, in the other semi Kerry was expected to breeze into the final with the Dub's at the expense of Tyrone.

Some will say Dublin were tired and on the way down, that they have lost a number of players, one with a more higher profile than the next, the change of manager was even brought into question, excuses are not valid reasons, Mayo could have made the same excuses over the past 6, 7 or even 10 years, they didn't, they just got on with it, and here they are about to make their own bit of history against the odds.

Tyrone it could be said took the hard road, their game with Donegal didn't raise a lot of eye brows, after the Monaghan game people were beginning to take serious notice of Tyrone and then the covid issue, in the interest of peoples health the game was postponed for a week, then a second week was deemed necessary, between one thing and another Kerry a lot of peoples favorites played Tyrone in the other semi-final and we all know the final result.

So we have Mayo beating Dublin the favorites on one side going for 7 in a row, and Tyrone beating Kerry the favorites on the other side. Analyzing the final result of this game and what's got from it may very well not have been covered here, for example a draw match hasn't been mentioned, a draw is possible, what then.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3181 - 07/09/2021 23:27:39    2378678

Replying To Mancirish:  "Lads any news on the pubs in Dublin & which are open around Croker?
I believe most were shut still for the Tyrone Kerry Semi...
Flying in from Manchester on the hunt for a decent pub at least & or a golden ticket..;)"
I wouldn't bother with getting a pint in the the pubs a Chara. Disaster zone in and around the ground at the games I was at this year, they couldn't cope with the numbers, table service, inside or outside etc.

It's like this, All Ireland final, crowds spill out on the street outside all of the pubs, hit the Spar in Drumcondra get yourself a 6 pack of your favourite, a couple of plastic glasses and head for just outside McGraths, you'll be grand! ;)

The publicans are bricking themselves about breaching the rules or getting shut down they don't want crowds inside or heading to the bar asking for a pint, they won't bother you once your outside, they even have an off licence themselves that will be selling take away on the day, trust me there will be crowds outside there and a bit of craic, atmosphere and you 10 min walk to Croker any side your on.

Enjoy!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4517 - 07/09/2021 23:30:55    2378680

Replying To Flyingintraining:  "He's jogging, thats about it. Was on holidays last week. Not a chance of him featuring, hasn't kicked a ball since June."
Cillian watching the Ireland game tonight on tv as per his Instagram post…Mayo train Tuesday so that puts that mad rumour to bed. The Telegraph really is a joke at this stage.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11589 - 07/09/2021 23:53:59    2378685

It is true, isn't it, that Tyrone have never beaten Mayo in a championship match?

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 08/09/2021 02:03:16    2378691

The pressure is ALL on Mayo. Tyrone have drank from the All Ireland well and have nothing to prove. It's a tough one to predict. Dublin should have buried Mayo in the first half in a 35 mins that showed the vulnerable side of the men from the West. Can Mayo do pressure? That's the big question. If Tyrone are within 2 or 3 of Mayo with 10/15 mins to go I would strongly fancy the Red Hand fellas. Mayo need a massive 45/50 mins. A lot of folk are strongly backing Mayo but beware!!! I remember a few years back when Donegal beat Dublin in the All Ireland semi final and simply didn't turn up against Kerry in the final. Have Mayo already played their final? It remains to be seen.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 08/09/2021 04:12:48    2378699

Replying To essmac:  "It is true, isn't it, that Tyrone have never beaten Mayo in a championship match?"
Ye beat us in the 2008 last round qualifier in Croke Park by a point and went on the win Sam.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11589 - 08/09/2021 11:23:05    2378733

Replying To essmac:  "It is true, isn't it, that Tyrone have never beaten Mayo in a championship match?"
Beat us in the 2008 qualifier on the way to the All Ireland.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8008 - 08/09/2021 11:33:23    2378737

Met 5 times I think. Mayo won 4 while tyrone won 1. Tyrone won during the 00s. The more recent games in 2013 and 2016 were closer than people think. Mayo got a right few favourable calls in those 2 games including a tackle outside the box which was given as a penalty in 2013.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 08/09/2021 11:49:11    2378741

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The pressure is ALL on Mayo. Tyrone have drank from the All Ireland well and have nothing to prove. It's a tough one to predict. Dublin should have buried Mayo in the first half in a 35 mins that showed the vulnerable side of the men from the West. Can Mayo do pressure? That's the big question. If Tyrone are within 2 or 3 of Mayo with 10/15 mins to go I would strongly fancy the Red Hand fellas. Mayo need a massive 45/50 mins. A lot of folk are strongly backing Mayo but beware!!! I remember a few years back when Donegal beat Dublin in the All Ireland semi final and simply didn't turn up against Kerry in the final. Have Mayo already played their final? It remains to be seen."
None of the current Tyrone panel have won Sam. The majority played in the 2018 final and got well beaten. So there is pressure on Tyrone as they won't get a better chance.

I don't agree that Dublin should have killed us in the first half. We missed 3 or 4 easy chances so it should have been closer if anything.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 459 - 08/09/2021 11:57:41    2378743

Replying To Mancirish:  "Thanks for that CiarraiMick much appreciated, I have the vaccine pass so should be OK then..;)
Any live music about anywhere yet?"
No prob Mancirish. No live music that I know of but you ll find the pubs anyway so enjoy

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3935 - 08/09/2021 12:15:31    2378744

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The pressure is ALL on Mayo. Tyrone have drank from the All Ireland well and have nothing to prove. It's a tough one to predict. Dublin should have buried Mayo in the first half in a 35 mins that showed the vulnerable side of the men from the West. Can Mayo do pressure? That's the big question. If Tyrone are within 2 or 3 of Mayo with 10/15 mins to go I would strongly fancy the Red Hand fellas. Mayo need a massive 45/50 mins. A lot of folk are strongly backing Mayo but beware!!! I remember a few years back when Donegal beat Dublin in the All Ireland semi final and simply didn't turn up against Kerry in the final. Have Mayo already played their final? It remains to be seen."
Apart from the all ireland well sentence, you could literally swap Tyrone for Mayo and Kerry for Dublin in that post

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5251 - 08/09/2021 12:16:01    2378745

2008 they beat us in a qualifier game

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 459 - 08/09/2021 12:21:30    2378746