Or the year they took a stand and knocked mayo out!!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/06/2018 18:17:37 2116088 Link 1 |
What does all this say about the shafting Waterford got this year with home venue. Kildare are right not to allow the rules be bent when it suits the top brass. Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2866 - 27/06/2018 18:23:55 2116089 Link 0 |
Hats off to o Neill the players and the county bd. They stood United and not an inch given. Right over might. I applaud ye Kildare. Same attitude and even with yet respective limitations ye can prevail. handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 438 - 27/06/2018 18:33:55 2116094 Link 0 |
Fair play to Kildare. Shame on HQ for sticking to the line that the game was being moved for H & S reasons, which was clearly not true. They should have the balls to say they made a mistake, apologise to Kildare for it and accept that the whole farce was their fault. tra (Tyrone) - Posts: 43 - 27/06/2018 18:35:03 2116095 Link 1 |
Waterford need to grow a pair.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2652 - 27/06/2018 18:55:22 2116100 Link 0 |
Heard John Maughan on talking about how Kildare had backed themselves into a corner and maybe Cian O Neill wishes he hadn't been as entrenched in his stance. Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 27/06/2018 18:57:44 2116101 Link 1 |
extra time and a free taking competition and it getting dark would be good craic !! Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3019 - 27/06/2018 19:10:08 2116105 Link 0 |
We're on a road to Newbridge centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 27/06/2018 19:20:44 2116108 Link 1 |
It's grand honestly! We just surround the place with our cars and turn on the headlights full! Sure we've done it before!!
kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 27/06/2018 19:44:17 2116120 Link 5 |
Now that's settled....we can all focus on the game. The country will be shouting for Kildare while Mayo will have the majority inside the stadium by far....gonna be a crackin atmosphere but Mayo to win yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11397 - 27/06/2018 19:57:31 2116127 Link 4 |
Well done Kildare!!! When we played them in the 2010 All Ireland semi final it was a great occassion and they played with guts and heart that day. They have shown that in spades here. REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1673 - 27/06/2018 21:09:42 2116144 Link 1 |
And... All counties will have less money from GAA as a result. That's how it works ! Kildare got their way... Legal heads had Croker over a barrel. Now what is the result... No game in Croke Park at all... Fewer fans in Newbridge... So less money... I think people need to move on and look at the big picture... And what about the fans... How many will be able to get a ticket for Newbridge ? If the match was in Croke Park I could go... Not a chance of me getting one for Newbridge !
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1844 - 27/06/2018 21:12:01 2116146 Link 2 |
interesting to see how this scenario will have affected both teams come Saturday.
Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 27/06/2018 21:22:12 2116151 Link 0 |
Are the round 4 qualifiers home draw for beaten provincial finalists hithimhard (Tyrone) - Posts: 20 - 27/06/2018 21:42:26 2116161 Link 0 |
I think that things came to a head last evening when Mr Brolly gave his take on the whole thing and the powers that be realised that all the rights were in Kildares basket. This saga could've went on for weeks and did terrible damage to The heads of the organisation. Kildare were totally within their rights. It's great that common sense prevailed and that all can move on. It would have been stupid taking Tyrone and cavan to Croker also. border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 904 - 27/06/2018 21:55:01 2116170 Link 0 |
With our dressing room resembling the casualty department at Castlebar hospital it's only a matter of time before someone knocks us out and it might as well be Kildare. At least it will save us losing to the Dubs. Again!
Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 27/06/2018 21:57:06 2116171 Link 0 |
How many do you seriously think were going to be in Croke Park on Saturday night? After costs of opening the venue, how much do you think would have been generated? You kinda need to know this to back up your point. Three of the teams were going to have long trips and the other one wasn't going to be turn up. Probably would have ended up operating at a loss. If you are so worried about fans, think about the shorter distances both northern teams now have to travel. Their fans will have far less expense put on them now. Sounds from your post you are making it about you more than anything else.
kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 27/06/2018 22:03:31 2116173 Link 1 |
Let's hope the game is as dramatic as this whole debacle, but for the right reasons. jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 261 - 27/06/2018 22:06:07 2116177 Link 0 |
Sure lets just have every match in Croke Park then yeah?
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 27/06/2018 22:10:09 2116181 Link 1 |
after all this now I do think big pressure on cian o neill and kildare to perform or this could come back to haunt them here's looking forward to a great game mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 27/06/2018 22:33:38 2116198 Link 1 |