Stepping Away And Retirements (Early)

Another legend gone from Dublin in Philly McMahon. He will have plenty who disliked him but another player who maximised his ability and didn't care who he offended in doing it. Seems very driven in all aspects of his life. He brought his game to a new level in his mid to late 20's. Always loved watching him play. Could have been a decent hurler too by all accounts.

Similar to Kilkenny in the hurling, Dublin stayed at the top longer than most/any other team but eventually time comes when you can't replace these players with the same caliber of player. The BS call to split Dublin in two/four seem to have died down now - thankfully.

The Dubs will miss these guys and there aren't too many of the really big personalities left in the game - love or hate they were great for publicity!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/12/2021 10:56:05    2393070

Hated his antics on the field at times and off the ball BUT super super player. Seems like a very genuine and good person off the field too. He won it all multiple times. Best of luck to him.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 17/12/2021 12:05:03    2393081

Replying To tiobraid:  "Another legend gone from Dublin in Philly McMahon. He will have plenty who disliked him but another player who maximised his ability and didn't care who he offended in doing it. Seems very driven in all aspects of his life. He brought his game to a new level in his mid to late 20's. Always loved watching him play. Could have been a decent hurler too by all accounts.

Similar to Kilkenny in the hurling, Dublin stayed at the top longer than most/any other team but eventually time comes when you can't replace these players with the same caliber of player. The BS call to split Dublin in two/four seem to have died down now - thankfully.

The Dubs will miss these guys and there aren't too many of the really big personalities left in the game - love or hate they were great for publicity!"
Well said. The split BS disappeared this year alright. Everyone saying Dublin was too big with endless amounts of money. Maybe in the end it was because they were just so good and it was the only way people thought they could be stopped..

Thankfully I was able to sit back over the last few years and enjoy these bunch of lads bring the game to a level one could only dream of. Philly was one of the drivers and cultural leaders. Love or hate him, its hard not respect what he has achieved..

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 17/12/2021 12:39:01    2393086

Best wishes in retirement to Philly McMahon. I'm sure that he'll stay involved and active in something good. He seems to be that sort of guy.

He's the type of player I'd love to have had on my team; always performed great on the big day. It's safe to say that he's the inspiration that many young lads around the city are kicking football today, especially in some of the very non-traditional footballing area. Well done, Philly!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 17/12/2021 12:39:32    2393087

Best of luck to Philip in his retirement, he was a tough defender who always fought hard for the ball whether that was a football or an eye ball he didn't seem to mind :-) and that's a joke before the D man gets excited again.

All jokes aside though, I wish him well in his future endeavours.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/12/2021 14:08:53    2393097

Never in the history of the game has a player been utilised just to agitate the opposition like Philly was used the last two years.

Ran into the tunnel like Scrappy Do at half-time in last year's final to cause a row, brought on to do similar in this year's semi final. His medal haul can never be questioned, but there is a reason he isn't fondly liked by neutrals.

James McCarthy plays on the edge but wouldn't be dirty. Philly took it to a whole new level.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1409 - 17/12/2021 16:50:19    2393108

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Best of luck to Philip in his retirement, he was a tough defender who always fought hard for the ball whether that was a football or an eye ball he didn't seem to mind :-) and that's a joke before the D man gets excited again.

All jokes aside though, I wish him well in his future endeavours."
Ah the " D "ublin begrudger finally got his phone fixed :-)
All jokes aside though , All the best philly thanks for the memories you are a true blue legend

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 18/12/2021 09:11:57    2393129

Replying To superbluedub:  "Ah the " D "ublin begrudger finally got his phone fixed :-)
All jokes aside though , All the best philly thanks for the memories you are a true blue legend"
Got my phone fixed? :-) I never said my phone was broken, I said it just won't spell dublin with a capital D

Now I could change it every time I write dublin but honestly I just can't be bothered because it doesn't matter.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/12/2021 13:13:59    2393142

Replying To beano:  "Never in the history of the game has a player been utilised just to agitate the opposition like Philly was used the last two years.

Ran into the tunnel like Scrappy Do at half-time in last year's final to cause a row, brought on to do similar in this year's semi final. His medal haul can never be questioned, but there is a reason he isn't fondly liked by neutrals.

James McCarthy plays on the edge but wouldn't be dirty. Philly took it to a whole new level."
I always thought it was a missed opertunity that some1 didn't flick his comb over, that would have been hilHAIRious.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/12/2021 13:50:48    2393147

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Got my phone fixed? :-) I never said my phone was broken, I said it just won't spell dublin with a capital D

Now I could change it every time I write dublin but honestly I just can't be bothered because it doesn't matter."
Well you do write about Dublin alot :-) , not forgetting you mentioned your phone has problems spelling Kerry Cork Kildare and Down as well , maybe its time to invest in a new one :-)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 18/12/2021 13:52:55    2393148

Replying To superbluedub:  "Well you do write about Dublin alot :-) , not forgetting you mentioned your phone has problems spelling Kerry Cork Kildare and Down as well , maybe its time to invest in a new one :-)"
Hey this is a GAA forum so get over it :-)

As for changing my phone because it can't spell dublin with a capital D, well I wouldnt call that broken and it wouldn't be very good for the environment and for it just to keep 1 little snowflake like you happy. Nah.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/12/2021 14:16:20    2393152

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hey this is a GAA forum so get over it :-)

As for changing my phone because it can't spell dublin with a capital D, well I wouldnt call that broken and it wouldn't be very good for the environment and for it just to keep 1 little snowflake like you happy. Nah."
Utterly childish back and forth going on here. Meaningful issues should be addressed civilly. An odd sly, not mean, dig is always welcome.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 18/12/2021 15:01:09    2393160

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hey this is a GAA forum so get over it :-)

As for changing my phone because it can't spell dublin with a capital D, well I wouldnt call that broken and it wouldn't be very good for the environment and for it just to keep 1 little snowflake like you happy. Nah."
But are you forgetting you said your phone cant spell Kerry Cork Kildare or Down with capitols also ? Maybe Santy will bring you a new one :-) , as for hey this is a GAA forum get over it , for once i agree with you , nothing to get over you just need to put your Dublin issues in a thread of its own easy peasy .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 18/12/2021 15:49:54    2393164

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "Utterly childish back and forth going on here. Meaningful issues should be addressed civilly. An odd sly, not mean, dig is always welcome."
I agree with you, but that lad is too sensitive altogether, imagine getting upset over a capital d and it all came about because I described Kevin mac as a strong runner.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/12/2021 16:46:37    2393170

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "Utterly childish back and forth going on here. Meaningful issues should be addressed civilly. An odd sly, not mean, dig is always welcome."
I agree with you ,but that boy is the biggest WUM on hoganstand , he's to be pitied really .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 18/12/2021 18:29:20    2393196

Replying To superbluedub:  "But are you forgetting you said your phone cant spell Kerry Cork Kildare or Down with capitols also ? Maybe Santy will bring you a new one :-) , as for hey this is a GAA forum get over it , for once i agree with you , nothing to get over you just need to put your Dublin issues in a thread of its own easy peasy ."
This is the stepping away and retirement thread, where I wished Kevin mac well in his "retirement" and then "you" got upset because I described him as a strong runner, then when I asked you to describe Kevins style of play you wouldn't because youd have to agree with me which would prove you got upset over nothing.

So then to deflect from that you started on about the big d little D capital d for dublin which has nothing at all to do with this thread (stepping away and retirements.

So maybe you should start a thread about phones and capital letters.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/12/2021 10:27:40    2393237

Replying To superbluedub:  "I agree with you ,but that boy is the biggest WUM on hoganstand , he's to be pitied really ."
Do you worry about cerry, as much as he worries about Dublin, it's fear, enjoy it pal! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/12/2021 09:12:20    2393300

Replying To TheUsername:  "Do you worry about cerry, as much as he worries about Dublin, it's fear, enjoy it pal! ;)"
Hi, what has this post got to do with stepping away early or retirements? Another dub trying to take ithe thréad off topic and make it personal and then after all that it's Just a very poor attempt at a wind up :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/12/2021 10:47:58    2393307

Another warrior hangs up his shield.

This one stings, Philly. The reinforced. Steel of that great Dublin team. The man you want to go over the top by your side.

From the early days we're he used to drive me crackers, you look back at turning points in careers and even for Dublin GAA, for me it was that save on the goalie against Armagh, think it was 2010 after surviving the Giller cull. He grew from there, came on in the final early enough in 11 if my memory is right, but it was under Gavin he really took off.

The lazy media label was always of a hard man and perhaps a judgement made on his background and club, we see it a bit with JSmall as well. But he was a quality player from 2013 to 2016, he was terrific, he harnessed and developed every bit of potential in him, to be come top player, he retried the gooch, who knew it was time to call it a day trying to catch Philly heels around Croke Park. He developed to the extent that he'd chip in with crucial points and scores and a key line breaker coming from deep.

In a team leaders, he was a leader, when Rory went on his jollies he and Jamsie stepped up, when we were supposedly susceptible under the high ball, going to beast the big lads from Mayo, Kerry, Donegal and Tyrone, simples. He loved competition, teams were nervous of him and I think he and Dermo, how they played scared the life out of teams, no fear, zero respect, they didn't care who they played, they just wanted to destroy you.

Never more at home the playing for Kickhams and Kickhams is so much of his story, we know the adversity he's lived through, we know the great work he dioes, a credit.

He retires as one of the most decorated players of all time, incredible career and meddle haul and key to almost all.

He will be adhered by Dubs and derided by the culchie country, Philly wouldn't have it any other way and we wouldn't have him any other way.

He will be remembered and revered wherever Sky Blue is worn, thanks for everything Philly, you owe Dublin nothing.

Legend.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/12/2021 15:09:22    2393334

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hi, what has this post got to do with stepping away early or retirements? Another dub trying to take ithe thréad off topic and make it personal and then after all that it's Just a very poor attempt at a wind up :-)"
Ah here you posted all this nonsense below (on this stepping away thread ), long before your sly dig at kevin, none of it is relevant to this thread, as i said put your Dublin issues on a thread of its own if you feel so strongly about it Now please stop deflecting ,you are only fooling yourself and no one else , you know what your at with your Dublin issues constantly thread spoiling
Anyway enough is enough and we should all move on now for the good of " ALL " threads

dublin have out grown the intercounty championship now and needs to be regraded to an appropriate competition (the railway Cup)

And where would dublins quarter final against Tyrone or Donegal be played Mick?only 7 football players left with allireland medals outside of dublin, that's nuts but we'll be told there is nothing to see here, everything is brilliant.

That's still a crazy number though. Football is dead.And where would dublins quarter final against Tyrone or Donegal be played Mick? "

And where would dublins quarter final against Tyrone or Donegal be played Mick?But will they be as strong as dublin in Croke Park mick?

Remember they will have to play the dublin behemoth in dublins home ground and neither Galway or Tyrone have senior allireland winners on their teamYa we did win 37 allirelands Mick but 36 of them were before the dublin money kicked in, and before dublin were moved permanently in to crokepark for league as well as the championship.

I'm telling you dublin are in the wrong competition and they need to be regraded into a new version of the railway Cup and intercounty football to proper county teams.But it's not just Kerrys problem it's every1 outside of dublins problem.

If you can't see that dublin starting to play all their home league games in Croke Park in 08/09 as a benefit to the dublin footballers then your blind or you don't want to see the problem that caused for every other team jox
Mick kinda covered a lot of what I was going to say in his post jox but you can't really thinks that Croke Park isn't yer home ground when there is a pile of evidence to state otherwise.

There was a stat at the end of the championship that cluxtin has played 112 championship games for dublin and 101 of them were played at home .

Also playing 2 dead rubber games against Tyrone in Omagh doesn't really count as Tyrone were looking to keep their team fresh for the semifinals the following week.

Croke Park is a massive advantage to dublin as a county/province both financially ( nó travel or hotels or up keep of own stadium) and in football terms.
It's easy to get big numbers to travel to 3 or 4 away games a year Dubhlinn, in 2019 we played 7 out of our 8 championship games on the road.

In 2017 Mayo played 9 out of their 10 games on the road.

I think Tyrone played 8 or 9 games on the road in 08.

And that's not taking into account 3, 4 or 5 away league games as well.

Look at the expense that has on supporters and country teams

.Also we won 37 allirelands on the road away from home whereas dublin have won 30 allirelands at home in Croke Park.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/12/2021 08:45:54    2393375