Stepping Away And Retirements (Early)

Replying To catch22:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "For a 'hurling province', they're not to bad at the football.

Munster: All-Ireland Senior Football wins - 50 (Kerry (37), Cork (7), Tipp (4) & Limerick (2). Runners-up - 42

Leinster: AI Senior Football wins - 52 Dublin (30), Meath (7), Wexford (5), Kildare (4), Offaly (3) & Louth (3). Runners-up - 38"
So Kerry's main rivals have 7 football AI's and 30 hurling AI's.
I think that makes my point about it being a hurling province.
Noticeable that neither of the other 2 winners have won in over a century. Makes for shocking reading alright.
Thanks for that lad."
You can twist everything to suit. Are Kilkenny a hurling county? Well they have more Leinster football titles that westmeath Carlow Longford and Wicklow so is Leinster a hurling province? Then you mention a century ago? Well if you want to stay in the present here goes. Dublin are the only team to win Leinster in the last decade. 3 teams have won munster in last decade..

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 29/01/2021 11:56:57    2329512

Replying To catch22:  "No, Kerry are just a football county in a hurling province that do all ye can to discourage development of the game there. Sure even Micko went to Leinster to take up his county managerial posts instead of staying in Munster.
Yeev set the game back in Munster at every opportunity."
Still no comment to bake on this either with your insults? If the shoe was on the other foot you d ve giving out. If j said Dublin are doing everything to discourage development in Leinster and Dubs are nt M a aging Leinster reams. Now u don't agree with that but you can't even admit how wrong you are with your false statement.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 29/01/2021 12:01:10    2329514

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Still no comment to bake on this either with your insults? If the shoe was on the other foot you d ve giving out. If j said Dublin are doing everything to discourage development in Leinster and Dubs are nt M a aging Leinster reams. Now u don't agree with that but you can't even admit how wrong you are with your false statement."
I meant I don't agree with that

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 29/01/2021 12:28:11    2329521

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "
Replying To catch22:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "For a 'hurling province', they're not to bad at the football.

Munster: All-Ireland Senior Football wins - 50 (Kerry (37), Cork (7), Tipp (4) & Limerick (2). Runners-up - 42

Leinster: AI Senior Football wins - 52 Dublin (30), Meath (7), Wexford (5), Kildare (4), Offaly (3) & Louth (3). Runners-up - 38"
Noticeable that neither of the other 2 winners have won in over a century. Makes for shocking reading alright.
Thanks for that lad."
You can twist everything to suit. Are Kilkenny a hurling county? Well they have more Leinster football titles that westmeath Carlow Longford and Wicklow so is Leinster a hurling province? Then you mention a century ago? Well if you want to stay in the present here goes. Dublin are the only team to win Leinster in the last decade. 3 teams have won munster in last decade.."]Don't waste your time. His likes will never accept anything other than what they want to see. No matter how much you show them they'll always want more and more "proof"

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 29/01/2021 12:30:41    2329523

Replying To oneoff:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "For a 'hurling province', they're not to bad at the football.

Thanks for that lad."
You can twist everything to suit. Are Kilkenny a hurling county? Well they have more Leinster football titles that westmeath Carlow Longford and Wicklow so is Leinster a hurling province? Then you mention a century ago? Well if you want to stay in the present here goes. Dublin are the only team to win Leinster in the last decade. 3 teams have won munster in last decade.."]Don't waste your time. His likes will never accept anything other than what they want to see. No matter how much you show them they'll always want more and more "proof""]You ré probably right. I've no problem with a debate or different opinions but when someone makes an outlandish statement that's not true it irritates me.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 29/01/2021 13:26:50    2329534

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "
Replying To oneoff:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "For a 'hurling province', they're not to bad at the football.

Thanks for that lad."
You can twist everything to suit. Are Kilkenny a hurling county? Well they have more Leinster football titles that westmeath Carlow Longford and Wicklow so is Leinster a hurling province? Then you mention a century ago? Well if you want to stay in the present here goes. Dublin are the only team to win Leinster in the last decade. 3 teams have won munster in last decade.."]Don't waste your time. His likes will never accept anything other than what they want to see. No matter how much you show them they'll always want more and more "proof""]You ré probably right. I've no problem with a debate or different opinions but when someone makes an outlandish statement that's not true it irritates me."]If you're so self righteous and irritable about outlandish statements you could confront your own bucko as he seems to do it with a fair bit of impunity. Don't see too many of ye lads taking too much issue with any of them comments and thread disruptions. No, it's belt up time then and toe the party line or you might not be such a great Kerryman again.
Your presumptions about my origins are amusing too by the way.
I think I've made my point. Carry on as you were.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 29/01/2021 13:57:22    2329537

Ok having read all the posts, yis are right. Kerry have no advantages in Munster at all and Munster is not a hurling province so it's therefore a football province. Henceforth Munster will now be known as the Football Province and if any Munster hurling folk disagree take it up with Oneoff and his amazing duplicitous statistics.

I guess this also means that Leinster is now the Hurling province. Another advantage for the Dubs!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 29/01/2021 13:59:45    2329538

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "For a 'hurling province', they're not to bad at the football.

Well lets dwell on those Leinster winners for a minute. The nearest to Dublin has only seven All Irelands- the same as Cork. Wexford last won the All Ireland over a hundred years ago and contested none since, while winning five All Ireland titles. Kildare won their last All Ireland over ninety years ago and contested two about twenty years ago. Loth has not won or appeared in a final in over sixty years and Offaly have not played in or contested a Football Final since 1982, while they have three All Irelands since. So maybe it is a Hurling province, seeing as many of the major GAA counties like Kilkenny, Offaly, Laois and Wexford all seem to put hurling first and Westmeath and Carlow are about 50/50.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 29/01/2021 14:45:05    2329548

Replying To Oldtourman:  "

Well lets dwell on those Leinster winners for a minute. The nearest to Dublin has only seven All Irelands- the same as Cork. Wexford last won the All Ireland over a hundred years ago and contested none since, while winning five All Ireland titles. Kildare won their last All Ireland over ninety years ago and contested two about twenty years ago. Loth has not won or appeared in a final in over sixty years and Offaly have not played in or contested a Football Final since 1982, while they have three All Irelands since. So maybe it is a Hurling province, seeing as many of the major GAA counties like Kilkenny, Offaly, Laois and Wexford all seem to put hurling first and Westmeath and Carlow are about 50/50."
"So maybe it is a Hurling province, seeing as many of the major GAA counties like Kilkenny, Offaly, Laois and Wexford all seem to put hurling first and Westmeath and Carlow are about 50/50." Most counties in Leinster put football first.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 29/01/2021 15:01:59    2329552

Replying To Breffni40:  "Ok having read all the posts, yis are right. Kerry have no advantages in Munster at all and Munster is not a hurling province so it's therefore a football province. Henceforth Munster will now be known as the Football Province and if any Munster hurling folk disagree take it up with Oneoff and his amazing duplicitous statistics.

I guess this also means that Leinster is now the Hurling province. Another advantage for the Dubs!"
Seeing as you've read all the posts as you claim. Where did anyone try and claim Munster was the football province? It's only the likes of you who keep trying to push this claim. People have been pointing out counties in Munster being competitive in both codes. Plenty of stats to back this up you just choose to ignore them and that's your problem and no one elses.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 29/01/2021 15:29:43    2329561

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "For a 'hurling province', they're not to bad at the football.

Thanks for that lad."
You can twist everything to suit. Are Kilkenny a hurling county? Well they have more Leinster football titles that westmeath Carlow Longford and Wicklow so is Leinster a hurling province? Then you mention a century ago? Well if you want to stay in the present here goes. Dublin are the only team to win Leinster in the last decade. 3 teams have won munster in last decade.."]Don't waste your time. His likes will never accept anything other than what they want to see. No matter how much you show them they'll always want more and more "proof""]You ré probably right. I've no problem with a debate or different opinions but when someone makes an outlandish statement that's not true it irritates me."]If you're so self righteous and irritable about outlandish statements you could confront your own bucko as he seems to do it with a fair bit of impunity. Don't see too many of ye lads taking too much issue with any of them comments and thread disruptions. No, it's belt up time then and toe the party line or you might not be such a great Kerryman again.
I think I've made my point. Carry on as you were."]Still waiting to hear if you had an issue with Kerry underage teams when they were winning nothing?

or your lie about Kerry managers managing other Munster counties?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 29/01/2021 15:31:28    2329563

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "For a 'hurling province', they're not to bad at the football.

Thanks for that lad."
I think I've made my point. Carry on as you were."]Catch, I hate going off topic (Stepping away and Retirements) but...... - he needs to get down off his high horse like so many of his fellow county posters on here. Not the worst of them but very quickly catching up....!
Occasionally likes to play both sides, but only when it suits...!

Who does he think he is asking for an apology when his new best friend has posted some despicable posts on here, most of which go unchallenged by him and his other county comrades....
Including vile insults, accusing so many people of multiple accounts, and others of not being from Kerry....

They twist things to suit and select dates which suit their argument....
They talk about underage U20 success for Cork, and kerry not winning U20, but leave out Kerry winning so many Minor All Ireland titles in a row.... But if you dig into it - kerry's best players went straight up to Senior ranks from minor, and skipped U20 - but maybe that was Dublin's fault also.... ;o)

Dont forget Cork beating Kerry last season was NOT a shock apparently... Kerry did NOT take their eye off the ball, and Munster SFC is always very competitive... Give it an effing rest will you..... How many Provincial titles have kerry won .????
The amount of posts and time they spent trying to convince otherwise was unbelievable.

How many times will Tipp win Munster SFC in next 10 years - 1 if they are extremely lucky.... other than last season, when was the last time they won it..... (no offence Tipp posters). Cork have won just 1 in 11 years....

How many financial advantages have Kerry.? Yet they cry the poor mouth on here all the time....

As for the pure arrogance of some of them.... well as many others have said, including non-Dubs - it sums a lot of them up....! We are not all like that and you do not know what we all think, they say....
The sad thing is, most Dubs including myself had a lot of respect for them prior to 2015, but since then they have been in complete whinge and moan overdrive... Most of them were always very arrogant but now most are unbearable also....

They want fair play - where the hell were they, when Dublin were winning f*** all - no complaints then about Dublin's population or playing in Croker.. I really have no time for this kerry nonsense.... Yet, now they want fairness - for who..??

Expect a very long winded response from them now but I wont even reply to them... Going around in circles is for people who have nothing else to do with themselves.... They have far too much time on the hands with their Agenda on here... As a poster posted recently - Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something. Look at the amount they post, even the newbies....!

So, in summary - Catch, apologise for nothing because they never do...!

Now, let's get back to the topic in hand - player Retirements......! Happy Friday.... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 29/01/2021 15:39:43    2329564

Thanks for that lad."
I think I've made my point. Carry on as you were."]I have tackled many posters that I feel unfair or wrong comment. I have constantly disagrees with two of my own county posters on numerous occasion when I felt they were demeaning towards Dublin. In your case though You made a false statement and did nt even have the balls to retract it. You clearly stated with no proof whatsoever that Kerry were doing their best to make munster football poor and that's a lie. Opinions are opinions but facts are facts and it is a fact that lots of counties in Munster have been helped by Kerry managers and coaches. Just cos you dislike someone or a county does nt mean it's right to make up false stuff. That's the stuff of cowards.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 29/01/2021 15:42:13    2329565

Replying To Oldtourman:  "

Well lets dwell on those Leinster winners for a minute. The nearest to Dublin has only seven All Irelands- the same as Cork. Wexford last won the All Ireland over a hundred years ago and contested none since, while winning five All Ireland titles. Kildare won their last All Ireland over ninety years ago and contested two about twenty years ago. Loth has not won or appeared in a final in over sixty years and Offaly have not played in or contested a Football Final since 1982, while they have three All Irelands since. So maybe it is a Hurling province, seeing as many of the major GAA counties like Kilkenny, Offaly, Laois and Wexford all seem to put hurling first and Westmeath and Carlow are about 50/50."
Apparently you're not allowed to talk about that though....

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 29/01/2021 15:43:19    2329566

Replying To Fionn:  "
Replying To catch22:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "For a 'hurling province', they're not to bad at the football.

Thanks for that lad."
I think I've made my point. Carry on as you were."]Catch, I hate going off topic (Stepping away and Retirements) but...... - he needs to get down off his high horse like so many of his fellow county posters on here. Not the worst of them but very quickly catching up....!
Occasionally likes to play both sides, but only when it suits...!

Who does he think he is asking for an apology when his new best friend has posted some despicable posts on here, most of which go unchallenged by him and his other county comrades....
Including vile insults, accusing so many people of multiple accounts, and others of not being from Kerry....

They twist things to suit and select dates which suit their argument....
They talk about underage U20 success for Cork, and kerry not winning U20, but leave out Kerry winning so many Minor All Ireland titles in a row.... But if you dig into it - kerry's best players went straight up to Senior ranks from minor, and skipped U20 - but maybe that was Dublin's fault also.... ;o)

Dont forget Cork beating Kerry last season was NOT a shock apparently... Kerry did NOT take their eye off the ball, and Munster SFC is always very competitive... Give it an effing rest will you..... How many Provincial titles have kerry won .????
The amount of posts and time they spent trying to convince otherwise was unbelievable.

How many times will Tipp win Munster SFC in next 10 years - 1 if they are extremely lucky.... other than last season, when was the last time they won it..... (no offence Tipp posters). Cork have won just 1 in 11 years....

How many financial advantages have Kerry.? Yet they cry the poor mouth on here all the time....

As for the pure arrogance of some of them.... well as many others have said, including non-Dubs - it sums a lot of them up....! We are not all like that and you do not know what we all think, they say....
The sad thing is, most Dubs including myself had a lot of respect for them prior to 2015, but since then they have been in complete whinge and moan overdrive... Most of them were always very arrogant but now most are unbearable also....

They want fair play - where the hell were they, when Dublin were winning f*** all - no complaints then about Dublin's population or playing in Croker.. I really have no time for this kerry nonsense.... Yet, now they want fairness - for who..??

Expect a very long winded response from them now but I wont even reply to them... Going around in circles is for people who have nothing else to do with themselves.... They have far too much time on the hands with their Agenda on here... As a poster posted recently - Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something. Look at the amount they post, even the newbies....!

So, in summary - Catch, apologise for nothing because they never do...!

Now, let's get back to the topic in hand - player Retirements......! Happy Friday.... ;o)"]Oh I think Catch is able to make his mind up without you telling him what to do. Catch made a false statement with no substance to it. I have often disagreed with my own county men when I feel they were wrong. I admit when I'm wrong. You only see wrong in others. Dublin are perfect Ballymun are perfect and people that say they are perfect are perfect. A ref cmon give us a free!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 29/01/2021 16:05:31    2329573

just trying to steer the post topic back on course, as an Offaly man I would say we are definitely a 50/50 both code county, while hurling might appear our no.1 (it would be mine personally) but football is a big game in Offaly too...counties like Limerick despite winning hurling AI in the past and recently would consider themselves somewhat of a football county too..there are a few decent club teams in Limerick and span that out into Clare too...no disrespect but Waterford would be probably deemed the weakest, and they in fairness have given the big guns in Munsters a game in recent times too...Gary Brennan of Clare retiring...what a loss he is to Clare football and indeed football as a whole...a massive player, pity he never got at least a provincial or football league medal..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 29/01/2021 16:14:39    2329575

Replying To Breffni40:  "Ok having read all the posts, yis are right. Kerry have no advantages in Munster at all and Munster is not a hurling province so it's therefore a football province. Henceforth Munster will now be known as the Football Province and if any Munster hurling folk disagree take it up with Oneoff and his amazing duplicitous statistics.

I guess this also means that Leinster is now the Hurling province. Another advantage for the Dubs!"
It's predominantly hurling but totally unfair to label it a "hurling province".
2 of the top 4 in the football roll of honour are from munster and nemo rangers are a very successful club team,, winning multiple all Irelands
Tipp footballers have reached 2 all Ireland semis in the last 5 seasons,, beating my County along the way in 2016 (hammering us actually),, while limerick and Clare have both reached quarter finals recently too (not sure of the year).
Historically the only province that kerry would have struggled to dominate is ulster and even at that my money says kerry would have come out of ulster more often than not.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1697 - 29/01/2021 20:13:11    2329612

Replying To Galway9801:  "It's predominantly hurling but totally unfair to label it a "hurling province".
2 of the top 4 in the football roll of honour are from munster and nemo rangers are a very successful club team,, winning multiple all Irelands
Tipp footballers have reached 2 all Ireland semis in the last 5 seasons,, beating my County along the way in 2016 (hammering us actually),, while limerick and Clare have both reached quarter finals recently too (not sure of the year).
Historically the only province that kerry would have struggled to dominate is ulster and even at that my money says kerry would have come out of ulster more often than not."
Cork are also top of the U21 /U20 football roll of honor and second in the minor football roll of honor.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/01/2021 20:29:19    2329616

Just dropping in to have a look

I see yiz are still at it.. haha

Happy New Year

Keep looking after yourselves

Up The Du5.25s

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/01/2021 20:32:02    2329617

Munster football teams have contested 92 football allirelands winning 50 and losing 42.

Leinster football teams have contested 90 football allirelands winning 52 and losing 38.

So Munster teams have been in more allireland football finals than leinster teams, not bad for a supposed hurling province.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/01/2021 20:56:38    2329621