Replying To Pericles: "You obviously profess to having a clue yourself Fridge but a couple of points you make doesn't square with reality:
'he can run onto the ball at speed' - what speed? The truth is Aidan has some great abilities but he has no pace. 'win frees' - I'd say his ratio of fouls committed against him which are penalised is about 1 in 10, so we wouldn't want to be relying on converting whatever Joe deems a foul on such a big lad who'll be left to mind himself.
I think what you've presented is wishful thinking and a repeat of past mistakes The only bits I agree with are the need to avoid him tracking back and his ability to tackle if he can get in close. This is why I think his best role would be to play as an effective double-centreback alongside a genuinely pacey partner like Mullin (assuming he's fit). They could clog up the middle when Mayo don't have the ball and Mullin could be released forward when Mayo have possession, with Aidan staying home to mind the house so not wasting energy ball carrying. Bar that, throw him in at FF again... things might go better than last day out.
If Tyrone have a slow, less mobile midfielder, putting Aidan on him will give up an opportunity to work an advantage against that player. Aidan isn't entitled to start though I think he will." Aidan O'Shea has been a great servant to Mayo and like a number of players deserves to win an All Ireland but there is a question to be answered - is Mayo a better team these days without Aidan O'Shea on the team? I know that Mayo are without Cillian O'Connor and may lack experience if you removed Aidan O'Shea, although a lot of the Mayo players played in last year's All Ireland final alas without a crowd. It seems that Mayo are unsure where to play Aidan O'Shea and there seems to be a danger that he plays but the role he is given is not clear and the games passes him by. Aside from psychological and experience reasons, should Mayo management consider leaving him off the team and bringing him on as a sub later in the game when other players are tiring?
wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 2104 - 07/09/2021 16:07:14
Replying To wicklowsupport: "Aidan O'Shea has been a great servant to Mayo and like a number of players deserves to win an All Ireland but there is a question to be answered - is Mayo a better team these days without Aidan O'Shea on the team? I know that Mayo are without Cillian O'Connor and may lack experience if you removed Aidan O'Shea, although a lot of the Mayo players played in last year's All Ireland final alas without a crowd. It seems that Mayo are unsure where to play Aidan O'Shea and there seems to be a danger that he plays but the role he is given is not clear and the games passes him by. Aside from psychological and experience reasons, should Mayo management consider leaving him off the team and bringing him on as a sub later in the game when other players are tiring?" There's no way we're a stronger team without Cillian O'Connor. From his freetaking to his goalscoring to his overall workrate, he provides a huge amount to the Mayo cause.
And I'd be flabbergasted if Aidan didn't start the next day.
Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 07/09/2021 16:28:16
Replying To Mancirish: "Lads any news on the pubs in Dublin & which are open around Croker? I believe most were shut still for the Tyrone Kerry Semi... Flying in from Manchester on the hunt for a decent pub at least & or a golden ticket..;)" Do fans need proof of vaccination to get into a pub if they are open?
sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 799 - 07/09/2021 16:44:43
Replying To CiarraiMick: "A good few pubs were open for Tyrone Kerry semi final but people have to be vaccinated. I saw a good few people over 20 turned away from pub I was drinking in due to no vaccine." My nephew was at it & he said it was very quiet around the ground with near all pubs closed duringthe day. He said the City Centre was shut for 10.30 also...
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 07/09/2021 17:02:26
Replying To CiarraiMick: "A good few pubs were open for Tyrone Kerry semi final but people have to be vaccinated. I saw a good few people over 20 turned away from pub I was drinking in due to no vaccine." My nephew was at it & he said it was very quiet around the ground with near all pubs closed duringthe day. He said the City Centre was shut for 10.30 also...
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 07/09/2021 17:02:34
Replying To Flyingintraining: "The build up to this immense, its all anyone can talk about here, and im sure its the same up in Tyrone. My productivity levels in work are non existent at present, certainly stealing a living this week!!!!.
Just cannot call it, think it will be who ever gets a little bit of luck on the day. Fed up of trying to predict how it will go, just sitting back now and savouring the build up. As a Mayo man, i've been spoilt the last 10 years, so many big games and days out, the time of our lives tbh. If we win it so be it, I'll die happy. If we lose I wouldn't begrudge Tyrone one bit, coz they'll have earned it if they beat us. We'll rise again as we always do. Tyrones a County iv'e always had a grá for. Loved the away days in the league, good people up there. As a team iv'e massive respect for them, their technically alot better than they get credit for.
Just one question for Tyrone supporters, and I certainly don't intend to cause offence here. My question is… on average, do the Unionist side of the Tyrone community get behind the team for such a big event as an AIF? Or is their zero interest?" From the outside there would be zero interest but I imagine a lot of the more moderate unionists will watch it in the comfort of their own homes. Not sure who they will be shouting for.
tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 394 - 07/09/2021 17:10:21
Replying To Gleebo: "There's no way we're a stronger team without Cillian O'Connor. From his freetaking to his goalscoring to his overall workrate, he provides a huge amount to the Mayo cause.
And I'd be flabbergasted if Aidan didn't start the next day." Absolutely Cillian O'Connor is a huge loss because he has it all.
wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 2104 - 07/09/2021 17:12:29
Replying To BarneyGrant: " Replying To Immer: "[quote=BarneyGrant: "One way to look at the final is to measure both teams against Dublin at their best, 2018/19.
Would this Mayo team have beaten Dublin in those years? Not a hope. Tyrone were beaten easily enough in the final in 2018, but i think they are far better now than then.
On balance, Tyrone's win over Kerry was more impressive than Mayo's win over a Dublin team well past their best, and who still could have won it in the last minutes of normal time.
So, Tyrone for me. No preference either way." Only 3 mentions of Dublin in a post about a game they're not playing in. Nicely done." I take it that you do not bet, or if you do, then you lose.
Otherwise you would be familiar with collateral form :-)"]Nah I'm not much of a gambler, although I'm sure lots of people here would be interested to hear more about your quantitive GAA match betting strategy based on 3 year old form of teams not involved in the fixture.
But of course it would understandable if you'd prefer to keep that gold to yourself.
Immer (Mayo) - Posts: 34 - 07/09/2021 17:12:33
Replying To wicklowsupport: "Aidan O'Shea has been a great servant to Mayo and like a number of players deserves to win an All Ireland but there is a question to be answered - is Mayo a better team these days without Aidan O'Shea on the team? I know that Mayo are without Cillian O'Connor and may lack experience if you removed Aidan O'Shea, although a lot of the Mayo players played in last year's All Ireland final alas without a crowd. It seems that Mayo are unsure where to play Aidan O'Shea and there seems to be a danger that he plays but the role he is given is not clear and the games passes him by. Aside from psychological and experience reasons, should Mayo management consider leaving him off the team and bringing him on as a sub later in the game when other players are tiring?" Embarrassing comment to say Mayo are stronger without Cillian O Connor. Absolutely laughable. Him inside with Conroy and O Donoghue buzzing with them. O Connor walks into the team, standout man last year and our best player in the final.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8401 - 07/09/2021 17:20:10
Replying To The_Fridge: "Kennedy & Kilpatrick are the weak link in the Tyrone team.
Personally i wouldn't start Kennedy. Hes big but cant jump to win primary possession and can only punch it. He cant tackle either - gives away free after free. And has bad feet, cant pass or score (apart from goal against Cavan and it was scrappy enough).
I would put McKenna into midfield against Loftus (i know Loftus can go into CHF at times) but i think McKenna could run the legs of Loftus. I would start McShane (who hasnt looked his best this season overall) but its an all ireland final.
Canavan & Bradley come on when there is a bit more space and they can use their pace.
Mullin coming back is huge for Mayo. With Harrision to come on if needs be, very strong bench." Perhaps Richie Donnelly will be back to start at mid-field? And Rory Brennan might play a part, also? Two fine players that missed the Ulster final and the triumph over Kerry.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2252 - 07/09/2021 17:33:03
Replying To wicklowsupport: "Aidan O'Shea has been a great servant to Mayo and like a number of players deserves to win an All Ireland but there is a question to be answered - is Mayo a better team these days without Aidan O'Shea on the team? I know that Mayo are without Cillian O'Connor and may lack experience if you removed Aidan O'Shea, although a lot of the Mayo players played in last year's All Ireland final alas without a crowd. It seems that Mayo are unsure where to play Aidan O'Shea and there seems to be a danger that he plays but the role he is given is not clear and the games passes him by. Aside from psychological and experience reasons, should Mayo management consider leaving him off the team and bringing him on as a sub later in the game when other players are tiring?" I think if you were to have asked that question a few years ago most Mayo supporters would have said Mayo are better with Aidan playing, no doubt about it. However the fact that he's now 30 having played senior for a dozen years+ you'd expect we could at least all agree by now where his best position is and yet we can't. And it's not because he's so good everywhere that he can be played anywhere and do a good job. He's a big lad, strong, a good fielder, an excellent tackler and with good vision. But he's also one-paced, is not the best foot passer and his score taking is patchy at best. He'll run himself into the ground, so his attitude is superb, but on the pitch he demands and attracts the ball where it might be better going a different way and this slows down Mayo's attacking play. I think with so many pacey players coming into the Mayo team these last two years the trade-off in terms of attacking opportunities lost has become far more obvious. Mayo are all about pace now and Aidan, despite his strengths, brings nothing to promote that way of playing. If he can adapt to being a purely defensive player behind midfield and not try to do it all, he can still contribute enormously. He should look at the likes of Andy Moran, who managed to get better in his thirties by finding ways of playing that compensated for physical limitations brought on by age and some terrible injuries. Aidan is a smart individual and not someone who won't rise to the challenge and this is why I think he'll start next weekend and beyond. Plus he still can do damage at FF if the mood is right, so no problems with seeing him go in there.
I wonder would Tyrone posters feel more optimistic seeing Aidan on the pitch or the bench?
Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 07/09/2021 18:27:24
Cillian O'Connor back in training?? Could be BS but some reports that he is
The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2093 - 07/09/2021 18:29:44
Replying To sam2008: "Do fans need proof of vaccination to get into a pub if they are open?" They do mate
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 07/09/2021 18:30:17
Replying To wicklowsupport: "Absolutely Cillian O'Connor is a huge loss because he has it all." We are misinterpreting your post. I read it back. It looked like you are saying Mayo are stronger without Cillian O Connor but I see what you are trying to say. So apologies for my spicy response!
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8401 - 07/09/2021 18:33:03
Replying To tireoghainabu: "From the outside there would be zero interest but I imagine a lot of the more moderate unionists will watch it in the comfort of their own homes. Not sure who they will be shouting for." Ah okay I see. Thought their'd be a bit of bandwagon jumpers like business's etc. Thanks for the response, enjoy the game.
Flyingintraining (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 07/09/2021 18:43:02
Replying To The_Fridge: "Cillian O'Connor back in training?? Could be BS but some reports that he is" He's jogging, thats about it. Was on holidays last week. Not a chance of him featuring, hasn't kicked a ball since June.
Flyingintraining (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 07/09/2021 18:44:18
Replying To The_Fridge: "Cillian O'Connor back in training?? Could be BS but some reports that he is" I was going to decry this comment and then found that the Connaught Telegraph is reporting Cillian is indeed back in training.
https://www.con-telegraph.ie/2021/09/07/cillian-oconnor-back-in-mayo-training-after-long-term-injury/
I would take it with a pinch of salt tbh, the chance of Cillian getting back for this particular game after so long out with such a serious injury is negligible.
Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 07/09/2021 19:22:48
Replying To Pericles: "I think if you were to have asked that question a few years ago most Mayo supporters would have said Mayo are better with Aidan playing, no doubt about it. However the fact that he's now 30 having played senior for a dozen years+ you'd expect we could at least all agree by now where his best position is and yet we can't. And it's not because he's so good everywhere that he can be played anywhere and do a good job. He's a big lad, strong, a good fielder, an excellent tackler and with good vision. But he's also one-paced, is not the best foot passer and his score taking is patchy at best. He'll run himself into the ground, so his attitude is superb, but on the pitch he demands and attracts the ball where it might be better going a different way and this slows down Mayo's attacking play. I think with so many pacey players coming into the Mayo team these last two years the trade-off in terms of attacking opportunities lost has become far more obvious. Mayo are all about pace now and Aidan, despite his strengths, brings nothing to promote that way of playing. If he can adapt to being a purely defensive player behind midfield and not try to do it all, he can still contribute enormously. He should look at the likes of Andy Moran, who managed to get better in his thirties by finding ways of playing that compensated for physical limitations brought on by age and some terrible injuries. Aidan is a smart individual and not someone who won't rise to the challenge and this is why I think he'll start next weekend and beyond. Plus he still can do damage at FF if the mood is right, so no problems with seeing him go in there.
I wonder would Tyrone posters feel more optimistic seeing Aidan on the pitch or the bench?" The thing is that no-one knows which Aidan O Shea will turn up. He could have a stinker on Saturday or ending up getting "man of the match" I think pace is the one big area where he has a weakness . My own view, I hope he starts as I think Tyrone have the tools to handle him.
tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 394 - 07/09/2021 19:32:01
Replying To Mancirish: "My nephew was at it & he said it was very quiet around the ground with near all pubs closed duringthe day. He said the City Centre was shut for 10.30 also..." I was in 2 different pubs in Dorset Street and I saw a few more open. I did see alot of Tyrone supporters getting turned away because of no proof of vaccine. They were allowed drink outside Red Parrot though although not many seats.McGraths open aldo and Temple bar pub and findlater all near croke park and Phól Ryan's on ncr Road beside Jones s Road also open. I know the Gardaí closed alot of pubs during hurling final for not complying with covid rules as in people standing.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3935 - 07/09/2021 19:59:07
Replying To sam2008: "Do fans need proof of vaccination to get into a pub if they are open?" Officially yes but one or two bars did nt seem to be checking. The red parrot were checking but you can drink outside without proof and just wear mask going to toilet.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3935 - 07/09/2021 20:03:19