Mayo fans suffer, tortured by all others they get hurt and they go hard no poem or play or song can fully right a wrong inflicted and endured
History says dont hope on the side of the grave but then once in a lifetime the longed for Green and Red wave of Mayo can rise up And Hope and History rhyme
So hope for a great final change on the far side of revenge believe that a further shore Is reachable from here Believe in Horan And Keegan and Mullan
Call defeats self-healing the utter self revealing Double-take that losing feeling If theres fire on the hill and Hogan and Canal And Sean Flanagan speaks from the sky
That means someone is hearing The battle cry and the winning cry of a new team in its term It means that once in our lifetime That Mayo can rise up And Hope and history Rhyme
BilboNaggins (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 06/09/2021 19:59:43
Hon Mayo! Don't let the rest of the country listen to the biased crap from Sean Cavanagh after the game haha
In all seriousness I always felt so sorry for poor aul Mayo so I hope they finally do it.
fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 06/09/2021 20:22:39
Come on now! Are the pubs around Croker open this Saturday??????
sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 799 - 06/09/2021 20:40:13
Replying To DLlegends: "Special time the week before an All Ireland. Good luck to both teams, hope Tyrone win but think Mayo will.
Enjoy both sets of supporters." Buzzing in Tyrone and I'm sure Mayo. Flags and bunting up all over the county. As you say, special week for both teams in the GAA calendar. Not easy to predict what way either team will set up as they both think them have the better of each other.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2299 - 06/09/2021 20:45:49
Replying To cavanman47: "Telling Cillian there was 30 seconds to go in 2013. Then blowing it up from the kickout (which was going out for a Mayo sideline).
And 2017. . .what Vaughan did was stupid, no doubt, but he gave Dublin the lot that day.
Not as clear amd obvious as Cormac in Limerick or Lane at the death in the 2016 draw, but still, on the balance of it, he swung the pendulum the way the money was leaning." 30 seconds had elapsed after Cillian scored his free and the final kickout was caught by Eoghan O'Gara and then the whistle was blown. If you're going to make stuff up you should really hope there is no video evidence disproving your claims. Rent free!
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=DC2zOJKtNbI
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/09/2021 20:49:32
Hope all those, with skin in the game are enjoying the build up, tickets must be hard got have had at least 20 people asking me can I sort them out, hopefully things free up later in the week like they usually do and everyone gets sorted!
Caught the highlights of the Kerry and Tyrone the other day, didn't watch it live, Tyrone really imposed their game of Kerry that was the big take home for me, if they can do that to Mayo, the pips might squeeze and Mayo could loose composure. If Mayo don't allow Tyrone to that and get the game up to high paced running game and can trigger their half backs they have a hell of a shout. Will come down to that in my opinion, who ever dictates the pace of the game and imposes their game on the other - sounds obvious, but watching the Kerry game, Tyrone owned the pace of the game.
Anyhow, in the home of the Six in a row Garden is looking well and getting loads of jobs done round the house, people think a six in a row isn't without its sacrifices! ;)
TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4517 - 06/09/2021 21:16:43
Replying To yew_tree: "Your still eating the same drum….sad individual. Up Mayo" One way to look at the final is to measure both teams against Dublin at their best, 2018/19.
Would this Mayo team have beaten Dublin in those years? Not a hope. Tyrone were beaten easily enough in the final in 2018, but i think they are far better now than then.
On balance, Tyrone's win over Kerry was more impressive than Mayo's win over a Dublin team well past their best, and who still could have won it in the last minutes of normal time.
So, Tyrone for me. No preference either way.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3563 - 06/09/2021 21:20:49
Replying To BarneyGrant: "One way to look at the final is to measure both teams against Dublin at their best, 2018/19.
Would this Mayo team have beaten Dublin in those years? Not a hope. Tyrone were beaten easily enough in the final in 2018, but i think they are far better now than then.
On balance, Tyrone's win over Kerry was more impressive than Mayo's win over a Dublin team well past their best, and who still could have won it in the last minutes of normal time.
So, Tyrone for me. No preference either way." Only 3 mentions of Dublin in a post about a game they're not playing in. Nicely done.
Immer (Mayo) - Posts: 34 - 06/09/2021 22:05:02
Replying To BarneyGrant: "One way to look at the final is to measure both teams against Dublin at their best, 2018/19.
So, Tyrone for me. No preference either way." Only 3 mentions of Dublin in a post about a game they're not playing in. Nicely done.
Immer (Mayo) - Posts: 34 - 06/09/2021 22:23:02
So, Tyrone for me. No preference either way." Barney, Dublin were let play for years until Mayo said no more. Credit where credit is due and none of this craic that Dublin had went back to pack.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2299 - 06/09/2021 22:36:20
So, Tyrone for me. No preference either way." Its your way of looking at it... Everyone else is looking at it like its 2021, and its Mayo v Tyrone, so 2018/2019 is irrelevant. These Mayo and Tyrone teams played and beat what was put in front of them and that's what counts in any given year. No matter which of em wins none of them will be worried about 2018/2019 or any other year.
The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 214 - 06/09/2021 23:44:05
Replying To Flyingintraining: "Donegal and Bonner are the definition of bottlers. Raging hot favourites yet still Lost an Ulster final to the now D4 power house that is Cavan 10 months ago, says it all. Ye landed down to Castlebar in '19 as favourites, and got bet up a stick again by an over the hill Mayo team, ye made Andy Moran look like a 22 year old that night. Durcan's pass to star 2014, definition of a bottle job." You are some joke(r)
seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 07/09/2021 01:10:29
Replying To the_walls: "Seriously, what is wrong with you? Why the constant need for emotive language to try and provoke a response and belittle Mayo at every opportunity? In what way are Mayo the "teachers pet"? Who is the teacher in that scenario?
If (and it is a big if) Mayo win, the cherry on top will be how much it will stick in the craw of people you like who are constantly trying to mock and ridicule." You well capable of bringing the ridicule on yourselves,like doing a lap of honour after an All Ireland Semi Final.
seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 07/09/2021 01:13:04
Replying To skillet: "As a Limerick hurling supporter I know exactly what it's like to suffer for years on end hoping to God that someday, by some miracle we'd get over the line and I'd actually see us win an all Ireland..
Thankfully that finally happened only a few years ago and its been a fantastic few years since..
I suppose it means I'll probably be shouting for Mayo in the final... No matter how long and miserable our drought to win an all ireland was over the years it was always a consolation to say 'feck it.. At least we're not Mayo' I've been to a few Mayo matches over the years and loved the mad optimism of their fans.. I really hope they get to experience the joy we felt in 2018 when we fell over the line.
The pity of it is I'd love to see Tyrone win it also.. I have great time for Tyrone football and was a huge admirer of Mickey Harte, A man of incredible dignity and courage.. Tyrone played a fierce and aggressive style of football in the 00's. I really enjoyed watching them put it up to Kerry...their complete lack of respect for the Footballing aristocracy.
A formidable team with a great legacy.... I hope both do themselves justice and please God whoever wins, will do it in a memorable game that has no talking points other than how fine both teams were." Sadly with McQuillan on the whistle there will be talking points.
seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 07/09/2021 01:19:43
Mayo's to lose and they WILL.
seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 07/09/2021 01:36:53
Replying To cavanman47: "Telling Cillian there was 30 seconds to go in 2013. Then blowing it up from the kickout (which was going out for a Mayo sideline).
And 2017. . .what Vaughan did was stupid, no doubt, but he gave Dublin the lot that day.
Not as clear amd obvious as Cormac in Limerick or Lane at the death in the 2016 draw, but still, on the balance of it, he swung the pendulum the way the money was leaning." It's very hard to beat a Cavan man when it comes to knowing what way the money is leaning. But easy enough to beat one when it comes to kicking Gaelic football.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2249 - 07/09/2021 05:11:48
Not as clear amd obvious as Cormac in Limerick or Lane at the death in the 2016 draw, but still, on the balance of it, he swung the pendulum the way the money was leaning." ""Telling Cillian there was 30 seconds to go in 2013. Then blowing it up from the kickout (which was going out for a Mayo sideline)"
The kickout was pinged by Cluxton into a Dublin player's hands on the 65 under the Cusack Stand. Another 30 seconds would have done nothing for Mayo after the kickout. Only thing that would have changed would have been if O'Connor was told his free was effectively the last kick of the game and he may have had a blast at a highly unlikely goal.
TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 251 - 07/09/2021 09:01:33
So, Tyrone for me. No preference either way." Who cares about Dublin three years ago now? The 3016 Mayo team would have walloped Dublin 2021 out the gate too… the "dream" final didn't happen and Mayo and Tyrone are there as the two best teams this year.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11587 - 07/09/2021 09:31:02
Mayo must keep their discipline in this match. No red cards in other words. They must just play football, not the niggling stuff. If they are in contention at half time, say a point behind, I expect them to win out in the second half.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 07/09/2021 09:47:32
So, Tyrone for me. No preference either way." You could definitely make the point against Mayo that Dublin were not the team that they were at the peak of their powers. However you could also make the point against Tyrone that (i) Kerry did not play well, (ii) did not seem to be at all prepared for what Tyrone would bring to the game, (iii )they conceded three goals, (iv) lost their best player towards the end of normal time, and still only lost by a point. Going back further, Mayo beat probably the worst prepared Galway team in years by 6 points in the Connacht Final, while in the Ulster final Tyrone beat a Monaghan team that Galway should have beaten in the league relegation play-off, by a solitary point.
In my view, if Mayo don't concede any goals, they will win, but that's a very big IF
Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 07/09/2021 09:52:10