NFL Division 1

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Hard see Meath get a result down in Kerry but you never know. Meath are going down and are best off using the rest of the league trying out new player and county boards should be sounding out potential new managers for next year. Current management team are not up to standard sadly. Would Mick O'Dowd come back?"
Bit early for April fools jokes ain't it??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/02/2020 10:39:37    2268743

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yous haven't a hope below in Kerry RD.

Your home games, plus Monaghan away (despite their good form) are your only chance of points.

Imo yous needed something from Donegal/Mayo in Navan to have any chance of staying up. I think the boat might have sailed already.

If yous stay up from here, it'll be amazing and I'll be first to admit it."
I wouldn't disagree with u, I had myself written off both Kerry and dubs games. Mayo definitely the one that got away.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/02/2020 10:41:10    2268745

Replying To royaldunne:  "Bit early for April fools jokes ain't it??"
What do you mean?

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1150 - 21/02/2020 11:21:51    2268755

Replying To sourmilk93:  "What do you mean?"
Mick O'Dowd?? Seriously??
Been there and it was a disaster .
One of the nicest guys you could meet, but not a inter county manager. Andy has another 2 years. Also the most successful manager in Meath since Eamon O'Brien, promotion, super 8s. Andy will see out his time, as for the players issue? We do have have about 10 first team players missing and I'd say we have one of the youngest teams in div 1. Meath won't peak for another 3/4 years, until then we do the best we can.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/02/2020 11:53:32    2268769

Replying To royaldunne:  "Mick O'Dowd?? Seriously??
One of the nicest guys you could meet, but not a inter county manager. Andy has another 2 years. Also the most successful manager in Meath since Eamon O'Brien, promotion, super 8s. Andy will see out his time, as for the players issue? We do have have about 10 first team players missing and I'd say we have one of the youngest teams in div 1. Meath won't peak for another 3/4 years, until then we do the best we can."
It's always another 3-4 years isn't it.

God help your naivety.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 916 - 21/02/2020 14:28:19    2268807

Replying To royaldunne:  "Mick O'Dowd?? Seriously??
One of the nicest guys you could meet, but not a inter county manager. Andy has another 2 years. Also the most successful manager in Meath since Eamon O'Brien, promotion, super 8s. Andy will see out his time, as for the players issue? We do have have about 10 first team players missing and I'd say we have one of the youngest teams in div 1. Meath won't peak for another 3/4 years, until then we do the best we can."
Don't listen to them RD, GAA is for the dreamers.

If you asked me in 2009 if Dublin would win an All Ireland in the next decade I wouldn't have put money in it.

I admire your passion and hopefulness, it all comes around again! ;)

You'd miss those late June Dogs of War games in Leinster.

Advancedmark (Mayo) - Posts: 18 - 21/02/2020 15:52:12    2268825

Dubs v Donegal.....................Dublin
Galway v Tyrone....................Galway
Monaghan v Mayo.................Draw
Kerry v Meath.........................Kerry

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3098 - 21/02/2020 16:48:57    2268835

Replying To Advancedmark:  "Don't listen to them RD, GAA is for the dreamers.

If you asked me in 2009 if Dublin would win an All Ireland in the next decade I wouldn't have put money in it.

I admire your passion and hopefulness, it all comes around again! ;)

You'd miss those late June Dogs of War games in Leinster."
You are right about the Dublin thing after Gooch led them a merry dance in 2009. However the injuries thing is a bit overstated. While Meath have injuries they don't have the depth yet to compensate. Maybe this will come as RD appears to imply with a different situation in 3 to 4 yrs Some Rossy fans over recent yrs used the injury thing as well. Some of our fans used it last year when in fairness we were decimated. In fact I could think of at least 5 of our players missing who would be on or close to the first 15. We have developed the squad though but some fans in a number of counties rightly or wrongly use injuries as s a fall back or justification for their performances.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1953 - 21/02/2020 17:02:03    2268839

Dubs v Donegal.....................Dublin
Galway v Tyrone....................Galway
Monaghan v Mayo.................Monaghan
Kerry v Meath.........................Kerry

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 21/02/2020 17:47:47    2268846

Replying To kiloughter:  "You are right about the Dublin thing after Gooch led them a merry dance in 2009. However the injuries thing is a bit overstated. While Meath have injuries they don't have the depth yet to compensate. Maybe this will come as RD appears to imply with a different situation in 3 to 4 yrs Some Rossy fans over recent yrs used the injury thing as well. Some of our fans used it last year when in fairness we were decimated. In fact I could think of at least 5 of our players missing who would be on or close to the first 15. We have developed the squad though but some fans in a number of counties rightly or wrongly use injuries as s a fall back or justification for their performances."
I agree with you to an extent Kiloughter, but even the Dubs would be vulnerable without Fenton, McCarthy, Kilkenny, Rock and Mannion for instance, and in those circumstances while a defeat would still be a defeat if it happened, it'd be an explainable one. Having a panel enables the best teams to lose one or two before a game and still have 5 decent subs to use as necessary. There isn't a team out there who could replace 5 keys players without loss of potential. Mayo will miss Boyler this year even though some of the new defenders being tried seem to be proving themselves, but in some key game down the road Boyler's experience and aggression going for a ball might result in one key interception not happening, and that might could cost the game.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 21/02/2020 18:24:08    2268856

Dublin v Donegal..............Donegal
Kerry v Meath....................Kerry
Galway v Tyrone................Galway
Monaghan v Mayo.............Mayo

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2285 - 21/02/2020 20:10:00    2268876

Dublin Kerry Tyrone Mayo

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/02/2020 20:19:20    2268877

Dublin
Kerry
Galway
Monaghan

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/02/2020 21:44:38    2268900

Replying To Pericles:  "I agree with you to an extent Kiloughter, but even the Dubs would be vulnerable without Fenton, McCarthy, Kilkenny, Rock and Mannion for instance, and in those circumstances while a defeat would still be a defeat if it happened, it'd be an explainable one. Having a panel enables the best teams to lose one or two before a game and still have 5 decent subs to use as necessary. There isn't a team out there who could replace 5 keys players without loss of potential. Mayo will miss Boyler this year even though some of the new defenders being tried seem to be proving themselves, but in some key game down the road Boyler's experience and aggression going for a ball might result in one key interception not happening, and that might could cost the game."
Yes although in your case it would have been known for a year or two that replacing Boyle was going to be a big ask. Whether Horan mark 2 is charged with building a new team or getting the most out of senior players in situe for a long time I am not sure. Maybe a bit of both. It will be interesting to see if the squad depth in Meath manifests itself in the manner RD suggests. From our perspective we definitely have developed squad depth although I have no clue where it will take us. Having said that if a marquee footballer like Shane Walsh gets injured squad depth may not necessarily compensate in that case so horses or courses I suspect.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1953 - 22/02/2020 09:16:46    2268932

Replying To kiloughter:  "Yes although in your case it would have been known for a year or two that replacing Boyle was going to be a big ask. Whether Horan mark 2 is charged with building a new team or getting the most out of senior players in situe for a long time I am not sure. Maybe a bit of both. It will be interesting to see if the squad depth in Meath manifests itself in the manner RD suggests. From our perspective we definitely have developed squad depth although I have no clue where it will take us. Having said that if a marquee footballer like Shane Walsh gets injured squad depth may not necessarily compensate in that case so horses or courses I suspect."
I agree, and the loss of Comer, Conroy and a couple of others for yourselves last year might have caused a lot of other managers to consider a tactical rethink, but KW was committed to the system he played and so PJ has the job now. For Meath, I think Newman's absence has been felt, even though the gain in the long term could be the faster development of a player like young O'Reilly. But all in all Div 1 is a tough place to be building or rebuilding a squad while trying to avoid the setback of relegation. The Dubs approach of about 3 new players every year (like Cody's Kilkenny used to do) seems to be the best balance, but not many other sides would have sidelined the likes of Bernard Brogan when he was still a potential match winner. The belief brought about by success gave Jim Gavin the breathing space to do brave things, just as Kilkenny's serial wins meant that you'd want to be a brave man to challenge Brian Cody's judgement. But Horan, McEntee and even PJ (when the honeymoon ends) operate under a lot more constraints.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 22/02/2020 11:42:29    2268951

Replying To kiloughter:  "Yes although in your case it would have been known for a year or two that replacing Boyle was going to be a big ask. Whether Horan mark 2 is charged with building a new team or getting the most out of senior players in situe for a long time I am not sure. Maybe a bit of both. It will be interesting to see if the squad depth in Meath manifests itself in the manner RD suggests. From our perspective we definitely have developed squad depth although I have no clue where it will take us. Having said that if a marquee footballer like Shane Walsh gets injured squad depth may not necessarily compensate in that case so horses or courses I suspect."
I think last year Horan decided to mainly stick with the lads he had soldiered with in his previous term of office and see where it would take him. The second half of the Dublin game would have shown him that a rebuild was the only way forward. Last year in the league he tried out some new lads with varying degrees of success but there was the sense that they were only keeping the jersey warm for the old brigades return. This year I think what you see is what you get. With Andy and Ger Calf gone, Boyler out for the year, Jason Docs short term future unclear and the likes of Higgins, Sheamie O Shea, Vaughan and Tom P reduced to playing bit parts, Horans championship team won't be a million miles off tomorrow's team. Harrison, Cillian, Mattie Ruane and maybe the likes of Chris Barrett and Jordan Flynn will come in but O Hora, Mullin, Carr, Boland, O Donoghue will still be there come summer. Whether they will be as good or even nearly as good as the lads they are replacing remains to be seen but unfortunately for us, rebuilds, unless you're the Dubs, are never painless.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 22/02/2020 11:42:32    2268952

Seanie in for the Dubs and Cillia O Shea into the half backs.

Even
Murch
Davey
Fitzy
Scully
Jonny Small
Cilian O Shea
Super Brian 1
Jamesy
Super Brian 2
Kilkenny
Seanie B
Mannion
Macker
Rock

Up The Dubs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4448 - 22/02/2020 12:58:22    2268970

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I think last year Horan decided to mainly stick with the lads he had soldiered with in his previous term of office and see where it would take him. The second half of the Dublin game would have shown him that a rebuild was the only way forward. Last year in the league he tried out some new lads with varying degrees of success but there was the sense that they were only keeping the jersey warm for the old brigades return. This year I think what you see is what you get. With Andy and Ger Calf gone, Boyler out for the year, Jason Docs short term future unclear and the likes of Higgins, Sheamie O Shea, Vaughan and Tom P reduced to playing bit parts, Horans championship team won't be a million miles off tomorrow's team. Harrison, Cillian, Mattie Ruane and maybe the likes of Chris Barrett and Jordan Flynn will come in but O Hora, Mullin, Carr, Boland, O Donoghue will still be there come summer. Whether they will be as good or even nearly as good as the lads they are replacing remains to be seen but unfortunately for us, rebuilds, unless you're the Dubs, are never painless."
Mayo's record in terms of rebuilds in modern times to get back to AI final level tends to be 6 or 7 years. The '89 team was nearly totally gone by the time of our next final appearances in '96/97 and the team had largely been replaced again by the time of the appearances in '04 and '06. 2012 again saw a rebuilt side getting to contest Sam and so, based on that pattern and the fact 2017 saw James Horan's first team's last final, if we find ourselves contending again before 2023 Horan and the panel will have over-achieved our previous rebuilds.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 22/02/2020 13:40:24    2268979

Will be interesting to see how our new cubs deal with the clones test tomorrow. Monaghan usually very hard beat this time of year and with our injuries you would have to fancy Monaghan but never write Mayo off.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11266 - 22/02/2020 18:10:33    2269043

A truly magnificent match in Croke Park tonight and it's still not over. All the skills of Gaelic football on display. Sublime scores, exceptional fitness, team work, tackling. Bravo to both sides.

Bellewest (Westmeath) - Posts: 150 - 22/02/2020 20:23:57    2269065