Return Of The Championship - Excited ? Not Overly Bothered ?

Personally ? I'm struggling to get up for it. For obvious reasons it wont be the same and you can totally understand why. Not being able to go is my issue. Most of us will be in the same boat in that we aren't used to that. The main thing for me going to games down the years is you feel involved. Obviously that'll be totally different now. I cant say I've watched a minute of GAA action since Dublin's last league game against Tyrone in Omagh which feels like about 2 years ago at this stage. Maybe when our game throws in against Meath tomorrow night ill be right up for it, but right now its just a bit meh.

I can promise this however, When this is all over I will never ever take for granted the stuff i used to take for granted.

As an aside, I really, genuinely hope everyone is doing okay. Its a tough time at the minute and one we never saw coming this time last year. I'm lucky in that I'm still working but me bird is being made redundant in early December, right before Christmas which is grim so I'll have to be there to keep her spirits up.

Please look after yourselves, your partners, your mothers and fathers, Brothers and Sisters, grandparents, friends, neighbours etc especially with the days getting shorter and the bad weather that'll start to arrive in the winter months. Its going to be absolute graft for a lot of us.

If you need to talk, Don't be afraid to reach out. Someone will listen and crucially, you can be somebody else's someone. We all need to look out for one another and ourselves and make sure if there is someone at a low ebb along the road, that we can pick them up keep going forward, putting one foot in front of the other.

It might not seem it right now, but things will get better and one day and with each passing day, is a day closer to putting all this behind us, even if the numbers don't make that look likely right now.

I cant say when, but I can say that in time, Life will return to normal and everyone who comes through it, will be stronger for the experience.

One day we will all be going to games again. Drinking pints, over analysing the most minute details as if were part of our counties management team and we will raise a glass to those we lost along the way but also in hope that we don't see dark days like these again

Until then, Keep the flag flying. Take care

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/10/2020 11:58:40    2297992

Replying To waynoI:  "Personally ? I'm struggling to get up for it. For obvious reasons it wont be the same and you can totally understand why. Not being able to go is my issue. Most of us will be in the same boat in that we aren't used to that. The main thing for me going to games down the years is you feel involved. Obviously that'll be totally different now. I cant say I've watched a minute of GAA action since Dublin's last league game against Tyrone in Omagh which feels like about 2 years ago at this stage. Maybe when our game throws in against Meath tomorrow night ill be right up for it, but right now its just a bit meh.

I can promise this however, When this is all over I will never ever take for granted the stuff i used to take for granted.

As an aside, I really, genuinely hope everyone is doing okay. Its a tough time at the minute and one we never saw coming this time last year. I'm lucky in that I'm still working but me bird is being made redundant in early December, right before Christmas which is grim so I'll have to be there to keep her spirits up.

Please look after yourselves, your partners, your mothers and fathers, Brothers and Sisters, grandparents, friends, neighbours etc especially with the days getting shorter and the bad weather that'll start to arrive in the winter months. Its going to be absolute graft for a lot of us.

If you need to talk, Don't be afraid to reach out. Someone will listen and crucially, you can be somebody else's someone. We all need to look out for one another and ourselves and make sure if there is someone at a low ebb along the road, that we can pick them up keep going forward, putting one foot in front of the other.

It might not seem it right now, but things will get better and one day and with each passing day, is a day closer to putting all this behind us, even if the numbers don't make that look likely right now.

I cant say when, but I can say that in time, Life will return to normal and everyone who comes through it, will be stronger for the experience.

One day we will all be going to games again. Drinking pints, over analysing the most minute details as if were part of our counties management team and we will raise a glass to those we lost along the way but also in hope that we don't see dark days like these again

Until then, Keep the flag flying. Take care"
I'm looking forward to it wayno, iv all my big jobs nearly done now and I'm spending the full day tomorrow drinking cans and watching the footy, I was supposed to have a few elderly neighbours calling to watch the Monaghan game but that's out the window now with the new restrictions.

I have the song the final count down stuck in my head all day and I'm looking forward to our teams being named tonight.

Stay safe out there lads.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/10/2020 12:55:13    2298023

Looking forward to it and even though we can't be at the game the excitement is still building, the teams will quickly get whittled down with knockout football,
hope we can survive in div 1 and win Ulster again, after that it's another crack at the mighty Dubs most likely,
small problem of 2 games against Tyrone to win first though!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 16/10/2020 13:15:09    2298031

Replying To waynoI:  "Personally ? I'm struggling to get up for it. For obvious reasons it wont be the same and you can totally understand why. Not being able to go is my issue. Most of us will be in the same boat in that we aren't used to that. The main thing for me going to games down the years is you feel involved. Obviously that'll be totally different now. I cant say I've watched a minute of GAA action since Dublin's last league game against Tyrone in Omagh which feels like about 2 years ago at this stage. Maybe when our game throws in against Meath tomorrow night ill be right up for it, but right now its just a bit meh.

Until then, Keep the flag flying. Take care"
Good man Wayno. Totally agree. I'm finding it hard to get excited as well but I'll be watching all the same, no doubt. Hopefully we can have a more normal GAA season next year.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 16/10/2020 13:28:29    2298041

Nice post wayno.

Keep the body and mind ticking over is all we can try and do. I'm lucky enough I've been able to work remotely since this entire saga started. I do an hour's exercise in the house every day. Just simple stuff like squats, lunges, sit ups, press ups, plank and a few free weights. I'd advise anyone to give it a go, make it part of your routine.

As for the football, it will indeed feel strange. But if it does go ahead I know I'll be right up for it when the action starts. Probably helps a bit for us that we're playing against our old enemies Tyrone twice!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 16/10/2020 13:35:23    2298048

Sorry to hear about your missus losing the job Wayno. Hopefully she gets set up with something else quickly enough. This too will pass.

Same as you, for me it's all about going to the games. I go to matches as a supporter and a neutral all over the country. I would struggle normally to even watch an All Ireland final on TV and I have zero interest in watching any of the games on there this year. Without people being able to attend the intercounty stuff is a pointless exercise as far as I'm concerned.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 16/10/2020 15:10:01    2298095

Good posts guys, stay safe and mind yourselves and your loved ones. With all the uncertainty and what level we will be going to etc it's hard to get excited for the return of the Championship I have to say but I think we won't see it for this year unfortunately but fingers crossed I'm proved wrong.

Take care everyone.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 16/10/2020 15:21:09    2298099

I'm in two minds...looking forward to watching us play Galway Sunday but the thought of an all Ireland with no fans and no celebrations after seems hollow....that said if there are winners they will have fully deserved it.

To everyone on here...all the best for what could be a difficult winter ahead but we will get through it.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 16/10/2020 21:20:46    2298203

Love how the "true gaels" are telling us that this won't be a real championship if they can't go to the game but yet they are the same ones who will be fawning over the Irish diaspora.

Many of us never get to go to games and it's still one of the biggest parts of the year. I saw one game live in 2018 and it didn't mean any less to me and possibly meant more

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 16/10/2020 22:02:04    2298220

Mixed emotions. Not the same not going. Pubs will be closed, so can't even get the gang together. Don't think the championship will be held to the same achievement after winning four or five games this year, to 8-10 in a real contemporary All Ireland, regardless of who wins it But fair play to who ever does.

All that said, I'm looking forward to the bit of ball. As interested and looking forward to the minor and U20 as I am in senior, if not more so. I'm happy for the players themselves, it's a short career in elite sport with maybe 10 -15 opportunities to compete if you are lucky. That and a year won't be wasted in the development of younger players.

For the GAA itself, whatever shackles they can get in fulfilling TV right I'm sure will be welcome in the year ahead. From that point of view even if it's a bit of a half baked, weird championship, which I suspect it will be, as supporters I think the GAA needs our solidarity.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/10/2020 22:10:49    2298224

Replying To yew_tree:  "I'm in two minds...looking forward to watching us play Galway Sunday but the thought of an all Ireland with no fans and no celebrations after seems hollow....that said if there are winners they will have fully deserved it.

To everyone on here...all the best for what could be a difficult winter ahead but we will get through it."
Should be an awesome match. One of the best rivalries in all sports. I still say it was a pure sin that Mayo didn't win at least one All Ireland in the last 10 years. What a team they had. Anyway I'm excited. Galway Abu!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2135 - 16/10/2020 22:48:24    2298237

Replying To yew_tree:  "I'm in two minds...looking forward to watching us play Galway Sunday but the thought of an all Ireland with no fans and no celebrations after seems hollow....that said if there are winners they will have fully deserved it.

To everyone on here...all the best for what could be a difficult winter ahead but we will get through it."
Weve no feckin choice says you, it will be the authentic winter of discontent on so many levels. Be careful everyone and knuckle down for whats coming.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 17/10/2020 00:16:48    2298257

There'll be no spectators for some time to come . Something missing in life and hope all this football on TV fills this hole somehow. For me , this year is all about the games and less about the winning.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 17/10/2020 03:56:02    2298268

If it goes ahead it'll have an exhibition feel to it IMO
It'll be devoid of atmosphere, and now with a 1/4 of the players not even wanting a championship, its not something that gives you much verve as a supporter.

Think about that for a second. 1/4 of the players aren't up for it, I'd say more were even borderline for it.

The way things are looking though with the real probability of level 5 restrictions. It could also be a bit of entertainment but as an amateur organisation with so many players not really wanting it in the first place, to be then risking their health and that of their loved ones

I'm not sure about that at all for a bit of hollow entertainment

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 17/10/2020 09:16:49    2298278

Replying To jimbodub:  "If it goes ahead it'll have an exhibition feel to it IMO
It'll be devoid of atmosphere, and now with a 1/4 of the players not even wanting a championship, its not something that gives you much verve as a supporter.

Think about that for a second. 1/4 of the players aren't up for it, I'd say more were even borderline for it.

The way things are looking though with the real probability of level 5 restrictions. It could also be a bit of entertainment but as an amateur organisation with so many players not really wanting it in the first place, to be then risking their health and that of their loved ones

I'm not sure about that at all for a bit of hollow entertainment"
Think about this for a second - 75% of players (three quarters) do want to proceed. Yes there are risks and who knows if we have to eventually go into level 5. I'm looking forward to the championship starting and seeing where we go. I also strongly suspect it'll end up being one of the best quality championships in a number of years. Straight knockout, teams just giving it a go with less tactical plans, upsets galore, hard hitting football due to the conditions. Any win during these months will be hard won. I also believe Dublin won't win it which brings more excitement to the competition.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 17/10/2020 10:11:16    2298287

So leitrim conceded the game to down.

Am I right in saying with the way the table is fixed currently that this game was irrelevant anyway, as even if we won, lost or drew it, it was all to come down to a winner takes all clash with tipp in carrick in the last game? Maybe someone can confirm this but my understanding is that no matter what tipp do today now and so long as louth lose one of their remaining two games then the winner of us vs tipp stays up and the loser goes down. So today was an irrelevant game, and I'm sure that made the concession easier.

It all comes down to tipp next week. No conceding that game i guarantee you

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 645 - 17/10/2020 10:35:45    2298296

I am not bothered, I have friends on both Wexford panels and they have said while they are happy to play, they have said that if it is cancelled they won't care.
I can well imagine that more than 25% do not want to play, but felt they could not say it.
Imagine being a Kerry footballer, driving on your own, to Monaghan today to play a match against a team close to the epicentre of the disease on this island. Can the GAA not see the insanity of this?
Stay safe all and good post waynoI. The good times will return some day and hopefully we will all be around to see them.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1737 - 17/10/2020 10:36:43    2298297

I can't really be excited.

As much as I'd love for things to be more normal and be able to enjoy football and for it to feel meaningful, it just doesn't right now for me.

With the current climate I'd rather they not force through something that may not be wise.

I don't want to be a damp squib or to get others on here down. The championship doesn't seem right to me.

I hope all of you are doing well and that we get to properly enjoy things again very soon.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 17/10/2020 10:37:18    2298298

Replying To sam1884:  "Think about this for a second - 75% of players (three quarters) do want to proceed. Yes there are risks and who knows if we have to eventually go into level 5. I'm looking forward to the championship starting and seeing where we go. I also strongly suspect it'll end up being one of the best quality championships in a number of years. Straight knockout, teams just giving it a go with less tactical plans, upsets galore, hard hitting football due to the conditions. Any win during these months will be hard won. I also believe Dublin won't win it which brings more excitement to the competition."
Aye , I think you're right about the upsets.
It'll be Kerry's to lose I think. Mayo , Galway and Donegal or Tyrone to play them in final. Kerry to win it out though this year.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/10/2020 10:42:13    2298301

Id rather see a proper, well planned and thought out 2021 summer championship with 2020 being binned. If it goes ahead this winter of course I will watch but not with great enthusiasm id say. Plus the spotlight will be all over players and supporters etc at a really toxic time. I cant see anything but bad publicity coming the way of the GAA through this. The cases are high. So are the number of begrudgers, some with valid issues and some with the usual bigotry. The media have been camped in student areas of Belfast over the last number of weeks as if they're in Syria covering something major, the GAA can expect the same up here if it goes ahead!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 17/10/2020 10:53:49    2298310