Stepping Away And Retirements (Early)

Replying To catch22:  "Nothing to do with anything? They're underage titles not just the ones you want to relate to because they suit you. Minor is underage. You don't want to talk about those because they don't suit you. You're the only little silk here. You haven't disproved anything so stop talking rubbish.
We're you complaining about advantages of others when ye were winning plenty of senior titles. It's only since he can't win that yeer so concerned about others advantages.
Cop on to yourself and take off the blinkers. You're as blind and ignorant as that other lad."
A very broad statement it was You making out that it's easy for Kerry to win cos they are in a hurling province. When it's pointed out to you about the other counties getting to all ireland quarter finals and semi s etc you change tact. In the last decade 3 different counties have won football in munster. That's half the province. That would be the equivalent of 5 or 6 counties winning Leinster in the same period but only one team did.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 28/01/2021 17:22:05    2329412

Replying To catch22:  "Nothing to do with anything? They're underage titles not just the ones you want to relate to because they suit you. Minor is underage. You don't want to talk about those because they don't suit you. You're the only little silk here. You haven't disproved anything so stop talking rubbish.
We're you complaining about advantages of others when ye were winning plenty of senior titles. It's only since he can't win that yeer so concerned about others advantages.
Cop on to yourself and take off the blinkers. You're as blind and ignorant as that other lad."
What are you on about? You're the one who brought it up and won't say what relevance it has to whatever You're trying to say. It's you that's trying to make some sort of point about Kerry winning minor All Irelands and Cork winning at U20. Something again you've yet to explain.

You're the one who's complaining about teams having advantages no one else. Again were you worried about Kerry winning minor titles in the 20 years before 2014?

Also for the record people have been questioning Dublin playing all their games in Croke Park in the championship for almost 15 years

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 28/01/2021 17:25:24    2329415

Replying To Breffni40:  "It's not a coincidence it's just a very weird thing for you to say that typically has absolutely nothing to do with anything. You're looking for things that aren't there. I can't help you with that."
Why do you get so upset about people not agreeing with particular Dublin posters? Ones who just so happen to have a very similar posting style to you? Again I'm sure it's a complete coincidence....

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 28/01/2021 17:28:54    2329416

Anyway back on topic Tom Condon from Limerick had also retired today

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 28/01/2021 17:38:59    2329420

Replying To oneoff:  "Why do you get so upset about people not agreeing with particular Dublin posters? Ones who just so happen to have a very similar posting style to you? Again I'm sure it's a complete coincidence...."
1. I'm not upset about anything that I've ever discussed on here
2. I can't help you if you're seeing what you want to see. I don't pay attention to where posters are from so it's irrelevant to whether i agree or disagree with them. That's just a weird hang up you seem to have.
3. You can suggest I'm a multi-poster all you want but it will never be true and that kind of paranoia is not healthy. I understand we all defend our county on here but you should really take a step back and look at how childish and confused your posts are at the moment.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 28/01/2021 17:39:33    2329421

Gary Brennen retired, the Munster championship just got a hell of a lot weaker! ;)

Skillful warrior, you have to admire that service and commitment when the pot of gold at the end of rainbow is farther away then - i better say a Dublin player.

Enjoy the fruits, Gary hope you get to go traveling after all.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/01/2021 18:07:45    2329425

Replying To oneoff:  "What are you on about? You're the one who brought it up and won't say what relevance it has to whatever You're trying to say. It's you that's trying to make some sort of point about Kerry winning minor All Irelands and Cork winning at U20. Something again you've yet to explain.

You're the one who's complaining about teams having advantages no one else. Again were you worried about Kerry winning minor titles in the 20 years before 2014?

Also for the record people have been questioning Dublin playing all their games in Croke Park in the championship for almost 15 years"
I didn't drag this thread off topic it was one of your own who again started to divert onto how another county had so many advantages and just like yourself doesn't want to address any of the advantages ye have. Again you want to talk about U20's of course because you don't want to look at what happened at minor and how it could discourage lads in the years when the would be playing both codes in a province where hurling is the main interest by a long way.
How many young lads in these other 5 counties went and played hurling when they know they had little or no chance of winning a Munster title in football. Quiet a few I'd imagine but I'm sure you probably cannot recognize that as a relevant point and prefer to keep asking stupid questions when it should obvious to you.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/01/2021 18:39:48    2329431

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "A very broad statement it was You making out that it's easy for Kerry to win cos they are in a hurling province. When it's pointed out to you about the other counties getting to all ireland quarter finals and semi s etc you change tact. In the last decade 3 different counties have won football in munster. That's half the province. That would be the equivalent of 5 or 6 counties winning Leinster in the same period but only one team did."
When was the last time Tipp won Munster previously ?
When was the last time anyone other than Kerry or Cork won Munster ?
Munster is a hurling province whether you like it or not and are happy to be.
Not changing tact at all. The roll of honour doesn't lie when you look at who has won what in football from Munster and compare it to the hurling equivalent. The facts are there if you want to look and it's all about hurling.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/01/2021 18:48:44    2329433

Replying To oneoff:  "Anyway back on topic Tom Condon from Limerick had also retired today"
Another solid corner back. Good service to Limerick.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 28/01/2021 19:10:11    2329439

Replying To TheUsername:  "Gary Brennen retired, the Munster championship just got a hell of a lot weaker! ;)

Skillful warrior, you have to admire that service and commitment when the pot of gold at the end of rainbow is farther away then - i better say a Dublin player.

Enjoy the fruits, Gary hope you get to go traveling after all."
Well said Username. A real gem of a midfielder. Big strong pacey. Great ball carrier and scorer. He had it all. Even in the compromise rules a few years back he was player of the tournament. Again a dual player who concentrated on football when he might have won a hurling all ireland in 13.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 28/01/2021 19:13:39    2329440

Replying To catch22:  "When was the last time Tipp won Munster previously ?
Not changing tact at all. The roll of honour doesn't lie when you look at who has won what in football from Munster and compare it to the hurling equivalent. The facts are there if you want to look and it's all about hurling."
Over the course of the last 30 years and probably throughout history a munster all star football team would have held their own against an all star team from any other province.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1696 - 28/01/2021 19:29:51    2329447

Replying To catch22:  "I didn't drag this thread off topic it was one of your own who again started to divert onto how another county had so many advantages and just like yourself doesn't want to address any of the advantages ye have. Again you want to talk about U20's of course because you don't want to look at what happened at minor and how it could discourage lads in the years when the would be playing both codes in a province where hurling is the main interest by a long way.
How many young lads in these other 5 counties went and played hurling when they know they had little or no chance of winning a Munster title in football. Quiet a few I'd imagine but I'm sure you probably cannot recognize that as a relevant point and prefer to keep asking stupid questions when it should obvious to you."
To be fair you did nt start this diversion on the thread but you did insult Kerry and Kerry football. Yu said that Kerry do all they can to ruin the development of football in Munster. Now Catch that's insulting and it's a falsehood. Be man enough to admit you were wrong with that statement. You even tried to suggest we do nothing to help munster counties as shown by Micko managing Leinster counties. When we informed you about all the Kerry managers that improved the counties in munster by managing them you changed. Now you were wrong there as Limerick Tipp and Clare all made great strides under Kerry management. But according to you and you alone we try to down munster football. Maybe just maybe you might have been wrong.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 28/01/2021 19:32:13    2329448

All the best to Gary Brennan in his retirement. A real colossus at midfield. Pity himself and Fenton never got to face off. Would have been a great contest.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/01/2021 19:37:50    2329449

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "All the best to Gary Brennan in his retirement. A real colossus at midfield. Pity himself and Fenton never got to face off. Would have been a great contest."
Oh a titanic battle although often in situations like that the main midfielders end up staying away from one another.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 28/01/2021 20:58:34    2329458

Best of luck to Gary in his retirement, a true great of the game and thankfully I had the privilege of watching him playing Kerry on many an occasion.

Also best of luck to Tom Condon on his retirement.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/01/2021 21:20:38    2329464

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Oh a titanic battle although often in situations like that the main midfielders end up staying away from one another."
Yes , I see what you mean. Might well have been a case of cancelling one another out if in direct competition.
Would have made some pairing too.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/01/2021 22:25:45    2329470

Replying To catch22:  "When was the last time Tipp won Munster previously ?
Not changing tact at all. The roll of honour doesn't lie when you look at who has won what in football from Munster and compare it to the hurling equivalent. The facts are there if you want to look and it's all about hurling."
For a 'hurling province', they're not to bad at the football.

Munster: All-Ireland Senior Football wins - 50 (Kerry (37), Cork (7), Tipp (4) & Limerick (2). Runners-up - 42

Leinster: AI Senior Football wins - 52 Dublin (30), Meath (7), Wexford (5), Kildare (4), Offaly (3) & Louth (3). Runners-up - 38

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2443 - 28/01/2021 22:44:32    2329471

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Yes , I see what you mean. Might well have been a case of cancelling one another out if in direct competition.
Would have made some pairing too."
Oh together they would be a wreaking ball. A match made in heaven

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 28/01/2021 23:24:19    2329475

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "For a 'hurling province', they're not to bad at the football.

Munster: All-Ireland Senior Football wins - 50 (Kerry (37), Cork (7), Tipp (4) & Limerick (2). Runners-up - 42

Leinster: AI Senior Football wins - 52 Dublin (30), Meath (7), Wexford (5), Kildare (4), Offaly (3) & Louth (3). Runners-up - 38"
So Kerry's main rivals have 7 football AI's and 30 hurling AI's.
I think that makes my point about it being a hurling province.
Noticeable that neither of the other 2 winners have won in over a century. Makes for shocking reading alright.
Thanks for that lad.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 29/01/2021 10:38:12    2329500

Replying To catch22:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "For a 'hurling province', they're not to bad at the football.

Leinster: AI Senior Football wins - 52 Dublin (30), Meath (7), Wexford (5), Kildare (4), Offaly (3) & Louth (3). Runners-up - 38"
So Kerry's main rivals have 7 football AI's and 30 hurling AI's.
I think that makes my point about it being a hurling province.
Noticeable that neither of the other 2 winners have won in over a century. Makes for shocking reading alright.
Thanks for that lad."
Jay's you're a cranky old h**r Tommy.

Remember when you said Donegal would hammer Cavan before Christmas?

That was a good 1 :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/01/2021 11:10:55    2329507